Lloyd & Walls

LotsofCuddles9

Matthew Lloyd and Robert Walls would have to the worst commentators of all time. There are two teams out there not just Essendon. I bit of professionalism and non bias would not go a stray - Even more reason for the Cats to flog the bombers to as Teddy once put it - Stick it up them.

Go Cats

I thought when Matthew Lloyd started the season he was pretty good. Though the last couple of games he has been ordinary. He tipped Essendon prematch as well, which surely show his bias.

Geelong were certainties tonight

No surprise Lloyd tipped Essendon either.

Former players shouldn't provide special comments for games that involve their former team

Matthew Lloyd and Robert Walls would have to the worst commentators of all time. There are two teams out there not just Essendon. I bit of professionalism and non bias would not go a stray - Even more reason for the Cats to flog the bombers to as Teddy once put it - Stick it up them.

Go Cats
Walls has always hated Geelong, no surprises there. As for Lloyd, he never knows what he's talking about.

He tipped Essendon prematch as well, which surely show his bias.

Geelong were certainties tonight

I loved his reasoning: because Geelong only won by 4 goals last week. No mention of the dons getting rolled by the swans however.

Cant take anything he says seriously. The worst bit is when he comments on poor umpiring by saying the forward 'got a cheapie' when he himself was the master of diving.

Quarters is still a douche too, crying 'report! report! tripping! fletcher was rubbed out for that! report!' when Mackie's tackled slipped off the blokes ass and touched a sock.

I laughed out loud at Lloyd's call of Fletcher as the best full back he has seen.

Tonight I was crying with laughter as Fletcher got continually pantsed by whoever he was playing on, while the old velvet sledgehammer shut up and didn't say anything during the second half :thumbsu::)

Get a grip fellas.

Not happy with commentators nearly having sex with the mic during geelong games for 5 years now?

For the record there is no team Walls hates more than Essendon, but because Lloyd is in the box the little wimp crumbles and has a few positive things to say.

To be fair, Fletcher's report was the first thing I thought of when I saw Mackie's trip. Fortunately, the replay showed there was nothing in it. As for allegations of bias, get used to it. It's standard underdogs vs raging favourites stuff. We'll get it in 75% of the games we watch and we'll be on the other end of it in the years to come. I prefer this side of it.

Walls actually complemented Geelong a bit tonight. I couldn't believe it when he said that Geelong was the best thing that happened to football in the last few years, by playing attacking, attractive and sharing style of game.

I've also heard him say he loves being scheduled for Geelong matches as he likes the way the Cats play.

Either Walls has woken up to reality, or there is an alien impostor in his body.

I laughed out loud at Lloyd's call of Fletcher as the best full back he has seen.

Tonight I was crying with laughter as Fletcher got continually pantsed by whoever he was playing on, while the old velvet sledgehammer shut up and didn't say anything during the second half :thumbsu::)

The call of Fletcher being better than Scarlett made me lol too when Pods (with a sore groin and ankle) marked in the clear, Fletcher 20 metres behind him to slot in yet another goal.

Walls actually complemented Geelong a bit tonight. I couldn't believe it when he said that Geelong was the best thing that happened to football in the last few years, by playing attacking, attractive and sharing style of game.

I've also heard him say he loves being scheduled for Geelong matches as he likes the way the Cats play.

Either Walls has woken up to reality, or there is an alien impostor in his body.

I wonder if it was because the producer told them to say something positive about Geelong, or more likely it had something to do with the fact that Geelong were 50 points up at the time.

It's not just Lloyd. Darcy does it, and Jako does it too. Every special comment is from an Essendon/Doggies/Insert WA Team perspective on what they did wrong or right, the other team may as well not be out there. Gone on for a while now though, I'm used to it.

the thing I hate about walls is that if the a team looks like they are getting on top of us he sinks the boot in no worries, and then if we start winning comfortably he starts raving about us as the Greatest ever

All the commentators are biased though, so nothing new there

This. Wallsy has been more complimentary about the Catters of late. Didn't mind Lloyd tipping Essendon either. He was right, if ever they were going to beat us it was tonight. Nothing wrong with his reasoning, it's just they weren't good enough. The only thing that pissed me off was Quarterbrain once again screaming out for a Cat player to get reported. What a tool.

regards,

REB

Lloyd said pre game (with that typical smug look) that he couldn't see where we were going to score goals with Mooney and Hawkins out. Has he not watched us over the last 3 1/2 years? An insane call. 23 goals, with none from Ablett and 1 late one from Chappy. We continually have had 10 plus blokes slotting goals on a weekly basis. Sometimes it's Byrnes getting a few, or SJ or Jimmy, Stokes or Trav. Does he not understand it's just as much about the system of how we play as the players in the system. Anyway, even my wife who knows very little picked up on that insane call.

This. Wallsy has been more complimentary about the Catters of late. Didn't mind Lloyd tipping Essendon either. He was right, if ever they were going to beat us it was tonight. Nothing wrong with his reasoning, it's just they weren't good enough. The only thing that pissed me off was Quarterbrain once again screaming out for a Cat player to get reported. What a tool.

regards,

REB

yeah i agree. Lloyd is generally a better commentator on the radio - maybe it' s because he's with a better team. All in all Essendon had a lot of reasons to go in full of confidence.

Quarterbrain is a terrible commentator.

Walls is always good for some "what tha" type comments.

An example tonight was when Pods took a wonderful contested mark over three Essendon players and Wall's summary of the play; get the ball fast up to Podsiadly and he's hard to beat one-on-one. :eek:

CF covered it beautifully - Walls' problem isn't that he hates any one team, it's that he doesn't see the need for consistency in his opinions. Will write a column Thursday heaping praise on someone and then bag the shit out of them on Monday night, completely ignoring his previous praise. Add that to his grab-bag of talking points ("give him a run in the ruck") and he can be truly painful to listen to.

Lloyd is generally reasonable I reckon, Quarters too - there's some people here who are getting a little bit precious about dissent. Miles ahead of some others in the caper (Glen Jackovich, come on down). But if you want proper special comments, hard to go past Parkin and McClure on the ABC. Love listening to them rip teams apart at quarter time.

Horrible commentating from Lloyd, totally agree... I was thinking this during the game! completely bias.

Evidence, Gumbleton has a set shot, which he misses, the ball then goes down our end and Byrnes or Varcoe does something special along the boundary line to create a goal.... What do they then show in the replay, Gumbleton's bad set shot routine, and why? Because Lloyd hasn't stopped talking about it, and he goes through why its bad.... no replay of our goal.

And pairing him with Walls isn't going to help

Walls has always hated Geelong, no surprises there. As for Lloyd, he never knows what he's talking about.

You clearly don't read many of his articles or watch him on One Week at a Time. He's often complimentary about the way the club is run and the way we play.