grayza

Sep 19, 2003
Backstage
Fulham
heard it on the radio this morn....naturally he says he isnt interested in leaving brisbane, as you would at only round 6 in the season but that is a pretty big carrot dangling there

does this story have any credibility? or is it another "link collingwood to the uncontracted player" type thing?

i would personally throw the money at Dal Santo, we need more of his type than Brown, but Brown would be nice also :)

guess_who said:
Will never happen but would be awsome if it did, We could try to then lure some big gun midfielder to the club by offering one of our 'gun' forwards.
We need a dal santo/ball/judd type player more than a jonno brown type player. Great if we could get him but whats the point of a great forward line without a good midfield. Also IF we did get him what would this mean to anthony rocca. Trade bait? Because 2 CHF's wouldnt work.

If we can offer 1 mil a year to 1 player, why the ******** arent we offering 500 thou to 2! As far as attracting a player to collingwood goes, id rather pilfer the bulldogs atm, get a hold of a lindsey gilbee or a giansiracusa, or go for fringe midfielders liek walker from freo. We dont need to look at the top and tail of our team its the guts that needs the work!

silverphoenix said:
If we can offer 1 mil a year to 1 player, why the ******** arent we offering 500 thou to 2! As far as attracting a player to collingwood goes, id rather pilfer the bulldogs atm, get a hold of a lindsey gilbee or a giansiracusa, or go for fringe midfielders liek walker from freo. We dont need to look at the top and tail of our team its the guts that needs the work!

I think Lindsey Gilbee and Greedo both re-signed with the Dogs last year, so no luck there, I think the Pies best bet is to try and go for a pacy midfielder in the draft, they don't take as much time to develop as an KPP and won't cost much in Salary cap space.

Brown's going nowhere, it doesn't mean we can't pump his price up by feigning interest. At least we have money to spend, Let's hope we spend it on a gun midfielder.

STATEMENT FROM BRISBANE LIONS PLAYER JONATHAN BROWN

The speculation about my playing future has got a lot bigger over the last week and I don’t want my personal issues to be any form of distraction for my team or the club.

With that in mind, I sat down last night and had a long think about my future. I also talked to those people who are closest to me and whose opinions I respect the most.

At the end of the day, I knew in my heart that I wanted to stay with my mates and keep playing with the club that I supported as a kid.

So I have committed myself to playing for the Brisbane Lions for the coming years.

Footy has always been very good to me, and I really enjoy the lifestyle in Brisbane and playing alongside such a great bunch of blokes.

We still have a lot to achieve as a club, and I’m looking forward to taking on all the challenges ahead with Leigh Matthews, who I’ve got a lot of faith in, and the rest of the boys.

I’m one for looking forward and not back, so now that I’ve made my decision I won’t be talking any more about contracts.

We’ve got a big game against the Western Bulldogs at the Gabba on Saturday night and that now has all my focus.

- Jonathan Brown

Oh Well, TIme to move on and look at players that we really need, IE: skilled, pacy midfielders

hayes, dal santo and ball are all out of contract this year. who reckons the saints will keep all three?...... not me. id definetly take one of the last two, and well, hayes, yeah i guess, why not. surely the saints, even with this "take pay cuts to keep us together ala brisbane" mentality will not be able to keep all three of them at the club.

brilliant pies said:
We need a dal santo/ball/judd type player more than a jonno brown type player. Great if we could get him but whats the point of a great forward line without a good midfield. Also IF we did get him what would this mean to anthony rocca. Trade bait? Because 2 CHF's wouldnt work.

i think we do need a CHF then it would give us some direction and someone to take a strong grab.

i believe we r better off playing rocca out of the square and tarrant either in the pocket or around half forward and onto the win.

i dont think it was quoted right 3 mill over 3 it just sounds abit suss to me

jimmy_clement#8 said:
hayes, dal santo and ball are all out of contract this year. who reckons the saints will keep all three?...... not me. id definetly take one of the last two, and well, hayes, yeah i guess, why not. surely the saints, even with this "take pay cuts to keep us together ala brisbane" mentality will not be able to keep all three of them at the club.

