Least Favourite Player

thebirdman 24

Maybe in poor tastes, but we all have one. Who i ask, is your least favourite player from the crows? It might do something they've done, something they don't do well, maybe they haven't been nice to you in real life situations, whatever. From Sellar being ordinary, Symes not being able to kick, Moran's supposed softness, Rutten for his hold on Anthony etc.

For me it was as mentioned before Brad Symes. He runs hard, creates options, is hard or whatever, but i just don't rate him. People defend his kicking showing his efficiency, but this is masked by him recognising his weakness (not a bad thing) and taking the easy option sideways or short, but never damaging. Part of my dislike for Symes is probably in me missing Mattner, and Symes was the replacement.

This is by no means a hate thread just a least favourite player, you may like them all just at different levels.

:thumbsu:

First of all :( & ouch on behalf of Brad :p. But don't worry, I didn't use to like him (my brothers are mates with Mattner, so I was taking my frustration of him leaving us out on Brad), then I met Brad on my birthday and he got all excited when my mum told him it was my birthday and he gave me a hug - that's when I fell in love :p:D

Second of all - I have a few least favourite players: Robert Shirley (glad he's gone) - dunno why I don't like him, just don't; Burton and Walker - both arrogant & Burton sh*ts me when he goes for screamers, fails, then gives away a free for taking the opposition out of the contest or HTB. Don't get me wrong - I support them when they're playing, they're just the only players I don't go up to at trainings & in the Shed.

Before I even clicked on this thread I had a feeling Brad would be getting named first up. For someone that puts his body on the line and just won the BEST team man award its a fairly harsh call, but a thread like this is always going to have many different opinions.

I had to go look at our list to choose my least favourite player as no one in particular stood out which I suppose is a good thing however. My least favourite player would have to be Griffen, all the talent in the world but just seems to me like he doesn't put in enough hard yards and is to soft at contests. Hope he fires up over pre-seasons and he gets worked over at training by our other big men and fights back and learns how to be aggressive.

Tough call, but Douglas is probably mine.
Always seems like either his mind is a couple of seconds behind his body or vice versa.
Occasionally he'll do something incredible, or put together a great couple of quarters but then he fades out of the game again.
Hopefully he can have a big year because our younger guys are starting to push him out already.

mmm depends, is it from a footy perspective or just generally/personality...if its from football perspective, then im going to have to go with...jeez, actually a good question, im gonna have to go with Douglas, but thats not an easy choice, probably from a lack of development point of view to me seems a bit frustrating, but thats the only way i can seperate it...

from a personality point of view, although I rate him beyond belief as a footy player, is Bernie Vince....the main reason, along with a few others, is when me and my mate were at EC after the essendon game, and he came in with a few other players, both of us are massive crows fans and my mate decided to go up to him and pretty much said along the lines of "Hey mate, my names (blank), I've been a Crows member for 10+ years, i thought you played really well today"...and im 100% serious, Vince acknowledged it with a slight nod of the head and turned away...f*** sakes dude, how hard is it to spend 10 SECONDS of your life to acknowledge a passionate supporter properly, what an arrogant s.o.b...thats a pretty poor effort in my book and hence why he is my least favourite player.

Moran. soft...and not very skilful footy-wise. i don't believe he is in our best 22 like most others...and if he is, it's only because there's not many others to play second ruck..with Sellar only just beginning to improve. Until Moran crashes packs (or takes contested marks using his height to his advantage), chases hard (use that supposed agility/speed to his advantage other than to run along the wing getting handball receives and bombing it into the forward 50) and improves his general kicking skills (those shanks when trying to attempt non-drop-punt-kicks are unforgettable), i'm not a fan. Sellar is only just starting to improve, but can Sellar and Moran really be in the same team together??? assuming Ivan is lead ruck.

