Retired Jonathan Brown #2 (1999-2014)

Horror injuries won't tame Brisbane Lions captain Jonathan Brown
  • by: Rod Nicholson
  • January 27, 2012 11:00PM
"I have had some heavy hits at training and they (facial injuries) have come through fine," Brown said. "It's six months since my last surgery. I was told the injury was most vulnerable during the first six months, but now it is stronger. There are no psychological or physical problems at all. I haven't missed a beat and haven't missed a training session, which is rare. All my body has healed, not only the facial injuries but a lot of nagging little things that come after a dozen years in the game. I feel like I have had 12 months off."

Brown, captain since 2007, is within two goals of notching 500 for the Lions, but it is team success, not individual glory, that drives him. "I am playing now to be in another premiership side," he said. "I was under the impression when I started that you just played in Grand Finals each year - winning three premierships in 2001, 2002 and 2003 and then a losing GF in 2004 had me thinking that it was just natural to be part of GF action. I've been brought back to earth a fair bit since and all I'm playing for now is another premiership."

jonathanbrown.jpg

Brisbane Lions captain Jonathan Brown ready to reclaim Lion King mantle
  • by: Andrew Hamilton
  • January 29, 2012 12:00AM
"I reckon 2002, the year after our first flag, was the last time I played round 1," Brown said. "I'm pretty keen to get some good match practice under my belt and I'll probably play three of the four weeks. Partly because of where the team has been for the last couple of years, we need to get continuity with our line-up, especially in the forward line which is the youngest part of the ground for us."

Brown says he has not been frustrated at being overtaken in public opinion by a host of younger forwards during his two injury-affected seasons. But he admits he is driven to reclaim his standing as one of the most influential players in the game this year.

"You have pride as a player and you want to come back and be influential," he said. "It is only natural if you have extended periods out of the game other players start to get spoken about. I want to play at the calibre I expect from myself. I am determined to get back to that standard and I'm confident I can do that. That is the competitor in me."

brownj.jpg

Jonathan Brown turns pink for McGrath Foundation
  • by: Rod Nicholson
  • January 31, 2012 10:28PM
BRISBANE Lions champion Jonathan Brown would seem better linked to a draught horse than a greyhound, but his love of the dishlickers has been part of his life from childhood in Warrnambool.

His mum Mary owned and trained the champ Modern Assassin, who won 37 of 61 starts, and Brown also is an owner. Last week his El Bulli won at Devonport and Croke Park ran third at The Meadows.

Brown and wife Kylie are ambassadors for the Go The Pink Dog campaign, which provides $500 to the McGrath Foundation every time box eight provides a winner in Victoria and Tasmania this month.

jonathanbrown.jpg

Thanks Paul D.....there was another fantastic photo with that story in the Herald/sun yesterday...it showed JB and Kylie walking a greyhound each..

...also a gorgeous story of little Olivia who loves Zac (Modern Assassin) who is in Nana Marys backyard in Warnambool..

Brown hungry to rip into NAB Cup
Jim Morton
February 6, 2012 - 3:09PM

"I'm hoping to play three out of the four and that will hold me in good stead," said Brown, who played just 10 matches last year due to horrendous facial injuries in rounds one and 17.
"It's advantageous to myself personally and also to the team to have some continuity over the NAB Cup period.
"Vossy (coach Michael Voss) needs to work out what his side is and get some good chemistry going into the season after a couple of lean years."

brown95.jpg

One voice, one leader: Brown
3:32 PM Mon 06 Feb, 2012

ONE of the AFL's most respected skippers, Brisbane Lion Jonathan Brown, says when it comes to captains, one voice in charge is better than two.

Although the Lions have not officially announced its leadership team for 2012, it is expected Brown will be the sole captain for the fourth consecutive year, after being a co-captain the previous two.

Brown, now 30, said choosing a captain/captains should be "horses for courses" depending on a club's needs, but felt a single voice was far more effective.

"Sometimes it can become, not a democracy, but decisions by committee all the time," Brown said.

"I enjoyed playing under Vossy (Michael Voss) as the one captain, but at the end of the day it's what the coach wants.

"I think captaincy is symbolic, you've got the 'C' beside your name, but the more guys you can get through displaying the right behaviours, [the better]. That's what we're starting to get at the Brisbane Lions which was, I thought, pretty lean there for a few years."

brown85.jpg

Brown blows cobwebs away
By Michael Whiting
1:11 PM Wed 15 Feb, 2012

Brown was making his first appearance since breaking his jaw against Geelong in round 17 last year, and played all four quarters at the Lions' training ground at Coorparoo. He kicked both goals in a tight first-half tussle with Matt Maguire.

The Lions' captain sent a momentary scare through the coaching staff after gingerly getting to his feet following a strong pack mark in the third quarter, but he played the rest of the trial. Assistant coach Mark Harvey said Brown's effort was encouraging.

"Yeah it is. With a guy like him that's been out for a period of time, you've got to pull him back at times, he actually is like a lion," Harvey said.

"When you're 29 or 30, you tend to be a little bit sore first-up or second-up. The thing with him is he doesn't like to show pain and I'm sure he was glad to get back out there and get a couple of goals so he'll be happy."

