Sacramento Kings
Where do you see him playing most of his footy this year. Is he our CHF or CHB??????

IF Mark Stevens makes a successful return to AFL footy would it be smart to play him in defence. I know Stevo is our best CHF but I am not sure that he will ever play his footy at CHF again. I believe that CHF is the hardest position to play on the field and as such Stevo's knee wouldn't get as much "bashing" at CHB as it would at CHF. If Stevo makes it back do we play Kenny at CHF and play stevo at CHB or do we play Kenny at CHB regrdless??????

I think if Turbo makes a good return he will go back to CHF and Perrie will go back to CHF with Turbo, though how positive are the AFC about Turbo, on what I heard last night apprently he has four weeks to prove he is right to go or he is going to announce his retirement:( I think now Kenny has confidence as a CHF that he should continue to play there and leave Perrie in defence, I would even let Perrie have first crack at Graham next week:)

Originally posted by maccas_no1
I think if Turbo makes a good return he will go back to CHF and Perrie will go back to CHF with Turbo, though how positive are the AFC about Turbo, on what I heard last night apprently he has four weeks to prove he is right to go or he is going to announce his retirement:( I think now Kenny has confidence as a CHF that he should continue to play there and leave Perrie in defence, I would even let Perrie have first crack at Graham next week:)
I think Turbo is hypothetical. As long as Hentschell continues to improve and hold CHB, MaGregor will stay at CHF.
Please do not get carried away with Perrie at CHB:(
I'll repeat he is a forward.

Originally posted by Wayne's-World
I think Turbo is hypothetical. As long as Hentschell continues to improve and hold CHB, MaGregor will stay at CHF.
I agree with everything you say especially regarding Perrie. Perrie in defence makes me nervous.

However, as good as Hentschel has been he is still not up to the task of taking on someone like Tredrea. I think in games where we do come up against gun forwards (eg. Port, Saints, Lions etc) we really need Kenny more in defence.

I honestly can't see anyone else being a decent match up for Tredrea in Showdown.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I agree with everything you say especially regarding Perrie. Perrie in defence makes me nervous.

However, as good as Hentschel has been he is still not up to the task of taking on someone like Tredrea. I think in games where we do come up against gun forwards (eg. Port, Saints, Lions etc) we really need Kenny more in defence.

I honestly can't see anyone else being a decent match up for Tredrea in Showdown.
Its a pity Hudson is lacking in fitness - IMO he could do an OK job on Tredrea, but not at the present time.
How big is Hudsons engine - anyone know.

Right on all counts. Perrie at CHB is like walking a tight-rope and I'm really scared of heights!! :eek:

We've all bagged Ayres about Kenny at CHF, as he is such a good CHB. However there's no doubt he straightens us up playing at CHF, as he plays a very similar role to Mark Stevens (who I doubt will ever play again).

But what do we do against the teams with a top CHF like Tredrea and Brown??

Agree, that even though Sarge played well last night, I would feel much more comfortable with him CHF. Reckon we are better off with Kenny at CHB & Hentschel playing BP / HBF.

Originally posted by macca23
Right on all counts. Perrie at CHB is like walking a tight-rope and I'm really scared of heights!! :eek:

We've all bagged Ayres about Kenny at CHF, as he is such a good CHB. However there's no doubt he straightens us up playing at CHF, as he plays a very similar role to Mark Stevens (who I doubt will ever play again).

But what do we do against the teams with a top CHF like Tredrea and Brown??
Brown is going to be too strong for most of our players - Kenny included.
Biglands physically can match, but will get lost in traffic.
The simple answer is we don't have the top quality KPP ATPT.
I would keep structure and play Hentshell on Tredrea, and hopefully Hentschell can play an attacking game, and set some offensive moves up. (which I think he is better at than Kenny)

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Agree, that even though Sarge played well last night, I would feel much more comfortable with him CHF. Reckon we are better off with Kenny at CHB & Hentschel playing BP / HBF.
Kane, Richmond were a rabble last night, but you could still see our deficiencies - FB, FF, and crumbing midfielder.
Perrie is not 100% fit - maybe why the Crows have not played him CHF, as he does rely on his aerobic capacity to run his opponents around.
Bassett is gone - physically can not match it in KP, is scragging more than usual, and thats a tell tale sign he knows:(

Kane, Richmond were a rabble last night, but you could still see our deficiencies - FB, FF, and crumbing midfielder.
Perrie is not 100% fit - maybe why the Crows have not played him CHF, as he does rely on his aerobic capacity to run his opponents around.
Bassett is gone - physically can not match it in KP, is scragging more than usual, and thats a tell tale sign he knows:(
No doubt WW that our performance was flattered by the Tigers ineptness. Perhaps Sarge struggled later in the game because he ran so hard in the 1st quarter & that it was his 1st game back in the AFL (as SANFL is much slower). Agree Bassett's form his worrying at FB. Would still like us to play Welshy as leading FF, with Carey in a FP.

Welshy has done the job at FF, but he appears more suited to a flank/secondary role, rather than the focus of our attacks.
If he hasn't cemented the FF position in the selectors mind by this age, I doubt it would be in their future thoughts.
Have a funny feeling about Jerricho though as a FF? - although his kicking at present is erratic.

