List Mgmt. List Management Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter 1990crow

If we get Draper for not draft capital but get a late first round for ROB to Brisbane or Carlton it wouldn't be the worst result in the world. We just need to be sure that McAndrew/ Murray can perform as back up as Draper looks injury prone.

Edit: or is ROB a free agent?

If we get Draper for not draft capital but get a late first round for ROB to Brisbane or Carlton it wouldn't be the worst result in the world. We just need to be sure that McAndrew/ Murray can perform as back up as Draper looks injury prone.

ROB is a FA aswel

Feels about right.

Now, how much of this is ROB’s fault, how much of it is our mids’ fault, and how much of it is our midfield/stoppage coach’s fault?

I honestly think it’s a bit of everything

Works both ways doesn't it?

Can't simultaneously claim all the hitouts to advantage are ROB but blame the mids for the sharks. Both are elements of everything

Yeah nah

He might be working smarter , not harder . Don’t get the 2 confused

‘Normal’ Rucks that aren’t talented freaks seem to peak at his age too eg Darcy Cameron was a real battler at Sydney and started playing good footy at 27 and is prob at his peak now at 30 yo

I don't reckon it's the aging thing at all. There's been a clear difference in ROB's performance within the season in the span of a few months.

And up until that point I reckon if anything ROB got worse over time between his 2020 B&F year to the start of 2025

getting Draper would cancel out the compensation to ROB, we need a second player to leave as a FA to get ROB compo pick.

need to convince a club to take Murphy off our hands.

I’ve heard it all now …. ROB is some ultra talent whose form is dependant only on how hard he works 🤣

Pretty much the opposite is true , he always tries hard but sometimes that’s not enough due to low skill base

I think the biggest things related to his uptick in form are his confidence , good form of those around him , changes to ruck rules that suit him re able to cross over and body rather than jump , improved kicking from being in system so long and the confidence in his game has brought back his marking

I’ve never watched a game and thought - oh ROB isn’t working hard , his consistency of effort has always been sound and it’s always the way his teammates talk about him too
So how do you explain ROB playing better when he’s been recalled after being dropped only to suck a few games later?

And are you seriously suggesting players haven’t been guilty of having big contract years only to drop in performance the following year?

So how do you explain ROB playing better when he’s been recalled after being dropped only to suck a few games later?

And are you seriously suggesting players haven’t been guilty of having big contract years only to drop in performance the following year?
2nd paragraph doesnt have anything to do with what I’m saying

Go down play sanfl get confident come back in and play well ? Not the silliest theory for a guy that might have had self doubts at times re his talent and whether he’s good enough

And then drops his confidence after playing well in the seniors to resort to playing poorly again?

But this year his confidence has just remained.

Yeah makes sense.

As for the last paragraph, do you believe some players play well in their contract year with extra motivation, but not ROB

And then drops his confidence after playing well in the seniors to resort to playing poorly again?

But this year his confidence has just remained.

Yeah makes sense.

As for the last paragraph, do you believe some players play well in their contract year with extra motivation, but not ROB
It makes more sense than a guy taken at whatever pick in the rookie draft with little other club interest having the ability to pick and choose when he plays well at AFL level

It also makes more sense than players and coaches voting in him in leadership groups over the years , and not noticing that he picks and chooses depending on his contract

…while a couple of hacks on bigfooty can pick it from afar 🤣

It makes more sense than a guy taken at whatever pick in the rookie draft with little other club interest having the ability to pick and choose when he plays well at AFL level

It also makes more sense than players and coaches voting in him in leadership groups over the years , and not noticing that he picks and chooses depending on his contract

…while a couple of hacks on bigfooty can pick it from afar 🤣
Would make more sense to a cheerleading numptie.

The fact you actually brought up he was a rookie is embarrassing, where was Laird taken? Should I go on? He also won a B&F with us. He’s not a chump.

Coaches dropped him, haven’t put this leader into the top 10 of their B&F, reckon he gets there in his contract year?

And you didn’t answer my question, do you believe some players perform better in their contract year but not ROB?

