Last weeks crowds

• Thread starter Thread starter Swan

Oh Yeah!! very dissappointing!
Hwo the hell couldn't two sydney teams sell out Aussie in a sudden death semi? SHOCKING! I was at the game and i have to say Manly supporters are pretty pathetic!! They just don't travel to the other side of the bridge...
But in saying that, we always hear how big the Dragons Army is... They should of had more supporters there.

No excuses but it's hard to get to moore park on friday night after work... I work in North Sydney and i struggled. A lot of Wollongong based Saints supporters wouldn't of bothered because they wouldn't of made it.

Newcastle V Broncos... While dissappointing wasn't unexpected. This game should of been played in Newcaslte or Brisbane, it would of sold out at those venues.

Ordinary crowds to watch very ordinary footy.

St.George Vs Manly - 28 point difference

Brisbane Vs Newcastle 46 point difference

St.George vs Manly should have been played on a Sunday afternoon. Brisbane Vs Newcastle should have been played in Brisbane (higher ranked) and Suncorp would have sold out again.

This week will probably be ordinary crowd as well for GF Qualifiers with Melbourne Vs St.George and Brisbane Vs Bulldogs. Atleast these games will be absolute crackers. I can't wait for both games!

Just on the original poster, isn't it funny how we get random posters who post things criticising rugby league and then leave but and you never see them again but they post it in a way so it looks like they are just 'interested' or curious. Stay on the Swans forum, Swan.

AuckMel- Well summed up. Yes!

LebaneseForces said:
Newcastle V Broncos... While dissappointing wasn't unexpected. This game should of been played in Newcaslte or Brisbane, it would of sold out at those venues.

spot on.

lets face it - in sydney, u get 30, 000+ every week for every afl game. even in canberra they r getting crowds of 5-15 Thousand. Some nrl matches struggle to get 10, 000 each week. y? cos the nrl is not a national compeition. it is still a nsw based comp which has tried to appear as though they r nationalising it by expanding - and then wat do they do? get rid of the rams and the chargers and add the non-australian warriors

note: nothing against the game of rugby league itself - just the ways its run

SnowyCasanova said:
lets face it - in sydney, u get 30, 000+ every week for every afl game. even in canberra they r getting crowds of 5-15 Thousand. Some nrl matches struggle to get 10, 000 each week. y? cos the nrl is not a national compeition. it is still a nsw based comp which has tried to appear as though they r nationalising it by expanding - and then wat do they do? get rid of the rams and the chargers and add the non-australian warriors

Wow, your knowledge of Rugby League is impressive.

Props to you...

SnowyCasanova said:

LOL...

When does AFL get 30,000 every week in Sydney? Maybe 30,000 every two weeks.

The AFL is exactly the same - 9 teams in Melbourne for a 16 team competition. NRL is 9 teams in Sydney for a 16 team competition next year.

Originally Posted by SnowyCasanova

What a load of garbage.
Of Australia's top 12 cities 9 are in NSW, QLD and ACT.
When league had 20 teams what was the reason some low teams struggled to pull 10,000?
After the super league war the game had to rationalise as there was no money.
One thing you did get right is league is badly run.

Tutaki said:
AuckMel- Well summed up. Yes!

Thank you, Tutaki.

We do just keep going around in circles though dont we? It's a bit like the boring old subject of we're bigger than you which gets constantly paid out on the main forum.

For whatever reason, RL crowds in Sydney are average, but the tv ratings are huge. I'm not even going to try and understand why given the city is constantly refered to as the home of RL. I'll leave that one for you guys.

One thing I can understand is why Aussie Rules is so massive in Victoria. Friday night coverage, saturday and night coverage and two games on a sunday. Saturation press coverage etc. etc. It's constantly in your face, and a bit like RU in NZ only far more intense.

As an outsider looking in, it continues to stagger me just how much they talk about the game, and how much their lives seem to revolve around it. Eventually, you just can't help but join in.

I'd be stuffed without my pay tv.

Tutaki said:
This week will probably be ordinary crowd as well for GF Qualifiers with Melbourne Vs St.George and Brisbane Vs Bulldogs. Atleast these games will be absolute crackers. I can't wait for both games!

