sloth6

Feb 10, 2006
Collingwood has announced its Leadership Group for 2007.

While I am rapped to see Nick Maxwell elevated to the position of on-field leader, I am absolutley mystified to why Tarkyn Lockyer and Rhys Shaw are also in the group. This was taken from the AFL website.

New Collingwood leadership member Nick Maxwell says he is honoured to be one of the seven players in the club's elite group, particularly after just completing his second full senior-listed season with the Magpies.

Although Maxwell made his AFL debut in 2004 - he was officially a rookie list player in 2003-04 - and he did not become a permanent senior-listed player until the 2005 season, which makes his promotion into the leadership group a fine achievement.

"It's a strange one. I'm going into my fifth year, but I've only been on the (senior) list for two years, because I spent two years on the rookie list, but being in the leadership group won't change anything that I do," Maxwell told afl.com.au

Along with Maxwell, Nathan Buckley (captain), James Clement (vice-captain), Josh Fraser (deputy vice-captain), Tarkyn Lockyer, Ben Johnson and Rhyce Shaw make up Collingwood's leadership group for 2007.

I was hoping they had put the wrong Shaw in, but it is in fact Rhys. I undersatand that the leadership group is player driven, but why do we have blokes in there that are NOT in our best 22 and shouldn't be getting a game!

Surely Tarkyn Lockyer and Rhys Shaw are not in our 22.

Rhyce is. People forget his form before his knee injury. If he can get over the knee and can get back to that form hes easily in the 22.

Tarkyn is on the fringes, the kind of guy that Iles, O'Brien, Stanley are supposed to replace.

That said who cares, Bucks, Clement, Fraser are the real leaders with Rocca as well but not in an official capacity.

Too much weight placed in selections.

Personally, I reckon Tarks has had his turn and doesn't need a second run. He should be a leader anyway, and to be honest, he should be the one battling for a spot if and when our younger mids and half backs puch through.

Still, no need to slash wrists. At least we don't cheapen the captaincy like the Aints!

While I am rapped to see Nick Maxwell elevated to the position of on-field leader, I am absolutley mystified to why Tarkyn Lockyer and Rhys Shaw are also in the group. This was taken from the AFL website.

New Collingwood leadership member Nick Maxwell says he is honoured to be one of the seven players in the club's elite group, particularly after just completing his second full senior-listed season with the Magpies.

Although Maxwell made his AFL debut in 2004 - he was officially a rookie list player in 2003-04 - and he did not become a permanent senior-listed player until the 2005 season, which makes his promotion into the leadership group a fine achievement.

"It's a strange one. I'm going into my fifth year, but I've only been on the (senior) list for two years, because I spent two years on the rookie list, but being in the leadership group won't change anything that I do," Maxwell told afl.com.au

Along with Maxwell, Nathan Buckley (captain), James Clement (vice-captain), Josh Fraser (deputy vice-captain), Tarkyn Lockyer, Ben Johnson and Rhyce Shaw make up Collingwood's leadership group for 2007.

I was hoping they had put the wrong Shaw in, but it is in fact Rhys. I undersatand that the leadership group is player driven, but why do we have blokes in there that are NOT in our best 22 and shouldn't be getting a game!

I couldn't agree any more sloth, it seems they have picked blokes to make up numbers, Tarkyn Lockyer is not in our best 22 at all,in fact i was suprise he wasn't delisted. Rhys Shaw hasn't done enough to warrant leadership roles, Heath Shaw should be groomed to take over from bucks, clement, fraser (whoever is in charge when the time is right)
and Ben Johnson while i reckon he's a good player his off field troubles should have meant automatic DQ
I very happy Maxwell is in there, his bump on jonathon brown early this year typafies what the collingwood jumper is all about.

The surprise omission is Rocca. Clearly big Ant is under the pump, and the club has decided to take the pressure off him and let him concentrate on his own game.

Very happy with Maxwell, BJ and R Shaw, especially the last two because they have been Collingwood supporters since birth. Its inconcievable to not have a Shaw on the leadership list when the pedigree of leadership is so compelling.

