Judd for Jonathon Brown?

Originally posted by no1bankteller
Who would make this deal?

I know I would without blinking!

Not me - we have potential answers for CHF.
No-one else in our squad that has Judd's ability/potential.

yeah if i was an eagles man....for sure i'd take that deal..judd is so overrated, i've never heard of a more talked about player...

but then i guess he does have potential and my opinion doesn't mean squat since i'm a pies man

Originally posted by littleMAGPIEkid
but then i guess he does have potential and my opinion doesn't mean squat since i'm a pies man

And a little kid at that :D

living in perth though i have to put up with sooooo many judd lovers, i like it when i hear an eagles supporter that doesnt blow his load when pple are talkin about him

Fascinating question.

I'd say yes, lets do it. While we have others on the squad that MAY develop into good CHF's, here's a guy that's 21 and has already proven that he can play the position and play it pretty damned well! Comparison's between Brown & Carey aren't as far fetched as some may think.

Judd, while a brilliant mid-fielder with a glettering future, would be easier to replace than a Jonathan Brown too.

hahahahaha um er! judd for brown is laughable we have a so many developing talls like lynch, johnson, mcdougall, gaspar it would be pointless and all i can think of is this would be a major loss for us.

I don't know about you guys but im not about to just think finishing 14 with 5 wins for the season in 01 was for nothing judd is a star and he is a player i hope we never lose.

Very funny thread! If you weren't joking - go walk to the mirror and take a good hard look at yourself!

Would take Judd & Kerr (or similair) for a player like Brown. Definitely 2 players or Judd & 1st round draft pick. Even then - Brisbane would say NO.

Midfielders are a dime a dozen but quality CHF's only come along once a decade if LUCKY.

Have a think about it...do you seriously think Judd would get a game in the Brisbane midfield? 3 brownlow medalists. Next in line is Lappin who is also a cut above Judd in class.

Originally posted by Lidge
Very funny thread! If you weren't joking - go walk to the mirror and take a good hard look at yourself!

Would take Judd & Kerr (or similair) for a player like Brown. Definitely 2 players or Judd & 1st round draft pick. Even then - Brisbane would say NO.

Midfielders are a dime a dozen but quality CHF's only come along once a decade if LUCKY.

Have a think about it...do you seriously think Judd would get a game in the Brisbane midfield? 3 brownlow medalists. Next in line is Lappin who is also a cut above Judd in class.

Rd. 12 West Coast vs Brisbane @ the GABBA.

Look it up - Judd didn't have much trouble cutting the Brisbane midfield to shreds that day.

I don't think jonathan brown plays well enough on a regular basis
and when i see lynch i believe he can develop into a kpp.

just look at the bloke there has been a player of his stature since jakovich back in 91 and i can see whats gonna happen to him a mile away we'll probably get rid of him and he'll get picked up by some second rate club like essendon or collingwood and play good consistent footy.

collingwood second rate??? ok mate have fun for the rest of the finals campaign

p.s judd smells

If there is any player deserving of the overrated tag, it would be JB. He has a decent game every 4th or 5th match. Goes missing when the team needs a big body,

Tredrea craps on him as a CHF. Jakovich probably had as much impact as JB this year.

The Package is gonna be a 15 year bolt of midfield lightning. Brownlows, premierships, maybe even a Coleman if he gets on a roll like he did against the Lions.

The trade is like me offering you Trent Carroll for Akermanis.

This trade is very unlikely, but .........

Brown is a very good CHF who is developing consistency.

Judd is a good midfielder, who has shown his goods in spurts, but lacks consistency. The media have pumped him up before he has found the consistency (ala Pav).

Lynch is yet to show on the radar when comparing with Brown.

It is interesting to note, even though WCE have 2 premierships, they have never had a quality CHF (Langdon is the closest). Can a team today, get a premiership without a good CHF?.