Jon Griffin is a hell of a lot less hard at it than Moran.
I don't dislike the guy, and recognise his talent, and he's still a long way off being at Luke Jericho levels of soft, but every time he loses a contest to a bloke a foot shorter than him I cry a bit on the inside.
Could be one hell of a ruckman but needs to learn to use his size to his advantage and stop worrying about getting hurt. Unfortunately, I've been saying this for years now and have seen little improvement.
The only thing worse than seeing a bloke with great athletic ability and skills go to waste because he's afraid is seeing a friggin ruckman do it. If anyone should be bloody hard at it, it's the biggest bloke on the field!
Would absolutely love Griff to pull his finger out, and he'd be one of my favourites if he could as I think it would quite easily make him our best ruck option. But as it stands, he's my least favourite player.
Edit: decided i was too harsh - I do actually like the guy, just wish he'd use his body better

Second of all - I have a few least favourite players: Robert Shirley (glad he's gone) - dunno why I don't like him, just don't; Burton and Walker - both arrogant & Burton sh*ts me when he goes for screamers, fails, then gives away a free for taking the opposition out of the contest or HTB. Don't get me wrong - I support them when they're playing, they're just the only players I don't go up to at trainings & in the Shed.

Oh they're nice you should give them a go! Especially Brett, he's a lovely guy :thumbsu:

My least favourite player was Rob Shirley and Brad Moran can frustrate me a bit on the field... but he's a nice guy off it so there's no troubles there. I would say I don't really have a least favourite any more.

Before I even clicked on this thread I had a feeling Brad would be getting named first up. For someone that puts his body on the line and just won the BEST team man award its a fairly harsh call, but a thread like this is always going to have many different opinions.

Why is the best team man award continually being held up as some sort of beacon of success rendering a player unable to be validly criticised. It is usually given as an encouragement award to recognise the work done by a player that wont feature highly in the club champion voting.

I am not critical of Symes' work rate and courage, but his disposal by foot to a long target is below average and you can see him panic and desperately look for a handball option when he is in a position where he has to kick long. When we traded for Symes a Port supporting friend of mine (who I consider to be an astute football observer), told me that if Craig can sort out and develop his disposal by foot that we will have a hard and tough half back player. At the time I admit that I hadnt seen much of Symes and didnt really think too much of the comment, until I started to watch him closely and thought back to what he told me and then it all made sense.

Nothing against the guy personally, but players with such obvious deficiencies are always a bug bear for me. The fact that Shirley clearly had no offensive game, Gill and Perrie not being able to hit the blind side of a barn, Jericho having the skills but not the heart or the work ethic and guys like Symes that clearly struggle by foot have always been on my list of non liked players.

I think the OP should be edited to on-field least favorite player. People can hardly judge the character of a bloke for a 10 second meeting or stories they have heard from a friend of a friend.

My least like Crows player was probably Brett Chalmers purely based his in ability to do anything for us.

Off field, I have only ever met 3 players.

Kris Massie and Andrew McLeod and they were both very nice guys who were approachable and held themself with high esteem, very nice people. :thumbsu:

And Bernie Vince at HQ flash dance and I was majorly intoxicated and more than likely made an arse out of myself, but he was very giving with a few moments for a quick chat - before telling me to piss off as he was trying to hook up with this chick.

However as all 3 players were great people, I can only judge my dislike of a player from there on field experienced.

On field - I don’t believe this player ever had the skills to play AFL football and for some reason was carried for 150 games. Robert Shirley was picked up then delisted; somehow he was picked up again and then played 150 games. Bugger me. He’s gone now.

Current player I dislike on the list – Michael Doughty but he is growing on me. Slowly. :p

I don't usually subscribe to having whipping boys, but I think you have one whether you planned on it or not...

Shirls was mine, loved his hard work but he always seemed to negate it by the whole no offense thing...

Brad Moran for one, just seems out of his element a lot of the time, is picking up though.
Jon Griffin, will be glad when he's finally off our list. Still looks like a guy playing his first game.
Richard Douglas, like Moran, he has grown on me recently but he's still one of the guys that you see take possession, and sigh.

And also Birdman of late. Seems to be no second effort, and every time the ball hits his area all he can think about is taking a hanger. Then while he's sprawled out on the grass our opponents easily run the ball away.

I've actually never been unhappy with Symes, he always struck me as a quiet hardworking sort of player.

