Laidley

Re: Laidley - opportunity to get a gun tactician???

Would he want to come here for an assistant role??? The top dawg position would be out of reach (atleast for now) I would believe but as an assistant coach I would love him over here. He would be on more money as an assistant over here than a coach over there but I dont see how he would want to leave top level coaching???

http://www.thewest.com.au/default.aspx?MenuID=12&ContentID=148344

'He said he wanted to stay in the AFL but would take time to decide if he wanted to pursue another coaching job or work in a football department position.'

AND didnt know this either.... maybe it wouldnt be too hard to lure him in??

'After being recruited from West Perth, Laidley was a member of the inaugural West Coast squad which joined the old VFL in 1987 and earned the nickname 'the Junkyard Dog' for his aggressive approach.

He stayed with the Eagles until the end of the 1992 season, when he was traded to North Melbourne, and he won a premiership medal with the Kangaroos in 1996.'

He would make a great defensve coach. I can only assume Metropilis is ineffective, based on outcomes as I have not seen his work.

Our defensive pressure / tactics have to stand out as our biggest weakness.

Dean could be coach in charge of junck yard tactics and attitude.

Would love to get Laidley :thumbsu:

Seems like the type of guy who wouldn't put up with the sh!t performances of late.

He would tear shreds off players and when fronting the media wouldn't just whip out a few boring quotes - he's got some passion :thumbsu:
Did he win a flag though?

Woosh had the cattle, Laidley didn't. It is that simple.

You know those shit performances you talk of? Well if Laidley coached last year, in your reckoning (and mine too) we wouldn't have got Naita or Shuey. So which coach is better?

I rate laidley highly as a coach. He was never going to succeed though because he never built a team capable of succeeding. Malthouse made the same mistake at Collingwood. So did Wallet at the Bulldogs. I'm not sure if laidley has the view the you muct buld the side first. If he doesn't I'd never want him as coach.

Wouldn't mind having him as an assistant as a) Woosh does have match day deficiencies, and b) I think after this years draft we'll have the necessary cattle in the bag.

If he came aboard I'd want it to start from next season. I don't want anyone contributing to any wins for us.

what i like about laidley. he can fire up the mob. hes got the seething anger in his eyes when hes pissed off. that would be a good thing to get the guys in a buzz

Why do we want to fire them up? If a player needs firing up to get them to play well then they have a suspect temperament.

I think we have some talent in our coaching staff but wouldn't be against a different structure. Something like:

Woosh - head coach. Controls high level direction - particulalry list building. Also controls player relationships
Laidley - Match day and tactics coach. Controls the assistant coaches, structures, set plays, stats, diligence on opposition etc
Burns - midfield coach
Coach X - forward structure coach
Metro - backs coach. Don't know if Metro is any good.

Why do we want to fire them up? If a player needs firing up to get them to play well then they have a suspect temperament.

I think we have some talent in our coaching staff but wouldn't be against a different structure. Something like:

Woosh - head coach. Controls high level direction - particulalry list building. Also controls player relationships
Laidley - Match day and tactics coach. Controls the assistant coaches, structures, set plays, stats, diligence on opposition etc
Burns - midfield coach
Coach X - forward structure coach
Metro - backs coach. Don't know if Metro is any good.

So you would like a favourite son to front the media and say nice things to the public and Laidley to coach do you?

Nope. Not surprised you can't work it out though.

Mate it seems you are the only one that has all the answers? Why are you not doing some of these jobs? Surely most AFL clubs could do with some of your wisdom as you seem to know almost everything?

Read your post, your suggestion was Woosha do nothing and Laidley do everything. You wrote it, I didn't.

Would Woosha sit in the coaching box on game day or up with Nisbett and the wifes? But you will have the answer. And of course it will be right!

Mate it seems you are the only one that has all the answers?
Not a reasonable conclusion. Just you being a knob.

Here is what I have said numerous times that I don't know:

1. If Woosha is a good coach
2. Whether we have drafted well in the last 2 years
3. I don't know if Spangher can play or not. I don't know if Le Cras can be a gun ball player. I don't know if Mackinley will be a gun or not.

