Analysis Lin Jong 2017

The discussion on Jong turns into a shit fight for some people the same way the discussion on Dicko and Hrovat has/did - MD is unnecessarily abrasive and is always up to reiterate his points endlessly and a certain number of other posters are unnecessarily offended by his abrasiveness and are always up to reiterate their replies endlessly.
Just like a fire, don't give it fuel...

I wonder if he'll pick up some B & F votes tonight?

Was one of our best mids. Wish he had backed himself to kick that goal on the run!

Break out AFL game, hopefully his VFL form translates to AFL from now on and never go back.

That performance summed up everything about Jong in one neat package: good marking, speed, hard tackling, short fast hand balls, brain fart decisions, running around like a headless chook, smacked in the nose friendly fire, great set shot, poor set shot, not enough confidence, runs hard and gives his all.

Overall, a good game from Jongy. Not perfect. But good. Proud of you mate. But sometimes you just have to laugh at the linsanity of it all.

Certainly was in the bests this week.

Watching him last night there are times where it is clear football is not instintive for him and he gets exposed at stoppages being drawn to far in ball chasing.

Also this leads to poor decision making leading to costly tuurnovers.

However, his efforts are always 100%, he is a good mark, quick and kicking skills are more than adequate

Still don't beleive he is best 22 in a top team but is a very good depth player and beleive he does deserve to be part of our list ahead of Hrovat and Stephens. He will play most games it is up to those better skilled and decisiom making players to get more of the football to push him out.

Not happening yet

His 3rd Quarter was incredible.

He is needed in the side for his marking and hardness at the footy. Not every player is going to use the footy like our other mids we are blessed in that department, Jong can be a genuine match winner when he is confident and hopefully this game gives him a lot of confidence at the top level.

If he can manage to transfer that confident way he plays at VFL level over to AFL level he'll become a very big threat to other teams.

Typical mixed bag from Jong but his good outweighed his bad by a long way. There seems to be a rediculous focus on his errors but you could do the same with a number of players including JJ, Dahl, Hunter, Crameri, both Boyd's and even Bont last night who was unusually fumbly with the ball. Our players are clearly encouraged to take the game on.....we should expect errors to be made. Jong was terrific last night.

Very good outing for Jong, I was happy with his game. Thought he started to slink back into some negatives in the fourth quarter but overall a really strong game for him. Hopefully he can use it as a springboard for the rest of the season.

That was one of Jong's best games I counted four howlers but the good outweighed the bad. His marking was good, tackling good and his hands ok. Technically ok kicker.

Let's see him put it together week on week out. On that form I like him more as a fwd/mid with those hands. Obviously prefer Smith but Jong booked his spot for next week.

A teaser game from Jong. Some good Linsanity moments mixed with the some insanity (why did he not run all the way into goal!). Jong is strong overhead and a good kick at goal so could settle nicely as a high half forward. But he needs to stop the bullet handballs to a nearby teammate.

The difference between his best and worst is as big as I've seen. He'll flush them from outside fifty on the run no problem, then 30 seconds later he scrubs it like its the first time he's picked up a footy. Baffling at times but he had a good game overall.

The thing is you're a lot more confident that you can coach Jong to not make those howlers than you are something like to train Dunkley to double his vertical leap and take contested marks lime that.

His marking was good - hes tall, quick off a step and has a good leap - so a hard matchup in that department. But I dont care about his marking so much.

A couple of times in stoppage situations he saw a gap and carried the ball out of the contest. This is we need from him, but 8 times a game instead of a couple. If he isnt doing that, then we have Smith, Dunkley and Wallis who can play inside handballers and rest forward better than he can.

Don't get the excitement over his preseason form. Looked to be the same old Jong.

If this were the 80s or early 90s I think he'd be a very good specialist spearhead forward, unfortunately much of his good work is undone when he runs through the midfield. I've never seen a player who's best and worst are both so far apart and so often on display (even in the same game). Frustrating player.
Posted this earlier in the thread, thought he was brilliant last night mostly but my post still rings true for mine.