Not so impressed with Tarks, but it just confirms his lovechild status at Collingwood.

I expect T Cloke, H Shaw and Didak to press for leadership roles in future seasons.

How many games does Lockyer play for Williamstown? He may not be in the best 22 but he most certainly is selected in it when available. I agree he shouldn’t be a leader though.

Rhyce I don’t mind being in the leadership group. I agree he has to win a spot yet but you can’t question his black and white blood or his heart. If anyone doubts this see his effort when he did his knee and git up and chased the opponent with the ball.

The reality is we lack leaders and that's why these blokes have been chosen. Our natural leaders are all old. Ay of Buckley, Clement or Burns would make ideal captains but there is little point having them as vice captains now.

Overlooking Rocca is another sign that we have realised we have to rebuild and will not be winning a premiership in the near future. We drafted that way IMO and we seem to be taking a longer term view with rebuilding the list and the next group of leaders. It appears to me it has dawned on the club that we missed our opportunity.

Rocca made the decision to step out of the leadership group not the club.
Maybe. Can you name the last player removed from a leadership group by a club apart from a Cousins style disciplinary action – although even he said stepped down didn’t he? Buckley publicly said it might be time to step aside but he was publicly overruled very quickly.

I expect T Cloke, H Shaw and Didak to press for leadership roles in future seasons.
Early days but heath I agree with. Travis I have no idea about but he doesn’t strike me as mature enough at the very least. Didak has to stop kicking people first and go in a bit harder. I saw him shirk it at TD badly one day right in front of where I was sitting. You can’t have your leaders doing that.

Rhys Shaw hasn't done enough to warrant leadership roles...

What next... you're employed with Collingwood, right?

He is a leader, talking and encouraging are his strengths, as seen out on the the training track, after making recovery from the knee injury that forced him to sit out for 12 months. He has lead from the front and addressed the players at Williamstown. He's a good person to have around for support.

The surprise is Lockyer because he was cut from the leadership group over a year ago.

Maxwell deserves everything that goes his way because he has battled hard to be among some of our game's top prospects. He's a great clubman, is going to be a terrific leader.

Rhys Shaw hasn't been a bad player, he's been nowhere near the form he was in 2003 before the Grand Final, but let's remember he did break his leg last year.

Maxwell surprised me, not due to ability but because of his age, I expected more senior players to adopt this role with us having so many youngsters around the club.

Since when is leadership group got anything to do with best 22. Then again, when will people stop having a go at Tarks. Tarks will play round 1 because he is in our best 22. After his knee injury, his skills have declined, but he is still consistently doing enough and his leadership qualities are a credential on-field.

Well done to Nick Maxwell, the toughest guy in football.

Since when is leadership group got anything to do with best 22. Then again, when will people stop having a go at Tarks. Tarks will play round 1 because he is in our best 22. After his knee injury, his skills have declined, but he is still consistently doing enough and his leadership qualities are a credential on-field.

Well done to Nick Maxwell, the toughest guy in football.

Where do you think Lockyer should play Lonie?

He is not a back pocket's assh*le. Small forwards would have a smile from ear to ear when he trots down and picks them up. He ball watches and you can't afford to do that against quality small forwards, which he does and has had bags kicked against him.

He is too slow for the midfield and since his knee op, couldn't hit the side of a barn with his kicks.

Forward Pocket? Who would you prefer, Davis or Lockyer. I'd have Davis any day of the week.

Only place I can see him getting a game is on the pine. Would rather see our first and sceond year player given a crack before Lockyer.

He is not a back pocket's assh*le. Small forwards would have a smile from ear to ear when he trots down and picks them up. He ball watches and you can't afford to do that against quality small forwards, which he does and has had bags kicked against him.

He is too slow for the midfield and since his knee op, couldn't hit the side of a barn with his kicks.

Forward Pocket? Who would you prefer, Davis or Lockyer. I'd have Davis any day of the week.

Only place I can see him getting a game is on the pine. Would rather see our first and sceond year player given a crack before Lockyer.

