jonathon-patton.jpg

Name: Jonathan Patton
Height: 195cm
Weight: 91kg
DOB: 20/5/1993
Positon: Tall Forward
Club: Eastern Ranges
TAC Cup Statistics: http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_i...&pID=190343028&client=1-3020-0-102897-8054968
Video Footage: http://rangesfc.matchvision.com.au/player/jonathon-patton

Got dominated on the weekend. A lot of question marks will be raised if he plays another game like he did against NSW.

mmm, didnt really impress much as a top ten pick against NSW/act, hopefully that's a one off but regardless i think he'll be the slider of the draft (early to call i no:p) bit like Jackson Trengove in 2008?

EDIT: this wont happen He'll be top 3

Very, very big call questioning his place in the scheme of things to this degree after one game. A bit of knee-jerk reaction happening, methinks.

The kid can play. And for the rest of the year he will always, always get the #1 defender and probably a fair bit of attention from other blokes looking to be the second or third man up against him. He'll create opportunities for other forwards simply because the opposition's defensive structure will warp trying to cover him. He's even played a decoy role in the TAC, with some success.

Very, very big call questioning his place in the scheme of things to this degree after one game. A bit of knee-jerk reaction happening, methinks.

The kid can play. And for the rest of the year he will always, always get the #1 defender and probably a fair bit of attention from other blokes looking to be the second or third man up against him. He'll create opportunities for other forwards simply because the opposition's defensive structure will warp trying to cover him. He's even played a decoy role in the TAC, with some success.

It's interesting, because there are plenty of players throughout the years who were absolute monsters in junior footy, only to do nothing in the big leagues.

Look at Billy Morrison when he was drafted. Absolutely dominated down here in Tasmania, then did nothing in the AFL. His big body masked a lot of his deficiencies.

Just like Tom Hawkins currently at Geelong!

I hope Patton isn't like these guys. He has some serious talent, with serious upside. I think the Jon Brown comparisons are quite warranted. But who knows. We won't be able to tell whether he's a future powerhouse forward in the AFL or just another man playing against boys in underaged footy until he plays in the AFL!

It's interesting, because there are plenty of players throughout the years who were absolute monsters in junior footy, only to do nothing in the big leagues.

Look at Billy Morrison when he was drafted. Absolutely dominated down here in Tasmania, then did nothing in the AFL. His big body masked a lot of his deficiencies.

Just like Tom Hawkins currently at Geelong!

I hope Patton isn't like these guys. He has some serious talent, with serious upside. I think the Jon Brown comparisons are quite warranted. But who knows. We won't be able to tell whether he's a future powerhouse forward in the AFL or just another man playing against boys in underaged footy until he plays in the AFL!

Very True there about big Players Dominating in Junior Level and Do Nothing at Senior Level. Please Don't Remind me of that Massive Bust in Morrison.

Have not see enough of Patton to make a Call Yet what I think of him but sounds like people think he could be a Gun

Very True there about big Players Dominating in Junior Level and Do Nothing at Senior Level. Please Don't Remind me of that Massive Bust in Morrison.

Have not see enough of Patton to make a Call Yet what I think of him but sounds like people think he could be a Gun

he could be this years Jack Darling?

No doubt going in the top 3 for GWS.

I've only seen him maybe half a dozen times this year and last, but he's never struck me as someone who gets by on body size. Takes most of his marks in space, making smart leads, losing his man and getting separation. Can take a big packbreaking mark, but is just as likely to pick up the ground ball and step around two before slotting it around the corner.

I saw a bit of Temel and Barden over the last few years in the TAC, both big bodies who got by on size in the juniors, and who faded out of draft contention. Patton is in a completely different stratosphere to those blokes. Barden worked hard and had some smarts, but Patton is in a different league athletically and in quality of disposal. From last year I'd put him plenty above what I saw of Cook, and probably edging out Tom Lynch at this stage too, though they're very different players. And Lynch was one of my last year's favourites.

Have to admit I've been wrong plenty of times, but probably so has everyone else who watches the kids, even those who get paid much more than me. I reckon he's the real deal. Others may of course disagree...

That articule suggesting Ward will be offered a 800k per year contract to the GWS mentioned Patton is a lock in for the #1 pick...Anyone heard more on this. Im hoping he slides to 4 if lions bottom out completely

Absolutely no way he'd fall to number 4 if the Lions do bottom out mate.

Doubt you'd call him a lock like Swallow was last season, I think Coniglio will have something to say about that!

Absolutely no way he'd fall to number 4 if the Lions do bottom out mate.

Doubt you'd call him a lock like Swallow was last season, I think Coniglio will have something to say about that!

That's if Coniglio picks footy over cricket!;)

That particular quote was from Patton's manager as far as I know, so I'd take it with a grain of salt approximately the size of Belgium. Not exactly an unbiased source.

Though at this very early stage of the season, and without having seen pretty much any of the WA or SA kids, I'd be pretty staggered if Patton was still around at 4.

That particular quote was from Patton's manager as far as I know, so I'd take it with a grain of salt approximately the size of Belgium. Not exactly an unbiased source.

Though at this very early stage of the season, and without having seen pretty much any of the WA or SA kids, I'd be pretty staggered if Patton was still around at 4.

Would be hard to imagine that GWS would not take him. Like you said the kid plays smart and has good skills and is already 95kg so they only have to build his engine to AFL fitness level. He has the body to play now.

Disappointing as we are likely to get the spoon and would be a lovely forward replacement for the big JB. Perhaps we can trade some of our compensation picks if we lose Clark + Rich to upgrade for him.

Hopefully he slides.... WOULD LOVE HIM AT MELBOURNE.

Maybe he doesn't want to go to GWS either? But instead of boycotting is just playing poorly ;)

No doubt he will dominate a couple of games, but I was a bit disappointed considering the wraps on him.

Deserves to go Pick 1 in my opinion

Most damaging player in the draft

will go top 3, but i wasnt overly impressed with him to be honest, his positioning and use of his body for someone of his size is pretty poor.

I think he will go at 2, there is no way he is infront of congilio IMO. He is a good talent, but does bully the younger kids round a bit IMO. Yet still has the raw basics to be a very good player.

Yeah, I can see Stephen Coniglio being #1 (Should he choose AFL over cricket)