Here's what I do know:

1. Our 2008 group would not develop into a side capable of winning a flag
2. The quickest way to our next flag is to bottom out and completely rebuild.
3. Percentages are far geater using this method in modern footy
4. Whether or not, Woosha is a good coach, or regardless if he is doing what he is doing on purpose, he is the best coach for us right now as he is landing us multiple low draft picks.
5. The talent level of your core group is, by far, the most important facet of modern football
6. No side can perenially be super competitive. They must sometimes have down phases. This is not necessarily a bad thing.
7. Winning away from home is the last pice of the jigsaw regarding winning the flag
8. The key to our fortunes is how well we develop our midfield.

So you should quit this bullshit of trying to pretend I'm a know all. Although I've only listed 3 things, there's 1000s I don't know. But those 8 things listed above. Clear as f***ing day. Completely obvious. It's a shame knob-ends like you just don't get it.

ps I never said that coaching set up is the answer. I just said I wouldn't be adverse to it. You've been knob gobbling guzzler for some time now and been completely owned by numerous people on this board, so don't try and divert the attention away from your own glaring deficiencies.

3. I don't know if Spangher can play or not. I don't know if Le Cras can be a gun ball player. I don't know if Mackinley will be a gun or not.

Here's what I do know:

4. Whether or not, Woosha is a good coach, or regardless if he is doing what he is doing on purpose, he is the best coach for us right now as he is landing us multiple low draft picks.
5. The talent level of your core group is, by far, the most important facet of modern football
6. No side can perenially be super competitive. They must sometimes have down phases. This is not necessarily a bad thing.
7. Winning away from home is the last pice of the jigsaw regarding winning the flag

So you should quit this bullshit of trying to pretend I'm a know all. Although I've only listed 3 things, there's 1000s I don't know. But those 8 things listed above. Clear as f***ing day. Completely obvious. It's a shame knob-ends like you just don't get it.

ps I never said that coaching set up is the answer. I just said I wouldn't be adverse to it. You've been knob gobbling guzzler for some time now and been completely owned by numerous people on this board, so don't try and divert the attention away from your own glaring deficiencies.

Bunsen it's got nothing to do with what you do or do not know. It's the way you respond to other posts. Anyone with an opinion different to yourself is regularly treated like an imbecile. Stupid, knob-head etc. are standard if something is written by another poster that you disagree with. GWS is right, it makes you sound like a know-it-all. Not unlike a couple of other posters on here and is one of the reasons I rarely come in here anymore.

Here's what I do know:

Diverting attention is exactly what you are doing now.

I won't even respond to most of the dribble you just wrote. Seriously talk about not liking someone pointing out something to you.

The difference between me and you mate is I have an opinion, its my opinion and i make it strongly, I don't go around with childish comments because someone does not agree. My opinion is not right or wrong, its an opinion.

Something that on here if its in anyway against a favourite son of our club is certainly not right because the blinkers are on most on here.

But I look forward to more of your undoubted wisdom.

Tell me a couple of things gws, this may not be the right thread for it but what do you think of the younger/inexperienced players we've blooded, or put more games into this year?

I really want to know what you think of Naitanui because I know you're a Rich fan. In short, what's your opinion of the state of the list in terms of those coming through?

Cheers. :thumbsu:

Bunsen it's got nothing to do with what you do or do not know. It's the way you respond to other posts. Anyone with an opinion different to yourself is regularly treated like an imbecile. Stupid, knob-head etc. are standard if something is written by another poster that you disagree with. GWS is right, it makes you sound like a know-it-all. Not unlike a couple of other posters on here and is one of the reasons I rarely come in here anymore.
I only treat someone like an imbecile if they clearly deserve it. You should look from within.

Diverting attention is exactly what you are doing now.

I won't even respond to most of the dribble you just wrote. Seriously talk about not liking someone pointing out something to you.

The difference between me and you mate is I have an opinion, its my opinion and i make it strongly, I don't go around with childish comments because someone does not agree. My opinion is not right or wrong, its an opinion.

Something that on here if its in anyway against a favourite son of our club is certainly not right because the blinkers are on most on here.

But I look forward to more of your undoubted wisdom.
Actually champ, you came on here and claimed I was a know all because I suggested I wouldn't be adverse to a change instructure. never said it was the only way or the right way. Just put it out there.

