Martin#4

Just reported on SEN that richmond are one of the four melbourne clubs after his signature (alongside carltank, demons and norf), is yet to resign with port, is a victorian, and would cost an arm and a leg (talking around 500k per yer)

IMO i dont think we really need him, we have a pretty potent foward line, probably lacking in a genuine crumbing forward and a more full time mid sized hard leading forward (which dusty is doing part time atm) but we are pretty well covered for KPFs I think.

Dimma also said last night on OWAAT that the tigers were going to be going after some 'big fish' in trade week :cool:

Exciting time to be a tigers supporter :thumbsu:

Seems very impressive and looks like he enjoys the big stage.
Obviously would never say no to quality talent, but I don't think we should be throwing the kitchen sink at a player who won't necessarily fill a spot that we don't need filling.

Apparently he is having dinner with dom cassisi plus a few other players and his manager tonight to discuss the future of the club and to obviously convince him to stay.

We already have 2 outstanding talls in jack and vicks plus griff who could come on in the next couple of seasons as our own x-factor and foward line weapon :thumbsu:

not sure whether we need him

What's this 'We don't need him'. At the moment we have to play Vickery as a key forward - his future is as a No 1 ruck.

Griffiths entire career consists of about 20 kicks and 3 goals, Astbury was terrible this year, and Miller is a stop gap. Post is very iffy.

Hopefully Griffiths and Astbury make it - but I see nothing wrong with signing a key forward who has proven (briefly) that he can play.

$500k a season... you've gotta be kidding me? I'd rather pay that sorta money to get Mitch Clark, not that I'm overly keen on Clark, but at least he could share the ruck work with TV 50/50 (or 60/40... you get the idea).

He's had a great start.... all of 3 games. I'd be worried about his kicking. Sure, it's been suprisingly reliable in his first few games, but it is a genuinely atrocious action. I reckon he'll frustrate as much as he pleases over his career with an action as shonky as his is.

Is his brother (available in the draft this year) in a similar mould? I get the impression he's a bit smaller, and plays more midfield.

What's this 'We don't need him'. At the moment we have to play Vickery as a key forward - his future is as a No 1 ruck.
According to you, but not according to Dimma who said on OWAAT last night that he see's TV's long term role as more forward than ruck, ideally.

Griffiths entire career consists of about 20 kicks and 3 goals, Astbury was terrible this year, and Miller is a stop gap. Post is very iffy.

Hopefully Griffiths and Astbury make it - but I see nothing wrong with signing a key forward who has proven (briefly) that he can play.
Disagree with your assessment on Vickery. I see him as a key forward who will pinch hit in the ruck. The new interchange rule has seen the death of the 2nd ruck. We will go after a genuine ruckman, which will leave Vickery to do what he is doing now,which has been very good.

Disagree with your assessment on Vickery. I see him as a key forward who will pinch hit in the ruck.

100% agree. He has got great agility for a 200cm big man and I'd hate to see that underutilised by making him a 1st choice ruckman, he has a very unique trait for a guy his size which we have already seen this season as a MASSIVE weapon in the forward line other teams will struggle to deal with.

Thing with Butcher is that his currency has exploded just in the last few weeks with his red hot form. He's obviously got a fair bit of talent, but it'd be a risk to get him at the price he'd be asking.

I dunno, I think he might stay at Port. I'd love to have him at Richmond, but at what cost? Might be better spending the extra $$ on a ruckman (or two).

Disagree with your assessment on Vickery. I see him as a key forward who will pinch hit in the ruck. The new interchange rule has seen the death of the 2nd ruck. We will go after a genuine ruckman, which will leave Vickery to do what he is doing now,which has been very good.

:thumbsu:Hardwick said exactly this re Vickery last night on One Game at a Time, that he saw him spending the bulk of his time forward in the years ahead, probably 70-30 or 60-40 compared to the ruck! Smart move I'd suggest!

I hope people are not being fooled by his current straight kicking record at AFL level. The fact is he is an atrocious kick of the footy.

