Yze_Magic

Suspended
Feb 25, 2003
melbourne
McLean/Sylvia > Anyone
this guy is incredible

I get more pleasure watching him play more than any other player in the comp. His body is incredible, he is a monster, and how old is he, maybe 21?

Gets hammered in the opening of the game, and shakes it off and plays on, booting 2 goals in the last quarter

Along with Voss, he is my favorite player outside the Demons. An unstoppable force. Wait til he gets to his mid 20's he will be taking 15 marks a game and dominating games of footy, and theres no way any backman out there will be able to stop him cos he is a freaking Hulk

Originally posted by Yze_Magic
this guy is incredible

I second that...he and Voss are two of my most favorite players outside of Eagles too.

Hope Quentin Lynch turns out to be half as good...sorry had to get that one in.

How ****ty would Buckly be...he makes a fuss of wanting a Premiership Medallion more then a Norm Smith...yet he left Brisbane to come to Melbourne some 8 years ago..he could have had three by now...

Originally posted by McAlmanac
He will be, if not already, the best key position player in the game.

I am aware he is big and strong, but he doesn't get much of the ball and doesn't kick enough goals, which I'd say are pretty important parts of footy.

The crap I've heard about him over the last 8 weeks is ridiculous with people saying he's the next Carey and is already better than Tredrea. He is good, but right now he is not a champion or a superstar. Maybe one day he will be, but he ain't now

I thought today he was mediocre. I know he got hurt and that is most likely the reason he wasn't great, but in my opinion he did bugger all for three quarters and then kicked 2 goals in junk time when the game was all over

Number 16 will be numero uno

Jon Brown is absolutely awesome.
How lucky is Brisbane to have got him through Father-Son at pick 30.

I dont think anyone can doubt his ability. Your a goose for doing this. He is the equal of Tredrea and he'll go longer and get better.
And seems to be a big game player as well. Unlike Tredrea.

It's not always about how many goals he kicks but the way he contests, he always looks dangerous and he keeps going.
No other player can I think of as being so well developed at 21yo.
He's still got some improving and growing to go and that is the scary thing about him.

People have been suggesting what kind of player would be worthy of trading pick 1 for, and I reckon Jon Brown and maybe Matthew Pavlich would be the only two I could think of.

It was interesting to hear Dean Laidley say before the game, that he reckons that Brown is a better player than Carey was at the same age.

I must admit i agree with him.

overated at this stage.

Presti BEAT brown today, just about the only collinwgood player to finish on top. Sure Brown kicked a couple but like Treadea the week before junk time.

Fair bit of Hype about Brown and result to date dont stack up.

I have no doubt he will go on to be very very good and is the best CHF prospect in the league. (not that there are that many good CHF's running around) He had a fair year and has been a pretty good player all year. He has dominated occasionly. VERY occasionaly.

But he's still pretty darn young, he promises to become totally scary.

As for TODAY, beaten, well beaten by presti and his comments about WHO would run through WHO today were just pretty much hot air.
'

Stats might not show it but Brown was a very valuable contributor (imo) from the 2nd quarter onwards. Marking/kicking output was down but what he did do was (in a very traditional manner of how to play chf) was hit packs, create space and brought the ball down to the advantage of his flankers (noticebly Aker and to a lesser extent McGrath and McRae).

Raw points may suggest Presitgiacomo beat him but I'd disagree. Gave nothing the 'other' way and was exposed in any form of 'traffic'.

Respect your opinion alot Pugs, disagree with you on this one though.

Btw check your pm's.

Listen to the high regard opposition coaches hold Brown in. And at the same time watch the dismayed looks on their faces that the guy is only 21. Anyone who doesn't realise this guy's ability and emerging standing in the game, is someone who doesn't understand the importance of presenting physical presence on the football field. Jonathon Brown underators should stop relying on statistics to justify the error of their ways.

