Catnip

Suspended
GEELONG
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,19662739%255E20322,00.html

In response to the HUN article above...

Good old Bomber. Yep, we should forget about that Adelaide loss, didn't happen, loss? what loss? Correct me if I'm wrong but didn't he say the same thing about the Collingwood game and now we have to forget about two 15-plus goal losses but hey, it's OK we can just *insert 'Wiseguy' accent* forgetaboudit.

Also, it apparent that it is OK to play like a load of old bollocks just because 'everybody expected us to lose'. Here's a newsflash Marcus..Cat fans DON'T expect to lose, we hope to win the bloody game. All this 'forget about it' and 'expect to lose' stuff seemed to filter right through to the players in that second half.

Of course Adelaide are a darn good side, no question but this expect to lose forget about it stuff is nonsense. Those who fail to learn the lessons of history are doomed to repeat it. It appears that our fearless leader has also forgotten the performance of some sacred Cows who fail to deliver on a consistent basis. If we don't learn who isn't up to it, and the fact that hey, we might actually need to improve, we will continue to be also rans in this competition. Am I the only Cat fan who has a problem with this approach??

Mark Thompson? forgetaboudit.

I don't think he means forget about it in the sense that they will ignore it and treat it as a slip up. They will focus on what went wrong and all that.

I think he means they aren't going to dwell on it all week.

Is anyone else just as happy because Collingwood lost?
Coz after Geelong lost I was pretty low, until I found out Richmond were beating Collingwood and it made me feel a bit better.
Lol.

Catnip said:
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,19662739%255E20322,00.html

In response to the HUN article above...

Good old Bomber. Yep, we should forget about that Adelaide loss, didn't happen, loss? what loss? Correct me if I'm wrong but didn't he say the same thing about the Collingwood game and now we have to forget about two 15-plus goal losses but hey, it's OK we can just *insert 'Wiseguy' accent* forgetaboudit.

Also, it apparent that it is OK to play like a load of old bollocks just because 'everybody expected us to lose'. Here's a newsflash Marcus..Cat fans DON'T expect to lose, we hope to win the bloody game. All this 'forget about it' and 'expect to lose' stuff seemed to filter right through to the players in that second half.

Of course Adelaide are a darn good side, no question but this expect to lose forget about it stuff is nonsense. Those who fail to learn the lessons of history are doomed to repeat it. It appears that our fearless leader has also forgotten the performance of some sacred Cows who fail to deliver on a consistent basis. If we don't learn who isn't up to it, and the fact that hey, we might actually need to improve, we will continue to be also rans in this competition. Am I the only Cat fan who has a problem with this approach??

Mark Thompson? forgetaboudit.
Nicely said - I must admit I was quite surprised listening to Bomber's PC on the way home from the game yesterday arvo. He almost sounded relieved that the game was behind him so he could focus on some games he could win. Surely that kind of attitude rubs off on the players - and it's not a wonder Geelong generally only win the games they are expected to win, and very rarely surprise with a shock win.

Without sounding offensive I would be interested in some of your thoughts on Ottens. To be honest I've followed his career closely given he is an SA boy - but I reckon he would be one of the most soft-minded players in the AFL. I'm very pleased he didn't find his way back to the Crows.

As for the rest of the side - there really doesn't appear to be much wrong. A good rebounding defence - very pacy midfield - definately need some hard working forwards. Cam Mooney can't be played everywhere - but I think he is most dangerous up forward.

Champ39 said:
Coz after Geelong lost I was pretty low, until I found out Richmond were beating Collingwood and it made me feel a bit better.
Lol.

Yeah great, now we are two games out of the eight instead of one. I was over the moon.

Ottens wasn't great against your boys Mad Dog but if you have been following Otto's career as closely as you say you have then you would have realised that Otto has had a pretty solid year apart from one or two poor games.

Fairly hard to dominiate when your side is getting creamed in the middle and the opposition's main strength in defence is its run. Also, the park looked a little slippery in parts? Otto had a stumble and also even the more fleet footed Mattner seemed to lose his footing at one stage.

I'm an SA expat and I don't recall too many occasions that Football Park was slippery during a day match.

Cheers. :thumbsu:

chapmanmagic35 said:
I don't think he means forget about it in the sense that they will ignore it and treat it as a slip up. They will focus on what went wrong and all that.

I knew what he meant Chappy, but it's still bull5hit. Once is a slip-up, twice is not learning from your mistakes. The forget it attitude equals white flags when things get tough.

Champ39 said:
Lol.

