Looking to play next year with no previous experience

Skills skills skills skills skills skills skills skills skills skills skills skills skills skills skills skills skills skills skills skills skills skills skills skills skills skills skills skills.

fitness you can get up during training, but your kicking and skills will take much much MUCH longer to perfect. everyone's a little unfit at the start of pre-season, but most players will regain their skills in their first few sessions. it'll take time and hard work. talk to your coach about it, i'm sure he'll be more than happy to help you. it's so worth it when you start drilling lace out low flat kicks.

Yeah skills are a bit of a downfall for me at the moment. We're doing a lot of handball drills at the moment, which I'm not too bad at but then we swap to our less dominant hand and that feels tremendously awkward, moreso when I see other players have no real problem with it.

I'm really hanging out for the day I can consistently spear a ball to another player.

Yeah skills are a bit of a downfall for me at the moment. We're doing a lot of handball drills at the moment, which I'm not too bad at but then we swap to our less dominant hand and that feels tremendously awkward, moreso when I see other players have no real problem with it.

I'm really hanging out for the day I can consistently spear a ball to another player.

Reallly interesting thread.

Megabob - I see you're in Adelaide - did you grow up your whole life never having kicked a footy?

Reallly interesting thread.

Megabob - I see you're in Adelaide - did you grow up your whole life never having kicked a footy?
During primary school I had a kick throughout the day, playing marks up or whatever else it was we did. In high school I didn't play any sports at all, apart from filling in every now and then for the undermanned soccer team.

Apart from that, I never really did anything to a greater extent than have a kick on the odd weekend, I've always played soccer so that's I devoted most of my time too. I've been a footy nut for as long as I can remember, but this year my interest became a bit more intense, to the extent in that the last half of my soccer season my interest waned and I convinced myself that I'm playing footy next year.

I think I'm just aware that I can't play sport forever, and it would be a huge regret of mine if I never got to play the sport I love, even if it's just for a year.

During primary school I had a kick throughout the day, playing marks up or whatever else it was we did. In high school I didn't play any sports at all, apart from filling in every now and then for the undermanned soccer team.

Apart from that, I never really did anything to a greater extent than have a kick on the odd weekend, I've always played soccer so that's I devoted most of my time too. I've been a footy nut for as long as I can remember, but this year my interest became a bit more intense, to the extent in that the last half of my soccer season my interest waned and I convinced myself that I'm playing footy next year.

I think I'm just aware that I can't play sport forever, and it would be a huge regret of mine if I never got to play the sport I love, even if it's just for a year.

ok, so you're not coming in completely cold.

I played footy and soccer over many decades, but around your age I focused more on footy, taking training seriously, etc, and those next 10 years were easily the fittest years of my life, I was able to maintain excellent fitness into my mid-30s.

I agree with what others have said, grab a footy, do laps bouncing the footy, if goals are still up, take a pot shot from 40 metres, collect, and just keep doing it over and over and over. Find a mate to have plenty of kick to kick sessions with - try and get that accuracy going over 45m on both feet.

I actually remember having a similar experience to you in my first few nights of pre-season training, I couldn't believe the running power of the fittest blokes, their capacity to just keep going and going - you may not get to that level of running power, but with hard work you can improve tremendously from where you are starting off.

Cheers, I always like to read about people who have had a similar experience to what I'm doing right now. When preseason kicks off proper, I can definitely see myself being in the best shape of my life. Even before Christmas when we were told we weren't going to go all out yet, there was still some bloody hard work involved.

Since the break up for the Christmas break I've running down to the nearby primary school and just running end to end of the oval, occasionally taking a shot at goal or just trying to keep a distanced kick as low as I can. There's only so much I can do by myself at the moment but training starts again next week so that should help me along my way.

