Competitions Kool Aid

In my dealings with Fremantle supporters, I find this statement to be very true. In the last few years, they have always been happy to make finals. In losing a GF last year, they were better for the experience.

Fast forward 12 months, and you guys are out in straight sets. Fremantle fans again happy to point to how they are in the finals and put up a good effort. A couple of key injuries, but will be better again next year. As a fan of any team in any sport, I would not stand for this straight sets exit. Yet it seems a lot of Fremantle fans are OK with it.

Thats just plain dumb....and I'm being generous here.

I don't know any Freo fans who are ok with going out. Like the rest of us, I'm damn p****** off.

The only consolation, small as it is, is the additional finals experience for the players. Now we have to make the most of the situation. We can start preseason earlier, we have a better idea for which players dont cut it on the big stage and hopefully the club can address inconsistencies at AFL level. At least we have a lot to look forward to next year, while you have....Priddis lol

Thats just plain dumb....and I'm being generous here.

I don't know any Freo fans who are ok with going out. Like the rest of us, I'm damn p****** off.

The only consolation, small as it is, is the additional finals experience for the players. Now we have to make the most of the situation. We can start preseason earlier, we have a better idea for which players dont cut it on the big stage and hopefully the club can address inconsistencies at AFL level. At least we have a lot to look forward to next year, while you have....Priddis lol

maybe only freagles

I regard them as as slime supporters. A Freo supporter would only cross the road to kick a egurls supporter.

**** this other WA team stuff. If the druggies got de-registered tomorrow, I'd laugh!

The Eagle freagles who discarded the Freo colours they wear in the home and away and wore Port colours Sat was pitiful.
Clem,s knee,Harry and myself had a couple of Eagles in Port colours sharing a table with us at the Fire n Ice before the game.
Why go to that much trouble,pathetic toss bags.

I literally wanted to punch this 50 year old women with eagles colours on. As she walked out with 5 mins left she had the massive grin on her face. What sort of sick individual does that? If I could have got away with it I would have put her in a garbage bin.

, I would not stand for this straight sets exit. Yet it seems a lot of Fremantle fans are OK with it.

Genune question. If you wouldn't stand for an early finals exit what did you do to rectify the situation in 2007 when you went out in straight sets? Further, I take it you've at least written a strong worded letter to both Simpson and Nisbett? If you wouldn't "stand for it" when teams get bumped out of the finals, you must be even more gutted to not have made them, despite the premiership favorite tags and having Nic Nat in your side?

You can say I'm a dickhead, I probably am in life, but this side has serious question marks. Freo has always had a fan culture of patronisation and adoration for mediocrity. You do know this is a side who were clapped off the ground after getting flogged by Essendon in a final? Fans need to hold the team more accountable. I don't like booing and deplore spitting, but people need to actually hold players accountable.

If you honestly believe players need fans to hold them accountable to succeed, then I’ll raise your grandiose statements and tell you something for free - those players will never win a flag.

The club and playing group can say whatever they like, at the end of the day they are trying to win a flag for themselves and the playing group …..we simply go along for the ride.

Culture and committment inside the club is all that counts, and in Lyon we have never had anything nearing him in charge.

Shupe, please educate us how you "didn't stand for" West Coast's straight sets loss in 2007? Tell us how you "refused to accept mediocrity" when West Coast won the spoon in 2010. What strongly worded letter have you written to the club the past two years for missing finals?

Or did you just impotently rage, like a hippie clicking 'like' on a "STOP KONY" Facebook post in 2012?

Surprise surprise. I'm out.

Perhaps posting on opposition boards isnt your thing.

I've been slammed harder on the Patchwork Quilting Board and not run away.

In my dealings with Fremantle supporters, I find this statement to be very true. In the last few years, they have always been happy to make finals. In losing a GF last year, they were better for the experience.

Fast forward 12 months, and you guys are out in straight sets. Fremantle fans again happy to point to how they are in the finals and put up a good effort. A couple of key injuries, but will be better again next year. As a fan of any team in any sport, I would not stand for this straight sets exit. Yet it seems a lot of Fremantle fans are OK with it.

