Strategy Kick it to Cloke

In NAB 3 we saw our defenders attempt to hit targets with short kicks after a point was scored. This was caused by the Bulldogs pressing up high. The result of this approach was catastrophic because our defenders simply do not have the skills needed to execute successfully. Here is the solution that I have emailed to Bucks.

After the opposition score a point a designated player will take the kick in, someone like Langdon for example. The remaining defenders stay in the defensive 50 to guard against the ball coming back in. Cloke pushes right up to a position around 10 metres beyond the defensive 50 and is surrounded by a possy of our best mids. The designated player kicks long to Cloke, he either marks it or brings the ball to ground. Our mids win the contested ball and go forward to Gault who has remained in the forward 50 all by himself.

It's a simple plan but I feel this is the key to beating Sydney. If we try and play our way out of the press with precise kicking we will witness many horrible turnovers and will probably lose the game.

Keep It Simple Stupid!
Ah, the ghost of Tom Hafey.
Yes agree keep it simple.

By the way it's funny that in footy we get the ball then pass it to a contest at times....

JMac is on to something.

Cloke can assist by roaming.

The part I like best, is its simple, ie easy to follow.
Reminds me of the Tom hafey genius,
Keep it simple.

We win the ball, make contest ... Mids drive it forward. Nice

Kick it to Cloke? Rubbish idea. The 'Kick it to Cloke' mentality has been fazed out along with Clokes diminishing returns/output. We have more forward options than before, even with Reid, Elliott and Howe out of the side. We are far ore attractive for this, and far less predictable.

i think you missed the point of the OP - this isn't about kicking it to Cloke while he's camped in the goalsquare surrounded by 3 or 4 opponents. It's about using Cloke as an outlet from defence

So basically use use Cloke as a bail out kick for the kick ins?

I don't see how anyone has issues with this.

After Reading that. That is a good idea. He be the guy who can take a Mark on the wing and then Quickly move it on and help the Quick Transation

i think you missed the point of the OP - this isn't about kicking it to Cloke while he's camped in the goalsquare surrounded by 3 or 4 opponents. It's about using Cloke as an outlet from defence
Less missing the point, and more reading the thread title, bypassing the actual OP, then going on the attack because he doesn't like jmac70

In theory I do agree . In reality if there was a chance of experiments with Cloke, NAB cup was it. Even before that we were discussing here the potential roles for Cloke
I don't see the value of a new experiment for 1 game as that role will be for Jeremy Howe imho.
I see the opposite happening, we
play Cloke deep as we can. He can't miss ( FLW) and opponent can't double team him. And if they do, it creates space to get the fast transition up and going. Gault and Moore are athletic enough, not convinced about their 1on1 capabilities.
It will give us a bit of dilemma against Sydney but I don't think they can put that pressure on us like Doggies can.

Absolutely love jmac70 funniest bloke alive!

On this one, could we have Clokey kick in? Astounded on occasion, particularly with myself back in the day, how well a bloke can kick in from the square, but miss it up the other end?!! Joke!!

Anyway, if Bucks listens to this, good idea. Can see the fast break over the back, and for once, Cloke is the decoy. Had a little giggle how bullish and crook he looks when he has FINALLY been kicked to. So what right?

Remember Jason and Cameron before him. Cameron was the only bloke I know to take a great mark, but then hit the post from 15 out. Crap personified :thumbsdown:

I hope we lose and the selectors resign because all of the t20 losses have started at the selection table.
I wouldn't hate T20 so much if it was on in Cricket season..at least I could raise enough care to complain.
This time of year cricket is as relevant as Andrew Bolt any time past, present or future.
Like watching paint rust.

I wouldn't hate T20 so much if it was on in Cricket season..at least I could raise enough care to complain.
This time of year cricket is as relevant as Andrew Bolt any time past, present or future.
Have you not heard of the Big Bash league? Pretty sure that's bang in the middle of cricket season!

You don't like my thread?

Good to see so many people write a reply to jmac's idea without even reading the post....classic big footy right there!!

It's probably more to do with me than the idea.

If Gault and Moore do their roles up forward, I don't see why this can't be plan A for all games. He'd be the best "long bomb emergency" option in the league. N. Riewoldt does an amazing amount of good roaming up the field now that they have Josh Bruce to hold down a CHF spot. Cloke needs to do the same for us.

Well I don't mind the idea, but find it funny people just punch away on their keyboard with no thought process at all

The board has gone down hill. Hopefully things improve when the footy starts.

l agree with jmac, always liked cloke on his bike roaming from half forward to half back
and to use as a bail out kick. people must read the op first before commenting, makes it easier to
have a proper discussion

You know now that I think of it, I reckon I remember the Cloke of 2006 and 2007 as more of a roaming half back. Did we become a deer in headlights or something? He kicked better then than he did now! Given, the man has kicked more goals than Shane Wakelin and Prestigiacomo ever did in the backyard and their senior career combined, but where did it all go so horribly wrong?

Pfft, what a studip idea. Every defence doubles or triple teams cloak and he hasn't been contested mark good for ages. Not to mention he mosses nearly every gaol. Good won tony shaw:drunk:

You awake yet?:drunk:

The intentional spalling errors were a nice touch. How many bites will you get?

Strategy Kick it to Cloke