• Thread starter Thread starter Visro

Visro

From the WC website:

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

KEMP RETIRES
16 August 2001

Champion West Coast Eagles centreman Dean Kemp has elected to retire after consulting experts from a range of medical fields.

After a stellar career, which netted 243 games, including the premierships of 1992 and 1994, the highly skilled midfielder has spent several weeks contemplating his future after suffering blurred vision in several games this season.

Medical reports indicate there should be no lingering effects.

His eighth match this season – and ultimately the last of his career – against Collingwood at Colonial Stadium ended after a seemingly innocuous incident early in the game.

An integral part of the outstanding West Coast team in the early 90s, Kemp’s signature traits were immaculate disposal, wonderful balance, poise and awareness and an ability, with a deft touch, to be able push the ball to a teammate’s advantage from within heavy traffic.

When West Coast was at its best, Kemp was the outstanding player, winning the club champion award in 1992 and the Norm Smith Medal as best afield in the 1994 grand final. He also earned all-Australian
selection in 1992 and played two games for WA.

After weighing up his future, he conceded today that he had no choice but to retire.

“Having considered all the medical opinions available to me, I have no choice but to retire,” Kemp said. “I have a wife and son to consider in my life after football and that was another important factor in my decision.

“Obviously this is not the way I imagined my career would end, but very few players see it out with a fairytale finish.

“I have made some life long friends in my 12 years with the West Coast Eagles and also have some wonderful memories which will live with me forever.”

Recruited to Subiaco from Kalgoorlie club Railways, by then Lions football manager Trevor Nisbett, the lithe Kemp was a star in the making before leaving the Goldfields.

And his relationship with Nisbett, who in 1989 became football manager at the West Coast Eagles and then two years ago was elevated to the position of chief executive, has been a constant through his career.

It was Nisbett, in one of the finest recruiting coups in history, who snared Kemp as a compensatory draft selection in 1989.

Kemp, close friend Brett Heady and another dual premiership player, Tony Evans, comprised a triumvirate of recruits who triggered a philosophical change in the attitude of Victorian clubs. From that day forward they dedicated a good deal more attention to the player nurseries outside of Victoria.

Throw in Ashley McIntosh, under the father-son rule, and Peter Matera as selection No.4 and that draft performance set the West Coast Eagles on the path to glory.

For Nisbett the retirement of Kemp is also a sad affair.

“I have seen Dean develop from an outstanding schoolboy player into one of the elite footballers in the country,” Nisbett said. “He has been a wonderful player for the West Coast Eagles, some would say the greatest, but certainly among the best four or five ever to represent the club.

“He was part of a truly great centreline, combining with Chris Mainwaring and Peter Matera, to form a devastating midfield which was central to the club’s success.

“Unfortunately nothing lasts forever and Dean has decided to retire.”

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

That did not help my allready raging migraine and nausea! :(

Vis

He will not be easily replaced. A true champion of the club :(

Two questions:
a) why not announce this before the derby and give the man a good ol' WA sendoff? (or are they holding that back for the Dons game in the hope we can get the boys inspired to steamroll the ladder leaders??? :D )

b) Cuz for solo captaincy next year? Or co- with Jako?

Originally posted by Mr Eagle
He will not be easily replaced. A true champion of the club :(

Two questions:
a) why not announce this before the derby and give the man a good ol' WA sendoff? (or are they holding that back for the Dons game in the hope we can get the boys inspired to steamroll the ladder leaders??? :D )

b) Cuz for solo captaincy next year? Or co- with Jako?

He's definitely a champion of the club, and is respected by supporters and players from all clubs. He's been great for the club and hopefully will be offered some sort of postion within the club.

IMO he should have been given a big send off last week at the Derby, for whatever reason he wasn't. You can't tell me that he hadn't made his decision 5-6 days ago..... Hopefully all WCE supporters will make the effort to go next week.

Onya Kempy :D

Cuz - definitely solo captain next year. :)

real quick

Just a quick one to thank kempy for the memories, a true champion in every sense, and deserved to reach the 250 with your club.

His finesse and skill, with true hardness provided an inspiration to many!

So hiow many premiership players are left at the club now, just for reference? Can't think of many - has to be less than 5 yeah?

Centimetre perfect as usual, Mr Eagle.

....and then there were five: your first 3 as dual premiership players and the latter 2 as 94 only. I think Turnbull will be delisted but expect the other 4 to play on next year.

I got his autograph 9 years ago when I was taken to Eagles training because he was one of my favorite players. 9 years later, I still think he's been a fantastic champion to the club for his service, professionality, dedication and loyalty to the club.

Tommy - one of our all time greats!

Dean Kemp - A Tribute

I'd just like post a full tribute to Dean Kemp, according to many judges the greatest player ever to play for our club, the West Coast Eagles, on the evening of his retirement.

