Skills Kicking Distance

Brisbane Lions
I remember a while back I read about exercises to work on to improve kicking distance, I don't have them with me however and am interested to know

1) is it possible to significantly increase your kicking distance once you stop growing - I am 22 - and if so...

2) how??

I can just scrape in a 50 meter kick, would love to be able to kick beyond 50. other than that i consider myself a pretty accurate kick.

Just on what gets it to go far for a sec...about the leg speed and everything. Based on what I've learnt doing PE as a 3/4 subject this year, the fitness component that you would want to work on in order to build up the explosiveness in any given area is muscular power. Basically a mixture of muscular strength and speed. To improve in that area, you'd have to do some Plyometrics training. Depth jumps etc. When I say etc I mean I can't really remember any other ones.

Testing method is the vertical jump test, so what I'd suggest is checking your standing vertical leap, undergoing a Plyometrics based training program, and monitoring your progress with a few more of those tests to see how you're going. Or you could just check if you can kick a footy further than you used to be able to.

This year I found that if i shortend my run up to 4-6 steps off my set shot I was able to get alot more distance. Technique is everything tho, if you hit that sweet spot it will travel.

Agreed..... i like to think my set shot style is based around Fevolas action...... a slow walk with only 4 or so steps before kicking....

It's all about Power (strength + Speed), flexability and skill.

1. You must practice kicking long, get out as often as possible and have shots at goal from right on your limit. This will develop your coordination, flexability and strengthen the muscles in your groin.

2. I have heard bike riding is good, so are sprints. Must be very fit have good endurance so you can kick long when tired at the end of the match. Having good speed helps.

3. Must practice the skill, must hit the ball in the right place and have a big follow through. don't kick the ball right on the point.

4. Run up speed must be played with, some times if you run up too quick you don't follow through properly.

5. Torpedos...

It's all about Power (strength + Speed), flexability and skill.

1. You must practice kicking long, get out as often as possible and have shots at goal from right on your limit. This will develop your coordination, flexability and strengthen the muscles in your groin.

2. I have heard bike riding is good, so are sprints. Must be very fit have good endurance so you can kick long when tired at the end of the match. Having good speed helps.

3. Must practice the skill, must hit the ball in the right place and have a big follow through. don't kick the ball right on the point.

4. Run up speed must be played with, some times if you run up too quick you don't follow through properly.

5. Torpedos...

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: Can't believe anyone hasn't said this yet.

Torpedo, great, but awful when you hit the wrong spot

I remember a while back I read about exercises to work on to improve kicking distance, I don't have them with me however and am interested to know

1) is it possible to significantly increase your kicking distance once you stop growing - I am 22 - and if so...

2) how??

I can just scrape in a 50 meter kick, would love to be able to kick beyond 50. other than that i consider myself a pretty accurate kick.

Maybe get a mate to film you side-on having a long kick attempt.

Check to see you're not releasing the ball to early in you're kick. The higher up your arms are on release,the more likely you won't achieve max distance.

Drop the ball low onto the boot. Let the swinging leg do the work.

Maybe look to see that you're not leaning too far back when making contact with the ball and make sure you're not over 'hunched' over the ball
at the same time.

In saying that,everyone's kicking style is different and I believe that not every player is capable of kicking 55 plus. Some can kick long distance monsters with ease while others practice for years without improving.

I'm one of them. I'm nearly 40 and after years of trying,I can't seem to kick past 50 mtrs. I can kick from the 50 mtr arc and land it on the goal line but I can't get it to sail post high and travel 55 or 60. Torp or drop punt.

I have always had long,but fairly light weighted legs and i reckon I've never got maximum distance because I've never had that muscle mass in the of the top part of the legs.

Then again,I stand there watching the colts train and see 5'10 sixteen year old kids who probably weigh about 70 kgs kick 55mts with ease.

Getting that extra 10-15mtrs on a kick to make it 55-60 mtrs comes down to more power in the legs and a fluid,flowing motion in the swing of the kicking leg.....unless you're Matthew Lloyd and kick with a bent leg action.:p

none of this technical stuff, its simple, find a way which best suits you.

for me, i found the holding style for a grubber kick (rugby) sees me kick 10-15m longer through the air, and then the ball also runs-on, good for if you kick over a pack at goal.

I'm 16 and i can just push it for 40, normal kick would be around 30-35 Running, practicing technique and practice all help to increase kicking distance.

Only started playing footy this year(im 18), was pretty hardcore into baseball for pretty much since ive remembered... Even found myself a scholarship to college, but decided not to go.

At the start on the year, i could probably only kick 30-35, but with practice and much better technique, i can take set shots from the 50 arch, 55ish on the run.

I put it down to a heap of practice.

And im not a big bloke, nor do i have massive thighs. 186cm, 68kg

I think I just have a naturally good kicking ability.

I'm only 14, weigh 61kgs, and am 171cms.

I can kick 50.

It probably has a lot to do with my Dad being able to kick 70 at his peak...

I think I just have a naturally good kicking ability.

I'm only 14, weigh 61kgs, and am 171cms.

I can kick 50.

It probably has a lot to do with my Dad being able to kick 70 at his peak...

Probably got to do with the size of the ball aswell. You would be using like a size 4 footy.