I am enjoying this thread a lot. I was in a very similar position last year. Being 25 and having a huge passion for AFL but never having played the game in my life. Coming from the ACT I had also never really kicked a footy except for the odd kick at lunch during school. I played rugby during high school and soccer for years, I also played national level water polo which surprisingly did not help me footy one little bit lol!
I decided last year that if I was ever going to play footy it would have to be now as I did not want to be in the same boat as you being older and regretting never giving footy a real go. I joined my local clubs div 3 team and to start with my fitness was terrible. This was not helped by being a smoker for a good 5 years. I started training and was really surprised by how fit all the other blokes were. I am an athletic guy and a decent size for footy (6’3 and about 85kgs) but my running capacity was very low. Coming from a soccer/rugby background my kicking was very much one foot dominated and I would kick across my body a lot. I think the main thing that helped my kicking was find a ball grip that works for you. It took me a few different grips to finally find one that made my ball drop much better and in turn helped my drop punts.
Once the season started it took me a few games to break into the team and then I was played on the wing which for me was a really difficult position seeing as my running capacity was not very good compared to the players I was playing against, plus there were also much more experienced at the game and I just ended up running after them all game. My coach decided to give me a shot at full forward in a game and I managed to kick 3 goals in my first quarter in the forward line including my fist goal of my life a soccer volley from about 20m out after getting my opponent under the ball and turning around and hitting it first time on the volley. This moment made all the hard training and hours of horrible running worth it. Even though it is only div 3 footy it is a moment I will never forget.
Played the remainder of the season in the forward line and kicked a couple of goals a game average. I think my soccer background really helped around the goals as you somewhat have an instinct of where the goals are without having to really look.
Just about to start my second pre-season and I am in the process of giving up the smokes which I think will help my aerobic capacity quite a lot.
Really great thread. Keep it up MegaBob you will not regret it!!!

I am enjoying this thread a lot. I was in a very similar position last year. Being 25 and having a huge passion for AFL but never having played the game in my life. Coming from the ACT I had also never really kicked a footy except for the odd kick at lunch during school. I played rugby during high school and soccer for years, I also played national level water polo which surprisingly did not help me footy one little bit lol!
I decided last year that if I was ever going to play footy it would have to be now as I did not want to be in the same boat as you being older and regretting never giving footy a real go. I joined my local clubs div 3 team and to start with my fitness was terrible. This was not helped by being a smoker for a good 5 years. I started training and was really surprised by how fit all the other blokes were. I am an athletic guy and a decent size for footy (6’3 and about 85kgs) but my running capacity was very low. Coming from a soccer/rugby background my kicking was very much one foot dominated and I would kick across my body a lot. I think the main thing that helped my kicking was find a ball grip that works for you. It took me a few different grips to finally find one that made my ball drop much better and in turn helped my drop punts.
Once the season started it took me a few games to break into the team and then I was played on the wing which for me was a really difficult position seeing as my running capacity was not very good compared to the players I was playing against, plus there were also much more experienced at the game and I just ended up running after them all game. My coach decided to give me a shot at full forward in a game and I managed to kick 3 goals in my first quarter in the forward line including my fist goal of my life a soccer volley from about 20m out after getting my opponent under the ball and turning around and hitting it first time on the volley. This moment made all the hard training and hours of horrible running worth it. Even though it is only div 3 footy it is a moment I will never forget.
Played the remainder of the season in the forward line and kicked a couple of goals a game average. I think my soccer background really helped around the goals as you somewhat have an instinct of where the goals are without having to really look.
Just about to start my second pre-season and I am in the process of giving up the smokes which I think will help my aerobic capacity quite a lot.
Really great thread. Keep it up MegaBob you will not regret it!!!

Always happy to read a success story, good to hear you're throwing away the cigarettes, you'll feel better for it. Good luck for the next few months of hard training, hopefully we both get out of it unscathed and ready for the new season.

One thing I have noticed about being in a footy club, is that it's very inclusive. It might just be the clubs I've been affiliated with in the past, but so far, everyone in the squad has been hugely encouraging, it's almost foreign, especially when compared to my old soccer club where it felt there were factions in the team, and players would only interact with their friends and hostility towards others wasn't uncommon. Footy has a great environment so far.

