Retired Lenny Hayes

• Thread starter Thread starter Kildonan

Code:
Pos Number Player       Age    Games    Price          2009            2008            2007      
                        DT      SC       Played DT Avg    SC Avg    Played    DT Avg     SC Avg    Played    DT Avg     SC Avg
MID  7 HAYES, Lenny    30    214    $478,500 $629,800 22    110.0    118.5    24    94.9    101.6    19    93.6    102.8

r363226_1679156.jpg

LENNY HAYES

Number - 7

Position - Gun Midfielder:D

Height - 186cm

Weight - 87kg

D.O.B. - 14-01-1980

Debut - 1999 - Rd 5 v Nth Melbourne

Drafted - 1998 - 1st Rd - 11th overall

Games - 214

Goals - 72

Absolute gun and one of the biggest workhorses in the competition. Would be a walk up start in any midfield in the league. And also my favourite player, so I might be a little biased.:)

Not much more you can say about the great man.

Awesome player
Awesome bloke
Hugely respected amongst all supporters
Total superstar
Never shirks a contest
Always plays well, win, loss, draw or drubbing
:heart::heart::heart::heart:

Great game against Port... they didn't honour him enough and he tore them to pieces.

Tackled at every opportunity...with special attention to Rodan.

Kicked off the left boot from centre bounce to Riewoldt for an inside 50 goal.

Then, standing start snap for his 2nd goal goal off the right boot.

Class, Skill and effort personified.

Lenny Hayes was selected at Number 11 in the 1998 National Draft. He was recruited from the NSW/ACT Rams after winning the 1998 Morrish Medal as the best and fairest player in the TAC Cup. Hayes grew up in Pennant Hills in Sydney and played one reserves game for the Sydney Swans in 1998.

A sign of the high regard in which Hayes was held in at St Kilda was that he was given the number 7 jumper in his very first season, a number that had previously been worn by greats including most recently, St Kilda Team of the Century wingman Nicky Winmar.

Hayes made his debut aged 19 in Round 5 1999 against the Kangaroos in Sydney, his old home town and got knocked down by a legitimate Glen Archer shirtfront that Lenny still cops a ribbing about to this day from his mates. Hayes only missed two more games for the rest of the year, giving him a total of 16 games in his first year.

READ MORE: http://truesainters.wordpress.com/2010/05/14/lenny-hayes-the-barometer-of-st-kilda/

Lenny 'Pack man' Hayes heart and soul of St Kilda

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...soul-of-st-kilda/story-e6frf9jf-1225919859332

MAX Hudghton says he remembers it like it was yesterday.

It was Round 5, 1999 and North Melbourne was playing at "home" against St Kilda at the SCG.

A kid named Lenny Hayes was making his debut for Tim Watson's Saints when he gathered a bouncing ball on the wing in the last quarter.

A split-second later he was crunched front-on by a brutal hit from Glenn Archer, who then stepped over the teenager in typically intimidating fashion.

But as Hudghton and Co quickly realised, the fresh-faced 19-year-old wasn't easily intimidated.

Lenny 'Pack man' Hayes heart and soul of St Kilda

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...soul-of-st-kilda/story-e6frf9jf-1225919859332

MAX Hudghton says he remembers it like it was yesterday.

It was Round 5, 1999 and North Melbourne was playing at "home" against St Kilda at the SCG.

A kid named Lenny Hayes was making his debut for Tim Watson's Saints when he gathered a bouncing ball on the wing in the last quarter.

A split-second later he was crunched front-on by a brutal hit from Glenn Archer, who then stepped over the teenager in typically intimidating fashion.

But as Hudghton and Co quickly realised, the fresh-faced 19-year-old wasn't easily intimidated.
Great article. I cannot think of a more universally admired footballer than Lenny Hayes. I have watched a very large proportion of his 236 games, and he has never ever failed to impress me. As a football purist, I can honestly say that there is no other player in the AFL who I would want leading my team into battle. His committment is unquestionable... his attack on the ball and man - non-negotiable. How my club has longed for a man of his integrity, attitude and hunger.

