Judd behind schedule

Nov 4, 2007
Cleveland Cavaliers
Reading the interviews from Judd he's still saying he's not right as he originally thought he'd in be in full training by Christmas. Is this cause for any concern at all?

Apparently he had the wrong surgery.

Thankyou Dr. fogdog, however, he is progressing very nicely thankyou very much, and he is at about 90% as we speak. Another 5-6 weeks of training, and perhaps a practice under his belt, and he should be pretty close to 100% for the round 1 game against Richmond.

I think the fact he hasn't been training with the club and taking his time/not rushing a return suggests he's a fair way off.

"The honest answer is I'll return when I'm ready," he said.
Herald Sun: So when do think that might be?
"If it's not ready until the split round, say Round 12 in the middle of the season, then that's when it will be. I guess I've gone away from trying to pretend I can somehow control when my body is going to be fixed, because I have got no idea.
"Seriously, I've got no choice. It's either that or you play hurt and you end up finishing your career. That's where I am at. It has probably progressed slower than I would have liked, but sooner or later it will be fixed, and the important thing then is that it stays right."
HS: Are you saying it is possible you may not be ready for the start of the season?
"It's possible, but it's unlikely, but it's definitely possible. It's possible I will never play again, but if I was a betting man, I wouldn't be putting money on that. I'm hoping to play Round 1, it would be nice to get a hitout one or two games before then, but I won't be making the same mistake as I did last year."
The mistake was being in a situation where he played despite being seriously hindered by his injury.

Would love to know whats actually wrong with him, the recovery from the surgery should be well and truly complete by now but it obviously didn't fix the problem.

Hopefully he doesn't turn out like Luke Ball

Be a shame for football

Aisake had the same operation 6-8 weeks before Judd and has only just moved out of the recovery group and started training with the main group.

I wouldn't be too concerned at all with the rate he's progressing

Would love to know whats actually wrong with him, the recovery from the surgery should be well and truly complete by now but it obviously didn't fix the problem.

Hopefully he doesn't turn out like Luke Ball

Be a shame for football

All the banter between supporters put aside I think all mentally balanced people do hope Judd gets back to 100%. Being in Darwin I don't see many live games, I saw Judd live once and it was awsome, 2007 Rnd 1 v Swans - we won by 1 point:D

Watching him play is just a pleasure and even though he's changed clubs I'LL still enjoy watching him cut up the Pies, Bombers etc:p

When you look back the guy put alot into the Eagles....he played in alot of pain last year when he probably shouldn't have. It takes a special sort of person to do that.

Rnd 1 or 12 as long as he comes back fit thats all that matters.

Good luck Chris.

All the banter between supporters put aside I think all mentally balanced people do hope Judd gets back to 100%. Being in Darwin I don't see many live games, I saw Judd live once and it was awsome, 2007 Rnd 1 v Swans - we won by 1 point:D

Watching him play is just a pleasure and even though he's changed clubs I'LL still enjoy watching him cut up the Pies, Bombers etc:p

When you look back the guy put alot into the Eagles....he played in alot of pain last year when he probably shouldn't have. It takes a special sort of person to do that.

Rnd 1 or 12 as long as he comes back fit thats all that matters.

Good luck Chris.

And therein lies the problem. If Judd had been playing for a team that wasn't going to be involved in the finals &, in the case of the Eagles, considered a premiership chance, he would have been booked in for surgery before the end of the home & away season & therefore ready to train at 100% when training resumed after the Christmas break.

I would suggest that Judd's expectations were probably at the extremely optimistic end of the scale, whereas I think the club have known all along that he would not be ready until close to the start of the home & away season. As posted by 'The Aissassin', Aisake has only just rejoined the main training group despite having surgery 6-8 weeks before Judd. Therefore add another 6-8 weeks onto Judd's recovery & we are at the start of the home & away season. Works for me, because I know that Judd doesn't need a lot of match practice to be able to have an influence & ultimately his best form will come at the time of the season when some of the younger players are starting to fall away.