Having married into a Collingwood family... I was in fits of rapture - quietly, of course :D:D:D

Well I hope they make the players watch some of their soft efforts and piont out that if you step back and let the opposition get the ball before you then generally they are going to kick more goals than you. The Crows made even our good players look second rate. I seen several efforts by Chapman for example that had me amazed because a fired up Chapman would never take the soft option. But yesterday he seemed to be hesitant. He wasn't alone either. I don't know what else Bomber can say except publicly berate the team and I just don't think that is his style. I am pretty sure he berates them behind closed doors. I guess as outsiders we would just like to see something from him that tells us it hurts him how this insipid side is performing.

chapmanmagic35 said:

If that's what he means, then it's a very poor choice of words. Saying that we'll forget about it implies that it's excusable and that he considers it a mere blip on the radar. Fair enough, if it happens once and our form is otherwise solid. But when our form has been poor, and it's our second 15 goal hiding of the year, you can't just "forget". This type of language is typical of the attitude that Bomber is constantly criticised for, far too relaxed and not concerned with serious problems.

I agree that it shouldn't be dwelt upon, but he could at least acknowledge the defeat, and demonstrate that they take it seriously, rather than just saying "oh well, onto next week".

Learn from and move on - yes
Forget - no

Catnip said:

No you are not. I agree 100% with you, and have the scars from other precious Geelong fans who won't criticise their little darlings no matter what. How the hell can you learn and improve if you don't study your own mistakes?

Actually though, if you do want to make Thompson angry, all you need to do is imply one of his delicate geniuses is not quite performing - that gets him fired up. Losses don't however.

Mad Dog said:
Nicely said - I must admit I was quite surprised listening to Bomber's PC on the way home from the game yesterday arvo. He almost sounded relieved that the game was behind him so he could focus on some games he could win. Surely that kind of attitude rubs off on the players - and it's not a wonder Geelong generally only win the games they are expected to win, and very rarely surprise with a shock win.

Without sounding offensive I would be interested in some of your thoughts on Ottens. To be honest I've followed his career closely given he is an SA boy - but I reckon he would be one of the most soft-minded players in the AFL. I'm very pleased he didn't find his way back to the Crows.

As for the rest of the side - there really doesn't appear to be much wrong. A good rebounding defence - very pacy midfield - definately need some hard working forwards. Cam Mooney can't be played everywhere - but I think he is most dangerous up forward.

pacy midfield??? The lack of this in combination with skill is a major issue.

Once again I didn't think Ottens was that bad. A bit hard kicking goals when you are in the ruck for most of the game and the midfield fluff it into the square to a 3 on 1 for most of the inside 50's.

But all in all. We looked lathargic and 1/2 as fit as your blokes. everytime the crows won the ball they had numbers around it and players up the field recieving easy kicks.

Geelong were smashed on and off the field and Bomber's comments only underline his lack of vision and lack of credentials to take geelong anywhere in 2007.

RoosterLad said:
Geelong need to go to the local and get blind, they will win next week EASY.

Maybe they did that too much after the win against Freo. :)

Partridge said:
Thanks for the suggestion moron, now as this as a Geelong forum feck off and die.

It's only a thought.
Wishing death on somebody is a terrible thing to do. No wonder your footy team sucks.

You are saying because its a Geelong forum, I'm not allowed to post here? That's it, hide yourself away in the corner away from the scary Adelaide folk.

Plus, avoiding the swear filter is naughty.

Double plus, the Cat supporters love me here. Reigning Geelong Board Poster of the Year if you dont mind. Thank you. :)

RoosterLad said:
It's only a thought.
Wishing death on somebody is a terrible thing to do. No wonder your footy team sucks.

You are saying because its a Geelong forum, I'm not allowed to post here? That's it, hide yourself away in the corner away from the scary Adelaide folk.

I'm saying that because it's a Geelong forum, we don't totally enjoy smartarse Adelaide supporters gloating on every topic here. As I don't venture to opposition boards after wins (Essendon and Fremantle recently, Adelaide preseason), I perhaps thought opposition fans might extend the same courtesy. Foolish really.

Nothing remotely scary about Adelaide folk either.

Partridge said:
I'm saying that because it's a Geelong forum, we don't totally enjoy smartarse Adelaide supporters gloating on every topic here. As I don't venture to opposition boards after wins (Essendon and Fremantle recently, Adelaide preseason), I perhaps thought opposition fans might extend the same courtesy. Foolish really.

Nothing remotely scary about Adelaide folk either.

Ugly maybe.. but not scary

Unintelligent maybe.. but not scary

Feral maybe.. but def not scary

:D