Looking ahead

• Thread starter Thread starter jono25

Freo may win all home games they do that they in the finals.

Freo have a game plan. At least 5 years away from a flag but boy some of their kids are impressive. Great example of a team doing the little things right. Also love seeing someone like Hill who was quality when drafted but has come on leaps and bounds in 12 months. Something at that former rabble of a club must be working.

If you have no faith in the team then that's your prerogative.

What makes your opinion so great, as that you need to start a thread declaring where we will finish. Oh wait, I see, you use terms like 'sunshine', and suggest really insightful and compelling things such as we should go after a forward like Roughead if we want to have the best opportunity to win a premiership...

Sorry, which one of us is more readily willing to accept mediocrity?

Jono,

Agree that our culture may be a problem..

Met Fev in Qld last week and he is loving it.

He says that the Brissy senior players gel the team together...They have BBQ's together with their families each week.....never happened at Carlton.

If someone steps out of line.....BANG....Brown or Voss are there dealing with the issues.....

Doesn't happen at Carlton.....

Is the Board creating a positive culture ????

It all starts at the top !!!

Jono,

He says that the Brissy senior players gel the team together...They have BBQ's together with their families each week.....never happened at Carlton.

If someone steps out of line.....BANG....Brown or Voss are there dealing with the issues.....

Totally agree. From having a lot to do with Lions boys I can attest to the fact that there is a great culture of support and accountability at that club.

It helps when you have consecutive leaders like Matthews, Voss and Brown who demand nothing less than 100%.

Where are those types at Carlton?

If the year pans out as I think it will, we will be somewhere between 10-12 on the ladder. We will have some ok players as potential trade bait eg Walker, Hampson (depends on offer, still think he can be a star), Houlihan, Grigg etc.

Not popular but I also think we should consider trading Gibbs for the right price.

As a forward target the obvious is Roughead. If that is not possible (and it is unlikely at best) then I think we need to look very closely at someone like Trengove from Port. He will be a very very good player in 3-4 years time.

Why trade Gibbs? I think he is a great player but we have a lot of great finishers in Judd, Murphy, Simpson, Lucas (will be a star) etc. You have to give something big to get something big and trading Gibbs and Hampson may be a way of getting a Pears, Trengove and another hard bodied mid to the club.
If you think that we should trade Gibbs and Hampson to get Trengove (or Pears :rolleyes:) plus another mid, then you'll still be a clueless and reactionary Carlton supporter at the end of the year.

Dumbest suggestion that I've ever heard.

Looking ahead is easy. :thumbsu:

MCB isn't the only Carlton supporter who thinks with their arse.

Jono,

Brisbane is a little different to Melbourne, a one team town, similar to Sydney, you would expect them to do more together. So Brown & Voss are there to deal with any issues, sounds like he is high maintenance, needs minders. Same thing happened with plugger and Hall, they had to get out of Melbourne, did better in Sydney. I can';t cop our culture is to blame for Fev, yeh we should have been tougher on him, but he is an adult isn;t he, he seems to blame others instead accepting responsibility.

Look at that bingle nonsense, are you blaming the board, sick of excuses for Fev....and this Lions culture is better than ours, well you know, he didn;t respsect the club, the jumper, the staff or members.... prima donna

My plan for Carlton is to lure Franklin, J.Brown, Ablett Jnr, Hurley and Lake.

What a goal to goal line we would have. Make it happen Blooz :thumbsu:

Jono,

This of course is ignoring a couple of facts, ie:
1. Fev was a senior player at Carlton, if not THE senior player.
2. The Board has taken a massive positive step to improve the club culture. They got rid of Fev.

Stamos,

Agree with you 100% that Fev was a huge part of our cultural problem and the Board did do the right thing by parting company with him.

The question is what is the Board doing NOW to change the culture to help develop the youngsters, bond the players together and create the next tier of leadership.

The past is the past but I am more interested in understanding what the Board is doing to create a positive environment for our boys.

Well HBF(2), you tell us what any other board is doing at any other club - Richmond, Essendon, Collingwood - to develop this bond.

I'm sure we're doing the same.

Totally agree. From having a lot to do with Lions boys I can attest to the fact that there is a great culture of support and accountability at that club.

It helps when you have consecutive leaders like Matthews, Voss and Brown who demand nothing less than 100%.

Where are those types at Carlton?

I have said that we are missing the leaders in the club who are willing to give people the hair dryer treatment when things are going right...

Sticks when he was the captain was a very motivational speaker in the huddles to get the players going and we are missing that sort of leader now. But no matter how good Sticks was as a leader, we also had a coach who if things were screwing up on the pitch wouldnt be too adverse to telling the players in no uncertain terms what he thought of them and what they were doing.

Ratts has a good tactical brain, but he is too much of a mate to the players and isnt a strict disciplinarian. You wouldnt see Parkin accepting the physios coming out and saying that too much kicking practice is bad for the quads... FFS these guys should have quads of iron from all the running and weights they are doing.

Judd is a leader... a reluctant leader... we need someone who is willing to give the players a roasting if they arent playing to the standard expected by the jumper...

