Life

So it's self fulfilling? If more people moved to regional areas then there would be some short term pain before the cycle began to take form?

'There's no jobs' say people who make no effort to grow an economy, only feed off it.

Yep. Same thing with population and regional cities. Regionals go to shit cos everyone leaves making them further worse off with a lack of critical mass the rural refugees move to cities making them further over crowded and stuffed.

Yep. Same thing with population and regional cities. Regionals go to s**t cos everyone leaves making them further worse off with a lack of critical mass the rural refugees move to cities making them further over crowded and stuffed.

I dunno.

It's probably great if you have the means, but less than that, I think it's easier to punch out a decent quality of life in the country than the city.

No doubt when I was younger and part time working I wouldn't be near as close to the position I was able to put myself in being country if I were living urban. For that I'll always take my chances out here. Play the % of life.

Broadly speaking, old people (over 50s are born 1969 or earlier) grew up in the country when there were economic reasons for the towns to exist so decent employment was around therefore no need to leave. You Need A University Education wasn't a thing yet so moving to a big city wouldn't necessarily have improved their financial situation.

Today there's less jerbs, less sense of community because of needing a job, and young people on their smartphones know they're missing out on something and know the Coalition MP and Mayor the olds and bushies reelect have no ******* intention of improving their lives.

Woah, BomberboyRUokay made a decent point.

Towns need a critical mass to survive. I know people that live in the country but they all do 'city' jobs, i.e. jobs relying on a population centre. WA used to have timber towns, mining towns etc. but most of them have declined. People don't want to live in the Pilbara and companies/govt don't want to build permanent facilities so we have FIFO, and cutting down all of the trees isn't viable. The best way for a small town to survive now is being nice enough to attract tourists.

I 'liked' this post because I can relate to it and appreciate somebody else sharing their experiences with this kind of thing.

I'll give an example. I'll stay off the piss for weeks, even months, hit the gym almost every day, eat well, start looking genuinely fit and lean...

...and then I'll go out for a few drinks, why not, I'm feeling good, looking good (by my standards), saved some money by not drinking, time to enjoy myself...

...and then I wake up a week or two later, only two or three kilos heavier but looking five kilos heavier, like I'm back to where I started...

If I'm lucky I'll at least wake up in my own home. Sometimes I wake up in strange places.

But it is not just health and alcohol. I've done this with other things. I remember after studying so hard all of Year 12 I basically 'gave up' for the last exam. I was cooked.

It was my sixth subject so it 'didn't really matter' but in the end my enter (going back a few years) was pretty high, and at the pointy end of a cohort, an extra few marks on that final exam might have pushed me up another enter point. We'll never know.

As for suicidal thoughts, I don't know how far your thoughts go with this, but I have had plenty of days where I wouldn't have cared if the world had ended.

At all.

Not so much thoughts about killing myself, I've never thought through to the point of 'I want to kill myself' and 'here is how I'll do it', but I have had thoughts along the lines of 'fu** this I'm over it, don't care if I die'.

I suspect a lot of people go through this from time to time. Not everybody but a lot of people. For obvious reasons, most won't speak about it publicly.

Point is, you're not alone. Life has its ups and downs.
Try not to have a all or nothing mentality.

We all make mistakes anyway and no one is perfect. Don't try to be and allow yourself not to be. It's ok.

Know your triggers. What can set you off, what your weak points or danger points are. We all have them.

If something goes wrong and it will it's a part of LIFE, re-set and carry on. If you have to start again, so be it.

Meditate. And envision the future or tasks and see them through. Again, it doesn't have to be a '' perfect '' way. Just do it your way.

Balance. The best thing yet. It's a good word. Opt for that and this n your life.

:thumbsu:

What happened to Silent Alarm?

#freesilentalarm
I keep getting arseholed from the Fremantle forum. Pretty weird to be honest with you. Constantly called ****head or a tryhard or a liar when I tell people our coach is an arrogant turd, below-average human, and that I can't believe grown adults flip-flop after wins or losses and just about have a kitten after beating Geelong or losing to St Kilda.