He is playing in the bottom team who goes out each week expecting to lose, and he is able to throw caution to the wind, without any pressure on him whatsoever. Put this guy in a game that means something, with a bit of pressure, and his kicking will go to water. Kicked 1.10 in a junior final at one point.

If he could play number one ruck, then fine I'd look at him. But I don't believe he has ever done that, and is probably not tall enough.

You have to go for it. Kids like him don't grow on trees. Yes his value has exploded but I'd rather have him playing for us. Riewoldt, Vicks and Butcher is a scary big 3 forward line. It means Griff can move to CHB where he will save his shoulders and use his booming kick to dismantle teams from half back.

Having a tall with that talent and that devistating a kick up back frees up Deledio even more to move forward and midfield

ummm no thanks astbury can play forward just fine given time.

griff can play forward. or are they making him a backman now too?

come on...

ruckman and some more mids please.

Any chance we hav at getting genuine talent on the list we should take it .If its only bargain basement players we go after we will never make it.

Let Carlton squeeze their cap further trying to buy a premiership by chasing this guy....
No doubt they will see someone like Butcher as the final piece of their puzzle.

We should watch closely though to see if we can leverage some sort of 3rd party involvement to snare a ruckman.

Any chance we hav at getting genuine talent on the list we should take it .If its only bargain basement players we go after we will never make it.

I agree with this sentiment, but this kid has played in three nothing games of AFL FFS. Yes the boy has shown he can mark, and he obviously has some talent. He must think all of his Xmas's have come at once with the stupid figures (like $500K) being thrown around. Someone might be making a huge mistake here, I just hope we don't take the risk.

Let Carlton squeeze their cap further trying to buy a premiership by chasing this guy....

We should watch closely though to see if we can leverage some sort of 3rd party involvement to snare a ruckman.

I have no problems with us helping to drive up his price big time, if it means Carltank have to pay way overs for an unproven 20yo :D

ummm no thanks astbury can play forward just fine given time.

griff can play forward. or are they making him a backman now too?

come on...

ruckman and some more mids please.

Agree, I think Astbury has massive potential as a forward. Wasn't that the position he was recruited in? I also think Post will surprise many next year and make CHB his own.

Butcher's stocks are through the roof at the moment on the back of only three games. We would definitely pay overs for him.

Prefer to target some young solid midfielders.

Not convinced going all out for a ruck will be the solution to all our problems either. Will a lot of the names being thrown around be a massive upgrade on what we already have?? Remember Graham and Browne will have another preseason under their belt next year also. A well as Derixx.

If we can get him for a 1st round pick + someone like connors,Thursy,Mguane I would be more than happy to take him.

He will be a class Foward & anybody Doubting that will eat their words
I would also offer him $350-$400k to get him across (you need to pay for quality) and if we dont It puts alot of pressure on clubs like carlton to pay way way overs.

You can never have enough quality big men i a team.

If you can get him for a decent price then sure have a crack at him.

Otherwise i think we have the depth to cover that position so id be more inclined to chase a ruckman.

End of the day he going to cost way more than we are willing to give so time to move on.

I want him, we would be foolish not to have a decent crack at the 20 year old forward. He would add so much flexibility to our team it just isnt funny.

We keep harping on about Griffiths and Astbury, well I think it would be awesome to let Griffiths develop his injury stricken body or Astbury to add more flexibility to our backline or pinch hit going forward, that would be almost impossible for teams to match up on.

Imagine Butcher at CHF and Reiwoldt at FF. I'm all for it.

I think if anyone pays more than $300,000 they are paying massive overs for a 4 gamer, who has not played because of back injuries etc (which most likely will come back up at some stage).
I'd have a look at him, but if we gave up too much for him i'd think we would disrespect some of our younger gun players who have worked and won us games for their contracts. Go after him, but dont over pay him.

This is what I was thinking, I cant see that we really need this boy at the moment unless he can ruck as well.