Scottroo

Kangaroos
me and a few blokes from footy got out cash out and bought a dog from melbourne, his old man is where's pedro who is the son of brett lee...

has run some trials in cranbourne over 311 m, first run was an 18.22 then the second an 18.11 what are these times like for adelaide races

nice mate. If ya dont mind me asking, how much it set ya back?? Me and a few mates were thinkin about gettin a dog aswell...

Tony Lockett sold wheres pedro (ithink)

Good luck with it mate. To watch your dog win is so exciting. It can be a very frustrating sport though. You will have good times and bad times, but i hope it wins heaps for you.

I suggest you join up at the following site. You will learn a bit by reading others opinions. You also can ask some questions if you arent sure about anything to do with the industry.

www.agf.com.au

Good luck with your dog.....they really are a magnificent animal, and will give you lots of fun....I bred them, trained them and kept them!! They love to sleep, preferably on a couch or bed!!! Big babies, every one of them...:p

me and a few blokes from footy got out cash out and bought a dog from melbourne, his old man is where's pedro who is the son of brett lee...

has run some trials in cranbourne over 311 m, first run was an 18.22 then the second an 18.11 what are these times like for adelaide races
The track record over 311m at Cranbourne is 17.54, and the average win time is 17.94. Based on that, and assuming natural improvement, he should be competitive, as he's not too far off the mark at the moment.

especially over in south australia were the standard is shit. Hopefully he can run a strong 500 metres

That's quick enough to win a maiden.

That would equate to a 17.10 at traralgon which would also win a maiden/grade 5.

Being over that side of town i'm sure warragul and sale beckons too.

As Rob has mentioned, those times sound good and SA standard is lower than vic standard. The big question is wether the dog can run 500. We don't have those short sprints too often over here. If it can, you should do ok, if not it might be best keeping it in vic.

I recently went into a syndicate to purchase Rutland Reason from NSW. It had been running the longer distances over there so we were assured of it being able to compete here. It's in the Anniversary Cup tomorrow at Gawler. Because so much of the Greyhound game is a gamble, it's important you understand as much about the dogs abilities as possible before purchasing it.

Good luck with your dog anyway! What's its name? I look forward to following it and hopefully it making me some money also :)

To watch your dog win is so exciting. It can be a very frustrating sport though. You will have good times and bad times.

You are spot on there. It can be a very frustrating sport, There has been times where I have gone 12 months without a win & times where they can't put a foot wrong.
I have one racing Tomorrow @ the meadows in race 5 (Has had 5 starts for 2 wins 2 2nds & 1 third):thumbsu: Hope she goes well ;)

But you are right There is nothing better than seeing your dog win:thumbsu::thumbsu:

You are spot on there. It can be a very frustrating sport, There has been times where I have gone 12 months without a win & times where they can't put a foot wrong.
I have one racing Tomorrow @ the meadows in race 5 (Has had 5 starts for 2 wins 2 2nds & 1 third):thumbsu: Hope she goes well ;)

But you are right There is nothing better than seeing your dog win:thumbsu::thumbsu:
I will never forget my first win....I was laughing + crying all at once....my dog was a reserve and got a run in the same race as my "good one"..they were neck and neck to the home turn, reserve drew away, another dog lunged between my two for a photo finish! A second photo was called, what a long drawn out procedure! some were saying he got it, some that he just missed out......anyway, it finally went to my reserve dog...what a thrill......1st + 3rd that night, he never won another race....my "good one" went on to win some races, lots of placings......I was only ever in it in a small way...only two at a time, but I had so much fun, met fantastic people, (lots of dramas in between as well, injuries etc).....The beauty of a greyhound is that it can be kept as a pet when finished if so inclined....good luck :thumbsu: