Get Smart 86

Glenelg
Dear Adelaide supporters,

This time last year you guys were licking your lips with the prospect of Knights playing a huge part in 2006.
He has not really set the world on fire, albeit he has had to deal with injuries and obviously this has been a setback on his development.

This year you are on the Douglas' bandwagon. You say this guy is going to be a champion.

My questions are.

How do you guys compare/contrast Knights and Douglas?

Do you still see Knights as being a very important player in the Crows' midfield in the years to come?

Or do you feel that he is not the special player as you thought he would be and that Douglas will be better?

I raise the above questions for discussion.

I thank all Crows' supporters that take the time to answer my questions.

Get Smart 86

There is no question that we all still have high hopes for Knights. Comparing the two players, you would say that Douglas is more complete as a player which is probably reflected by their respective selections on draft day (Douglas was pick 16 while Knights was 56).

Knights has exceptional ability of getting the ball. He is one of the best I have seen in terms of knowing how to get the footy. His problem at the moment is disposing of it. I am not saying he is terrible but he does have a somewhat flawed kicking action. Having said that, his kicking has improved over the last 12 or so months.

Douglas on the other hand is more polished in terms of skills but doesn't quite have the build of a genuine AFL midfielder yet. Knight has a great build for a midfielder. I would expect both to be intergral part of our plans for the future as far as midfield is concerned. Knight is more of a possesion gatherer while Douglas is somewhat of a stoppage specialist.

Both have the potential to be great players in the AFL for many years to come.

Stiffy_18 said:
There is no question that we all still have high hopes for Knights. Comparing the two players, you would say that Douglas is more complete as a player which is probably reflected by their respective selections on draft day (Douglas was pick 16 while Knights was 56).

Knights has exceptional ability of getting the ball. He is one of the best I have seen in terms of knowing how to get the footy. His problem at the moment is disposing of it. I am not saying he is terrible but he does have a somewhat flawed kicking action. Having said that, his kicking has improved over the last 12 or so months.

Douglas on the other hand is more polished in terms of skills but doesn't quite have the build of a genuine AFL midfielder yet. Knight has a great build for a midfielder. I would expect both to be intergral part of our plans for the future as far as midfield is concerned. Knight is more of a possesion gatherer while Douglas is somewhat of a stoppage specialist.

Both have the potential to be great players in the AFL for many years to come.

As Stiffy said. :thumbsu:

Both to become great players for the Adelaide Footy club, with Douglas being a little unique for Adelaide - a lightning quick mid-fielder.

I really like the look of Knights. I know his game needs some polish but the crucial ingredient he will bring to the team is that he is a primary possession winner. We will need players to fill the roles vacated by Ricciuto, Goodwin and Edwards over the next couple of seasons and to win those crucial first possessions.

Knights (and Thompson) fit the bill nicely. Someone like Reilly is a bit different as he is more of a link player. Other players bring him into the game.

I know Van Berlo has gone ahead of Knights in his ranking but I reckon that if Knights had been given the games VB did last year their ranking would be reversed.

macca23 said:
Both to become great players for the Adelaide Footy club, with Douglas being a little unique for Adelaide - a lightning quick mid-fielder.
Knights probably won't, only re-signed because he wanted to be part of a winning team. Towards the end of 2008, he'll probably be on his way back to Victoria. Hopefully he changes his mind.

Drummond said:
Knights probably won't, only re-signed because he wanted to be part of a winning team. Towards the end of 2008, he'll probably be on his way back to Victoria. Hopefully he changes his mind.

Then we pick up a Ryan Griffin, Bryce Gibbs or an Adam Cooney; good young south Australian.

Drummond said:

Now how on earth did you come to that conclusion? He resigned, i dont think he could send a clearer message of his loyalties.

Southerntakeover said:
Now how on earth did you come to that conclusion? He resigned, i dont think he could send a clearer message of his loyalties.
He basically said he wanted to win a premiership with Adelaide and didn’t want to play with a crap Victorian side that was losing every week.

Southerntakeover said:
Well he did say that he seriously thought about heading back to Melbourne and stuck around so he can play for a winning side.

Something tells me that he will be a bit like Kane Johnson. Its not a question of if but more of when he will head back home.

Stiffy_18 said:
Well he did say that he seriously thought about heading back to Melbourne and stuck around so he can play for a winning side.

Something tells me that he will be a bit like Kane Johnson. Its not a question of if but more of when he will head back home.

As long as he gives 'reasonable' service to the Crows I think I can handle it ok. That will ensure we get adequate compensation for him. Stenglein and Johnson were well established players for us when they left allowing us to get adequate picks/players in return.

Fergus on the other hand ... :mad:

GoSarge said:
As long as he gives 'reasonable' service to the Crows I think I can handle it ok. That will ensure we get adequate compensation for him. Stenglein and Johnson were well established players for us when they left allowing us to get adequate picks/players in return.

Fergus on the other hand ... :mad:
And thats exactly what I have been saying for years now. I can never be angry at Stinger of Sugar for leaving. Both of those boys gave a tremendous service to us and both wore that jumper with pride and gave us some great moments to remember them by. They left, we got fairly compensated in both instances and they leave without losing any respect from reasonable fans or the club. Stinger and Sugar will always be welcomed at AFC.

I am not so sure Fergus fits the same category.

Stiffy_18 said:
And thats exactly what I have been saying for years now. I can never be angry at Stinger of Sugar for leaving. Both of those boys gave a tremendous service to us and both wore that jumper with pride and gave us some great moments to remember them by. They left, we got fairly compensated in both instances and they leave without losing any respect from reasonable fans or the club. Stinger and Sugar will always be welcomed at AFC.

