Lance Whitnall

• Thread starter Thread starter dumesny1

Hopefully a Hartlett, Bower, Flint etc can step up so we can play Lance up forward more often, in saying that though I expect him to play the majority of his football in the back half.

Alot depends on the developement of the younger guys

How would the forward line be structured with Lance up there?

HFF: Waite Kennedy Whitnall
F: Betts Fevola Fisher

5 of the 6 are marking forwards with 1 small crumbing forward, otherwise someone has to miss out.

I know Fish can play up the ground, but he is essentailly a marking type forward. Waite at CHB would be foolish, doesn't seem to have the aerobic capapcity to chase a Croad, Pavlich, Reiwolt or Tredrea around all day....

depends on the fitness of setanta and hartlett and the progress bower and flint can make.

if these 4 guys are up and running, then there is a real possibilty that lance will spend a lot of time up fwd.

How would the forward line be structured with Lance up there?

HFF: Waite Kennedy Whitnall
F: Betts Fevola Fisher

5 of the 6 are marking forwards with 1 small crumbing forward, otherwise someone has to miss out.

I know Fish can play up the ground, but he is essentailly a marking type forward. Waite at CHB would be foolish, doesn't seem to have the aerobic capapcity to chase a Croad, Pavlich, Reiwolt or Tredrea around all day....

Mate way too top heavy. Maybe switch Fisher with Lance??? You think???

Spot on 112:thumbsu: . I remember a couple of years back when digby, lance and fev competed against each other in an unsuccessful marking contest in the forward pocket. Our forward lines much more effective with fev in the square and 50 meters of turf in front of him

Lance plays well both forward and back. We need someone to command down back, while our younger players are gaining experience.

IMO Whitnall will start off in CHB, and rotate with CHF as the season progresses, based on which young defenders have stepped up - ie: Hartlett or Bower.

Lock him into CHB for another year ! :thumbsu:

F: Betts, Fevola, Kennedy
HF: Waite, Kennedy, Fisher

Lance plays well both forward and back. We need someone to command down back, while our younger players are gaining experience.

IMO Whitnall will start off in CHB, and rotate with CHF as the season progresses, based on which young defenders have stepped up - ie: Hartlett or Bower.

Lock him into CHB for another year ! :thumbsu:

F: Betts, Fevola, Kennedy
HF: Waite, Kennedy, Fisher
Will Kennedy also feature in the half backline, VFL and coaches box?

l believe we need to be a little more creative and give Jarrad Waite the opportunity to play at Centre half back at least in pre season and the early games, this would then enable whitnall to spend more time up forward.

Oops, meant to write Edwards in forward pocket. Seems i have Mr. Kennedy on my mind.

Jake could be the wild-card this year. He was bottom age last year, is a good height, lightening fast, and has a heap of attitude and footy smarts. Looks a lot stronger this year. Think he'll be in the mix for a medium mobile KP forward spot over the next 2 years. :)

IMO he should only play down back when there is a good match up for him otherwise put him up forward and have four of the tall forwards on the ground at the one time rotating on the bench with the 5th

I think you're right - we are better off having a specialist HF Flanker playing HFF rather than a KP Forward playing out of position just for the sake of having them on ground.

I think we really need to restructure our forward line. Four (4) talls did not work there last year, so I think this would be a far better option

HF: Houlihan Waite Kennedy
FF: Betts Fevola Wiggins

Fevola, Kennedy and Waite provide the 3 tall marking options up forward. Kennedy will eventually go to CHF, but I don't think it's his best interest just yet to be crashing packs

Houlihan provides the silk and the skills up of the HFF. Can also play tall by being pretty good overhead

Wiggins provides a bit of grunt and will keep any backman honest should they want to try and run off. Like Hoops, also good overhead

Betts obviously provides the small crumber, and has a great defensive work ethic as well

Houlihan could swap with a number of players, from Scotland, Murphy, Gibbs and even Lappin to play a forward position.

I would rotate Waite and Fisher on the Half Forward line, but move JK over to CHF when Fisher is on the flank.

Having Waite and Fisher in the same forward line makes us too top heavy IMHO.

I think we really need to restructure our forward line. Four (4) talls did not work there last year, so I think this would be a far better option

HF: Houlihan Waite Kennedy
FF: Betts Fevola Wiggins

Fevola, Kennedy and Waite provide the 3 tall marking options up forward. Kennedy will eventually go to CHF, but I don't think it's his best interest just yet to be crashing packs

Houlihan provides the silk and the skills up of the HFF. Can also play tall by being pretty good overhead

Wiggins provides a bit of grunt and will keep any backman honest should they want to try and run off. Like Hoops, also good overhead

Betts obviously provides the small crumber, and has a great defensive work ethic as well

Houlihan could swap with a number of players, from Scotland, Murphy, Gibbs and even Lappin to play a forward position.

I would rotate Waite and Fisher on the Half Forward line, but move JK over to CHF when Fisher is on the flank.

Having Waite and Fisher in the same forward line makes us too top heavy IMHO.
That's why I'd like Fisher playing on a wing, in a sort of O'keefe role. IMO he's wasted on the bench. Also, the reason why Fish and Waite mightn't have worked is because they rarely ever get to play in the same team together, atleast when they're both fit. It probably is too top heavy however a fit and injury free Fisher and Waite could be pretty damaging with Fisher roaming up the ground, which he did quite well towards the end of 2006. Definitely prefer Houlihan in the forward half of the ground, his delivery inside fifty is much better than it is out of defense, where he's probably a little to cute.

I would rotate Waite and Fisher on the Half Forward line, but move JK over to CHF when Fisher is on the flank

Write that in a letter HBF and send it into Denis!:thumbsu:

Wiggins i'm not too sure about permanently though - i think he will be competing for a permanent position next year. He played as a forward down in Tassie, so he can kick goals.

If Saddington is able to play and play well Lance will play forward and go back as a extra man when needed.
He won't play CHF, he will play more of a HFF and will create space.

Unless Kennedy blitzes his pre-season and is 100% ready for AFL I think you'll see Pagan taking a softly softly approach for him and play him 50% Bullants 50% seniors (off the bench). Waite and Fisher may be also seeing a bit of reserve time and unless Lappin gets back into dazzling form he may be in the bullants as well.

If the above eventuates you'll see room for Whitnall in the forward line, or most likely given the licence by Pagan to move forward or back when situations arise and he's needed.