.... it's almost foreign, especially when compared to my old soccer club where it felt there were factions in the team, and players would only interact with their friends and hostility towards others wasn't uncommon. Footy has a great environment so far.

Many soccer people will not like hearing this, but that is my experience with the soccer clubs I have been involved with as well.

There's really no comparison between the sort of team spirit you come across at a soccer club (almost non-existent), and the one you find in footy clubs.

In soccer, you find more the "star" mentality, where blokes think they are more important than the team (and coaches are happy to pander to that). It's often as much individualistic as it is team oriented.

You rarely find that in footy clubs.

My personal experience is that they involve completely different cultures.

Many soccer people will not like hearing this, but that is my experience with the soccer clubs I have been involved with as well.

There's really no comparison between the sort of team spirit you come across at a soccer club (almost non-existent), and the one you find in footy clubs.

In soccer, you find more the "star" mentality, where blokes think they are more important than the team (and coaches are happy to pander to that). It's often as much individualistic as it is team oriented.

You rarely find that in footy clubs.

My personal experience is that they involve completely different cultures.
That is absolutely spot on. There are the star players, and coaches are all too happy to accommodate and enable that behaviour. So far, that hasn't been the case at footy and I'm all for that. People have gone out of their way to introduce themselves to me, which is fantastic, while at soccer, the more senior players would wait until the new players introduced themselves to them or until they proved themselves.

I believe it's a cultural thing.

In footy, it's about sacrificing yourself for the team, and there are many ways you can do that on the field, and you don't have to be the best player in the team to do those acts - the coaching staff will love it, will encourage it, and it will be at the very top of their team rules.

The same sentiment does not exist in soccer.

A have a good mate who has been a successful footy coach in the top league in one of the Northern states.

He was invited to help out with one of the soccer clubs in the state league which was going through a bad patch, on a consultancy basis, just to observe match day preparations and the like.

After one game, where they had lost, the key thing my mate observed was that the whole team walked off in different directions, immediately after the final whistle, to talk to family, or girl friends or whatever it was, there was no coming together after the match to get immediate feedback from the coach.

Partly because it's this whole individualistic culture: it's not my fault, I'm not to blame, it's someone else's fault, there was zero collective acceptance of responsibility.

Footy culture is that you are in it together as a team, you cop it as a team, you work it out as a team and you enjoy success as a team.

Pre-Season Week 1 5/1/2013

So after three weeks break, we got back into training tonight. It started with the obligatory do a couple of laps and stretching, and then we were told we were going to do a couple minutes of 'work' (from now on referred to as running). It wasn't a hard drill to understand, sprint 80 metres and then jog back. Rest up for a few seconds, and do it again. We did this five times, and I'm because I'm not very smart and thought I could maintain this over the duration of the drill, I went nuts for the first couple and then three-quartered from there on. I was told afterwards the squad normally does 10 of these, so I'm not looking forward to when that happens.

Afterwards we started the usual handball/kicking drills and then we moved on to what I dread (and enjoy, in a masochist way) kicking on the run to players on the lead. Out of all the kicks I did, I was happy with maybe one of them, most of them I kicked too high. Even though they got to the target, it took an eternity for the ball to fall and in a game situation that just wouldn't be good enough.

Even though I'm still enthusiastic about everything at the moment, I am finding myself getting discouraged at my abilities (or lack thereof). My kicking and fitness, even though I have been trying to remedy this in the brief break we've had, is still not at the level I'd like or near where everyone else is. I know I am new to this and I'm not sure how many people get nervous at training, but that's happening and that could very well be throwing me off, but I'm still getting a bit despondent. I've always been told I've been too hard on myself when playing sports, but the amount of mistakes I'm making do fill me with just the smallest inkling of doubt.

I ain't stopping though.

I wouldn't stress too much about making mistakes with skills. Think on the skill error from the perspective of if there was anything physical you did wrong, or was a little bit off and try and fix it with the next kick/handball.

If you work on the defensive side of your game (chasing, tackling, sheperding, calling for the ball at the right time, leading at the right time etc) you can make a positive contribution to the team while working on your skills to a level you are satisfied with.

