sethlad

Derby County FC
Lonhro going to Australian Cup

So,despite the outrageous leader bias at Caulfield,Johnny Hawkes has decided a very weak Orr is the place to kick off the black horses last campaign.

Keen to have Lonhro go through undefeated,he's decided to dodge Exceed & Excel,Thorn Park & co in the Expressway in Sydney.

Has Mr Grumpy pulled the right rein or will a fit on-pacer spoil the party?

Seth.

I like Pentastic first up from a spell.. Usually runs well, now with Olly on board may be a chance.. Would have like a bit of rain though..

Lonhro in Sydney is virtually unbeatable. I would not think that Hawkes is worried about anything in Sydney.

jlc

He's been unbeatable in the past but that was when he's racing Careal Boy and Belle de jour over a mile. Thorn Park and Exceed and Excell is a bit more challenging so thus we have Lohnnie that big black flash heading to the Orr. Can't have the chump woops sorry i meant champ getting rolled before he goes to stud, can we. Smart man is Hawkes.

Originally posted by sethlad
So,despite the outrageous leader bias at Caulfield,Johnny Hawkes has decided a very weak Orr is the place to kick off the black horses last campaign.

Keen to have Lonhro go through undefeated,(obviously no GP 1's in Melbourne on the schedule),he's decided to dodge Exceed & Excel,Thorn Park & co in the Expressway in Sydney.

Has Mr Grumpy pulled the right rein or will a fit on-pacer spoil the party?

Seth.
These 1400m wfa races are made for fast 3yos.St Elmo's Fire will take a forward possie and win again. Lonhro will overcome the bias to finish in the placings with Super Elegant.Pentastic will be running on.If the sting is out he would win the Australia Cup in a canter.;)

Might have a couple of bucks each way on Sound Action, needs more ground but it will be flying home at odds. Probably have a tri as well in that race.

Lord Volksraad in the fourth is my bet of the day.

I'm gonna stick with Vocabulary in that one. It's done real well for me in the past, and, although its a step up in class, I'll stay with it.

Dunno if I'll place a bet on it though, the TAB is too far away.

Originally posted by Deej
He's been unbeatable in the past but that was when he's racing Careal Boy and Belle de jour over a mile. Thorn Park and Exceed and Excell is a bit more challenging so thus we have Lohnnie that big black flash heading to the Orr. Can't have the chump woops sorry i meant champ getting rolled before he goes to stud, can we. Smart man is Hawkes.

Thorn Park needs the track bone dry to be any good.

Dont forget Northerly got rolled by so called "Chumps" in Sydney.

Great hard fought win by Lonhro today.

jlc

The run of Sound Action was very good. First up since August and over 1400m, she went forward, which surprised me, but really fought on well to finish a very close third.

Lonhro just got there. Don't know whether it was that great a performance. He did win though and that's all you have to do.

Nothing else really took my eye. All the stayers were unsighted and I would have liked to have seen them making some ground. Natural Blitz ran on fairly, but the jury is out on him.

Originally posted by L-Nizzy
I'm gonna stick with Vocabulary in that one. It's done real well for me in the past, and, although its a step up in class, I'll stay with it.

Dunno if I'll place a bet on it though, the TAB is too far away.

Missed it by that much. I dare say though that even if Vocabulary did get up, Lohnro would've probably won on protest.

It was a pretty good effort when you consider in the previous races not many horses made up ground to win. Most of the winners led from start to finish.

I would have loved to see Thorn Park win yesterday considering it gets a mile back in its races. I actually think Thorn Park is a pretty good Sydney sprinter but over 1600m im not so sure.

jlc

Originally posted by juddy03
I like Pentastic first up from a spell.. Usually runs well, now with Olly on board may be a chance.. Would have like a bit of rain though..

Don't jump off now, Pentastic has a very good 2nd up record.

Thanks for that Holly, wouldn'y get off it anyway.. Love that horse, just missed out on a placing cup day, but what can you do?

About what I expected,Lonhro just getting there.