You don't get to 130 games with self-doubts about your ability without being extttttrrrrrrrrrrrrreeeeeeeeeeeeemmmmmmmmeeeeeeeeeeeeelllllllllllllllyyyyyyyyy talented.

It could be something as simple as being put under pressure of needing to perform clears the mind for ROB, whereas leadership/being in a rebuild/no pressure on his spot meant he lost sight of the little things in his game-day performance.

His average tackles haven’t really changed.

I think he’s a guy who has had periods of good form and periods of bad form all throughout his career. That’s pretty normal I would say, but I’ve never watched a game and thought he wasn’t putting effort in.
I agree. The tackle numbers this year are less than his career average

Effort isn't the problem. It seems crazy to say it's because he doesn't try hard enough.

He's just a guy with a very low baseline of natural talent. The effort things - like hitouts and tackles - stay consistent. The marking comes and goes.

So, come with me here guys. It’s 2026. Friday night game, sold out Adelaide Oval. Big game against the Pies. Sam Draper takes a big contested mark 35 metres out from goal directly in front. Walks back off the mark. Faces goal and then pauses…… The crowd waits in anticipation…….. He turns 90 degrees to kick around the corner. The crowd ERUPTS !!!! The whole stadium is roaring !!!!

Don’t you want to be a part of that ?????

So, come with me here guys. It’s 2026. Friday night game, sold out Adelaide Oval. Big game against the Pies. Sam Draper takes a big contested mark 35 metres out from goal directly in front. Walks back off the mark. Faces goal and then pauses…… The crowd waits in anticipation…….. He turns 90 degrees to kick around the corner. The crowd ERUPTS !!!! The whole stadium is roaring !!!!

Don’t you want to be a part of that ?????
No thanks. Best to let that one slide to the lions

I feel late to the party on this one. But Bailey Fritsch feels like a guy who would thrive in a forward line that was humming. Which I feel like ours will be for the next few years at least. He couldn’t be at a worse side in Melbourne for forward line structure and forward 50 entries. I think you could get great returns from him and he would add a lot.

He's a very soft player though.

Pass.

If we wanted that type of player in our forward line, that’s what Cook could be with a bit of experience.

He's a pretty accurate shot for goal. That helps fill a Walker void.

We're so blessed with Walker, Fogarty, Thilthorpe and Rachele, all beautiful kicks.

Come on now.

I said type of player, not quality.

We have Thilthorpe who is a 60+ goal a year player, Fogarty and Rachele who are 40+ players, Rankine (if he continues to be a midfield player) and Keays 30+, ANB is a 20+ guy.

We aren’t short on goal kickers, why shoehorn a guy like Fritsch who is past his peak in to the side.

If you really like that type of player and how it’d complement our forward line, Cook could do that.

I said type of player, not quality.

We have Thilthorpe who is a 60+ goal a year player, Fogarty and Rachele who are 40+ players, Rankine (if he continues to be a midfield player) and Keays 30+, ANB is a 20+ guy.

We aren’t short on goal kickers, why shoehorn a guy like Fritsch who is past his peak in to the side.

If you really like that type of player and how it’d complement our forward line, Cook could do that.
Tex will be gone next season (i think..), and Cook ain't fulfilling that hole on the scoreboard.

I think Tex goes on - had too much impact this year to retire him m
When he does though we will have to bring another forward in. Potentially Cody Curtin this years draft

We've only got one other one!

If he's hurt too then... Gallucci had a huge vertical leap, but that's ancient history.

Berry is supposed to have quite a big jump on him

Can only select within our deliberate list structure and for a few years it's been 1 backup ruck and 2 backup KPFs. If ROB is injured we're at the whim of the list structure, if he leaves, he'll be replaced. Maybe Berry rucks, but probably he doesn't. Right now McAndrew would get first crack, then probably Burgess and then an underdone Murray and then it gets dicey. How many rucks do you think we should have on our list, I reckon 3. First, backup and developing kid. ROB leaving at end of year changes nothing if injuries occur, his spot on the list will go to another ruckman.