Man, I've neglected this thread. Apologies to anyone keeping tabs on this.

Haven't missed a session yet, and barring anything unforeseen, that shouldn't change, it's really the highlight of my week. We have starting running proper, and bloody hell it is hard work. Definitely the hardest I've been involved in (sorry soccer). I know I touched upon this previously, but the comradery among the players is a great thing to behold. As one of the coaches said, we're all going through this together, and that creates a bond within the team. Not too much to report on at the moment, just a lot of running going on and me enjoying it.

I've also picked up the name 'Fasolo', I guess I must look a bit like him, I don't know. Wearing Collingwood gear all the time may have had a contributing factor though. ;)

I wouldn't stress too much about making mistakes with skills. Think on the skill error from the perspective of if there was anything physical you did wrong, or was a little bit off and try and fix it with the next kick/handball.

If you work on the defensive side of your game (chasing, tackling, sheperding, calling for the ball at the right time, leading at the right time etc) you can make a positive contribution to the team while working on your skills to a level you are satisfied with.

One thing I've heard a lot from the coaches and players is to not get my head down from making a mistake, it just happens in football. Which I see the truth in, it happens in AFL too. As we've started a more intensive running program in training, the margin between me and the main group in terms of fitness has broadened somewhat, with me lagging just slighty. I am legitimately trying as hard as I can, which I think the group appreciates. I'm just starting to get my head around the physical aspects of the game, and soccer has helped me more than I anticipated with sheperding (more body positioning than anything else) and making leads, so I am happy about that.

don't give up and keep going hard at it. I'm in the same boat fitness and kicking wise.

Cheers. Every week feels like progress and I can't remember being as enthusiastic about sport in a long time. Hope your preseason is coming along well.

The thing that all coaches love when you make a mistake is to push hard to rectify it. Depending on the drill this might mean running to the contest that you kicked to, or running hard to the next cone in the drill. Either way, instead of stopping and chastising yourself, push yourself to fix your mistake.

Miskicks are easily forgotten, being slack isn't.

You sound dedicated, and eager to better yourself, you'll be fine and your teammates and coaching staff will love you (no homo)

Keep up the hard work Bob, I also have a mate that started footy this season and his already gazillion times better than me.

Footy is definitely a spiritual sport, one of the many kind sports you can ponder upon every saturday arvo and a great way to bond with the boys at your club ;).

Alright, I'll throw another entry into this thread. Still hitting training twice a week, I've only missed one since November and that was because I had a slight injury that kept me out. Fitness is still coming along and since taking advice from here and from the boys out on the track my kicking has improved tenfold. I'm more comfortable with kicking on the run and I have managed to hit a few low and hard kicks which I'm thrilled about. One snag I've hit is kicking into the breeze, I either sky it or completely flub the ball drop and skittle the ball across the ground.

Another skill I've been trying to work on is getting the hands out to mark. I tend to try and chest mark most of the kicks that come my way, and while that's fine I do need to be prepared to stick the hands out and bank on snapping the ball up. Normally I'm not bad at marking the ball but now I'm overthinking it a bit and dropped a few tonight, so I'm not sure if that's mental or just me trying to get used to a less safe way of marking.

But yeah, so far so good, I'm really enjoying it so far, so much so that it's the highlight of my week. Not long now til trial games kick off. I said from the outset I just want to play and learn the game and was fine in being in the C grade, but now I'm not sure what it is, my complacency leaving or my competitiveness kicking in but now I want to be the best I can be for myself and for the team, and that hasn't been an attitude I've had for a long time. So I'm hoping to sneak into the reserves. Going to have to wait and see though I guess.

I come from a footy family, but I've played soccer as well since I was a young kid.

If you're playing soccer every weekend and have done for years, the fitness should be fine. Seems like that part is pretty much sussed out, though.

I've had plenty of soccer mates come over to footy. Around the age of 16 it starts happening. These guys usually come from soccer families, y'know, their dad being from England or Italy or something. They don't grow up watching footy, so they do struggle around stoppages and with positioning. But considering you're on BF, you probably won't have that issue.

