Lovett hate??

• Thread starter Thread starter rumblah

The reality is, if there's any leadership at our club, a player from Port (lets say Travis Boak) should be targeted next time we meet them.

It was a deliberate ploy by Choco to get the Port guys to intimidate us.

Something that we've lacked over the past few years is hardness and toughness.

I don't think we crashed into their kids hard enough. It's why I miss blokes like Solomon and a young MJ in our side.

And how was it any different the the other ones that happen every game including when our players do them?

I think the fuss being made is because he gave Lovett a mouthfull or two.

There was no malice in the tackle and you guys really are carrying on a bit about what was a pretty small event.

Bollocks. His behaviour was evidence of the malice. Although I think S.Taylor is the biggest lowlife of round 1. Always thought that man was a **** and now he's confirmed it.

My initial reaction to the coathanger was "you ****ing dog"

My initial reaction to the post coathanger sledge was "you are making yourself look like an idiot, get out of his face and get on with it"

My later thoughts on the matter went something like this 'Well, he didn't mean to make contact to the head, just unfortunate, shouldn't of carried on with it like a twat, Lovett was man enough to get on with it'

I would like to see more manly acts (Pettigrews action was not manly, not to be mistaken), more revved up confrontations. I would have liked McPhee or someone close to the vicinity to run up and confront Pettigrew, bump him, hit him. I may get a spray for it, but I think it's more important to have an image of sticking up for your mate on the ground, that you aren't going to cop that **** then getting that next goal in that game. I don't care if that person then got reported and missed a week. I don't care if the free kick is reversed. It shows a passion for your mates and what we stand for. But that's just me....

On a side note, if Fletcher got two weeks a couple of seasons ago for attempting to trip (I vaguely remember this, please clarify), how is a trip any different to a closeline? Is it not worse? How can attempting to trip someone justify weeks and then a closeline is deemed fair game to the tribunal?

This suggest that it was a professional penalty/cynical penalty in that he desired to stop the opposition from scoring. This means that it was intentional and that he should get weeks.

I never said it was Pettigrew's intention to give away a professional free kick. In fact I stated it looked unintentional. I ... kaysee... stated it was a good free kick to give away. :rolleyes:

You should get weeks. :p

My initial reaction to the coathanger was "you ****ing dog"

My initial reaction to the post coathanger sledge was "you are making yourself look like an idiot, get out of his face and get on with it"

My later thoughts on the matter went something like this 'Well, he didn't mean to make contact to the head, just unfortunate, shouldn't of carried on with it like a twat, Lovett was man enough to get on with it'

FWIW, that was the part that I would have encouraged in one of our players. The tackle was careless and deserved penalty, definitely, but what was done was done and Pettigrew couldn't do anything about it after that.

Standing over Lovett though, and giving him an earful was masterful. True Machiavellian style. He recognised that he was going to be penalised and made the best of it by trying to get into Lovett's head. Lovett had no choice then but to cop it sweet. In spite of the penalty then, well done Pettigrew. We need a bastard like that.

The only question I have was - was there a racial taunt involved?

The majority of it was one-upmanship.

I don't think it's fair to ask that, unless there's some mention of it, like Minson last year.

He will be hated more now its come out he's squeeled like a pig. He probably felt entitled too for what happened but he's broke the code, next game will be f un :)

:confused:

Who squealed like a pig? Was it;
a) Andrew Lovett?
b) Michael Pettigrew?
c) Will Minson?

Why would a, b or c have felt entitled to do this?
What is the mysterious 'code' FishingRick04 is referring to?
Is the 'code' a Port Adelaide 'code', or is it one of the more well known 'codes'?

Brogan is a weak piece of shit.

Is it surprising though, remember Lade and his thuggish knee through Hirds ribs in the '03 semi?

They are team of gutless wonders who will get whats coming to them from us sooner rather than later.

Mark my words.

Is it surprising though, remember Lade and his thuggish knee through Hirds ribs in the '03 semi?

They are team of gutless wonders who will get whats coming to them from us sooner rather than later.

Mark my words.

mmmm... I have some kind of idea what the Port Adelaide 'code' might be.

Mark my words.
They got what was coming to them in the 2007 GF I believe. 119 will never mean the same for Port Adelaide ever again:o

All clubs now that Lovett has been easy to suck in verbally in the past and i assume it was a directive for the players to keep at him all day.

I would be surprised if we are the only club that does it. I think all 16 clubs in the AFL would look at verbally getting into other players. Part of the game.

