Life

What’s great about an Aussie breakfast? The only unique thing I can think of is Vegemite.

Who else is doing macha powder french toast with olive oil cream and frozen mandarins

Those ranges aren't right. The baby boom started at the conclusion of WWII, not 10 years after it.

Boomers: 1945 to 1960ish
Gen X: Early to mid 1960s to 1980
Gen Y: 1980 to early 1990s
Gen Z: Early 1990s onwards

1990 was 28 years ago so we're about ready for the next bracket. It's all arbitrary. I would say I fit in more with people born 1975-1985 than people born in the late 80s and early 90s.

Agree that Australia is basically the king of breakfast food (well maybe the states) but that is because the Europeans realize breakfast is just a pathetic meal to tide you over until the real meals of the day arrive (lunch/dinner).

And I will repeat - anyone who thinks that outside of Asian food Australian suburbia has better food options than London truly has no clue.

As I said - which Aussie suburbs are doing quality French food at a reasonable cost?

Australian's truly think they are a foodie nation but compared to true global cities they have nothing special going for them. The QUANTITY of QUALITY restaurants that the likes of London Paris and NY have compared to Australia is incomparable.
You keep going to this French thing but it's such a weird argument. Australia's main migrant population from Europe are Italians, Greeks, and Croatians, Serbians etc. with a fair few Portuguese and some German pockets in South Australia. I've seen clubs for countries like Latvia, Ukraine, and obviously the classic Italian Clubs but not once have I seen a French Club here – there's a fair few these days but they're mostly young people here for opportunities in hospitality, hair dressing, a few in business, stuff like that. There is a fair amount of French cuisine in bigger Australian cities but the sort of food it is, it's not especially cheap. Heavy peasant sort of food isn't especially trendy right now as lighter, healthier, less carby stuff is.

The one thing I wish we picked up from the Brits was the fried chicken shop. Love getting a yellow styrofoam full of chips, some sauce, and a simple burger with a few wings for like £5 and sitting in some dingy place. I always felt there should be one or two on Racecourse Road or something. That shit would take off. Not everyone wants to sit at a restaurant named after a southern US city or dead rapper and pay $35 for it and a craft beer. The other thing that I don't get is how some pom hasn't come out and opened some sick fish and chip shop like they have in the UK. I understand it'll never be as authentic as having drenched shoes after walking around a northern city all day or going there after drinking 500ml cans of Kronenburg, but there are so many out here (especially Perth) with fat gutses who could master it. Having a curry sauce, cheese, mushy peas... man...

Not sure if you've ever been to Italy if you think the old timers are drinking lattes.
Don't they call all coffee there café? I remember that. Sorry bra I did post this at midnight after a day at work.

What’s great about an Aussie breakfast? The only unique thing I can think of is Vegemite.
I guess it's been in the last... six or seven years. Even small country towns, if they only have two cafés, one is usually fairly good. A lot is w***ery but fundamentally it's the best coffee in the world and there's a reason Australian based breakfast has become huge in the UK and US in the last two years even. Someone told me Gloria Jeans on a resumé in New York is equivalent to like five years work at some well known Brooklyn joint/shithole so I could imagine having an actual coffee shop would be fawned over.

It's not just smashed avocado on toast either, which is pretty eh tbh. Lots of greenery, nuts, good usage of poultry, sauces. It can be as heavy or light as you want but it's generally revolving around freshness and not bangers and mash and fried to **** tomatoes. You could realistically walk into any coffee shop in even middle ring suburbs and expect the coffee to be good and the food to be good.

I would say the one issue is actual service. Service in the UK is piss poor and in the continent can be amazing as people don't turn up their nose at the idea of being a waiter forever – it's a familial thing and a pathway that's humble and just what you do for lots of people. I would say Melbourne is good but in trendier areas of Perth staff can be really ****in odd, cold, and smug campaigner*. Barista more important than the barrister, ya feel.