I think thats why Medhurst was so upset about coming to collingwood, he wont get the 2 easy games a year on Lockyer.
Guys wake up and smell the coffee, Tarkyn Lockyer is a 100th the player he was before his knee injuries, sad but true!

Williamstown

On Maxwell- He is just about my favorite of the younger players. Not a superstar but gets the very best out of himself which I admire. Heard the kid talking to the younger players at a willi game one day for it was very apparent the kid is an outstanding leader. Great choice.

On tarkyn. I agree he may be on the way out but he did player every game last year so obivously he is considered in out best 22. I am personally not a big fan because I think he does not move the footy quick enough and he gives our forwards no hope but if we are talking about leaders then no doubt he is a fine leader in the way he communicates to players and conducts himself. There are 7 leaders and just because the are in the group does not mean they will get a game every week. I have no real concerns about the choices.

I think there are a couple of standout youngsters in heath shaw and Dale Thomas who will be elevated to that group in the next couple of years.

Tarkyn Lockyer and Rhys Shaw arent leadership material at all.all this is illustrating that we have a bit of a void in the leadership stakes at the moment.glad fat anthony has decided to commit to just his"football" this year.It is becoming a farce how unfit he is.

Pity Scott burns doesnt want to get into the leadership role anymore.he epitomises guts and hard work......

Lockyer is as weak as piss , so that decision is laughable.
Maxwell is apparently a strong leader around the club and plays a pretty hard game , with weaknesses in some areas. Although some of the tributes to him in this thread have been laughable.
R.Shaw has an intensity to him on-field , bordering on psychotic ,whether he is in our best 22 is yet to be seen.
BJ , will probably get the best out of him giving him some responsibility.
I would have thought H.Shaw would have been close to a leadership role.

FFS leadership is different to playing ability. We have 7 in our leadership group which almost equates to one out of every 5 being in our leadership group. Lica, Burns and Rocca are out of it to concentrate on footy and it's not as if they won't be leaders any less.

Lockyer is a strong leader off the field, I don't rate him much at all but in the leadership group perhaps they are looking for a good mix of on field and off field leadership. I mean if all 7 actually played every week every 3rd player would be part of the leadership group so it's not like they need to be playing. At least he is not a vice captain anymore (well he wasn't last year either). As for R. Shaw he is a good leader on and off the field, a great role model for youger players especially seeing the way he struggled early in his career and how he had to change his attitude.

H.Shaw missing out is a bit of a mystery, I thought he could even be named a VC. However he has only put together one good season and he doesn't need the burden right now.

Reading some of these I get the impression most people want the best 7 players to be the 7 leaders. Leasership comes in all forms and I am quite sure the the club looks for a blend of leaders. I would assume it would be something along the lines of -
a couple of blokes who lead by example on the field with courage
a couple of blokes who lead on the track and get the best out of themselves
a couple of very good and motivational talkers
a blend of young and old

Most of the critics are purely judging on playing ability which is a load of crap. lockyer is by no means by favorite player but listen to the guy and you may understand why he is in the group. You will not meet to many better people and the way in which he conducts himself is a fine example to other players. In a game where image is everything has anyone consider he may have been picked more for his off field examples than on field. When you consider what happened at the club this year then its pretty easy to see why he was pick.

Then there is Rhyce shaw. I think he made a pretty Bloody good recovery from the knee and if we care to remember he was probably the bloke he set the best on field example in the game that counted most, the final against the dogs. He was a guy who came to the club as a lazy kid who thought he did not work hard and turned himself into a hard running winger who had to work his butt of from a career threatening injury. Perhaps the club was so impressed with the work he did to get back that they thought his leadership to other players at training may by quite inspiring.

Clearly a few people on hear think they know more about leadership than those running the club but my gut feeling is you might not know the difference between a good leader and a good footballer.

Mate, you got nothing to worry about, Try having a Captain that most people think isnt AFL standard, let alone in your best 22. :eek:

Merry Christmas guys and girls, drive safe, and best of luck in the new year. :thumbsu: