Jordan Russell

Russel is a player who is going to be very valuble to us in the near future i think. He is a player who knows how to get the ball but his got to want the ball.

Yet another player that looks like making the step up to playing good consistant AFL footy. great game last night and improving all the time!

Chapman next week?

Lids had ZERO impact on the game. :thumbsu:

I reckon he should take Ling... they are similar players and it would be good to seem him play a shut down role on Ling. At worst Ling will lead him to the ball and it could be a little bit of a learning experience...

Ling won't hurt us with his disposal. Would rather see him play on a play maker. If he shuts Chapman down we win.:thumbsu:

Chapman isn't a play marker, he is a opportunist/creative forward. I'd rather see Russ in the guts shadowing Ling all day. Ling is a creative mid fielder and in terms of learning that is a the best way a young kid can learn. To have Ling taking you to the contests or "showing" you where to be when the ball is in a contest 50m away seems better to me IMO

We don't need to tag Ling IMO. As BB points out, we would be far better off with him getting the ball, his hurt factor is much smaller these days and he turns the ball over quite a bit....I have a few Geelong friends who even admit this these days. I think he would be beter served trying to shut down an Ablett or Chapman who can go forward and hurt us offensively.

Was good to watch him last night. He just needs to find the ball more himself (8 or so possies last night just isn't enough) and he will be a player. Wait until the mid season break before I pass more of a judgement, but he definately looks like he'll improve in leaps and bounds this year.

Have to disagree. Chapman is their best player, often pushes up the ground and delivers forward. Very dangerous player. Shutting him down should be a priority with a close checking defender, Walker presumably. He can follow him into midfield as well if he goes there.

Nick Stevens head-to-head with Ling and we'll destroy them. By no means tag Ling, nowhere near damaging enough to warrant that. Only one I'd look at tagging for the Cats is Gary Ablett Jnr, has been playing midfield this season to date and is a gun. Also had a field day against us last year.

Could certainly interchange:
Ablett - Walker
Chapman - Russell

Reckon Tex will want some revenge from last time, and WILL hurt them with running off Ablett, but depending on positions they may swap. Russ to stay more on ball, tex to go with whoever pushes forwards more (similar players in this regard)

Does anyone think that russell needs to find more of the ball??

I certainly do. He might be doing some good tagging jobs, but in my opinion 5 possesions in 4 quarters is no where near good enough. Because he is doing the tagging it means his direct oponent will show him no respect and he can really hurt his opponent on the counter attack.

Jose Romero came down to my local footy training a few years ago and he said that one method the bulldogs would use is to try and give the tagger as many kicks as possible and thus putting more pressure on the tagged player. I just think a return of maybe 15 possessions would be a bit more encouraging, but i do understand that he is still young and hope that he can develope that part of my game.

What do you people think?

I certainly do. He might be doing some good tagging jobs, but in my opinion 5 possesions in 4 quarters is no where near good enough. Because he is doing the tagging it means his direct oponent will show him no respect and he can really hurt his opponent on the counter attack.

Jose Romero came down to my local footy training a few years ago and he said that one method the bulldogs would use is to try and give the tagger as many kicks as possible and thus putting more pressure on the tagged player. I just think a return of maybe 15 possessions would be a bit more encouraging, but i do understand that he is still young and hope that he can develope that part of my game.

Disagree.
I think his number one job is to stop his man from getting the ball, or render him ineffective when he does. Apart from small patches in the third Q Delidio was rendered ineffective.

On top of this Russell kicked a great goal, could have had two.

If he hold Chapman to 15-20 pressured possessions, but only gets 5-10 touches himself (most of which are quality) then he's done his job.

think of him as being where Tex was two years ago. his time will come as a ball winner and finisher, but for now he is doing a superb job.:thumbsu:

Good point by Romero... that's definitely smart thinking. You'd expect if a bloke played a full game in midfield that he'd get at least 12-15 touches, regardless if he was a tagger or not, but it depends on his instructions from the coach... if it's a hard tag, or just a run with.

Welcome back mate.:)

I think people were taking my tought out of context a bit. I rate Lings ability to find the ball, damaging he might not be but he finds a fair bit of the cod. Due to his lack of speed and fair engine that is perfect for Russ to shadow to find the ball. I just think a true tagging role on a GAJ or PC wouldnt do him much good especially if he gets toweled up. Confidence wise to towel up Ling and get a bit of a better grasp on where to be at the right times would be good. I have no doubt he could towel Ling, Chapman and Ablett im not so sure.

He's just shut down Delidio and Power. I wouldn't think he needs a confidence boost by walking next to Ling as he runs for the ball.

I too was hard on him early in nab cup. He has put his body on the line and is starting to show the talent and confidence that will cement a solid future at carlton for a long time.