'Tractor' as I like to call Jonathon Brown does not wilt when the big questions are asked. And really Presti was admirable but he didn't come close to beating Brown yesterday:rolleyes:

How was it though when they interviewed Browns old man at half time and he questioned the courage of Scott Burns and that hip and shoulder he put on his little boy in the first quarter, he said something along the lines of "he (Burns) took his eye of the ball and went for the man, he'll get whats coming to him when he least expects it" I would love to see how proud Father Brown was of his son when he ran at Rhyce Shaw and poked the elbow out to hit shaw in the side of the head when Rhyce was sitting on the ground!!!!, if it was payback then hopefully they have private health insurance so they can get their boy contact lenses so that he gets the right man when he wants to pay someone back for getting him with a good and fair shirtfront

Originally posted by Hammy75
How was it though when they interviewed Browns old man at half time and he questioned the courage of Scott Burns and that hip and shoulder he put on his little boy in the first quarter, he said something along the lines of "he (Burns) took his eye of the ball and went for the man, he'll get whats coming to him when he least expects it" I would love to see how proud Father Brown was of his son when he ran at Rhyce Shaw and poked the elbow out to hit shaw in the side of the head when Rhyce was sitting on the ground!!!!, if it was payback then hopefully they have private health insurance so they can get their boy contact lenses so that he gets the right man when he wants to pay someone back for getting him with a good and fair shirtfront

yeah Brown is all talk about crashing into players all week and when he cops one Dad is bleating on National TV. Very embarrassing. And then Brown puts the elbow out and hits someone. Still Brown is a rising Champion and played well yesterday. Winners are grinners even if their Daddy's are sooks.

You boys better watch the replay of Burns strike on Brown. The elbow was raised and he hit Brown front on when Brown had his eyes over the ball. I hope you enjoy cheering on Burns in round five next year, because that's the first time in the season proper you'll see him running around in your beloved black and white. The tribunral won't look in a favourable light at such an incident in the first fifteen seconds of the game's showpiece

And yes you're partly right, Brown will get two weeks for his snipe on Shaw but I guess he could always claim that he thought if he hit Shaw in the head it might knock some sense into the kid so he'd stop falling over and fumbling the ball. Now there's something for you to consider.

Brown was ordinary today but look at our forward line to see the difference. He is still a target and without him there the rest of the forward line would break down.

No Rocca showed how important a big CHF is in big games. They do not need possessions, they provide a contest something we lacked of half forward.

People are getting stuck into Tarrant, but he had to play as the lone tall Vs the Brisbane defense with crappy delivery from the midfield.
Tredrea has also had to do that again and again.
Brown has never had to do that, and if he did he would fare a lot worse than the others.
As good as Carey? Reality check please.

Re: overated at this stage.

Originally posted by pugsville
Presti BEAT brown today, just about the only collinwgood player to finish on top. Sure Brown kicked a couple but like Treadea the week before junk time.

Fair bit of Hype about Brown and result to date dont stack up.

I have no doubt he will go on to be very very good and is the best CHF prospect in the league. (not that there are that many good CHF's running around) He had a fair year and has been a pretty good player all year. He has dominated occasionly. VERY occasionaly.

But he's still pretty darn young, he promises to become totally scary.

As for TODAY, beaten, well beaten by presti and his comments about WHO would run through WHO today were just pretty much hot air.
'

What game were you watching. Give it a rest.

After Brown finally got his senses back he ended up with 15 possessions (8 marks)
Presti had 9 possessios with 4 marks.
Presti took a couple of marks early and then well and truely had his colors lowered

Re: Re: overated at this stage.

Originally posted by tigerman
What game were you watching. Give it a rest.

After Brown finally got his senses back he ended up with 15 possessions (8 marks)
Presti had 9 possessios with 4 marks.
Presti took a couple of marks early and then well and truely had his colors lowered

I think he got 5 marks and 7 touches in the last quarter. In that quarter I could have got the ball. It was junk time, Brissie were already celebrating. Before that he had done nothing

Presti had a good game because he didn't let Brown have much influence on the game at all. Presti was one of the few Collingwood players who did there job and can keep his head up high

Re: Number 16 will be numero uno

Originally posted by bulldogs54

People have been suggesting what kind of player would be worthy of trading pick 1 for, and I reckon Jon Brown and maybe Matthew Pavlich would be the only two I could think of.

Ha
Players like pavlich and Brown come across every 2-3 drafts if your lucky.
When the top pick is tipped to be a midfielder then players like Brown and Pavlich are worth more than the top pick.
I would also add polak to that list to.

Jonathan brown