The 2nd horse has made the step,I remember it going around 6/4
against mares at Flemington late last year,knew I didnt have enough on.

Sound Action,what an effort.

Seth.

Originally posted by JLC
Thorn Park needs the track bone dry to be any good.

Dont forget Northerly got rolled by so called "Chumps" in Sydney.

Great hard fought win by Lonhro today.

jlc
Yes it was a great win i agree. But it doesn't change my opinion of the horse a lot. The chump line is just a cheap shot fair enough he's no chump, but he aint a champion middle distance horse either. Maybe up to a mile he'd have it over Northerly but anything past that he'd be getting ground into dust. I just don't like to hear all this over the top spruiking you hear people going on about him being the best since KT etc, i reckon he's a fantastic sprint/miler just like Sunline was and that's about it. I've said it 1000 times i guess it all comes down to what you perceive is a champion distance, the truest test, i think it's 2000m-2400m. If Lohnro could win the nation's best 2000 or 2400 races like Northerly did 18months ago then I'd quickly change my opinion on him.

Nah thats fair enough

However i still think the surface of Mooney Valley has something to do with it. Some horses just dont handle the surface and maybe Lohnro is one of them.

jlc

Originally posted by JLC
Nah thats fair enough

However i still think the surface of Mooney Valley has something to do with it. Some horses just dont handle the surface and maybe Lohnro is one of them.

jlc
I think it's not that he can't handle the valley, it's just he's vulnerable at 2000 with real pressure on. I don't think he'd even get within 5 lengths of any reasonable 2400m field, I think he's just a great sprint/miler that can get 2000 if everything goes his way. Very similar type in those terms to Sunline, except I'd rate Sunline a good 2 or 3 lengths better than Lohnro at her peak. I mean jeez Sunline won 2 cox plates a doncaster a hong kong mile, what has Lohnro won at the very top level? A chipping norton? Big woops.

Don't forget the Vic derby Deej, that was a good win still got a feeling most will remember the Cox Plate flop of last year against an average field.

Yeah Sound Action was impressive on Saturday boys, my cousin is from Colac and knows the trainer and a few of its owners quite well, he was telling me it was a dirt cheap horse to buy(5K/10K), now its won over three hundred thousand, definately one to watch and follow.

F' Lord Volksraad, have done some dough on it over time, always the bridesmaid, might put him in the sin buin.

Originally posted by Pieman7
Don't forget the Vic derby Deej, that was a good win still got a feeling most will remember the Cox Plate flop of last year against an average field.
You're thinking of the Caulfield Guineas, he never won the Vic Derby that year never even contested it from memory. Lohnro has never run at a distance past 2040, the guineas is over 1600m.

And don't forget he flopped in the Cox the year before too.

Oh yeah, I think your right Deej came flying home down the outside, was thinking big 3yo race.

He wasn't a $1.50 red hot favourite in 2002 though, people can forgive three year olds not winning the cox plate, very tough race for the young'uns to win as history tells us.

Originally posted by Pieman7
Oh yeah, I think your right Deej came flying home down the outside, was thinking big 3yo race.

He wasn't a $1.50 red hot favourite in 2002 though, people can forgive three year olds not winning the cox plate, very tough race for the young'uns to win as history tells us.
Lohnro was a well-grounded 4yr old in the 2002 Cox Plate, not a 3yr old. As a 3yr old after the guineas he was spelled instead of going to the cox. Viscount was the Hawkes 3yr old to tackle the cox that year not Lohnro, I think Viscount started fav in Lohnro's guineas and chocked down. I actually think that as good as Lohnro is, Viscount was a better galloper and would've won the Cox last year no worries against FOO and Defier. Not sure Hawkes would ever agree with that because of Lohnro's stud value, reckon Beadman must be getting a kickback too with all this Lohnro's the best horse i've ever ridden crap he spruiks. Fair dinkum Saintly would rip Lohnro another ******** over any distance, anywhere, anytime.

Lonhro going to Aust Cup

Just announced by Wayne Hawkes on 927
Via the St George next week at Caulfield.

Another 2000m test for the black horse?

Seth.