Votes: 22 40.7%
  • Keep both

Votes: 8 14.8%

One of the intriguing things for me is what happens with these two at the end of the year.

I'm perplexed by the club's strategy with them this year in the VFL.

We've been undersized all year in defence -- think of how Goldy was monstered by Kennedy in the West Coast game. Yet we haven't tried Keefe down there. I don't see Keeffe ever making it as a tall forward relief ruck, so why bother? Am I missing something?

White, as we know has athletic gifts to die for, though his brain fades are legendary. Still, he played some good games or us up forward before he was dropped, from memory. For a moment in the VFL he was tried in defence too, but not persevered with. Why not? Seems to me he could make a transition a bit like Chris Tarrant did (who also had speed and a great leap) and become an excellent spoiling defender. But he'd need time to learn the craft.

The way I see it, we'll get to the end of the year and not know any more than we already do about these two. Since the year is coming to an end, we've denied ourselves the knowledge we need to make a call on them.

Delist, or keep on?

And if we keep them on, what's their position?

Keeffe to size by position (down back) is a nice cheaper version of solid depth. At his best he could even be a solid Key Defender. So keep for me.

White, looks like his time is all but done. At best depth player.

What "hurts" these sorts of players is how strong the Dunny has come on. Just a lock now as our full back. Just seems like he belongs.

Keeffe to size by position (down back) is a nice cheaper version of solid depth. At his best he could even be a solid Key Defender. So keep for me.

White, looks like his time is all but done. At best depth player.

What "hurts" these sorts of players is how strong the Dunny has come on. Just a lock now as our full back. Just seems like he belongs.
Dunne! He is a real on-field leader. It was him last night who ran the the centre and called the players in while Brown was being attended to. He spoke to the group, probably telling them to keep their mind on the job. Before that they were all wandering around like Brown's cows.

And extra like for use of term
browns cows.

Good play on words to the situation

:thumbsu:

Keep them both. White was actually playing some decent football and we don't really have any other KPF depth. Age might be a factor here though.

Keeffe hasn't looked great this year but shouldn't be playing forward. He is a good key back and that's where he should be played. Keep on as depth or as a rookie.

Keep White as Darcy Moore insurance. Quicker and more athletic and can play forward and ruck better than Keeffe... and I reckon if given time down back at VFL level he has the attributes to be a Liam Jones type stopper or a goldsack type third man up.

While I've always thought he could/should be a forward/ruck type due to his size, it seems weird to not play Keeffe as a defender at VFL level, considering that's where he's played the majority of his footy at AFL level previously, and that we also have a number of forward/ruck options in the squad (White, Cox, etc.)

Agree, except that he is 30, so only has a year or two to go. And if he goes down with an injury, then what happens?

I sympathize with White, tries hard but just doesn't deliver enough often enough. Keefe still has up side, persevere.

It depends entirely on who he bring in to the side in the off season. If we don't replace them they need to stay as depth. But I'd hope we have some plan to bring in a key forward as a minimum.

Keeffe will stay for next year, but white will be very lucky to get another year.
Will depend on trade and drafting.

It depends entirely on who he bring in to the side in the off season. If we don't replace them they need to stay as depth. But I'd hope we have some plan to bring in a key forward as a minimum.

You would imagine Whites papers have well and truly been stamped if he can't crack a game in a team crying out for tall fwds.

He's still important for depth. If we don't bring in anyone like Sam Reid I'd keep White on the list. Even if we draft a key forward.

I would of played him next to Darcy all of this year (as he is better then nothing) but the coaches haven't and since his dropping there has been no inclination to bring him back.

I do get your point but usually with an out of contract aging NQR player this spells the end.

Would be surprised if he is retained if the coach doesn't see him as part of his plans moving fwd which looks to be the case.

I can see the argument, but that's what Liam Jones was, and we need key position players badly.

I'd rather draft a KPP and put time into them. Ben brown was drafted at 47, who knows what you could uncover, but white and keefe are NQR and aren't likely to become more than that.

If we are contending that would be different but we're still developing and can ill afford wasting spots on that type.

White is a handy depth tall forward and relief ruck. He actually has performed both roles in a reasonable manner. 20-25 goal forward. He's useful depth. Keefe has never performed well as a forward or in the Ruck. There are other options for defence,

The Shortage of depth is forward and rucks not backs. IF we were talking who would be the better key defender insurance it would be Keefe. But if you want forward cover and someone who could pinch-hit in the ruck, White is much better than Keefe in those roles. While not good enough to demand a first team spot consistently while there are no other better option I would keep him.