Thankyou Dr. fogdog, however, he is progressing very nicely thankyou very much, and he is at about 90% as we speak. Another 5-6 weeks of training, and perhaps a practice under his belt, and he should be pretty close to 100% for the round 1 game against Richmond.
Then you would probably be pretty shattered to read the article below and the other one in the HUN today:

Judd bombshell after surgery stuff-up

Carlton fans hopes that Chris Judd will bring them finals success has taken a massive dive with the fresh revelation that he may break down as early as July/August 2008.

In what has been described as one of the biggest trades in AFL/VFL history, the Carlton football Club delivered to their members what some supporters described as the best news the club had delivered in years. The news, that Chris Judd will be wearing a Carlton jumper, may be short-lived. It may now be a question of how long will he last.

A leading Melbourne orthopaedic surgeon claims that the surgery Judd has undergone is simply a ‘stuff up’ and it will only be a matter of time before the injury worsens and Judd breaks down again, potentially permanently.

A source close to bomberblitz has suggested that leading Victorian orthopaedic surgeon David Young, also orthopaedic surgeon to Western Bulldogs, was contacted in 2007 in regards to the Judd injury but the news the Judd camp received was not what they were looking for.

Judd opted for surgery in Sydney which has since been claimed as a success, however, it has been suggested that the surgery was in fact a quick fix and not the type many leading orthopaedic surgeons would perform.

Since undergoing the surgery, Judd has completed many restricted training sessions and to the majority of spectators, he looks like he is regaining full fitness and ready for a solid 2008 season.

Well you Might also want to have a read of this article in The BS Times

Essendon are Shit

A 6 month old baby has said that Essendon are shit, and the rest of the world agreed with him

Well who the fluck has he been training with you peanut ???

see folks this is why you should say no to drugs :rolleyes:

according to stevens he hasn't been involved with the main training group, just running laps.

you seem to be the only one who couldn't work that out.:rolleyes:

Isn't it sweet revenge to see an article that shows he clearly has a lot more problems than people thought.

Serves a lot of smart ars#s right. And it is some sweet revenge for the crap I got talking with some of your crappy supporters yesterday.

:p:):thumbsu: For all those crap filled posters, suck it up boys.

Isn't it sweet revenge to see an article that shows he clearly has a lot more problems than people thought.

Serves a lot of smart ars#s right. And it is some sweet revenge for the crap I got talking with some of your crappy supporters yesterday.

:p:):thumbsu: For all those crap filled posters, suck it up boys.

You have just proven all those Blues supporters who abused you for being just another troll as correct ..thank you for showing your true colours ..i was the stupid one for sticking up for you .
I suggest you and other Tassie supporters forget your obsession with Carlton and worry about your club ..the cultural problems associated with whats going on with a number of Hawks players is far worse than a player overcoming a long term injury ...just ask the Eagles and Ben Cousins .

You have just proven all those Blues supporters who abused you for being just another troll as correct ..thank you for showing your true colours ..i was the stupid one for sticking up for you .
I suggest you and other Tassie supporters forget your obsession with Carlton and worry about your club ..the cultural problems associated with whats going on with a number of Hawks players is far worse than a player overcoming a long term injury ...just ask the Eagles and Ben Cousins .

It's the exact opposite mate. I tried to start a discussion and got abused by you fools. And I warned you yesterday this sort of attitude comes back to bite people. So suck it up. HA HA.

Cultural problems, my ass. Next week we could read headlines about any player in the league. Wake up

Yesterday's responses to my thread simply showed what losers a lot (not all) of you guys are.

And I'm glad today's timely news has come out. Stick it.:p

It's the exact opposite mate. I tried to start a discussion and got abused by you fools. And I warned you yesterday this sort of attitude comes back to bite people. So suck it up. HA HA.

Cultural problems, my ass. Next week we could read headlines about any player in the league. Wake up

Yesterday's responses to my thread simply showed what losers a lot (not all) of you guys are.

And I'm glad today's timely news has come out. Stick it.:p

I reckon it's about time you took a break from this board. I don't know if your original post was a troll or not, but your attitude is starting slip toward that of a troll. Best you leave now before it's too late.

Judd behind schedule