So how are you putting pressure on WC for not making successive finals, as you are obviously not OK with it?

Are you taking it to the streets? Stalking fine purveyors of expensive wine and telling your board members all about it?

Bang on guys. Not 'tolerating mediocrity' is just empty rhetoric supporters delude themselves with in an effort to act like they have some power over the fortunes of their team.

Usually it's just from supporters of the good teams, so it's pretty funny to hear it coming from an eagle like Shupe

A bit of knobishness about the OP's thread but I must say I was a bit disturbed about how many supporters over the off season just thought that 2014 would just 'happen'. Last year was a really wasted opportunity and it's a massive mountain to climb just to get another shot at again.

SA's delivery might need to be worked on but he does speak a lot of "truths" in his post

His thrust is entirely reasonable, and I tend to agree with him, but it's trussed up in a lot of unnecessarily abusive shit. There is actually quite a bit of reasonable discussion that goes on with regard to the negatives of both players and management here and frankly I think those who feel 'shouted down by the blind majority' are overreacting to what is, for a large part, reasonable criticism of their ideas. Make your case in a more considered and well reasoned manner and people will react better to it, 'out: Pearce' doesn't contribute (now i'm being hyperbolic). And shit like people on here "ignore(ing) utter champions like Mzungu" is just patently false when the Gu is regularly praised.

The Eagle freagles who discarded the Freo colours they wear in the home and away and wore Port colours Sat was pitiful.
Clem,s knee,Harry and myself had a couple of Eagles in Port colours sharing a table with us at the Fire n Ice before the game.
Agreed.

Was trying to get half the job done in downing a carton fir a tennis club carton day elsewhere before the game, glad I missed those campaigners.

I also reckon the club (and me included) simply expected to at least make the prelim again this year.

After last year's GF when Pav bravely declared "we'll be back", I immediately thought that maybe that was a bit presumptuous.

It takes shedloads of hard work to get there. 22 rounds of hard work. And you need to be switched on for all those 22 rounds. Unfortunately, and for whatever reasons, we failed to be switched on for half an hour against North in R6 and the entire St Kilda debacle in R18. These lapses are what cost us. Not injuries, umpiring, or the MRP.

I hope the players learn from this. You can never take the foot off the pedal, because it will cost you.

About on the same level as all the flogs in Hawthorn 2013 premiership gear I saw wandering around, wtf?

I also reckon the club (and me included) simply expected to at least make the prelim again this year.

After last year's GF when Pav bravely declared "we'll be back", I immediately thought that maybe that was a bit presumptuous.

It takes shedloads of hard work to get there. 22 rounds of hard work. And you need to be switched on for all those 22 rounds. Unfortunately, and for whatever reasons, we failed to be switched on for half an hour against North in R6 and the entire St Kilda debacle in R18. These lapses are what cost us. Not injuries, umpiring, or the MRP.

I hope the players learn from this. You can never take the foot off the pedal, because it will cost you.

I hope you're joking here, what would you have preferred him to say?

As fans, there is nothing we can do to change anything the club is doing. All this bullshit about how the fans "accept mediocrity" is pure crap - you think if we started picketing the club or boycotting games they would suddenly start playing well or making tough decisions?

The fans get consulted on token crap like jumper changes and the club song. The only people who have remotely any say in how the club is run are the people that run the club. People need to be aware of their own insignificance sometimes

I hope you're joking here, what would you have preferred him to say?
Not joking at all. I think something along the lines of "we understand we will need to work a lot harder next year to give ourselves another chance at this. Rest assured, we will leave no stone unturned next season to make sure we again represent the Fremantle Footy Club at that last Saturday in Sept." or some other cliche crap.

I like the positive thinking and all, and it's not really a big issue in the grand scheme of things, but you don't just act as if it's your right to be there again.

See that's the thing, we all read completely different shit into these cliché pithy statements you get out of sports interviews. To me, the "we'll be back" indicated a determination to be back rather than a sense of entitlement.

And that is probably how he intended it too. No biggie. But Hinkley is just the kind of coach (like Pagan) who could potentially use a comment like that as ammunition.