The other thing is that you'll probably have a massive soccer hook when you kick. Wastes energy and you don't get a nice spin on the Sherrin (or Burley...). It's probably awkward to do at first, but the difference is pretty notable – it's easier to get distance and speed on your kicks.

And don't take yourself of footy seriously. Who cares if you have a weird handball? All the other w***ers down there might've played football forever, but they're still kicking around a suburban league. Don't feel embarrassed or discourage. Just run all day when you have games. You'll pick up plenty of possessions. Go hard at the footy and the coach and your teammates will like you.

That is absolutely spot on. There are the star players, and coaches are all too happy to accommodate and enable that behaviour. So far, that hasn't been the case at footy and I'm all for that. People have gone out of their way to introduce themselves to me, which is fantastic, while at soccer, the more senior players would wait until the new players introduced themselves tothem or until they proved themselves.
Interesting you say this.

There's way more w***ers in footy, I reckon. I played WAAFA last year, just Sunday league ammos, so it's nothing special at all. But there's primadonnas and blokes who completely aren't interested in speaking to you. There's a real dad's army and clique mentality (old man played for club, son is seen as some kind of hero) to footy sides, especially in the country. I dunno. I think soccer was less judgemental or something? But the 'vibe' at footy training is way more unique and cool than at soccer.

The camaraderie thing gets trotted out and it's mostly wank. The footy coaches who achieved little (100 reserves games in the WAAFA...) go on about it way more than coaches who played WAFL and VFL footy in the 70s and 80s. Still, it is emphasised a bit more in footy, and the teamwork element is something that got me down at soccer – it's nice having a full forward yell "good on ya, mate" to you, but you'd never even get a thumbs up or head nod when a striker slots in your cross...

General update, then I'll get to Silent Alarm's post.

Training is going well, I'm noticing that my kicking is getting pretty decent, although for the life I cannot figure out how to kick against the wind. Does my head in. Anyway, I was comfortable with my kicking up until last week, where we started wearing our boots, and I've noticed the ball flies off the foot much easier than with shoes, so I'm just figuring out the trajectory of kicking with boots now, last week I ended up overshooting and just kicking over my target or overthinking it and just dinking it, which I'm not happy about, but it shouldn't take too long to wrap my head around adjusting to boots.

Training has stepped up in the last few weeks and we've been playing a few mini games in training and from what I've been told, I'll be hanging around the back pocket, which I'm fine with. I'm still a bit shaky with fundamentals, for example last week there was an instance in one of these scratch matches where it was congested and I ended up with the ball, and I managed to handball it over the top and to a clear player, I was happy with that but was told to really complete that play I needed to help out the recipient of the ball with a shepherd or another option to lay the ball off. It's all been taken on board though and the coaches say I'm doing pretty well for a first season in the game, so I quite happy with my progress.

We have our first trial game next weekend and I'm quite excited about it. All this training over the last few months and all of a sudden, the season is almost upon us. As exciting as the prospect of getting into a game is, it's also quite daunting, I'm prepared to not be prepared enough, if that makes sense. I feel like I've put in at training, but the hits will be harder, movement will be quicker and I'm wondering how I'll cope with that with never being in that environment before.

As a sidenote, I picked up a pair of adidas adipure 11pro's and I'm quite enamoured with them. They're ridiculously light (compared to Puma Kings, which I normally swear by) and I feel like they've been 'worn in' in quite a short time. Would recommend.

I come from a footy family, but I've played soccer as well since I was a young kid.

If you're playing soccer every weekend and have done for years, the fitness should be fine. Seems like that part is pretty much sussed out, though.

I've had plenty of soccer mates come over to footy. Around the age of 16 it starts happening. These guys usually come from soccer families, y'know, their dad being from England or Italy or something. They don't grow up watching footy, so they do struggle around stoppages and with positioning. But considering you're on BF, you probably won't have that issue.