6710828739_4f301fbe58.jpg

Video: Brown at Australia Zoo

"I'm feeling really good, so I got through the game well, and looking forward to playing the pre-season games now.

I was really happy with the way I pulled up and that's the main thing. It shows my conditioning is in a good place. I was never apprehensive about getting contact back playing footy, it was just more just want to get out there and get the feel of the game again."

6885439009_0305548c1c.jpg

Lions shape up to tigers at zoo
17th February 2012

When asked whether the AFL's most courageous player had any concerns about his tiger experience, Brown said nothing scared him.

"I've been in with them a few times," he said. "Nothing really scares me, although if one of the tigers had a go at me it might be a bit different."

6888299075_32cf92abf6.jpg

Link ....

Interestingly, Lions Captain Jonathan Brown has played just 10 NAB Cup matches throughout his 12 seasons in the AFL. But with a full training program under his belt, you can probably expect to see the three-time Club Champion grace the field earlier than usual in 2012.

6689022219_494f63064d.jpg

Video: Michael Voss

"He's keen to get that continuity and he wants to be able to have a good feel with the team that's out there, and his running patterns and how they move and get all those instinctive things that as a group you need to develop."

6880623151_1a77a8da23.jpg

photo courtesy of Jorgo

NAB Cup Round 1 vs Melbourne and Gold Coast

Jonathan Brown wasn't able to have much impact on the night, but managed to get through both games unscathed as he regains some touch after a terrible recent run with injuries.

6928302613_c7a64b4da5.jpg

Link

The Brisbane Lions captain played most of both NAB Cup matches against Melbourne and Gold Coast at Metricon Stadium on Saturday night, and despite not kicking a goal in the wet, was a solid contributor.

However, Lions coach Michael Voss said the skipper would be put on ice while the rest of the team headed west to take on the Crows in round two of the pre-season competition.

"No, we won't take him," Voss said.

Link

Jonathan Brown, back from his own horror year, warmed up by putting Jared Rivers in a headlock. Barged around, led up the ground, took some strong marks and thumped the ball forward in familiar fashion. Was subbed off but looks as imposing as ever, and energetic too.

Brown finally getting lion's share
  • February 27, 2012 12:00AM
"It has been one of my focuses, to get back to a bit stronger size and it has started to come together post-Christmas," he said.

"The altitude training in Arizona was good for my fitness but it knocks the weight around. I've been pretty happy with the work I've done since I got back."

He considered the weather an advantage because it meant he had to work hard.

"You know you are going to be in a lot of contests because there won't be as many marks taken and you really need to give second or third efforts," he said.

Brown in head clash
By Michael Whiting
12:38 PM Wed 29 Feb, 2012

BRISBANE Lions captain Jonathan Brown has been taken for precautionary scans on his face after a training collision with defender Matt Maguire on Wednesday.

Brown lay prone on the ground for 30 seconds and took another 30 to get to his feet after Maguire's knee collected his face in a marking contest.

The 30-year-old walked from the ground flanked by the Lions' medical team and headed straight for the rooms.

Lions football manager Dean Warren said Brown was in good spirits and it was too early to speculate on any possible damage.

6718111459_5f1133778a.jpg

photo courtesy of Jorgo

Link

Brisbane Lions skipper Jonathan Brown is to have precautionary scans on his face after being the victim of another nasty collision while training with his AFL club on Wednesday morning.

A dazed Brown was helped from the Lions' training base at Coorparoo's Giffin Park after colliding with defender Matt Maguire and another player in a marking contest before landing heavily on the ground.

The power forward was to undergo scans on Wednesday afternoon and the club will not comment until the results are available.

Link

JONATHAN Brown's career is hanging in the balance after he suffered another major head injury at training this morning.

The Lions skipper has suffered more damage to his eye socket and cheek bone and is likely to require another facial reconstruction, possibly tonight..

Brown was rushed to hospital for scans on his face after crashing into a pack at training this morning.

He went went head first after the ball in a competitive drill and was cleaned up by team mates.

Link

BRISBANE Lions captain Jonathan Brown is likely to be booked in for more facial surgery after copping a knee to the face at training.

Brown, who suffered serious facial injuries in two separate on-field collisions last year, suffered damage to his eye socket and cheekbone in another collision this morning.

The Lions just tweeted: "Browny collided with a team mate at training today & is undergoing precautionary scans. Club won't speculate on results at this point."

Link

After missing most of the 2011 season following two horror facial injuries, Brown collided with the knee of Matt Maguire on Wednesday in a dark day for AFL injuries.

Maguire could be seen flying over the top of Brown when his knee connected with Brown's face.

The inspirational All-Australian marched straight off the training track in the company of Brisbane medicos, and straight to hospital for scans.

And coming after a massive pre-season for the Lions' skipper, another injury to his face or head would be a cruel and worrying blow to one the AFL's most popular figures.

Discussion Thread

Michael Whiting

For those asking - Browny was NOT running back with the flight. Was waiting under ball and Maguire came late with huge spoil. Just bad luck

[YOUTUBE]XLuW6UqeY6s[/YOUTUBE]

Link ....