So yeah probably going to be arseholed permanently pretty soon. Kinda keen for it. Freo fans deserve the mediocrity they're served up. And GD'll be pot-smokers v 15 tubs of Peters Vanilla in no time.

I expect a thread when that happens too.

I guess the Freo board has become Dockerland 2.0. Weird how the club has won 29/86 games and there is still a cult of Lyon going on. The Ross Lyon thread on the main board has the same dude or couple of dudes defending him to the death. I mean we let John Worsfold go 6 years ago and he was a premiership coach and premiership captain. Sometimes it's time for new blood. If RTB was given the arse tomorrow he'd still be an important figure in Freo history.

Yep. Same thing with population and regional cities. Regionals go to s**t cos everyone leaves making them further worse off with a lack of critical mass the rural refugees move to cities making them further over crowded and stuffed.

That's exactly what I did. The reality is that if you have a passion outside of agriculture, you're pretty knackered.

I lived in a small, <600 person town until my early 20s, when I finished my degree. It turns out that rural Tassie isn't screaming out for software developers.

It's not impossible to have a career in what I do in a rural area, but you are taking a huge risk and will have an entirely self-driven career. My plan is to get enough experience to work for myself, and move back to Tassie. Until then, it's so much easier to carve out a career in the city.

I guess the Freo board has become Dockerland 2.0. Weird how the club has won 29/86 games and there is still a cult of Lyon going on. The Ross Lyon thread on the main board has the same dude or couple of dudes defending him to the death. I mean we let John Worsfold go 6 years ago and he was a premiership coach and premiership captain. Sometimes it's time for new blood. If RTB was given the arse tomorrow he'd still be an important figure in Freo history.
The Freo board is actually nothing like this, the last couple of years more would have been against him than for. There have also been trolls that flood the place with crap with impunity for months before being banned so the moderators really have to have it in for someone for them not to be allowed on there.

In saying that I have no idea why Clay can't post on there, at face value that is a joke.

edit - didn't most of the West Coast board want to sack Simpson a couple of years ago? I seem to remember me of all people defending the bloke's coaching at one stage there. In general the average sports fan is a complete idiot tbh.

I once knew a guy who got banned from the North board. He was a passionate North fan. It was strange.
Yeah it's pretty bizarre. It's a bad, bad cocktail of geriatrics, bored baby boomers, clueless triple-chinned Retravision managers, and all of the above who do that thing where they throw the ball in the air and then punch it and pay $1300 a season for a membership and have done since... 2009. And then have the temerity to tell me I'm not a real supporter, I'm just negative.

fmd the bloke in charge is a box headed business knob from the western suburbs. The coach is a fat headed, arrogant, unlikeable bloke with questionable character who speaks in riddles and weasel words and simply can't coach. You should go on there and look at the threads from before the Cats win and after it. 'Yep I'm firmly against him! He's gotta go!' Next week: 'wow, what a performance... you don't just beat Geelong like that... let him see out his contract and if we win more games than this season, yep, definitely an extension from me!'

I'm a young bloke who lives in the area and I was zoned to Claremont. It's not beyond the realms of possibility that I know people who went through the Claremont system with Jesse Hogan. The guy's been papped gabbering like a northern English chav at a house party in a Santa outfit and they banned me and deleted my post – for 'antagonising' – when I relayed some stories about him loving darts and choofing them 40-minutes alone, loving drugs and piss, the insane shit he's done at house parties in East Freo over the off-season, and the amount of socialites who peacock around Freo town every weekend night. Head in the sand shit.

Complete idiots who probably don't know what Neesham brought to the game and think Matthew Pavlich's 'insights' as a commentator are, like, really entertaining and, like, insightful.

The Freo board is actually nothing like this, the last couple of years more would have been against him than for. There have also been trolls that flood the place with crap with impunity for months before being banned so the moderators really have to have it in for someone for them not to be allowed on there.

In saying that I have no idea why Clay can't post on there, at face value that is a joke.

edit - didn't most of the West Coast board want to sack Simpson a couple of years ago? I seem to remember me of all people defending the bloke's coaching at one stage there. In general the average sports fan is a complete idiot tbh.