I think you will be surprised mate... Bulldogs And Dragons are probably the two most supportered teams in Sydney with Thousands of Bandwagon supporters ( :mad: ) who seem to come out in September in there THOUSANDS!
Bulldogs had sold around 10,000 tickets today and it's only available for season tickets holders... Tomorrow the real rush will begin. Dragons would of sold a similar amount if not more... The ticketek in North Sydney had a pretty big line up and most were getting tickets to the Dragons game.

LebaneseForces said:
I think you will be surprised mate... Bulldogs And Dragons are probably the two most supportered teams in Sydney with Thousands of Bandwagon supporters ( :mad: ) who seem to come out in September in there THOUSANDS!
You must be kidding... Dragons are close to the worst supported team in Sydney...

The tigers are the best supported team at the moment ....

BuffaloRules said:
You must be kidding... Dragons are close to the worst supported team in Sydney...

The tigers are the best supported team at the moment ....

Yeah Tiger's too lol...
I remember in 1999 a semi between ST George and Cronulla at Telstra got 50 thousand +... 90% of the crowd was St George... It was amazing.

THe 1999 GF got 107 thousand people... Again most St George!
In 2000 the GF fell about 15 thousand short of capacity.
For consistant support in the last 6-7 years the Bulldogs are number 1. Before last year Tiger's weren't averaging to much.. I remember a few sub 10 thousand averages in the last 5 or so years.

Remember the Bulldogs averages would be heaps more if it wasn't for the Showground. Back to this weekends crowds i reckon friday night will be 35,000+ (SCG Trust members will not show again)... and the game at Telstra will be 50,000.

I hope your right....

But I'm not quite as optomistic...

In 1999 the new stadium was still a bit of a novelty...

I would love to see the Tigers play the Dogs in a semi at telstra... That would be the peak for a semi final these days I'd say...

I'll say about 30,000 to each game...

What is it with Manly fans.... they'll fill their dirt hill stadium to the brim but don't cross the harbour to watch a critical match.

The other game should have been played in another state... it's mad the way the nrl runs things..

BuffaloRules said:
I hope your right....

But I'm not quite as optomistic...

In 1999 the new stadium was still a bit of a novelty...

I would love to see the Tigers play the Dogs in a semi at telstra... That would be the peak for a semi final these days I'd say...

I'll say about 30,000 to each game...

Bulldogs V Tiger's semi would be Huge!
I know personally a lot of people i know who don't go League games (only watch it on TV) are going this weekend to one of the games... Anything less then a sell out at the S.F.S (Minus the SCG Trust Members) would be a major dissappointment!! The Dragons game should realistically get 50,000 but anything under 40,000 would be embarrassing!

LebaneseForces said:
Yeah Tiger's too lol...
I remember in 1999 a semi between ST George and Cronulla at Telstra got 50 thousand +... 90% of the crowd was St George... It was amazing.

THe 1999 GF got 107 thousand people... Again most St George!
In 2000 the GF fell about 15 thousand short of capacity.
For consistant support in the last 6-7 years the Bulldogs are number 1. Before last year Tiger's weren't averaging to much.. I remember a few sub 10 thousand averages in the last 5 or so years.

Remember the Bulldogs averages would be heaps more if it wasn't for the Showground. Back to this weekends crowds i reckon friday night will be 35,000+ (SCG Trust members will not show again)... and the game at Telstra will be 50,000.
The 108,000 that were at the 1999 GF were mainly sightseers interested in the ground. I was there and I don't support either Melbourne or the Saints.

I believe this weekends crowds will struggle to get 40,000 and it is a shame as both matches will be absolute bottlers. For the record: I think it will be a St.George Vs Brisbane GF (Hopefully, St.George don't wreck it like they did it '92 and '93)

I'd reakon the Bulldogs match will get around 33k.....should have been played at TS....and the Melbourne v St George match should get around 36-38k

Bulldogs have sold over 20,000 to this game so far... Well on the way to a sell out (SFS after members and coporates holds 35,000 i think),... The St George game when i bought my tickets today had a PAX number of 26000+ :thumbsu:

1908 said:
NSW Central Coast has a population of 304,000.

It does, but it's included with Sydney. In effect, it's really a commuter suburb.

Jack Bridge said:
It does, but it's included with Sydney. In effect, it's really a commuter suburb.
while a lot of people do commute from the cc to sydney, it still doesn't change the fact that the central coast is in no way part of greater sydney.