The facts are that you and that other fraud have expressed relentlessly that Woosha has been and is the wrong coach. You tell everyone who will listen and then some.

But when I come on and play devils advocate and suggest that if we did it your way we would not have got Naita and Shuey etc, you won't address it?

You can't come on here and have a one-sided story, bombard people with it incessently, and then block out and fail to address any flaws that have been pointed out.

You two are fwits and everone knows it. if you had a miniscule of integrity you'd stand up and counter any criticisms. All you are doing is still avoiding the hard question by diverting attention. That other fwit disappeared. No doubt he'll be back soom spruiking the same old shit and when I hit him up he will disappear again.

So you would like a favourite son to front the media and say nice things to the public and Laidley to coach do you?

Thats not what he said and reading the posts after this I'm not surprised with BB's responses.

The point being made is that Worsfold is a good team / list builder, he has good communication skills and relationships with players (not best buddies - BUT respect), doesn't rave on like Laidely and Choco Williams do fairly regularly, how ever Worsfold needs help with match day coaching / tactics..............which is why we employed Phil Walsh.;)

The real question is should only the head coach dictate match day tactics or can that be handed to an assistant or be done in a shared capacity.

Thats not what he said and reading the posts after this I'm not surprised with BB's responses.

The point being made is that Worsfold is a good team / list builder, he has good communication skills and relationships with players (not best buddies - BUT respect), doesn't rave on like Laidely and Choco Williams do fairly regularly, how ever Worsfold needs help with match day coaching / tactics..............which is why we employed Phil Walsh.;)

The real question is should only the head coach dictate match day tactics or can that be handed to an assistant or be done in a shared capacity.
Pretty much spot on, but i'll go a few steps further:

There's seems to still be more coaches who are dated and old school. They believe coaching is about maximising performance from their group and having the right gameplans and structures. This is far too simplistic for modern footy and just doesn't cut it anymore. The modern day coach has to be able to assemble a group of core players capable of winning a flag.

On the otherhand, a coach needs to be able to actually coach once they've assembled the list. They may have done all the hard work to assemble the list to get them top 4 and genuine flag threats, but now coaching ability will start to be important.

So there are 2 aspects to modern coaching:

1. Build list. Understand where club is in the cycle. And plan appropriately.
2. Coaching. Structures, gameplans, matchday tactics.

Very rare to find a coach who can do both. Clarkson certainly did both. I think Bomber did both but it's a bit gray due to F&S picks.

Malthouse, Pagan are all old school - great coaches but will only win the flag when they have a list who can go all the way. Ross Lyon appears old school - can coach and has a list at his disposal. Paul Roos - the only modern coach who won a flag old school style.

New coaches like Knights and Voss are old school. Doing a great job but I think they will end up like Dean laidley - hey you can coach but you never did get that flag. It will be because they never assembled a list capable of going all the way.

So it's not out of the question for West Coast to evolve the coaching structure mindset. A head coach to run the high level direction of the club, and a coach to coach the micro needs of the club. So often I see coaches so enveloped in their job and the task at hand of winning, motivating players, running tactics, that they don't have the ability to see on a high level the direction of their club.

Woosha: Deano, got the list assembled. They are young and inexperienced, but we have a lot of top 5 picks who should be able to play ball once they do their apprenticeships. This list, unlike what you had at North, can go all the way. I just want you to coach them. You control the forward, back, mid coaches, diligence on weekly opposition, and match day. Don't worry yourself with anything else.

I build the team, be face of club, do all background work. You just coach the team to play footy.

I don't think it's a crazy idea. They already bring in specialists for lot of things. Why not a match day specialist?

Tell me a couple of things gws, this may not be the right thread for it but what do you think of the younger/inexperienced players we've blooded, or put more games into this year?

I really want to know what you think of Naitanui because I know you're a Rich fan. In short, what's your opinion of the state of the list in terms of those coming through?

Cheers. :thumbsu:

Swannies I am a fan of Big Nat and think he could be an awesome player in the future, yes I would have gone with Rich but thats only because we needed midfielders. If we needed a ruckman I would have gone with Nat.

