Liverpool
I'm going to start keeping track of how much shit I actually eat.

I had KFC a couple of nights ago.

I ate 4 pieces of chicken and some chips.

Wasn't too nice, just couldn't be stuffed cooking and was very hungry.

Got a bit of a stomach ache the morning after.

Hunger causes poor food choices :(

If you're trying to be healthy and slip up you should confess here. That way you will remember that it was a poor choice and can try to avoid doing it again.

Excellent idea for a fred.

I had one block of Coles el cheapo mint chocolate left in my house. I ate it all in one go tonight when I got home.

My plan is to eat no crap food for the rest of the month. Based on previous efforts, my chances of success are slim to nil. Despite this I am confident, and this thread will help me.

I should add that I am now more than eight months sober. If you had've told me last year that I would find it easier - much, much easier - to quit alcohol than to quit sugar, I'd have said you were misguided.

Evidently I'd have been wrong.

EDIT: I think Juggalo Balla should amend the OP to state clearly that participation in this thread equates to giving permission for others to tag you in this thread at random points in the future, to check to see if you have stuck to whatever targets you have publicly set for yourself. If we all hold each other accountable, we will be doing each other a huge favour.

Thanks for your reply Smiling Buddha :)

It's not that I plan to eat junk, it's just that I get hungry and have not planned to cook. I'm sure many people trying to eat better slip up occasionally. A quick burger here or there sounds ok when your tummy is rumbling and you're out and about but it certainly interferes with health goals.

This thread can function as a support group. We can share our guilt of eating crap and try to explain the reasons behind making a poor food choice in the hope of helping others to better health.

I'm not the healthiest eater around, but i try to at least make an effort into putting the right foods in my mouth. Haven't had McDonalds or anything from a big fastfood chain like that in 18 months i reckon. Do have the odd Indian takeaway once every 3-4 weeks though. Had some ravioli last night using tomato sauce and sprinkles of herbs from those little glass jars you can buy. (hello, nicky :D) I guess i could throw that in the crap category. lol.

On Monday I had an Iced Coffee, Magnum, Pie, a few Tim Tams, a large Bacon Deluxe value meal from Hungry Jacks & a couple Beers.

Obviously this doesn't happen often though.

Trying to cut back so i can save coin for Xmas.
Will be taking up Domino's " $4.95 pizzas " tonight :thumbsu:

As for non fast food outlet stuff -

Chicken Twisties oh yerrrrrr
Also starburst babies and woolies brand jelly beans TOGETHER :eek:

When you get 2 colours that taste good together......my god

****, this is my kind of thread!

Yesterday's menu:
  • Homemade bacon & egg burger + Farmers union iced coffee for brekky
  • Bacon sanga and a cuppa for morning tea.
  • Hot dog with the lot and a Boost for lunch.
  • Snacked on bananas in the arvo
  • Large ultimate whopper combo for dinner
  • 3 Fat Yak's

****, this is my kind of thread!

Yesterday's menu:
  • Homemade bacon & egg burger + Farmers union iced coffee for brekky
  • Bacon sanga and a cuppa for morning tea.
  • Hot dog with the lot and a Boost for lunch.
  • Snacked on bananas in the arvo
  • Large ultimate whopper combo for dinner
  • 3 Fat Yak's
Wowee you really are the Bacon Warrior!! even your little WC man in your pic looks like alittle piggy:p.

The site (and app) My Fitness Pal basically does this for you, and works I found. Not everything is about counting calories but it does make you think more about what you eat. You can set a calorie "ceiling" I guess you could call it as a goal each day, and the record all of the foods you eat, as well as exercise & integrates with RunKeeper. Their database is massive and grows daily due to user input. From my personal experience it certainly made me conscious of what I was eating. I then went to the US for 4 weeks going nuts on burgers, hot dogs & all the good stuff and havent returned to using it, where I have found that I am not caring as much as to how much shit I eat again.

Some excellent responses so far, it's good to see other people have guilt over some of the junky food they eat too.

Every time I eat KFC I tell myself to avoid it but a few months later I'll be eating some of their greasy chicken. It's finger lickin' good :(

Junk food is the only food. I've already lived 20 years longer than I expected and 10 more than I wanted, so who cares.

Seriously, cooking for one is such a drag. I do manage to do so occasionally, but nowhere near often enough. Its always good when I do a big amount of something. Having half a dozen dinners in the freezer is a bonus. Even if its just a vegetarian bolgonese-styled sauce, or a simple curry sauce (most likely a cheat's green curry).

My plan is to eat no crap food for the rest of the month. Based on previous efforts, my chances of success are slim to nil. Despite this I am confident, and this thread will help me.

One of my mates and his housemate have a scheme going where they alternate months eating junk food. They don't go all Supersize Me during the 'on' months, they just wipe it out altogether during the 'off' months and they reckon after a month of not eating junk food the temptation to have it at the start of the second month is nowhere near as strong.

I should add that I am now more than eight months sober. If you had've told me last year that I would find it easier - much, much easier - to quit alcohol than to quit sugar, I'd have said you were misguided.

