Justin Sherman

Is that why he was dropped a couple of times by Brisbane this year? Might get a game for us but I think you're overrating him a fair bit. Can be good when on song with his ability to go forward and pace but very inconsistent, has a lack of footy smarts in general play and has average skills. He's better than Grigg and Houli but not worth it in our situation for the better picks as I said above. Much rather use that on a kid.

He's not inconsistent in the normal way (plays a few great games with lots of average games in between) He has good years and bad years. His 2006 season had him as runner up for the b & f and he then had his position changed to tagging players and then played as a hf in 2009 and one of our best players and finished 5th in the b & f. 2010 was obvious he was really down on himself and apparently had a falling out with one of the coaches. 2009 he had no problem being in the right position so I wouldn't say he has a lack of footy smarts because you can't just get lucky for a whole season. Can give off a few hospital passes but he creates more run than majority of players. If Mpal6 is overrating him then you are underrating him.

Shermo is the definition of a confidence player. If he can get on a run and stay injury free he can be a damaging and exciting footballer. But as happened this year the team was struggling, his form was poor and he had a lot of problems with niggling injuries and hence his confidence was down and his output was very poor.

I think he'd be well suited to Sydney a team on the up, rather than the Bulldogs who will probably be struggling for a little while.

Swans have offered the lions pick 21 and offered Sherman 4 years at 400k per season.

Sherman has nominated the dogs as his club of choice but it's going to be hard for them to match that deal.

I just hope the trade, if goes ahead with Dogs, gets completed it our terms rather than us accepting any downgraded offers.

Think it happens very often going by recent trade history, hope Lions draw the line and deal in their terms.
Brisbane are already playing hardball on a deal from what I hear.

Swans have offered the lions pick 21 and offered Sherman 4 years at 400k per season.

Sherman has nominated the dogs as his club of choice but it's going to be hard for them to match that deal.

Would love it if the lions took that offer.

With the retirement of Eagleton there is an automatic spot in the dogs 22 for him. With Rohan and Jetta already in your team and your rebounding defenders I would say there is less opportunity for him to really play how he wants to.

Shermo is the definition of a confidence player. If he can get on a run and stay injury free he can be a damaging and exciting footballer. But as happened this year the team was struggling, his form was poor and he had a lot of problems with niggling injuries and hence his confidence was down and his output was very poor.

I think he'd be well suited to Sydney a team on the up, rather than the Bulldogs who will probably be struggling for a little while.

What do you base that on?

Three PF's in the last three years, Johnson, Akermanis and Eagleton retired (all didn't add much this year).

Cooney, Griffen, Boyd, Hall, Morris, Cross, Murphy, Roughead, Grant, Lake....yeah, I reckon we'll really struggle next year.:rolleyes:

Picks are important to me, would never want to throw away a 2nd rounder for Sherman or in your case a late first rounder.

Many BF posters over-rate draft picks but so many Richmond fans, in particular, seem obsessed with getting draft picks. Why? Have a look at all the players you've drafted over the past decade, especially with picks in the 5-20 range, and explain why you think draft picks are like gold dust?

What do you honestly think the probability is that your second round pick this year will get you a player equal to, or better than, what Sherman has thus far demonstrated he is capable of?

Many BF posters over-rate draft picks but so many Richmond fans, in particular, seem obsessed with getting draft picks. Why? Have a look at all the players you've drafted over the past decade, especially with picks in the 5-20 range, and explain why you think draft picks are like gold dust?

What do you honestly think the probability is that your second round pick this year will get you a player equal to, or better than, what Sherman has thus far demonstrated he is capable of?

Firstly it's not just what he's capable of but whether he's a good fit for a certain team, whether you can get him to consistently perform or not, whether you can round out his game and some areas he needs to work on, etc. A lot of variables when trading for players and generally rebuilding teams value draft picks higher than more mature teams and we have already said we won't be trading away our early picks. Sydney might be a good fit for him, don't like his chances at Richmond. Maybe I just don't rate him as highly as you?

