Johnson Gone for the season

I think they may play tabiner down back at CHB. Forward line will be mayne crozier ballintyne Pav Clarke walters.

We will need that extra tall against Sydneys forward line height unless it rains.

Exactly my first thought. Hasn't really had much of an impact last 3 weeks or so, would rather have someone out there who's 100%.

... A fully fit Michael Johnson is handy though.

Yes and no - I think it reached tipping point against Port, but MJ plays smart, really smart and he was able to do many good things despite being half paced for the last few weeks.

But, on the other hand, if he was only going to be as good as what we saw on the weekend, then yeah, it's really a good idea to pull the pin and get fixed up for next year - he would have been exploited badly I reckon in the games coming up.

Keplar fairytale? Comes in, dominates down back and bows out with a flag?

So devo right now. This has really put a damper on my excitement heading into the weekend.

Hopefully the boys get the job done without him.

Maybe not a flag for Kep, but one big last hurrah until Luke is right.

Don't discount it.

This is just rooted.

I think they may play tabiner down back at CHB. Forward line will be mayne crozier ballintyne Pav Clarke walters.

We will need that extra tall against Sydneys forward line height unless it rains.

Tabs win a rising star nom up forward. Would be crazy to put him back now

Tabs pretty much proved he's not a key backman. If the other 2 talls were Macca & Jonno I'd be happy to throw him down back, but it's too much of an ask for someone that doesn't know how to play there. I'd rather throw in Tanner Smith or even leave Tabs up forward, and throw Pav back home in the backline.

The obvious match ups are

Dawson-Tippett
SCOS-Franklin

But who plays on Reid? Ibbotson? Sutcliffe to Goodes? The swans sort of rotate Parker and McGlynn through the middle and up forward, so Spurr may have to take on of them...

God I hope it rains on Saturday.

If it helps, on the swans board they are concerned about our forward line and are saying Reid may have to play back to cover probably tabs, otherwise Balla and Walters could run riot. So at least we wouldn't have to worry about Reid if that's the case

That's just robbing peter to pay Paul. Our forward line has looked so potent because tabs is forward & not a fish out of water in defence. It frees our ruckmen to either get a proper rest or float back. Back our forwards and try to swap like for like otherwise we're putting ourselves in further trouble

Yep, I don't think this calls for a quick fix "throw mayne/tabs/clarke" into defence. That's robbing Peter to pay Paul.

I think you trust in the cattle we have who are defenders, rather than throw an inexperienced player into a role they have little knowledge of, and risk them being a liability.

SCOS/Dawson/Ibbo to do the jobs on the talls. We're only really stretched against Sydney. Hawks go with a 2 talls set up: Roughhead and Hale (or whichever ruckman is resting) and Geelong is pretty much just Hawkins.

**** me.

Ibbo to play the floater then. Think Dawson and SCOS will probably rotate through the talls with Dawson staying closer to home and SCOS taking whoever is playing more lead-up.

I really want a big game from the Duffman, has been quiet the last few weeks after an awesome season. He'll need to be the one setting up out of defence a bit more.

Well on TV during the game made it pretty clear that he's at least a full week away (week 2 of the finals at best).

Macca is no Barlow I'm afraid - the guy's soft tissue is made of rice paper, he wont be rushed in at this stage nor should he be. We'll cover this OK as long as the midfield and fwd half continue to fire.

We'll I'm taking that news in a glass half full way. If he's available he will be the handiest key position depth player in a while.

Alex Pearce is our best tall defender at Peel so can he be up graded for the finals if we need him ?

Upgraded? He is on the main list already.

Anyway, there you go. Just makes things a little but harder, especially against Sydney. Hopefully someone in our squad is getting their underwear pressed, ready to wear on the outside, because we just may need a super-hero.

Just heard the news. ****ing hell. That really hurts our chances of going all the way. I knew when watching the Port game on TV that he wouldn't play this week.

Pretty disappointing, not much we can do though rather go in with someone fully fit. Don't discount McPharlin, I know he ruled himself out but so did Barlow! Might not want to have wanted to put up with the speculation. (Well, I can dream :D)

Do Sydney have any injury concerns?? Or a we basically going up against their best 22?

Pretty disappointing, not much we can do though rather go in with someone fully fit. Don't discount McPharlin, I know he ruled himself out but so did Barlow! Might not want to have wanted to put up with the speculation. (Well, I can dream :D)

Do Sydney have any injury concerns?? Or a we basically going up against their best 22?

Pretty much their full 22 mate, however there is still speciation. Horse has said that they "should all come back" but we all know there is plenty of smoke and mirrors in finals.