While the relative temptations of each one are different for each person, wiping out sugar is hard to do by virtue of the number of food products that are laden with sugar. Cereals, confectionary, desserts, biscuits, soft drinks, McDonalds buns etc.

One of my mates and his housemate have a scheme going where they alternate months eating junk food. They don't go all Supersize Me during the 'on' months, they just wipe it out altogether during the 'off' months and they reckon after a month of not eating junk food the temptation to have it at the start of the second month is nowhere near as strong.
Agree with the notion 100%. Whenever I get off the crap food for a while it takes something rather persuasive to make me get back on it. Unfortunately, the munchies can be very very persuasive...
While the relative temptations of each one are different for each person, wiping out sugar is hard to do by virtue of the number of food products that are laden with sugar. Cereals, confectionary, desserts, biscuits, soft drinks, McDonalds buns etc.
Same can be said with piss, though. I love a good lager beer (hell just about any lager beer), but also enjoy the occasional ale (which a good mate happens to have on tap). I'm a big fan of scotch but will happily go a bourbon if there is some coke lying around - reminds me of my halcyon teen drinking days. There are plenty of decent ciders around and we are coming into summer which is prime cider time. Then there is old fave goon juice which I've been known to drink litres of at a time.

With the sugar, I find that I can easily avoid ice cream, biscuits, I rarely drink soft drink (or any liquid other than water, really), and so on. It is chocolate and donuts which get me time after time after time. Sure enough, right on ****ing cue, I decide to try to avoid chocolate for a while and the campaigners at Coles make cadbury blocks half price. Not even two-for-a-fiver, but the full 50% off. It is almost like they can sense me coming and know that if they don't slash the prices quick, they might lose one of their best money-spinners: SB buying chocolate.

December 2010 was the last time I had McDonalds/KFC/Red Rooster/Hungry Jacks*
December 2011 was the last time I had Coca-Cola
December 2012 was the last time I had any soft drink.

*Does not include Burger King internationally which I've done 3 times since then.

Same can be said with piss, though. I love a good lager beer (hell just about any lager beer), but also enjoy the occasional ale (which a good mate happens to have on tap). I'm a big fan of scotch but will happily go a bourbon if there is some coke lying around - reminds me of my halcyon teen drinking days. There are plenty of decent ciders around and we are coming into summer which is prime cider time. Then there is old fave goon juice which I've been known to drink litres of at a time.

I find alcohol easy to 'give up' - depending on the social circumstances. I like all kinds of beer, spirits etc. but if I'm not in a drinking environment I don't feel the urge to drink. If I said 'no booze for September' then two days in some mates organised to go to the pub and watch the finals and drink all afternoon I would go batshit crazy not having a beer or two, but if I was spending weekend at home a carton of beer could sit in the fridge staring at me and I wouldn't be bothered.

With the sugar, I find that I can easily avoid ice cream, biscuits, I rarely drink soft drink (or any liquid other than water, really), and so on. It is chocolate and donuts which get me time after time after time. Sure enough, right on ******* cue, I decide to try to avoid chocolate for a while and the sillys at Coles make cadbury blocks half price. Not even two-for-a-fiver, but the full 50% off. It is almost like they can sense me coming and know that if they don't slash the prices quick, they might lose one of their best money-spinners: SB buying chocolate.

Supermarkets are sneaky like that. I found myself buying 2 for 1 blocks of chocolate, share packs etc. because they were cheap and I thought it would be nice to have some in the fridge and before too long my fridge was overflowing with chocolate.

*Does not include Burger King internationally which I've done 3 times since then.
Can I ask why, and how you feel it has benefited you?

Great work, by the way.

Nice work mate. I'm kind of similar. I could count how many times i've had soft drink on one hand this year. I don't really like water on it's own, so i normally drink diluting juice but the only times i've had soft drink this year is when i've been at someone's house and they haven't had any diluting juice on them. Don't miss soft drink at all to be honest.

Supermarkets are sneaky like that. I found myself buying 2 for 1 blocks of chocolate, share packs etc. because they were cheap and I thought it would be nice to have some in the fridge and before too long my fridge was overflowing with chocolate.
Yep. In fact I think they are one level sneakier again.

I have found that they will cycle through discounts, from very cheap to slightly cheaper then back to normal, over and over again, every few weeks.

Eg a $4.20 block of chocolate

Stage 1: half price ($2.10)
Stage 2: 2 for five dollars ($2.50)
Stage 3: 2 for six dollars ($3.00)
Stage 4: Normal pricing.

Stage one seems to be omitted often but cycles through stages 2-4 are very, very common, especially on confectionary.

Evil ****ing campaigners.

Can I ask why, and how you feel it has benefited you?

Great work, by the way.
I used to have those 4 fast food ~8-9 times a week.....
I used to have 2L of Coke (then a split between Sprite and Pepsi) a day.....

I got up to 130kg. Doesn't look too fat when 196cm, but I wanted to lose some weight.
Just be cutting that out of the diet I've managed to get down to about 110kg.

PS. I'm planning to have McDonalds once more in my life. I don't care how healthy I try to be. I gotta do a super size meal in the US once and will do it sometime when over there in the future.