Cafe/caffee is just coffee in French/Italian/Spanish. Latte/lait is just milk.

We love a good foreign sounding name for each variant that is essentially just some combination of coffee and milk. Flat white is about the only one that isn't made out to be something more than it is.

Anyway old dudes in the Mediterranean (and you see them here too) love to sit around drinking strong, black coffee in small amounts.

Agree that Australia is basically the king of breakfast food (well maybe the states) but that is because the Europeans realize breakfast is just a pathetic meal to tide you over until the real meals of the day arrive (lunch/dinner).

breakfast is just 'breaking your fast' so is meant to be something light, a coffee and a pastry is more than enough. You don't need 4 different types of muesli or smoothie bowls or some weird compote on rye bread or whatever. Overrated meal, blown up to be 'the most important meal of the day' by breakfast food companies.

Underselling it a little; your body has been without food for eight hours and needs energy. If anything, should have a decent breakfast, with a light lunch or dinner.

Who genuinely travels overseas to a place just for the food? I mean I'll drive a few suburbs over for some Chinese or whatever but I don't even consider what the local food will be like when I choose a travel destination.

I'm forever hearing about Melbourne restaurants, cafes and shopping by people who travel there.

I don't think people travel 'just for' food but trying local cuisine that you can't really find elsewhere is a huge attraction

Trying the local cuisine is part of the experience. The landmarks, events etc are the main reason for my holidays.

Just about everywhere has Maccas these days so even if the food is shit you usually have that as a back up.

I always like to go into different Maccas around the world anyway just to see what is different on the menu to here.

Just about everywhere has Maccas these days so even if the food is shit you usually have that as a back up.

I always like to go into different Maccas around the world anyway just to see what is different on the menu to here.
So even if the food is shit, you can at least rely on some shit food to get you through???

Boomers - 1955 - 1965
Gen X 1966 - 1976
Gen Y/Millenials 1977 - 1994
Gen Z 1995-2012
that is way off
like way off
The baby boomers are the only ones that really have an agreed upon range and thats the end of the war to the availability of the Pill

1946-64

Gen X is generally accepted to be the next 20 years 64-84

Gen Y is a lie

Millenials are defined by the people who named them 84-2004

we don't have a name for people born post 2004 yet that has been agreed upon

that is way off
like way off
The baby boomers are the only ones that really have an agreed upon range and thats the end of the war to the availability of the Pill

1946-64

Gen X is generally accepted to be the next 20 years 64-84

Gen Y is a lie

Millenials are defined by the people who named them 84-2004

we don't have a name for people born post 2004 yet that has been agreed upon

I'll extend boomers back to 1945 and put Gen X 1966-1979, that's about right to me.

So even if the food is shit, you can at least rely on some shit food to get you through???

The only thing Maccas is good for overseas is familiarity and free WiFi. I went into a couple in Paris because their endless roundabouts were driving me nuts.

I reckon food is a big part of experiencing different cultures. I wouldn't go to Bali just to eat satay and rice considering I can just get that here, but if I was there I would be eating it all the time.

Maccas might not be gourmet food but at least you know what you will get from them and it won't give you food poisoning or some other illness which you can sometimes get from eating dodgy food overseas.

There was a number of times when I was travelling overseas that I was grateful to see the Golden Arches, not just for the food but also for the relatively clean restaurants and toilets that weren't third world standard.

In some countries you need to use Maccas just for the toilets when you are away from your hostel/hotel.

Kids don't have enough money or desire to do that stuff anymore. Think I know one girl who moved to London at about 22. Know about two guys very loosely who did a summer playing county cricket, but that's it. I'd imagine 15 years ago you'd know heaps of people. Half the sign of the times here but also the stupidly tight laws restricting ease in the UK. The campaigners colonised us, do the righty and let us live there.

They stopped making it easy for former colonials when voters figured out that's where the black and brown people were coming from.