Welshy has done the job at FF, but he appears more suited to a flank/secondary role, rather than the focus of our attacks.
If he hasn't cemented the FF position in the selectors mind by this age, I doubt it would be in their future thoughts.
Have a funny feeling about Jerricho though as a FF? - although his kicking at present is erratic.
Yeah, Jericho looks capable of playing FF amongst other positions. IMO, we should be using Carey mainly in a FP, with the likes of Welsh or Jericho as a leading FF target.

Thats how they appeared last night, Jerricho and Carey side by side in the goal square.
Not a bad move IMO, however must rember how raw Jerricho still is - long long way to go. 2 years B4 we'll see his best.

..... however must rember how raw Jerricho still is - long long way to go. 2 years B4 we'll see his best.

Correct. I think that his best will be very good though when it comes.

Brown is going to be too strong for most of our players - Kenny included.
I am taking you to task on this one. In the last 2 and a half years Brown is th eone player that Kenny has had his measure. Kenny has always picked up Brown and he was never beaten in those contests. Brown might get his possesions but he has never hurt us. Kenny has done fanstatic job in the past on Brown. Even Brown himself said on 5AA a while back that he finds Kenny as his toughest opponent because he has the aerobic capacity to go with Brown.

If you made those comment about Tredrea I would somewhat expect them but no way in hell would Brown trouble Kenny a lot.

I am taking you to task on this one. In the last 2 and a half years Brown is th eone player that Kenny has had his measure. Kenny has always picked up Brown and he was never beaten in those contests. Brown might get his possesions but he has never hurt us. Kenny has done fanstatic job in the past on Brown. Even Brown himself said on 5AA a while back that he finds Kenny as his toughest opponent because he has the aerobic capacity to go with Brown.

If you made those comment about Tredrea I would somewhat expect them but no way in hell would Brown trouble Kenny a lot.
Your not suggesting Tredrea is stronger than Brown?
I would have thought that both are similar physically, and play similarly ( although different club gameplans).

Your not suggesting Tredrea is stronger than Brown?
I would have thought that both are similar physically, and play similarly ( although different club gameplans).
Not at all but what you seem to be suggesting is that Brown would be too strong (read too good) for Kenny when in the past Kenny has had Browny's measure. Browny himself said Kenny is his toughest opponent.

Browny while strong, relies a lot on his aerobic capacity where he leaves his opponets for dead with his running. Kenny is in top 6 players in our club aerobically and has a huge tank. So he matches up well on Brown. In one on one contests where Browny uses strength, Kenny holds his own.

Tredrea is a different cattle of fish. Tredrea is more athletically gifted than Brown. I still see Kenny as the best match up for Tredders. Kenny is deceptively strong. I have seen Kenny take Tredders to cleaners at Kadina (granted it was a trial game). while I don't think he will be as successful on Tredders as he was in that match, I still think he will be a decent match up for him.

Tredrea is by far the toughest forward to match up on in the AFL and to be honest the only player who has good record against Tredrea is Scarlett.

Kenny has beaten Brown comfortably on each occasion he has stood him - he has a great record on such a top player.

He stood Tredrea for the first time in the trial match at Kadina and pantsed him.

He definitely is the right man to stand each of these two classy CHF's, not Perrie.

Kenny has beaten Brown comfortably on each occasion he has stood him - he has a great record on such a top player.

He stood Tredrea for the first time in the trial match at Kadina and pantsed him.

He definitely is the right man to stand each of these two classy CHF's, not Perrie.
Been saying for years that we need Kenny to play on Tredders, as he is Port's main forward danger. Even though he has a good record on Brown, Kenny should play on Lynch, as he is Brisbane's main goal-kicking weapon. Hentschel or some else can pick up Brown.

Brown would leave Hentschel for dead after a quarter of footy. Anyone else really apart from Kenny.

I don't think people realise just how good a player Brown is. You get Kenny on Lynch and Brown will rip you to pieces ala Lynch.

Brown would leave Hentschel for dead after a quarter of footy. Anyone else really apart from Kenny.

I don't think people realise just how good a player Brown is. You get Kenny on Lynch and Brown will rip you to pieces ala Lynch.
Bottom line is Lynch does more damage than Brown, so Lynch deserves our best defender. If Kenny plays on Brown, we lose because Lynch will kick a matchwinning bag ... again!

Just to prove your point Brown had 24 disposals from CHF tonight - 17 of them coming from marks. That's awesome!!

Yeah, but Dixon was his opponent! :eek:

Hentschel, Smart or Bassett would do a better job that Dixon who is not a KPP or a defender!

Bottom line is Lynch does more damage than Brown, so Lynch deserves our best defender. If Kenny plays on Brown, we lose because Lynch will kick a matchwinning bag ... again!
Not really because the strategy of playing against Lynch so far has been completely wrong. Clog the space in front of him and I will ask you if he kicks a bag.

The only reason we are Lynch's bitches is because were don't go inot game with a right strategy. I mean, Bassett trying to outmuscle him, Perrie looking only where Lynch is rather than also being aware of where the ball is.

Stopping Lynch can't be that hard. Leave Kenny one on one with Lynch and he will still kick 5. The defensive strategy is all wrong.

One of the biggest mistakes we allow Brisbane is to leave their forward line wide open and plenty of space for Lych to run into. Play a ruckman in front of Lynch where the space is and he will not be nearly as effective as he has been.