Of the others I think Swift has some super potential as does Cockie. I have been a huge fan of Masten since watching him closely in Under 18's but something serious has happened to his skills and I don't know what that is. if he does not find the fix soon then I think his career is limited as an AFL player.
Ebert is another that shows good signs but just does not stand up enough.
Mckenzie is outstanding and a real find.
Don't know enough about Shuey
Scooter Selwood looks the pick of them all but I am worried he is going to be turned into a tagger. Like him a lot
I think Schofield is better than Spangher.
Mckinley will be a better player in a better team with a better forward set up. Think he can play.

Overall I think our young players, (I hate the word kids as it refers to them as Auskick players) have much ability and potential. I don't believe they develope or play the football they are paid to play as quick as what other clubs younger players do. It seems to take a year or 2 longer at our club. And I don't know why that is.

I would like to see the Balga/Nollamara boy back home in Perth.
He would be a good fit in the Eagles,that would bring a bit of mungrel and some tactical nouse in to the mix.

Well then maybe football clubs need to change how they identify a head coach then and maybe they will as you and BB say in the future.

But at the present point of time the Head coach is the one being paid enormous dollars and at this present point in time the understanding is that the head coach puts all things in place from Game plan, match day tactics, player relationships, list building and provides the directive to his assistants to implement these things how he wants them done. Of course those assistants are also paid to have their input but it is still up to the head coach whether or not he runs with the suggestion of his assistants or goes another direction.

So yes maybe the future does hold true that we could possibly see maybe 2 guys as equal in responsability, maybe thats where it will all end up?

Actually champ, you came on here and claimed I was a know all because I suggested I wouldn't be adverse to a change instructure. never said it was the only way or the right way. Just put it out there.

The facts are that you and that other fraud have expressed relentlessly that Woosha has been and is the wrong coach. You tell everyone who will listen and then some.

But when I come on and play devils advocate and suggest that if we did it your way we would not have got Naita and Shuey etc, you won't address it?

You can't come on here and have a one-sided story, bombard people with it incessently, and then block out and fail to address any flaws that have been pointed out.

You two are fwits and everone knows it. if you had a miniscule of integrity you'd stand up and counter any criticisms. All you are doing is still avoiding the hard question by diverting attention. That other fwit disappeared. No doubt he'll be back soom spruiking the same old shit and when I hit him up he will disappear again.

It is no secret that I don't think Woosha is a great coach, this is not a new thing for me over the last couple of years this has been my thoughts for a very long time. I am not saying he can't coach but I do think he is not the right fit for us now.

He has never ever in his time as coach addressed the forward structure of his side, even when we had a gun midfield you only needed second rate forwards and it was a simple as just finding space and leading yet that could not be sorted. To this day we are void of forward structure, forward plan, no system going into our forward line. Our forwards don't block for each other, they all fly together for marks, they lead to the boundary line.
It happens far to regularly for this to be a coincidence, therefor it has to be an instruction or simply there is no instruction and the players are just winging it? Either way it is clear as day that the forward structure is not being addressed and has not been addressed in John's time as coach.

I see John coaching for his job and not rebuilding his side at the moment and in year 2009. I sang his praises after round 4 because I thought he had finally turned the corner, we were taking teams on, we were running in packs through the midfield, we were not over using the ball and while we were still void of a forward system we were scoring because we had the ball so much.
The side was playing good football even though we were still making simple errors but we were heading in the right direction. That direction is to try and play as the top sides do or at least be on your way there.

But since round 4 that plan has been put to bed and we have gone back to football 05/06 style. I think John has been concerned that if we play as we were early in the year then we may just get touched up a few times because we do make simple errors.

Yet I think if we had continued to play like we did early in the year then our younger players would advance far quicker because they play as they naturally play. The new game plan would come together far quicker and the players would enjoy their football far more than they seem to be at the moment. To me it seems the players are crying out to Woosha to just let us play, let us go for it, let us take the opposition on. The players look to me that they think the whole plan is to cautious, face saving and not really going to go anywhere. Thats the impression I get watching them play.

Now if John can turn that around then thats great, I am all for that. But John has to do it.