The other thing is that you'll probably have a massive soccer hook when you kick. Wastes energy and you don't get a nice spin on the Sherrin (or Burley...). It's probably awkward to do at first, but the difference is pretty notable – it's easier to get distance and speed on your kicks.

And don't take yourself of footy seriously. Who cares if you have a weird handball? All the other Moos down there might've played football forever, but they're still kicking around a suburban league. Don't feel embarrassed or discourage. Just run all day when you have games. You'll pick up plenty of possessions. Go hard at the footy and the coach and your teammates will like you.

Yeah I'm not too concerned with fitness, I'm nowhere near the top tier of the squad but I'm quite comfortable with where I am at the moment.

I have noticed that I have that soccer hook that you're talking about, and I am working on getting rid of it, but I do mentally lapse at times and occasionally fall into the trap of repeating it. Slowly but surely, it is disappearing though. You are right, kicking a footy in the more conventional way definitely yields more distance and accuracy, less susceptible to shanks as well which I'm all for.

Interesting you say this.

There's way more Moos in footy, I reckon. I played WAAFA last year, just Sunday league ammos, so it's nothing special at all. But there's primadonnas and blokes who completely aren't interested in speaking to you. There's a real dad's army and clique mentality (old man played for club, son is seen as some kind of hero) to footy sides, especially in the country. I dunno. I think soccer was less judgemental or something? But the 'vibe' at footy training is way more unique and cool than at soccer.

The camaraderie thing gets trotted out and it's mostly wank. The footy coaches who achieved little (100 reserves games in the WAAFA...) go on about it way more than coaches who played WAFL and VFL footy in the 70s and 80s. Still, it is emphasised a bit more in footy, and the teamwork element is something that got me down at soccer – it's nice having a full forward yell "good on ya, mate" to you, but you'd never even get a thumbs up or head nod when a striker slots in your cross...

You are right to have a cynical view on a team, at my old soccer club it was exactly what you described. There are superstars who believe they're God's gift to whatever club they happen to be at, even though they tell everyone how good they are, they're still in an amateur league. I honestly wasn't expecting the experience I'm having thus far in a footy club though. I was walking into the club thinking that there wouldn't be much difference from the soccer club, some good guys to talk to every week and some 'stars' that you'll tolerate but not think much of. The reality though has been better than I could have envisioned, I legitimately think highly of everyone at the club and no one really gives off an aura of being the best player around. I think I just lucked out with picking the right club. I can just as easily talk to the a grade captain just as much as anyone in the c grade. We're also quite a young squad too, I'm probably one of the older ones around to be honest.

Another contributing factor could be our coaching staff. Our first team coach is a former AFL player and he's absolute class to watch and listen to. I also feel that would ground anyone who thinks that they're better than where they are. Not big headed at all which helps too.

Onto the camaraderie point, I'm still getting used to the difference in footy. Playing soccer, a good pass was unheralded and pretty much expected, and if it wasn't delivered it was met with exasperation and a raising of the arms. Meanwhile in footy, we all bugger up somewhere, but I'm being taught that it just happens, and if I were to stuff up, to get up and try again next time. A nice kick or mark is celebrated by more than one person and encouragement isn't hard to find. I do truly enjoy the atmosphere so far playing football, far more than playing soccer over the last few years.

What to do with a broken nose/deviated septum? Copped a nice hit to the nose (when there was like 5 minutes to go in the last quarter ffs) and there was blood everywhere. Breathing is a bit compromised and looking in the mirror my nose is definitely bent out of shape.

have a day off tomorrow and see a doctor?

My understanding of broken noses is that you should get them reset pretty much straight away before it heals, go see a doc tomorrow (unless you like the look, chicks dig scars afterall)

Funnily enough I have a scar on my nose. Not the most impressive story though. My 8 week old Jack Russell bit me when I was asleep (puppy teeth are a formidable force).

My nose feels odd though. It feels perpetually blocked up, I'm not sure if the blood coming from my nose dried up up there or what. Can't smell anything either. It's definitely a bit bent out of whack. Will go to the doctor tomorrow though and see what's happening.

Looking to play next year with no previous experience