PS3 Killzone 3

• Thread starter Thread starter HBK619

Well i'm just about done with this one, i'm playing the same maps over and over ffs, i'm tired of the amount of bullets i need to pump into them just to get a ****in kill, seriously i have about 300 kills and 120 assists ffs they just dont go down for me.
What setup are you using?

a few hours into the single player.........EPIC!

the gameplay, set pieces, graphics and sound are simply extraordinary. honestly i didn't expect the graphics to be as good as they are....verrrrrry close to uncharted 2 imo.
it also does an excellent job of changing up what you're doing so you never get bored of it all feeling samey.

the story isn't MGS/god of war/insert great story game series worthy but playing it so far i don't see anything wrong with it. def not to the point of what many reviews point out.
i'm actually struggling to think how the story in this got rated so harshly when at the time of reviews mw2's went relatively unscathed :o
i guess i'll update opinions once i'm further into the game.

so far though this is definitely one of the better fps single players i've experienced.

What setup are you using?
Been running with the engineer mostly, had a little crack as a tactition (is this the most useless class in the game now you can only capture spawn points?)
and a medic if nobody is one.

Had a crack as an infiltraitor for my last game and i know why everyone is using it, fully unlocked no turrets or bots shoot at you and you can place and disarm explosives 50% faster, it's like cheating.
Seriously after using it for 1 game it will be the most used class from me for a bit.

Finished the campaign (on Hard). Died 176 times and completed it in about 5.1 hours. It didn't feel overly short though despite that time length, feels pretty much spot on.

Some absolutely epic moments in the game, one boss battle rivals God of War's incredibly insane stuff.

Definitely agree with you Camo about the story, it's really not that bad, it's not Shakespeare but it works and the action around it is just fantastic. Would've liked online co-op, reckon it would've spiced the campaign up a bit more for another run through, will leave that to my 'PS Move' go I think now.

Will move into MP later tonight probably.

Been running with the engineer mostly, had a little crack as a tactition (is this the most useless class in the game now you can only capture spawn points?)
and a medic if nobody is one.

Had a crack as an infiltraitor for my last game and i know why everyone is using it, fully unlocked no turrets or bots shoot at you and you can place and disarm explosives 50% faster, it's like cheating.
Seriously after using it for 1 game it will be the most used class from me for a bit.
The Engineer and Medic classes are pretty much the weakest by a long way, their guns are pathetic, however, they are very important for the team overall.

If you want to kill lots of people, go for the Infiltrator or Marksman class, If you want to win and make lots of friends, go for the Engineer and Medic classes. If you want to be an all around good at most master of none type, go for the Tactition (except in Warzone where it is the dominant class IMO)

The Tacts Recon ability is like having a UAV every minute, it is seriously useful. That along with a specced up flying drone make it my favourite all around class.

Long story short - The Engineer and Medics are team oriented classes, not K/D ones.

The Engineer and Medic classes are pretty much the weakest by a long way, their guns are pathetic, however, they are very important for the team overall.

If you want to kill lots of people, go for the Infiltrator or Marksman class, If you want to win and make lots of friends, go for the Engineer and Medic classes. If you want to be an all around good at most master of none type, go for the Tactition (except in Warzone where it is the dominant class IMO)

The Tacts Recon ability is like having a UAV every minute, it is seriously useful. That along with a specced up flying drone make it my favourite all around class.

Long story short - The Engineer and Medics are team oriented classes, not K/D ones.
I couldn't really give a shit about my kdr, it's that i lose so many one on ones and every other bloke gets the points for my hard work.

The first weapon for the medic would be the worst in the game imo.

Enjoying the multi player a lot, but the spawn problems are becoming massive. About 5-6 games of Warzone in a row today we had the enemy stuck in their spawn. No matter what they did we killed them moment they left it. Have been on the receiving end of it a few times and its really annoying.

Was using the Infiltrator class mostly before, but am now switching it up a bit and using Tactician. Love the assault rifle and the Recon Ability. Great class.

New patch has also been detailed, link is below. One part I'm glad about is the wounded players now have no collision. Have died heaps from being stuck behind them in hallways/doorways.

http://www.killzone.com/kz3/en_IE/blog/news/2011-03-03_patch-1-04-announcement.html

I finished this game on Hard last night co-op. The game got better and better in the later levels, very enjoyable campaign. No idea how long it took or how many deaths as the credits went for ages and were unskippable, so my mate and I left the room for a bit, came back and it was back to the main menu.

You can check via the chapter select. I added it all up.:p

I'm yet to take it online (waiting for patch which makes it much better) but have played quite a few bot matches. Engineer might be a little weak at the start, (ISA LMG is a pile of ****) but once upgraded you're laughing.

Fully upgraded turret can fire rockets at people, kill em in one hit. Also, their last primary weapon is one of the best in the game (Hig LMG) and exclusive to that class. If you roll with that bad boy you are the boss.

Man, me too. I've been experiencing these low grade headaches while playing the MP but today I tried the SP demo and I couldn''t even make it to the end of the level because of the nausea

welp, I gave the demo a few more goes and there was no nausea so I decide to pick this up( I don't know what happened the first time around).