The following highlights are things I remember about him (with thanks to Geoff Christian) - a quirky list but from the heart and the only post I will place tonight.

It's a testament to the quality of the man and the player that about 15 of the most knowledgeable footy fans in the country, the bigfooty regulars, posted their congratulations on his career on these boards on the day. My thanks to you all.

He truly was one of the best with speed, skill and courage in equal measure.

1989 - drafted at no. 117 because Geelong, Richmond & Melbourne didn't select a WA player. Thanks! Wonder if this little bloke from Subiaco via Kalgoorlie can play?

1991 - a sign of things to come. 3/4 time at Waverley Park in the Prelim Final against Geelong. It's 3 degrees and Tommy's lack of body fat had him with his hands in warm water during the break to prevent hypothermia. We win the game, but go down in the GF.

1992 - he was our best player in probably the greatest game I've ever seen live - the Elimination Final against Hawthorn at Subiaco. We win by 13 points against a champion team. Tommy outpoints Condon, Jarman and Allan. We beat Geelong to take the Premiership for the first time - guess who played every game and won the Club Champion award? Dean Kemp.

1994 - Normie 2 - Tommy is best on ground as the Eagles win their second flag. Anyone who was there knows what he was like.

1995 - gets married to a beautiful girl, Karin, and goes to the catwalks of Europe to support her career. Rumoured to not want to play on and misses most of pre-season. Comes back and is best on ground at the MCG in the second game of the year as we beat Collingwood by 4 points. Cometti: "Dean Kemp - what a player. Maybe the Eagles should do their next pre-season in Paris!"

1996 - We get thrashed by Essendon at Waverley in the rain in front of 20,000 people. No club champion votes were awarded. Dean Kemp stood up after the game, addressed the fans and said it wasn't good enough and encouraged the players to stick together as a team. 2 weeks later we are robbed by a goal umpire and lose by a point to Carlton at Optus - we win the next 11 games. Tommy's best on ground leading the younger players as we beat Richmond at the 'G in pouring rain.

The '90s - Tommy takes two of the biggest hits a player has done - Ricciuto of Adelaide and Turner of Richmond. He never complains.

Late '90s in a pub near Waverley - after his 200th game. He recognises the support of lots of people and mentions Noelle of the Victorian Cheer Squad of the WCE, who has always supported him over the years. As they board the bus, I turn to the old lady next to me and say "you know, he's not only one of our best players ever, but probably the nicest". She said: "I'm glad to hear you say that. He is, isn't he. He's my son."

2001 - Club co-captain and still plays at the highest level. We're getting thrashed in some game in Melbourne on the TV. Brereton says: "Dean Kemp would be just about the best player ever to play for the West Coast Eagles".

Champion.
Legend.
All the best for the future - we'll always remember you.

Kempy,

Thanks for the memories - you were a true champion in every way.

A sad day for all footy fans. I will remember the silky skills on both sides of his body, fantastic tackling and brilliant finishing. There are too many career highlights to mention here, but a couple that stand out are;

In our thrashing of Nth in the first game of 2000, he bursts out of the centre, toe pokes the ball up past an opponent to himself then stabs a left foot pass at full pace onto the chest of Scotty (I think) - pure magic.

His comments after the grand final victory in 92 - the reporter asks him something like " How was that Kempy", he replies "Quite enjoyable mate, quite enjoyable" - what a legend.

Watching the 94 grand final either 2nd or 3rd quarter we were in control of the game but only led by about 4-5 goals cos we were missing heaps and heaps of easy shots! I was a bit worried cos we werent taking our chances. Kempy gets the ball at half forward, assesses the options and says, 'bugger it if you guys wont kick one I will' - and calmly slots through a goal from about 45 that gives us rewards for effort at last and opens the floodgates!

There are millions moer and I am gonna hae to dust off the video collection and reminisce a bit this weekend. Kempy did the hard things, tackles, smothers, sheperds as well as the skillful things. A true legend and one of the top 2-3 eagles in my book! Lets hope he stays involved with the club in the future.

Best of luck Kempy. Take it easy mate, youve earnt it!

VOR said it all!!! Top post. Theres nothing i can add to that but give my full agreement!!

I know bias does come into it but Tommy i think probably has the best disposal on both sides in the modern era. His poise was unmatched. Everyone yawns on about Buckleys great disposal but Tommy outpoints him anyday of the week.

We will miss you Kempy. Good Luck.

Great comments everyone, can't add much more to what has already been said but to agree with them 100%.
I wonder what the future holds for Dean Kemp, will he could be involved in footy in any way.

VoR - I really enjoyed reading your tributes on Kemp. I can't wait to give him the send-off he deserves next week against Essendon.