No 1 Draft Pick

Crows
There was a thread the other day that talked about him in passing. A couple of posters in the know (definitely Stiffy and I think it was RooDog?) mentioned in subtle ways his off-field issues ('Say NO to Juniper').

Why is he training with us then if we arent fair dinkum about possibly picking him up. If he is a loose cannon off-field this certainly wouldnt be 'fixed' in a very short time.

Dont you think he must be a chance for a rookie-listing if he is training with us? Gives us a yr or so to work through his 'issues' and also monitor his apparent potential

While we're at it i'm sure Roodog was talking about how dedicated Redden is, but now he's a "Loose Cannon" Please explain

Stiffy_18 said:
If the reports are true then Redden would be better off to ditch Juniper if he wants to make an AFL career.

But Stiffy why is Juniper training with us then? Surely hes a chance to be selected dont you think? Otherwise we are wasting ours and his time

No 1 Draft Pick said:
But Stiffy why is Juniper training with us then? Surely hes a chance to be selected dont you think? Otherwise we are wasting ours and his time

ofcourse hes a chance otherwise they wouldnt waste their time on him. i think stiffy and whoever else said this doesnt really know what their talking about, hes just guessing. Juniper is as much a chance as everyone else, that why hes been invited out

No 1 Draft Pick said:
Of course he is a chance but I am saying that if what I heard is true then we are better off without him. Last thing we need is a loose cannon even if its only as a rookie.

Stiffy_18 said:
Of course he is a chance but I am saying that if what I heard is true then we are better off without him. Last thing we need is a loose cannon even if its only as a rookie.

you cant go saying by what you heard third hand, just because someone isnt a nice bloke doesn't mean they cant play footy. i think on the rookie list it wouldnt be a waste anyway they are hardly worth a spot.

we should be filling our rookie spots with quick midfielders or ruckman. i know we have good ruck prospects now, but a handy ruck is a valuable trade, look at jolly at melbourne, theres no way hes worth a first rounder. pearce should be added, and apparently fantasia said tonight that theres a 202cm ruck prospect from nsw/act. cant see grundy fitting in the team structure really when you think about. out of the lot though he seems one of the most likely to get a spot. if hes 190 and not 192 i wouldnt get him, we always have to many medium defenders/forwards. i trust with stewart looking over the project it will come out nicely

jack did it said:
you cant go saying by what you heard third hand, just because someone isnt a nice bloke doesn't mean they cant play footy. i think on the rookie list it wouldnt be a waste anyway they are hardly worth a spot.

we should be filling our rookie spots with quick midfielders or ruckman. i know we have good ruck prospects now, but a handy ruck is a valuable trade, look at jolly at melbourne, theres no way hes worth a first rounder. pearce should be added, and apparently fantasia said tonight that theres a 202cm ruck prospect from nsw/act. cant see grundy fitting in the team structure really when you think about. out of the lot though he seems one of the most likely to get a spot. if hes 190 and not 192 i wouldnt get him, we always have to many medium defenders/forwards. i trust with stewart looking over the project it will come out nicely
Mate it has nothing to do whether he is a nice bloke or not. Its got to do with his apparent attitude and his possible influence on other youngsters on our list.

Stiffy_18 said:
Mate it has nothing to do whether he is a nice bloke or not. Its got to do with his apparent attitude and his possible influence on other youngsters on our list.

if hes got more talent than others you pick him whip him into line, if he doesnt want to play ball you cut him, easy. like you've been telling me you dont get that many good players through the preseason draft so its worth the risk

jack did it said:
if hes got more talent than others you pick him whip him into line, if he doesnt want to play ball you cut him, easy. like you've been telling me you dont get that many good players through the preseason draft so its worth the risk

Firstly - stop jumping all over Stiffy, it's just bad manners.

Secondly, I agree with you.

The risk involved in rookie listing a player isn't the same as giving him a two year contract and wasting a high draft pick. And while he may be a bad influence on some players - I'm sure that will be balanced by the good influences that would surround them, and hopefully they might have their own bit of sense.

And, maybe, it's just that the kid was a bit of an arse to people in high school. If everyone that did that didn't get drafted, our forward line would be Humphrey, Anne Fulwood and that afro guy from Australian Idol.

jo172 said:
While we're at it i'm sure Roodog was talking about how dedicated Redden is, but now he's a "Loose Cannon" Please explain

well i was during the season but lets say this may have changed after the season.

RooDog said:
well i was during the season but lets say this may have changed after the season.

Ok both these guys have just ended Year 12 (I think) arent they allowed to let their hair down a little?

RooDog said:

shouldnt make statements running players down if you have nothing to back it up with, and dont know them well enough to stick by your comment

jack did it said:
shouldnt make statements running players down if you have nothing to back it up with, and dont know them well enough to stick by your comment

you are an absolute fool mate, honestly get a clue. how do you know that i dont know them or that the information is not good, you see when you have been involved in Football at a high enough level you make contacs and when you went to the same school as them and are friends with one of their brothers/sisters you tend to get reasonable information. ;)

RooDog said:
you are an absolute fool mate, honestly get a clue. how do you know that i dont know them or that the information is not good, you see when you have been involved in Football at a high enough level you make contacs and when you went to the same school as them and are friends with one of their brothers/sisters you tend to get reasonable information. ;)
Thats getting as close enough for me. You can get some very reliable info from those contacts - then gets back to the reliability and interpretaion of the poster. ;)

jack did it said:

For someone who is so quick to bring up the negative, I find this comment strange. The name Laurence Angwin doesn't ring a bell?

RooDog said:

i have a clue MATE, i dont pretend to be a junior expert on young developing footballers.

because your friends with a sister or something gives you no right to write the guy off. it is simply third hand gossip that you're going by and as everyone knows that gets so disorted its not funny. BASICALLY, i trust alan steward to make a much better decision after all he has the runs on the board, unlike you

look at the facts and face it you idiot

jack did it said:
i have a clue MATE, i dont pretend to be a junior expert on young developing footballers.

because your friends with a sister or something gives you no right to write the guy off. it is simply third hand gossip that you're going by and as everyone knows that gets so disorted its not funny. BASICALLY, i trust alan steward to make a much better decision after all he has the runs on the board, unlike you

haha mate you are so hypocritical its not funny. well i wouldnt call a famil member of this players info as 3rd hand id say theyd have a fair idea and so would the coach down at glenelg who told me some of the info too but you know what i dont really care what you think because this is an opinion board and you are having one even though you dont know what the hell you are on about.

jack did it said:

your a ********er jack did it, roodog would know, he went to SHC, he umpires them, his brother plays for them, he knows his sister, and from what ive heard they havnt just been "letting their hair down"

you get a clue you tosser

Scottroo said:
your a ********er jack did it, roodog would know, he went to SHC, he umpires them, his brother plays for them, he knows his sister, and from what ive heard they havnt just been "letting their hair down"

you get a clue you tosser

cheers scott. your a top bloke.

dont draft jack juniper, hes an ugly bastard, played cricket against him, bowled him second ball. i say rookie draft elijah ware, danyle pearce and heath grundy

ferguswatts said:
dont draft jack juniper, hes an ugly bastard, played cricket against him, bowled him second ball. i say rookie draft elijah ware, danyle pearce and heath grundy
Do we draft based on looks?

How did Roughead get drafted then ;)