I'm about half way through the campaign and I think it's great. The controls are SO much better this time around. I think this game has the most "satisfying" gunplay in any shooter I've played.

and I'm not much of a graphic whore but that jungle level was so nice. I think I had this look on my face the whole time I was there:

cat_its_beautiful.jpg

What is everyone highest score so far? I just went on Warzone for :
10700 Score
64 kills
26 deaths
16 assists

still havn't even bloody jumped on yet :o

the lag in the beta was minimal but definitely noticable for my average connection....i hope it's a little stronger in the final product which i assume it might be.
it definitely couldn't possibly be as infuriating as black ops which i played last night (first time in 3 weeks), but possibly not again :thumbsd::mad:

They really need to fix this collision with wounded players. Stuck in bloody spawn sometimes because of their bodies lying in doorways. Dumbest part of this game.

Just got the platinum.

Campaign on Elite is a piece of piss, but very enjoyable.

i can't believe i'm about to say this but there is no way i'm keeping this game.

maybe if it didn't take me down to 5 bullets remaining on a clip which holds 50 or so to kill a guy with his back to me i would consider keeping it.
or pumping bullets into a guy extremely close range with an smg who is shooting my teammate while i'm shooting at him for him to kill my mate and take me 1-2 bullets from death before i get him (me being plum every bullet!).
3 attempts to brutal melee attack a guy sniping not facing me?? ummmm get ****ed!

the worst thing is, is that i know it's not the games fault....it's my connection but it is simply impossible to have fun when you can put a full clip into somebody for them not to die....:(...and this is on dedicated servers! :'(
i mean black ops is terrible net coding big time but at least i can get a kill in 20+ odd bullets (which is still bs) but it's at least half managable....

and while i know i was getting destroyed in terms of kills (BECAUSE NOBODY WOULD flipping DIE!) i was top scoring for my team and was like 3rd overall in my first full game which was about 6 minutes in before i quit and i was in the top percent of kz2 players when i played that so it's nothing to do with my skill level.

Just got the platinum.

Campaign on Elite is a piece of piss, but very enjoyable.

that didn't take long!
nice work!

have you tried the game with the move? (do you even have move?)
i tried it with move on botzone yesterday and my god it's hard to wrap your head around lol

that goes to everyone actually....has anyone tried it with the move and did you find it awkward?
i felt like i was twisting my head and arms around like a freakon nutjob

Wow, just played 5 or 10 minutes and died probably 5-10 seconds after I spawned every time. Broken shit.

Played a couple hours of multiplayer, Australian server. Mostly operations.

Times disconnected: 0
Times spawn camped: 0

No lag at all.

What maps/modes are people playing to get spawn camped? Nobody even bothered to try and do it in operations, plus your main base is protected by bot turrets...

I've ended my first run for the night (sorry dibikins I know you joined me in that last match). A few matches in and my last one being my best going 29-28 and top scoring my team with 5325 points.

It's so much to get used to straight away, but I felt myself getting into the groove more by the time I had ended up in the last match I played. It's a big thing to get used to these complicated maps as well, one helpful thing is that they all seem to be fairly symmetrical though which I am a BIG fan of in MP maps.

I really liked whatever match it was that I finished on, I've seen it a few times in GiantBomb's TNT and Quick Look but don't know what it's called as of yet. But it's probably the most neutral match I've played so far.

Had an awesome part in the map where I flanked a couple of guys, killed them, then moved around a container to a gate area where there were a bunch of guys coming through. Got killed, but as the medic you have the ability (when fully unlocked) to get up after dying once. So I waited for these guys to move past me and one stayed behind, got up straight away and gave him a nice neck snapping Brutal Melee.:D Then ran around the corner and took out another 3 guys for a 6 killstreak before dying from a flying turret.

The 2nd match myself and Camo played was VERY hard to get into and get going, it's the one with the big green thing in the middle that fires up and sends an EMP charge through everything. It's also the one with the jetpacks. Basically the map becomes something where you're getting killed from every angle and it's just hard to get a good flow since you really have to keep an eye out everywhere, and with Killzone's naturally smallish FOV for an FPS it makes it that bit harder.

Good news was that I still had double XP and all unlocks and such from the Collector's Edition that I actually 'unlocked' as soon as I got the game (managed to skyrocket up to level 8 and halfway through that in maybe an hours gametime), this was the first time I had entered online MP though so I guess it was properly unlocked when I booted that up.

^^ Yeah no worries! Playing a bit now again, the team really needs to capture Tactical Spawns otherwise its all over. It really sucks when I run at start to nearest 1 and no one else follows. Then I get gunned down by 3 enemies who actually have a clue.

that didn't take long!
nice work!

have you tried the game with the move? (do you even have move?)
i tried it with move on botzone yesterday and my god it's hard to wrap your head around lol

that goes to everyone actually....has anyone tried it with the move and did you find it awkward?
i felt like i was twisting my head and arms around like a freakon nutjob

Cheers!

Yeah it's a very easy plat surprisingly enough, considering KZ2's difficulty. I am missing one DLC trophy though, "Death by Proxies", can't get a game full enough game on Blood Gracht to have a good chance of getting it.

Haven't got the Move but a mate has and after dominating games it brings you back down to reality, it's a bit fiddly for my liking.

How many times did you have to play through to get all the 'Kill X amount of Helghast' trophies?

I still haven't got the first one yet but maybe that is because I have only played co-op and it must only include kills by myself as Player 1.

How many times did you have to play through to get all the 'Kill X amount of Helghast' trophies?

I still haven't got the first one yet but maybe that is because I have only played co-op and it must only include kills by myself as Player 1.

I've completed 3 playthroughs (one co-op) and yes only the kills from player 1 count towards the trophy.

I hit the Kill 1500 Helgast at the start of Chapter 2: Bilgarsk Museum on my third playthrough. I did farm about 100 kills on Salach District though (sniper level)