Of the remaining four teams, I want the Saints to get up for no other reason than Hayes being the most deserving... that, and a deep-seated loathing for Collingwood.

As an aside, interesting to note that the interviewee was Max Hudghton - probably the most underrated fullback to play the game. I couldn't believe what I was seeing last year as he was left out in favour of Dawson. My side had a full-forward who was arguably the best in the comp on his day (when he felt like it), but may as well have not bothered to turn up every time M Hudghton was opposed to him. Richo, Lloyd and Fev among others who have publicly stated that Max was their hardest player to get a kick on.

You are an absoulte champion of the game. We need one more herculean effort from you mate to end the 44 year premiership drought. I can't think of a more deserved man to have a premiership medalion around his neck, not only is he a brilliant player, but he is an awesome bloke. He is my all time favourite Saint who bleeds red, white and black. I bloody hope he gets a premiership to go with his norm smith, best and fairests, and All Australians to cap of a magnificent career:thumbsu:

We couldn't do it for Banger so let's do it for Lenny........By the way, I cleaned up in our local sweep for NSM yesterday, thanks Lenny....

St Kilda B & F Award

LENNY Hayes has capped off a memorable season by winning his second Trevor Barker Award as St Kilda's best and fairest player.

Hayes, who also won the count in 2003, polled 528 votes to finish comfortably ahead of fellow midfielder Leigh Montagna (451).

Brendon Goddard and Sam Gilbert (435) tied for third place, while Nick Dal Santo and Adam Schneider (399) were equal fifth.

Hayes played all but one of St Kilda's 26 games in 2010, with his leadership, work rate and ability to win contested possessions crucial to the club's progression to the finals.

The 30-year-old captained the Saints during Nick Riewoldt's three-month absence through injury, and won the Norm Smith Medal in the drawn grand final against Collingwood.

He was named in the preliminary All Australian squad, but missed selection in the final team.

Would Lenny be a chance to go to GWS?
They could offer him heaps of money to return to NSW for the last stage of his career?

He is 30+ so would be strange but do you think it could happen?

Would Lenny be a chance to go to GC?
They could offer him heaps of money to return to NSW for the last stage of his career?

He is 30+ so would be strange but do you think it could happen?

When he's on the Veterens list it actually gives StKilda an advantage to retain him compared to players who are not.
I'd also think a player on a veteren list would potentially have a longer career.

No disrespect to anyone else who has pulled on the red, black and white..but..in 40 years of following the saints, this bloke is the greatest saint.

I know Lockett was awesome and most would choose Lockett ahead of anyone else, if given the choice, but even plugger had moments when he let the club down....and after plenty of 'those' moments, he left.

Rob Harvey was a champion in many ways but it needs to be remembered, for the first 9 years of his career he was limited to 30 metre chip kicks that missed the target almost as often as they hit (ironically the arrival of Peter Banfield as assistant coach coincided with Harvey basing his game on 'kicking long' which immediately brought 2 brownlows !)

When comparing him to other St.Kilda greats of the pass, I see in Hayes, the courage of Barker, the elusiveness of Harvey, the engine of Riewoldt, the tenacity of Burke and the precision of Winmar. And, like Harvey did, he plays the game...not in the spirit of footy...but in the spirit of sport. There IS a difference.

Hayes is as close to faultless as an afl player can get. As Mike Sheahan said, (after Lenny draaggged us over the line against West Coast last year), he doesn't run fast, he doesn't kick long, he doesn't jump high....but gee, he's a beauty.

What he DOES do, though, is get the absolute best out of himself - every week.

In the current team, that's something you could probably only say about Goddard. Everyone else has a lot of improving to do if the saints are ever going to deliver the premiership that this absolute champion deserves.