Hayes and Dal santo are out of contract...ball signed end of last season (you guys had a crack at him too) would be very very surprised if either went anywhere, especially lenny but you never know your luck in a big city. Everyone brings our players up when trying to poach, i think you will find a few handy geelong players are out of contract as well..bartel is a nice little footballer.

jimmy_clement#8 said:

The only way you guys would seriously get any gun from St Kilda, or anywhere else for that matter, is if you did offer $3million for 3 years because outside of that, what incentive would there be to play for an underachieving club whose best days were more than 50 years ago. Dal Santo et al has the opportunity to be part of a dynasty with St Kilda and apart from becoming a rich young man, what would lure him to Olympic Park? Winning big games? Premierships? A gig on the Footy Show perhaps?

Get serious, until you start choosing wisely at the draft, developing quality young footballers and showing that you are capable of winning when it counts, then the best that you will lure will be a Shane Woewodin type.

i reckon there has to be at least one or two uncontracted quality midfielders that will seriously weigh up their options and work out is it 'pay cut at their current club' or 'a massive deal at collingwood'. whether they chose the former or the latter, i have no idea, but the fact they will consider both options, unlike brown who dismissed the deal from the pies, is a definite start in the right direction from a black and white perspective.

He will never leave, y leave a team like brisbane an come to collingwood??? wont happen sadly :(

and anyway we dont need him, we need players like josh carr, chris judd, steven milne...players that are hard an tough & arent afraid to get their hands dirty not like some of our players *coughwoewodincough*

grayza said:
heard it on the radio this morn....naturally he says he isnt interested in leaving brisbane, as you would at only round 6 in the season but that is a pretty big carrot dangling there

does this story have any credibility? or is it another "link collingwood to the uncontracted player" type thing?

i would personally throw the money at Dal Santo, we need more of his type than Brown, but Brown would be nice also :)
:rolleyes:

The Toolman said:
The only way you guys would seriously get any gun from St Kilda, or anywhere else for that matter, is if you did offer $3million for 3 years because outside of that, what incentive would there be to play for an underachieving club whose best days were more than 50 years ago. Dal Santo et al has the opportunity to be part of a dynasty with St Kilda and apart from becoming a rich young man, what would lure him to Olympic Park? Winning big games? Premierships? A gig on the Footy Show perhaps?

Get serious, until you start choosing wisely at the draft, developing quality young footballers and showing that you are capable of winning when it counts, then the best that you will lure will be a Shane Woewodin type.

Ha, you write just like your display name suggests, troll somewhere else loser?

Pies will rebound quicker than **************** supporters like you realise.

steviewonder36 said:
Ha, you write just like your display name suggests, troll somewhere else loser?

Pies will rebound quicker than **************** supporters like you realise.
What part of what I said don't you agree with....or is it the truth hurting?

I think we need to aim at targeting Chris Judd than any other player. Luke Ball and Nick Dal Santo will be great to have at the Lexus Centre, but I can see both staying at the Saints and not playing for money.

As for Chris Judd, we can offer them Shane Woewodin, Tristen Walker and a 1st or 2nd round draft pick for the superstar brownlow medallist.

Not saying it is going to happen, but it is a deal I would personally take. Woewy is some bait at the end of the year (only supporters think he is a dud. Coaches and Team Management have a brain and actually think Woewy is a good player), while Walker may add value as a tall and 1st round draft pick to complete the deal, or maybe a 2nd round draft pick might be enough.

I think Juddy is the player to 'target', we have the money, some bait, and draft picks (you never know, priority pick might be granted at the end of the year :eek: , so we could let loose our first round pick!)

Surely one player is not going to win collingwood a premier ship, its silly to think that targeting one player and paying him 600+ grand a year is a smart choice. I think we would be better of chasing good players like DAL and then some others to go around with that and perhaps develop some of our own starting right now by playing youngens and seing if theire good enough or not IE Rusling, Heater, Yakka, Rowe, Cloke, and even Brayden. T-Cloke looks the goods as does Rowe, so keep playing them giving them bigger roles every week. The others, introuduce them gradually.

Jonathon Brown: $3mil for 3 years