Players like Beams, Suban, Hannebury, Fyfe, Bastinac, etc have all gone in this pick range in the last 2 years. Would take them all over Sherman. Even while compromised this draft is meant to be pretty strong and much better than last year. You just have to pick the right player.

Firstly it's not just what he's capable of but whether he's a good fit for a certain team, whether you can get him to consistently perform or not, whether you can round out his game and some areas he needs to work on, etc. A lot of variables when trading for players and generally rebuilding teams value draft picks higher than more mature teams and we have already said we won't be trading away our early picks. Sydney might be a good fit for him, don't like his chances at Richmond. Maybe I just don't rate him as highly as you?

Players like Beams, Suban, Hannebury, Fyfe, Bastinac, etc have all gone in this pick range in the last 2 years. Would take them all over Sherman. Even while compromised this draft is meant to be pretty strong and much better than last year. You just have to pick the right player.

My observation was not about whether Sherman is the right fit for Richmond, but about so many Tigers' fans obsession with draft picks. Sure, there are the Beams, Hannerberys etc to be found, but the weight of numbers indicates they are the exception rather than the rule.

Tigers have been burnt previous years trading away picks for players.

Swans have put down #21 for him.

Yep, and large $'s. Lions will want to trade with the Swans. It all depends on Sherman. If he gets stubborn and refuses to go to the Swans and states he will play out his contract then it may give Dogs more currency.

You'd love that wouldn't ya ;)

I'm not convinced and Swans have driven his price up past his value IMO. If he came to the Dogs I would want the Lions to cough up that back ended salary difference.

Pick 21? If I was Brisbane I'd take that and run.

I have no doubt we would be stoked with pick 21 but Sherman has a say in it too and wants to go to the Bulldogs. Mexican standoff in effect here.

Pick 21? If I was Brisbane I'd take that and run. He isn't worth a second rounder, let alone a first. Pick 40+ is his value.

So would I but you've undervalued him. He's worth what clubs are willing to play in a certain year. May not be worth anything to Freo but recent history tells us a player like him can net anywhere from early teens to late 30's (just have a look at some of the trades in recent years).

I'd probably say a swap for Dog's compo pick is a good deal for both clubs but the Swan's offer throws a spanner in the works. It may prompt Brissie to ask for more from the Dog's and it will benefit them to hold out on the deal until the end of trade week so that (1) the Dog's have time to trade in for a better pick OR (2) Sydney can convince Shermo to play for them.

^ The other spanner in the works is the Bulldogs and Swans are heavily in negotiations for one trade that may involve more than one player (Everitt, Vezpremi, and Ed Barlow amongst names being mentioned).

With the Swans impacting on the Sherman trade, it may erode the goodwill for other trades to occur which means and deal will take longer.

With Hill, Minson, Stack & Tiller also on the table the Bulldogs have plenty of work to do - rumours of Minson deal to GC Suns to be finalised shortly are starting to filter out, although that is apparently for a pick (~44) & and GC compo player.

I have no doubt we would be stoked with pick 21 but Sherman has a say in it too and wants to go to the Bulldogs. Mexican standoff in effect here.

He wouldnt be in the Bulldogs best 22 next season, which just shows how desperate the Bulldogs are more to just change the playing list to show the football world that theyve changed.

He would, there's a spot on the wing free and we need pace in the middle which is why we are chasing him.

Yes he would actually. He will be required to play on a wing/half forward flank. Eagleton and Johnson retired, remember? Sherman would 100% be starting 22

True Mofra, could be plenty of 'water to go under the bridge' or <insert other lame cliche> before this is sorted out.

I wonder whether they would arrange a deal where Dog's get Sherman, with the compo pick going to Brisbane unless the Dog's secure a better pick later on through other trades in which case that pick would go to Brisbane instead. Plausible, maybe. Unneccessarily complicated? Yes.

On the Minson dealy, is there a deadline for when GC have to make their announcements about uncontracted players?

Any news on Brisbane/Sherman's thoughts on the Sydney offer?