I get more annoyed on here simply because most can't look past the favourite son thing. He need to be treated as if he was Gary Ayers, Dean Bailey or Mark thompson. The buck stops with the head coach. Thats just the way it is.

I know he will be appointed again and I hope in a lot of ways most of you come and throw it in my face in a couple of years. I just don't think its going to happen that way. But if it does I will gladly cop it on the chin.
I just want our club to get it right. I don't think we are right now.

I am not saying he can't coach but I do think he is not the right fit for us now.
And I've asked you and that other fwit to justify this numerous times and neither of you will.

ps you have said he can't coach. That is not the bit I have a problem with. The problem is the timing. He's brough us a swag of top draft picks in 3 years. How could he not be the right fit? Do you tink there's a coach who could coach our 2008 group to a flag? <that's about the 50th time I've proposed that question, any chance of an answer any time soon?>

He has never ever in his time as coach addressed the forward structure of his side, even when we had a gun midfield you only needed second rate forwards and it was a simple as just finding space and leading yet that could not be sorted. To this day we are void of forward structure, forward plan, no system going into our forward line. Our forwards don't block for each other, they all fly together for marks, they lead to the boundary line.
It happens far to regularly for this to be a coincidence, therefor it has to be an instruction or simply there is no instruction and the players are just winging it? Either way it is clear as day that the forward structure is not being addressed and has not been addressed in John's time as coach.
This is clearly saying he can't coach. It's a shame you and that other fwit are so immersed in this that you can't see the big picture.

I see John coaching for his job and not rebuilding his side at the moment and in year 2009.
Masten, Ebert, Naitanui, Shuey, Swift, and at least another top 5 pick in October. How is that not rebuilding the side?

Oh that's right, you get building and coaching mixed up. You think a coach builds a side by coaching any old player how to have good skills and play to a game plan.:rolleyes:

I sang his praises after round 4 because I thought he had finally turned the corner, we were taking teams on, we were running in packs through the midfield, we were not over using the ball and while we were still void of a forward system we were scoring because we had the ball so much.
The side was playing good football even though we were still making simple errors but we were heading in the right direction. That direction is to try and play as the top sides do or at least be on your way there.
You just simply don't get it. You can't build an ordinary list into a flag side. Why can't you grasp this concept?

Yet I think if we had continued to play like we did early in the year then our younger players would advance far quicker because they play as they naturally play.
They actually wouldn't be getting a lot of game time because spuds like hansen and Fletcher and Bones would be performing and giveing us a false sense of hope.

The new game plan would come together far quicker and the players would enjoy their football far more than they seem to be at the moment.
You wanted this last year as well. Please explain how we would have been better off playing like that last year and missing out on naitanui and Shuey.

I get more annoyed on here simply because most can't look past the favourite son thing.
Not true. That's just shit inside your head that you have made up. Most people can see that our list has been deficient since losing Judd and Cuz. people want to see a total rebuild and low draft picks which Woosh is delivering. We may not be playing good footy but we are acquiring some serious talent that will go a lot further than playing good footy with a shit team. Again, why is it so hard for you to grasp? And why do you refuse to address this issue? Either you're avoiding because you know it exposes your argument, or you really are that stupid that you believe everyone on here wants Woosh because he is sentimental favourite.

He need to be treated as if he was Gary Ayers, Dean Bailey or Mark thompson. The buck stops with the head coach. Thats just the way it is.
No one is denying this. I don't know why you brought it up? Everyone is talking about building a team capable of winning a flag. Again, you're either purposely ignoring this or you are really really stupid.

I just want our club to get it right.
Well you can start by understanding the concept of low draft picks. Seriously, it's not hard. Actually it's a very simple concept.

I don't think we are right now.
That's vbecause you view football wrong. You judge a team on current performance rather than talent in the list.

And I've asked you and that other fwit to justify this numerous times and neither of you will.

ps you have said he can't coach. That is not the bit I have a problem with. The problem is the timing. He's brough us a swag of top draft picks in 3 years. How could he not be the right fit? Do you tink there's a coach who could coach our 2008 group to a flag? <that's about the 50th time I've proposed that question, any chance of an answer any time soon?>

No I do not think another coach would have coached us to a flag in 2008. Did John or not declare in 2008 that his side was a top 4 side? He did not declare he was playing and coaching for draft picks.

