Crow54

25 year veteran.
In an earlier topic I said I hoped Laurence wouldn't end up like Tom Gilligan. Well, I would like to say that Laurence has showed in one game that he has true character. In Saturday's game he was knocked down twice, but got straight up and wouldn't go off. According to Cornsey he was one of the reasons the Bays won that game. I also heard Laurence interviewed on 5AA, and he sounds a very mature, sensible fellow, with a sense of humour and quiet determination to do well. Good luck to him. Sounds like just the guy to show our regular ruckman a thing or two.

I agree totally Crow54, of course a regular Port poster on this board reckons he's a sook. Couldn't be further from the truth. I just hope he is a bit more careful on the roads.

Laurence gets the thumbs up from me! I watched Glenelg on tv on saturday and he was impressive, given time I think he'll be a real talent.

Lets hope that he drives a bit safer, doesn't trip over at training or gets anymore stomach bugs!!

lol!
go crows
k
xx

Originally posted by Macca19:
Well after todays game against Port he played fairly poorly. He wasnt in the game at any stage other than a 5 min period in the last quarter where he took a mark or two in defence. He has a long way to go before "future superstar" can be said about him. He sorta lacks passion and involvement at the moment. He never chases, rarely puts in a second effort, and his foot skills need to be improved.
Maybe next year he will be better.

I have to agree with Macca, I also saw him play Port at Alberton which is probably the biggest test any player will get at SANFL level and he really didn't do that much. I'm sure that in a couple of years though he will become a quality player. Its pretty unfair to rate him after only 2 SANFL games, only time will tell if he is up to AFL standard or not.

It's interesting to read your comments about Laurence. In the Sunday Mail he's listed as being one of Glenelg's best players yesterday. Maybe you guys are looking at him through the opposite of rose-coloured glasses, lol. And of course one or two games don't give a true indication. But from what I heard Cornsey say about Laurence having an interesting discussion with one of the Crows hierarchy, it looks like he has a bit of gumption, and won't take crap from anyone.

Originally posted by Crow54:
It's interesting to read your comments about Laurence. In the Sunday Mail he's listed as being one of Glenelg's best players yesterday. Maybe you guys are looking at him through the opposite of rose-coloured glasses, lol. And of course one or two games don't give a true indication. But from what I heard Cornsey say about Laurence having an interesting discussion with one of the Crows hierarchy, it looks like he has a bit of gumption, and won't take crap from anyone.

hmm, well thats strange. I went to the game, and have watched the replay, and the only time he was midly in the game was the first half of the last quarter. He was basically unsighted for the rest of the game. He only got 11 touches...most of which would of been in those first 10mins of the last quarter. I certainly didnt think he did enough to warrant being in the best players list. But then again Cornes is rated third best player and he was fairly unsighted for most of the game as well.

Crow54, he was rated 5th best in the paper for a team that lost by 47 points. I just felt that at no time during the game was Laurence ever a threat to Port Adelaide. He wasn't a player we needed to stop if we were going to win that game. I remeber Shaun Rehn in his 1st full season of SANFL football and he was a dangerous player who could be a match winner and he probably wasn't much older than Laurence is now. Also I felt that Cornes also had a quiet game, he did do a couple of good things but nothing that would warrant selection for the Power this weekend.

Your point about Rehn is interesting. He wasn't playing in an interstate city, with the media exposure that Angwin has had to put up with. Admittedly he was from the country, but I don't know if his family came to Adelaide with him at the time.

Graham Studley did say that Angwin's game last week was a match winner... so I'll guess we'll have to wait and see. There's a lot more pressure on him than Rehn had at the time.

Crow54 said:
In an earlier topic I said I hoped Laurence wouldn't end up like Tom Gilligan. Well, I would like to say that Laurence has showed in one game that he has true character. In Saturday's game he was knocked down twice, but got straight up and wouldn't go off. According to Cornsey he was one of the reasons the Bays won that game. I also heard Laurence interviewed on 5AA, and he sounds a very mature, sensible fellow, with a sense of humour and quiet determination to do well. Good luck to him. Sounds like just the guy to show our regular ruckman a thing or two.

While we're digging up old threads ....

Take this as a lesson, don't judge a book by it's cover or even the way the author interviews ;)

jo172 said:
While we're digging up old threads ....

Take this as a lesson, don't judge a book by it's cover or even the way the author interviews ;)

Yup kinda makes you worried about all the overly optimistic comments regarding some of our new players that we get on this board.

Let's not forget how ludicrous these comments about him not being good enough were.
we now know he has all the ability and none of the smarts. Today, no one would suggest he lacks talent...

Crow-mosone said:
Let's not forget how ludicrous these comments about him not being good enough were.
we now know he has all the ability and none of the smarts. Today, no one would suggest he lacks talent...

Some people are late bloomers when it comes to maturity Cro-mosone.

Maybe the shutters are being opened by past mistakes.

Good onya Lorrie, keep it up big fella!:)

I have a mate who works with Tom Gilligan now. My mate was talking to him over lunch and he just dropped in that he had played a few games with the crows. Still trading on past glory I see! :D

Anyway, he works for a printing company or something and is still a hit with the ladies despite his footy career going down the toilet. I guess you never lose your ruckman height.

pext said:
I have a mate who works with Tom Gilligan now. My mate was talking to him over lunch and he just dropped in that he had played a few games with the crows. Still trading on past glory I see! :D

Anyway, he works for a printing company or something and is still a hit with the ladies despite his footy career going down the toilet. I guess you never lose your ruckman height.

Tom Gilligan was doing an engineering degree, and went back to complete it.
I imagine his professional life should be ok, and the footy stuff is a nice anecdote for a guy who didn't want it very much.

Crow-mosone said:

Some people are later bloomers when it comes to maturity Cro-mosone. They tend to follow other people's lead like sheep with no regard to the personal consequences.

Lorrie made some huge mistakes whilst in Adelaide. He made a terrible error in judgement whilst at Carlton.

He MAY have learned his lesson in life. He MAY have decided that pure talent should not be wasted by improper attention to his personal life.

Lessons learned through mistakes are lessons well paid for.:)