Lions training next week

• Thread starter Thread starter JDogg

"Players need to realise the amazing opportunities that the game offers them and be willing to make some sacrifices. That said, it is only a matter of time before some Gen-Y brat with entitlement issues gets drafted to the "wrong" club and takes the entire system to court"

Great post....perhaps the only thing stopping one N 'I am entitled' Buckley from testing the system in court was the Bears agreeing to let him go after a year? (BTW Thank God they did...the ego vacuum created a 3 flag wormhole!)

Saying that, I reckon you'll be proven right, but more specifically it'll probably be a Melbourne based Gen Y who's been drafted to West Sydney that craps on the whole system.

For a Free agency system to work, it would have to be done so it doesn't help players switch teams, it should be there so that players that dont find a home, can be picked up by a team at a later date. Anything that enables a player more to walk out on a club to change to another specific club should never come into the game.

Spoke to someone in the AFL about 10 years ago. At that time they had a strategy in place if they ever got rolled in court ; namely immediately implement Draft Rules Version 2 and if they got rolled Version 3 and so on.
Litigation by exhaustion so deepest pockets win. Not certain if the strategy is still in place but it was definitely a plan years ago.

It's no secret that Daniel Rich would have given his right foot (doesn't need it anyway) to play for the Eagles. But it didn't work out. He copped it like a man and came to Brisbane, found that he loves the club and his teammates and extends his contract. Ditto Mitch Clark/Simon Black/Luke Power etc... more of that please.

I have had a discussion about the National Draft with Daniel. It was an interesting topic;)

whens next training i just moved up from melbourne and interested in going to see the boys

So nobody in here goes to training and gives reports and/or pictures?

We do, but all reports and photos are only accessable to Lions supporters, as we have a sub-forum for them :)

That's a shame... I'd be interested to read how it's all going. Oh well, guess I'll go and look for myself. Are they training this Monday do we know?

As far as we know, the boys are training at 4 pm Monday 25/10 at the oval on Biribi St, Coorparoo, but might be an idea to ring the club Monday am to confirm, or check the website Mon pm.

Thanks for that :thumbsu:. Just quickly - do you know how long the training sessions usually go for on a Monday? Cheers!

Yeah, the website was only updated on Monday arvo showing that training occurredon Monday morning.

Generally, the afternoon sessions go for anything between two and three hours. The boys usually start arriving an hour before and start their stretches and warm ups.

What he said...... Sorry about the mis-info in my previous post - but that was the latest at the time.

No that's, cool - they probably changed due to the damned heat! I know today's training session started about 3/4 hour late due to the same thing.

So you made it to training? Good stuff! It was a good session to attend. I've been at a few morning ones, and they were darn hot!

Next week (current info) Mon 1/2 & Wed 3/2 - 4 pm Coorparoo, Fri 5/2 - 3.30 pm Maroochydore (subject to change without notice).

Yeah I did. Was interesting to watch the different drills. Also interesting to see the set-up in the scratch match leaving JB and Fev in the paddock. Fev has some sensational skills but I see his demeanour on field hasn't changed. Gave Merrett (sp) an almighty shove (ie. threw him to the ground) when he was pissed off at one stage. (Gave away the free kick too) :) I was surprised to see the play concentrate on the flanks though, rather than the corridor. In fact I even heard one of the players (in the paddock) yell "play the corridor"! I'll probably come down and watch on Monday next week too. Sad way to get a "footy fix" but there you go! :D

Merrett and Fev always had some pretty heated games playing against each other, Merrett usually got the best of Fev, and they still looked like they didn't like each other. Any chance they got they were both putting 110% into tackling each other.

I liked the touchy soft frees that were paid to keep them on edge. Gave them very little time before making them play on, and gave a few soft 50's as well.

Anyone know if the Lions will be up at the sunshine coast this year for pre season?

Ive emailed the club a few times but they must be on holidays as well as I am not getting a reply.