This is clearly saying he can't coach. It's a shame you and that other fwit are so immersed in this that you can't see the big picture.

Masten, Ebert, Naitanui, Shuey, Swift, and at least another top 5 pick in October. How is that not rebuilding the side?

It is rebuilding a list, not necessarily a side. But again I will say that this has not been the foundation of what Woosha has been on about. Again this year up until 2 weeks ago was sprouting about making the top 8.

Oh that's right, you get building and coaching mixed up. You think a coach builds a side by coaching any old player how to have good skills and play to a game plan.:rolleyes:

First of all champ you can't teach these guys to have good skills they either have them or they don't, they are not Auskick players. And the game plan is a must. That must be in place whether you have your young players on the park or not. in fact even more critical to have your game plan in place when your young players are out there.

You just simply don't get it. You can't build an ordinary list into a flag side. Why can't you grasp this concept?

I can grasp the concept, I am saying John won't be able to do it. What part of that don't you understand. And yes I think any number of other AFL coaches or want to be AFL coaches could do it better and faster than John.

They actually wouldn't be getting a lot of game time because spuds like hansen and Fletcher and Bones would be performing and giveing us a false sense of hope.

Agree with you there.

You wanted this last year as well. Please explain how we would have been better off playing like that last year and missing out on naitanui and Shuey.

They did not know they were getting those two players, they could have got anyone. Remember every side every year gets 4-6 new young players. its not a privilage only WCE get. Yet the kids go to other clubs and seem to fit in far quicker than they do at WCE. Put it this way Rich would not be performing for the WCE as he is for Brisbane because he would not be allowed to.

Not true. That's just shit inside your head that you have made up. Most people can see that our list has been deficient since losing Judd and Cuz. people want to see a total rebuild and low draft picks which Woosh is delivering. We may not be playing good footy but we are acquiring some serious talent that will go a lot further than playing good footy with a shit team. Again, why is it so hard for you to grasp? And why do you refuse to address this issue? Either you're avoiding because you know it exposes your argument, or you really are that stupid that you believe everyone on here wants Woosh because he is sentimental favourite.

You know as well as I do that the sentimental thing on here is very obvious, you could not possibly think otherwise. You are therefor saying that Woosha is now employed to deliver low draft picks as his prioirity? because they could get any old tool to that for a hell of a lot less money. Gee mate you think I don't grasp it, fair dinkum. Every year each side goes into the comp with some optimism of achieving something. Yet you want me to believe that Woosha is going into this year and last year with only low draft picks in mind.

No one is denying this. I don't know why you brought it up? Everyone is talking about building a team capable of winning a flag. Again, you're either purposely ignoring this or you are really really stupid.

Again I will say, I am happy to rebuild the side, I don't think Woosha is the man to do it. Its getting boring writing the same thing over and over.

Well you can start by understanding the concept of low draft picks. Seriously, it's not hard. Actually it's a very simple concept.

Yes it is a very simple concept, but get all the low picks you like. If they are not shown how to play a game plan, set up forward structures, shown systems etc etc then you are wasting your time.
Again I will repeat I don't care about our results, I care about our plan, our systems and our structures and I see nothing in those areas. But you are not listening to that, you just keep mentioning draft picks.
Essendon have good kids too but they are learning from day one about a new plan and have embraced it and continue to run with it. they cop some beatings but they are on their way, they have not had the picks we had?

The reason no one worry's about your draft pick question is because we all agree that if you can get draft picks thats good.

You are ignoring the question, what part of Johns game plan, his forward systems and structures, his stoppages, his defense clearances are you sitting there so impressed with?

That's vbecause you view football wrong. You judge a team on current performance rather than talent in the list.

Again I don't care about the result, I care about where we are going. I will say again I don't think John has a plan to take us forward in the football sense on the field. Talent is one thing, but without direction it means shit.

Overview is that I am talking about John Worsfold the football coach, you are talking about the WCE getting low draft picks.

two different things and you can't see that.

I don't want him as senior coach, I still think Woosha should keep the role for 1 or 2 more seasons.

Would absolutely LOVE to have him as a senior assistant.