While we are at it we could look at trading Kreuzer for Cyril and lets offer that hack Murphy to the weagles and get JK back.

Nah... I think that we should be trading Humphrey to port for Cloke...

makes about the same sort of sense as trading Gibbs does :(

It shows a real lack of knowledge of the game when supporters think that 1 match can change you from an ok team, into a great team, or from a good team, into the worst in the comp, or from a top 4 team, to a bottom 4 team etc.

Our inability to beat the Bombers doesn't change the fact that we are better, or at least on par with 8 other teams in the competition (and thats if you want to take a harsh view)

Unless you are going to tell me that Freo are suddenly a better team than us :rolleyes: Seriously, they probably are :eek:

If we had smashed the Bombers last night, and Gibbs was BOG, you would be saying how lucky we are to have him, and that we can make finals this year. IF IF IF ,we didn't and neither did Gibbs.

How about we just put all our focus into winning next week, instead of giving up on the season after 3 rounds. We will hopefully get Judd and Bower back, and the Crows aren't in any better form than us. If we can come away with a 2-2 record, we will be on track, albeit with a shaky start. I agree

On the other hand, if we cant beat the crow, with all their outs, where exactly are we. Dont overlook the fact theri record against is scary.

It is a bit different having family bbq's for Brisbane families compared to Carlton. There are only a few players with kids at our club...Andrew Walker being one dad that I can think of. There are no ready made families here that create a "culture".

Can we keep Walker away from his sons AusKick??

Happy for him to breed his good looks and athletic ability, but I don't want him infecting our future father sons with his terrible ball drop.

If I was President of the CFC I would change the culture of the club by implementing each of the following on Monday morning:

1. A drinking ban for all of the year except for the 8 week player break and one week over Christmas. Even then no more than 3 drinks in one 24 hour period. Alcohol does not aid recovery, leads to off field incidents and when players are paid 200k plus in their early 20s they should be doing everything they can to get the best out of their body. That ban applies to the President, the Coach and other key staff. If you don't like it - go to another club. I note when the Lions won in 01 it was on the back of a drinking ban that was gradually lifted as the culture of the group was brought under control. A similar thing could happen over time. Right now we have to many piss heads.

2. Mandatory weekly boxing and wrestling sessions for all players. Get some toughness in the squad, if we lose a few to injury in the short term tough. We aren't winning a flag this year or next.

3. A three times weekly "football skills" lecture series. Bring in past greats and guest lecturers to go through things like tactics, nutrition etc. Our guys need to be taught the academics of football. Obviously make this as practical as possible. Also go into the history of the club - they should be taught to live and breathe Carlton.

4. 5 times a week skills session. You walk, eat, sleep and shit with a football in your hands. Back to basics on kicking, handpassing etc. No excuses.

5. Each player would be linked to a specific primary school in the area. Like the old "adopt a cop" scheme. The players go to the school every few weeks and talk with the kids, go to watch some of their junior games etc. Get them re-understanding the passion of the average child footy fan. This gets lost in this professional era.

Swann is a great CEO - nothing to change there.

But the culture of the club needs changing - that is the Presidents job.
You would get my vote, i sh1t you not.

somthing has to be done with this club before we become a richmond style club with nothing for 30 odd years.

Yet ratt's has not spoken to Fev, is it just me or does that scream gutless and lack of leadership from him.

Culture is never shown in words it is all about action and leading from the front, doing, acting going hard at everything you do. I do not see this at the club. the only person that seems to be doing his job is Swan.

Yet ratt's has not spoken to Fev, is it just me or does that scream gutless and lack of leadership from him.

Culture is never shown in words it is all about action and leading from the front, doing, acting going hard at everything you do. I do not see this at the club. the only person that seems to be doing his job is Swan.

He isnt a Carlton player so who cares and why should he anyway?

Number 4,

It is the bonding culture that is interesting....We may not have many dads or families but we can still organise get togethers with girlfriends or the players larger families.

I am not saying that this is going to change our culture but it is just an example of how another club is bonding their players together....

It would be interesting to understand what the other successful clubs like Geelong and St Kilda do to generate that team spirit...

Laminex,

Agree 100%

By the way, do you realise that the latest business man to go on the carlton Board (a few weeks ago) has hardly ever been to a football match and has never followed carlton passionately like we do !!

That should create a lot of positive culture around Visy Park.....

To the dicks saying "trade Gibbs is stupid" - do you understand context? I said we should look at it depending on the offer - everyone is tradeabe.

If we gave up Gibbs for two first round picks from GC and then traded a first round pick for Roughy (he is unconctracted), Hampson plus first round for Boak and Trengove you wouldn't do that?

Gibbs and Hampson for Boak, Trengove and Roughy - a forward line of Henderson, Trengove and Roughy sets us up for 5 years plus of goals (add smalls in Yarran and Betts and in 2 years close to best forward line in the comp). Waite goes back and our backline is fantastic.

Then a midfield of Judd, Murphy, Lucas, Simpson, Boak etc.

Likely to get a trade acceptable for Gibbs - no. But if we did...