The stories about Vince reminded me of when I went to a Crows vs Kangaroos match in 2005 at the then Telstra Dome, I reckon it was Knights' second match or something. We got up with a narrow victory and afterwards I went back to the area where all the fans congregated and Craig and some players came out. Mattner was there so I joined the line to get an autograph. No joke, I was literally the only guy in the line, there were about 30 girls and me sticking out like a sore thumb. I got up there and said "Love the way the play, mate" and he looked at me like I had two heads, quickly signed my scarf and then smiled at the girl behind me. I got the hint.

Then I went outside, and Hudson was chatting with some dude (some coaching staff? Not sure?) and so I smiled and nodded to acknowledge him. He looked at me like I had two heads as well, and ushered the guy he was talking to away from me and went into another room and closed the door :(

Clearly I have some kind of anti-Crows pheromones or something. I also recall Moran glaring at me on the training track when I was in his jogging line and realising he was intending to run right through the centre of me if I didn't get out of the way quicksmart.

At least Craig was friendly to me :o

That was just Riggy making a stir attempt.
I wasnt trying to make a stir. I was actually serious.

I just like Davis that much, that I get pissed off at people on BigFooty naming Walker in the forward line for next year, and not naming Davis at all, even though Davis had jumped Walker in the pecking order this year.

So in reality. the stupidity on Bigfooty is the reason I dont like him.

Sellar on the other hand, I just veiw as a bust, and only got game time this year because of injuries, and would of been out the door if it wasnt for Moran's injury and Griffin's persistent injuries

I wasnt trying to make a stir. I was actually serious.

I just like Davis that much, that I get pissed off at people on BigFooty naming Walker in the forward line for next year, and not naming Davis at all, even though Davis had jumped Walker in the pecking order this year.

So in reality. the stupidity on Bigfooty is the reason I dont like him.

Because someone at the AFC has said he will be played as a forward and he trains with the forward group means he has moved ahead of Walker in the packing order?

And I don’t and have never bought the idea that if someone is named as an emergency, means they are closer to getting a game. That rule is a fallacy.

Righty oh then, 29 goals in 7 games for Walker – to how many for Davis?

This is not a sledge against Davis as I believe he will be a fine player, either as a forward or a defender but to say he has moved ahead of Walker is fabrication. He will be a very good player but Rigby had backed himself into a corner over the last few months by trying to be a shit stirrer and now trying to find a way to justify his idiotic

There are only three players that come to mind for me when thinking about least favs.

Reily - I always thought he was going to develop into the next generation midfield group and slot into the group of Goodwin, Roo, McLeod & Edwards. But never really did. He stayed the same and now vince has blown right by him.

Douglas - similar reasons never really developed into a midfielder or a small forward.

Moran - dont know what everyone sees in him. I have more hope for Donnelly than Moran. Just doesnt use his disposal right, and is only an ok ruckman.

im sure there are a whole host of past players that I could think of however...

The stories about Vince reminded me of when I went to a Crows vs Kangaroos match in 2005 at the then Telstra Dome, I reckon it was Knights' second match or something. We got up with a narrow victory and afterwards I went back to the area where all the fans congregated and Craig and some players came out. Mattner was there so I joined the line to get an autograph. No joke, I was literally the only guy in the line, there were about 30 girls and me sticking out like a sore thumb. I got up there and said "Love the way the play, mate" and he looked at me like I had two heads, quickly signed my scarf and then smiled at the girl behind me. I got the hint.

Then I went outside, and Hudson was chatting with some dude (some coaching staff? Not sure?) and so I smiled and nodded to acknowledge him. He looked at me like I had two heads as well, and ushered the guy he was talking to away from me and went into another room and closed the door :(

Clearly I have some kind of anti-Crows pheromones or something. I also recall Moran glaring at me on the training track when I was in his jogging line and realising he was intending to run right through the centre of me if I didn't get out of the way quicksmart.

At least Craig was friendly to me :o

Hahaha - maybe it's your gender?! :p But I would've thought they would be nicer to blokes - not sure why, but probably because chicks can go a bit nuts around them..

Craig's cool! Although, when I got a photo with him during the pre season last year, my friend couldn't work the camera so while she was fiddling with it, he was just standing next to me with his arm around me then he started hitting my arm! I was like okay, yeah, THAT HURTS!