He was rushed to hospital for scans and afterwards was typically stoic."It's not as serious as the first one. We'll get this fixed up and it should be right in a few weeks hopefully," Brown said.
"I'll miss a week or two of training and obviously I'll miss a bit of time playing.
"It is (devastating) but there's still a month or so til Round 1."
Asked if he aimed to be back for the first game of the home-and-away season, Brown said: "It's too early to tell. I'll have the operation then we'll have the answers."

6794287024_4460f44fe2.jpg

Brown out for six weeks
5:05 PM Wed 29 Feb, 2012

Lions General Manager - Football Operations, Dean Warren, said: “It’s obviously disappointing for Jonathan.

“He’s had a very good pre-season and was in excellent shape heading into 2012.

“Fortunately the fracture is unrelated to the injuries he sustained last year.

“He’ll have surgery tonight and our focus as a Club is clearly on his health and wellbeing.

“He’ll be determined to return as soon as possible but we’ll ensure he receives the appropriate clearances when the time is right.”

Dean Warren on SEN

"Obviously he was in the wrong place at the wrong time. It was just a training mishap, so since then Browny's gone off and got scans, and consulted our specialist this afternoon, the same surgeon that repaired his face last year. The scans revealed that he has a fractured cheekbone, so Browny will be getting surgery on that tonight and we expect him to be out for about six weeks."

"It's a completely new injury. It's got nothing to do with the injuries he sustained last year. It's just one of those things, it's just bad luck, and a completely different injury to the ones he sustained last year."

"He probably will be plated for this one as well, so there's no doubt he will have some plates in his face from the ones last year and again this time as well. But our surgeon has informed us it's a pretty straight forward surgery, and that after six weeks he should be right to resume."

"(He's) obviously bitterly disappointed that it's occurred and probably frustrated more than anything. But because he'll be able to resume training, probably next week at some point, he'll get on with it and start focusing on his recovery. Pleasingly he'll be able to do most of the training once he's up and going hopefully in the next week or so. But very disappointed obviously that he's going to miss another six weeks."

"Goose Maguire was pretty devestated as well as you could imagine, but that's footy and Browny acknowledges that. That's just the game we play at times."

Lions star Jonathan Brown to undergo neurological tests before return to AFL
  • March 01, 2012 12:00AM
BRISBANE will put Jonathan Brown through a series of neurological tests before he is cleared to return to AFL action but the club insists the skipper has not suffered any brain damage from his three major head injuries.

Warren dismissed suggestions Brown had suffered some memory loss after being knocked out against Geelong last year, his second major injury for the year.

The round 17 collision was the first time Brown had received concussion and the club insist he has suffered no lingering side effects.

"We've received no medical advice that he has a problem there, but we'll make sure the specialists and our docs give him a thorough examination in six weeks' time to make sure everything has healed and there are no lingering effects from the injury," Warren said.

"We wouldn't put any players out there if they had any problems. He will need to get medical clearance to return."

6942001415_f175a8c630.jpg

Alastair Lynch

Brown's manager, Alastair Lynch, said his three-time Brisbane premiership teammate was "devastated" by this latest setback."Last year was a difficult year for him with the facial fractures but he's struggled with injury for a couple of years," Lynch told FOX FOOTY's AFL 360.
"The devastation after such a good pre-season and something like this pops up.
"Certainly my heart skipped a beat."
Lynch said the possibility of retiring from the game had not yet been breached but Brown would be directed by the views of experts.
"He'll be totally guided by the medical staff at the club and his surgeon about where he goes from here.
Obviously he's going to be devastated and pretty flat for a period of time but he'll just wait and see what the medical opinion is."

6942022067_6dc9d821ab.jpg

Brown just unlucky: Matthews
Michael Whiting
9:17 AM Thu 01 Mar, 2012

"To happen three times in 12 months, it's hard to think your luck could be that bad.

"The first one he fell into a chest mark and [Fremantle defender Luke] McPharlin collected him with his knee. The second one, running back with the flight of the ball without looking what's behind you, you're putting yourself at risk there. Even though he's done it a fair few times, if you keep doing it, there's a fair chance you'll run into trouble.

"But he did nothing reckless this time. He was going for a mark and seemingly the third body came flying through, so it was nothing to do with his recklessness."

6796387374_d03095e54c.jpg

Matthew Richardson

"In a stupid way you'd rather three of those [facial] injuries than three hamstrings," Richardson said.

"The hamstrings and the soft tissue ones are the ones that play on your mind. Browny would know that his body is pretty good, you're not running on your face, you're using your legs.

"He's probably thinking 'my body's good, if I can just get rid of this bad luck I'll be fine'.

"You normally finish playing because you can't run and you can't make a contest any more and you can't impact a game.

"It's got nothing to do with that. It's not his legs or his mobility, it's nothing like that and that's what normally ends your career, so I'm certain he wouldn't be thinking that way.

"He's not going to lose that much fitness. With the injury he's got he'll probably be back running pretty quickly. He'd be thinking 'surely this can't happen again'.

6942526801_da29db07d1.jpg