Yeah I dunno, I don't post on the Freo board. I just know that they have banzhammered SA and Clay.

There is an ongoing Adam Simpson thread which is mostly just hero worship now. Some time around 2016/17 there were plenty of question marks around whether he was the right man for the job etc. which is fair enough given we stagnated a bit. He came in at the end of 2013 and we've won 11, 16, 16, 12, 16, 15* wins in nearly 6 full seasons which is pretty bloody good. I get the impression as a fan looking in that Simpson didn't want to rock the boat too much when he first came in but was keen to move on Worsfold era regulars like Hill, Wellingham, McGinnity etc. The 2018 GF side definitely felt more like 'his' team compared to 2015. Glad it worked out obviously and glad he isn't just a puppet for Nisbett and co.

Yeah I dunno, I don't post on the Freo board. I just know that they have banzhammered SA and Clay.

There is an ongoing Adam Simpson thread which is mostly just hero worship now. Some time around 2016/17 there were plenty of question marks around whether he was the right man for the job etc. which is fair enough given we stagnated a bit. He came in at the end of 2013 and we've won 11, 16, 16, 12, 16, 15* wins in nearly 6 full seasons which is pretty bloody good. I get the impression as a fan looking in that Simpson didn't want to rock the boat too much when he first came in but was keen to move on Worsfold era regulars like Hill, Wellingham, McGinnity etc. The 2018 GF side definitely felt more like 'his' team compared to 2015. Glad it worked out obviously and glad he isn't just a puppet for Nisbett and co.
Reckon the talk began after we got punted from the finals in 2016, obviously we staggered into the finals in 2017 as well. I was still bemused that people were calling for his head that soon after taking the team to a grand final.

We had a few iffy performances around that time and a few questions were being asked about whether we were good enough to win away, good enough to beat top sides, if players like Jack Darling were really up to it etc. Simpson wasn't afraid to not play Masten, Hill, Wellingham, Jetta, Redden, Schofield etc. if they weren't doing what he needed them to.

Footy fans are impatient. In the big European football leagues if you coach Chelsea or Real Madrid and get off to a bad start you'll be lucky to last 3 months. Claudio Ranieri won the Premier League with Leicester ****ing City and didn't even see out the next full season. Brutal business. In footy terms fans are conditioned to thinking that if you go backwards it's the end of the world. We had a good team in 2015 and made a GF then two years later were scraping into 8th spot by 0.5%, and were losing senior players to retirement. In reality we overachieved with the squad we had and are in a stronger position now.

**** I wish I supported a team that considered scraping into 8th an average season.

‘Rising’ to 16th and not flipping Pick 1 to Adelaide is currently a crowning achievement.

European soccer clubs are owned by James Delos types. If they decide it's over for the coach it's over.

AFL clubs have boards meaning processes and factions, and if they sack coaches too often they'll be in the shit with the AFL because of contract payouts the AFL is ultimately paying for.

It's funny how certain club boards operate. In 2017 it was pretty doom and gloom on the Eagles board. The Priddis thread reached maximum potential that year. There was a universal agreement that Hurn was a pissweak, useless captain. Redden was a complete bust as well. Lecras was a has-been who should've retired. Gaff and Darling were trade bait. It was all very negative.

And this was all during a season where we won an away elimination final. We are very spoiled us Eagles fans, especially when clubs like Carlton and Melbourne exist

Neesham brought something to the game?

Besides soon-to-be-former AFL players I mean.
Neesham was a bold coach and the character Freo really needed.

A lot of current Freo fans don't rate him. Mostly because they think Lyon is good.

Neesham brought in things clubs do every game now. Back then it was man-on-man, he brought in the zonal defending. He did sly shit like use runners in club colours during opposition kick-ins so the full back would think there was more purple out there. His biggest impact was the handball though: it's less risky than a kick and could maintain possession, allowing guys without the ball to catch-up to the play.

All normal stuff. The issue is some of those things are awful and ironically now Freo's worst issues (flooding) or things we have completely ignored (always going forward with lots of numbers around the ball and keeping in possession – stuff Collingwood 2010 and those Hawks sides did without second thought).