McDougall is most likely to grow into the CHF, if Woosha put's him there 100% of the time and does not clog that position up with "bit part" players.

Masai what is your opinion on this unlikely trade? Would you do it?

I do not disagree with anything you said, except that Langdon was our best CHF. I think Mitchel White IN HIS PRIME would outplay Langdon (in his prime) any day. Though Langdon may crash more bodies.

Originally posted by no1bankteller
Masai what is your opinion on this unlikely trade? Would you do it?

I do not disagree with anything you said, except that Langdon was our best CHF. I think Mitchel White IN HIS PRIME would outplay Langdon (in his prime) any day. Though Langdon may crash more bodies.

If it was a one for one swap (and the players agreed), the WCE should grab Brown with delight.

The reasoning is that the Eagles need a powerful CHF to be a marking option up forward, Brown offers this, plus some bustle in the packs. I am impressed with McDougall but if this trade came about, he could be fitted into the forward mix as a decoy tall roaming around the forward line, plus some rucking. Really the physical aspect of Brown's game is what allows alot of crumbs to come off packs (crashing of packs), and WCE do not have any big physical bulldozers at the moment.

Judd is darn good, but I reckon his loss to the midfield would be less than the gain to the forward line.

One thought, would Brissie do it to ease salary pressures?. Be interested to know what Brown will earn in 2004, but I understand Judd will cost $450 000 to feed and water. I can't see a salary out for Brissie in that matter.

My comment about WCE never having a good CHF was really just a passing observation considering their success in the 90's, and whether a gun CHF is required today to get a premiership.

This is a real hypothetical trade and as such I reckon it has "buckleys" of seeing the light of day.

Originally posted by masai
One thought, would Brissie do it to ease salary pressures?. Be interested to know what Brown will earn in 2004, but I understand Judd will cost $450 000 to feed and water. I can't see a salary out for Brissie in that matter.

$200,000 more like it. Its been reported that he accepted less from the eagles than what he could of got if he returned to Victoria.

masai

I do not disagree that this trade has buckley's of getting up? Its purely a hypothetical.

$200k per year for Judd. I doubt it though $300k-$350k seems reasonable.

Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes
$200,000 more like it. Its been reported that he accepted less from the eagles than what he could of got if he returned to Victoria.

I heard that it was more along the lines of 350k

CHF's like Brown get too many injuries and are too inconsistant. Overrated in big games too. (especially big grounds like Subi which is why Freo and WC will never have a great CHF).

When the big games come, it's guys like Mcleod, Akermains, Voss, Buckley. Jarman, Matera, Judd that make the difference.

Like someone said, Jakovich was as good as Brown this year.
And also how far did Richmond go by making Richo their franchise player?

JUDD=Untouchable

Originally posted by drexel
CHF's like Brown get too many injuries and are too inconsistant. Overrated in big games too. (especially big grounds like Subi which is why Freo and WC will never have a great CHF).

the problem being that the grand final will not be won at subi.

Stick with what you know. I'd rather see Juddy go 12 years with us and have J Brown for the same period.

Get's down to personal taste I'd say.

could it be that littlemagpiedude is trying to downplay judd's market value because the pies couldn't get their Arab Emirate hands on Judd?

Originally posted by chrisjudd3
could it be that littlemagpiedude is trying to downplay judd's market value because the pies couldn't get their Arab Emirate hands on Judd?

how about no.

i think its good that judd has decided to stay with the eagles...if we got him i would have hated to have to cheer for judd.

he is overrated, ever since perth got excited about how "good" he is, he became cocky and thus useless. he played maybe two or three games that he stood out.... he has like 5 minute patches of good play then spends the rest of the game grazing grass...

i see a lot of eagles games being stuck in perth. but i hate him more only coz i have a friend who thinks he is the greatest..her fave player used to be peter matera and now she's obssessed with judd.........whenever i hear his name i can hear her screaming "GO JUDD!" man that sound gets on my nerve.