I am not so sure Fergus fits the same category.

I am sure he doesnt fit the same category. I dont think anyone was as ropable as me when he did the dirty and did a big sook back home to dad and the Saints.

Mate, i dont wish broken legs on anybody, but there is something to be said for karma.

I'm confident Knights will develop into a high-quality midfielder. With a bit more experience and polish, I reckon he'll be of great value, particularly around the stoppages.

RogerRabbit69 said:
I'm confident Knights will develop into a high-quality midfielder. With a bit more experience and polish, I reckon he'll be of great value, particularly around the stoppages.

I agree, I think that is exactly the sort of player he'll become, hunting it around stoppages and off hands.

however, I also think he'll soon become one of these players constantly criticised for the way he uses it, and the occasional error in judgement.

some players are very valuable contributors, but attract unwarranted criticism. I can easily see him becoming a liptak/tregenza (bode?) type figure - a guy with a great ability to find it (last I checked if the opposition didn't have it, it was a good thing) but someone who doesn't get enough credit because he happened to not be as good in his disposal as a jarman brother.

hope not, but guys who get the ball attract more attention (criticism) than a guy who can't find it.

Both will be 200 game players.

Douglas is more of a complete player than Knights ATM.

Douglas knows where to go to get the ball and has a more complete disposal skill set than Knights.

Douglas can rack up 25 possies with ease - Knights relies on a high work rate to get that many.

Knights works on the theory - get it 35 times - and he will eventually do damage. His disposal needs a lot of work.

Having said all that - hopefully both will have long and decorated careers at the AFC - but I know which I'd take if I had to choose one....;)

Mad Dog said:
Having said all that - hopefully both will have long and decorated careers at the AFC - but I know which I'd take if I had to choose one....;)

The one that hasn't done anything at AFL level yet ?
The one that shows the most potential ? (As opposed to the other that knows what AFL is all about now and can go away in the off season and work on exposed limitations).

Dangerous to base assumptions on raw potential.

p.s. - I do agree with you though :D

Crow-mo said:
I agree, I think that is exactly the sort of player he'll become, hunting it around stoppages and off hands.

however, I also think he'll soon become one of these players constantly criticised for the way he uses it, and the occasional error in judgement.

some players are very valuable contributors, but attract unwarranted criticism. I can easily see him becoming a liptak/tregenza (bode?) type figure - a guy with a great ability to find it (last I checked if the opposition didn't have it, it was a good thing) but someone who doesn't get enough credit because he happened to not be as good in his disposal as a jarman brother.

hope not, but guys who get the ball attract more attention (criticism) than a guy who can't find it.

Amen to that. Let's hope Knights doesn't become this boards whipping boy. His positives far outweigh the negatives.

Crow-mo said:

Quality post. :thumbsu:

GoSarge said:
The one that hasn't done anything at AFL level yet ?
The one that shows the most potential ? (As opposed to the other that knows what AFL is all about now and can go away in the off season and work on exposed limitations).

Dangerous to base assumptions on raw potential.

p.s. - I do agree with you though :D
hmmmm - I'll probably get yelled at for saying this but there's a lot of "stuff" that young players need to work on these days...defensive pressure, offensive defensive pressure, kicking, catching, the list goes on and on. For me - the 2 hardest things to work on are - putting your head over the ball when you are not a naturally courageous player, and the ability not to look lost during an AFL game. Both these things are difficult to work on because they are generally part of your "given makeup" and not a learned skill.

I certainly don't question Knights' courage, ball getting skills, or work ethic.....but obviously his disposal must improve and he can work on that....but the most worrying sign for me was that he looked lost, rushed, and intimidated by the pace during his games this year. I very much hope he can work on these over the break - but I reckon the likes of VB, Porps, and The Black, (even though he hasn't played a game yet) are in front of Knights in these KPIs.....AT THE MOMENT.

Mad Dog said:
hmmmm - I'll probably get yelled at for saying this but there's a lot of "stuff" that young players need to work on these days...defensive pressure, offensive defensive pressure, kicking, catching, the list goes on and on. For me - the 2 hardest things to work on are - putting your head over the ball when you are not a naturally courageous player, and the ability not to look lost during an AFL game. Both these things are difficult to work on because they are generally part of your "given makeup" and not a learned skill.

I certainly don't question Knights' courage, ball getting skills, or work ethic.....but obviously his disposal must improve and he can work on that....but the most worrying sign for me was that he looked lost, rushed, and intimidated by the pace during his games this year. I very much hope he can work on these over the break - but I reckon the likes of VB, Porps, and The Black, (even though he hasn't played a game yet) are in front of Knights in these KPIs.....AT THE MOMENT.

Its hard to say Douglas is ahead, since he hasnt played at all. Knights also looked well composed at SANFL level, theres a huge step up, and this could still catch Douglas out.

Southerntakeover said:
Its hard to say Douglas is ahead, since he hasnt played at all. Knights also looked well composed at SANFL level, theres a huge step up, and this could still catch Douglas out.
fair point - but at SANFL level - Douglas seems to get through the same work rate with more ease and composure than Knights and will kick 4.1 instead of 2.5.

I guess time will tell

Mad Dog said:
fair point - but at SANFL level - Douglas seems to get through the same work rate with more ease and composure than Knights and will kick 4.1 instead of 2.5.

I guess time will tell

You have an answer for everything dont you ! :thumbsu: :D

Mad Dog said:

I guess time will tell

I hesitate to use SANFL performance as a prediction for the transition to AFL footy, after all Daniel Schell has won the goal scoring medal before. Different type of player i know, but i think you know what i mean.

For the record i hope you are right and Douglas is a gun though.