Yes totally uncalled for and unsportsman like behaviour. Pettigrew should not call himself a sporting professional with behaviour like that.

What actually happened there? Pettigrew got him high no doubt, but what was with the verbal spray after that? was something said before that? Surely there is mroe to the story.

Although, credit to Lovett in that incident for keeping his cool. I'd like to think that Knights is having an influence on him and his maturity.

Agree on Lovett keeping his cool.

He will be hated more now its come out he's squeeled like a pig. He probably felt entitled too for what happened but he's broke the code, next game will be f un

Brett Burton like, cry to the tribunal. Code broken. I hope it does add to the rivalry and fires the sides up in 2010. Because it is getting a little lop sided at the moment.

The reality is, if there's any leadership at our club, a player from Port (lets say Travis Boak) should be targeted next time we meet them.

Go for it, by all means. If we flog you by 41 points when you are concentrating on the footy, i would hate to see the scoreline when you worry about getting into players and not on the footy.

Dean Brogan has been suspended for 1 week for striking Andrew Lovett.
Sucked in dumbass!

No Video (you suck channel 7), inconsistant evidence, lovett saying "it isn't the hardest bump you get" and brogan saying he milked it. 1 week. The lesson is, you are better off shirt fronting someone, and fracturing their jaw putting them on the sidelines for 10 weeks. You get nothing for that. Gee nick maxwell played well on the weekend.

Oh well, there is always next week. Expecting the bombers to win by 30+ over the worst team in the AFL next week.

Still can't believe how well we have had it over the bombers lately, won 11 of the past 12 games or something like that. Strange how some teams match up well on others. We can't beat sydney for the life of us.

Who squealed like a pig? Was it;
a) Andrew Lovett?
b) Michael Pettigrew?
c) Will Minson?

Why would a, b or c have felt entitled to do this?
What is the mysterious 'code' FishingRick04 is referring to?
Is the 'code' a Port Adelaide 'code', or is it one of the more well known 'codes'?

I assume you are 17 and haven't been around long enough. Everyone knows the player code, where a players doesn't "dob" on anther player, a bit high school ish, but supposedly that's how it goes.

Supposedly in our paper today, Lovett told Brogan after the game that he was trying to milk a free (a quarter time, go figure) and that he would look after Brogan.

Personally doesn't bother me, if Brogan didn't knock him over in the first place nothign would have happened, but supposedly every time there is a scuffle or melee and someone falls over there will now be a report and suspension if this is the precedant! Pretty sad.

I assume you are 17 and haven't been around long enough. Everyone knows the player code, where a players doesn't "dob" on anther player, a bit high school ish, but supposedly that's how it goes.

Supposedly in our paper today, Lovett told Brogan after the game that he was trying to milk a free (a quarter time, go figure) and that he would look after Brogan.

Personally doesn't bother me, if Brogan didn't knock him over in the first place nothign would have happened, but supposedly every time there is a scuffle or melee and someone falls over there will now be a report and suspension if this is the precedant! Pretty sad.

I see where you're coming from mate, but unfortunately today's football has changed a lot from the good old days.

The AFL seems hell bent on cleaning up all aspects of the game. That to me takes away any character the game had. Might as well have robots taking to the field. Might end up playing better than our current squad anyway.

I see where you're coming from mate, but unfortunately today's football has changed a lot from the good old days.

The AFL seems hell bent on cleaning up all aspects of the game. That to me takes away any character the game had. Might as well have robots taking to the field. Might end up playing better than our current squad anyway.

That must be why Nick Maxwell got off, and Steve Johnson got off? It is ok to make forceful front on contact to the jaw, or try and throw punches. But for the love of god, don't bump someone!!!!

More stupidity by the VFL, the most frustrating game to watch because of the inconsistencies of the umpires/tribunal. I use to love going to the footy.

Brogan's a clown who deserves everything he cops.

There's nothing tough about trying to bowl over someone half your size.... or punch a doctor, or hit a guy at the airport :thumbsd:

Code is long gone and for the better. If you do the crime you do the time.

I like the code and think all players would stand by it, unless there was malice intent from the provoker e.g. Minson>Cornes/Selwood>Hedland, IMO Port targeted Lovett as our danger man after his strong preseason, and roughed him up, simply Lovett making them pay the price for it. Thought Brogan was hard done by, but thought Pettigrew was lucky, Reckless (lucky not to be intentional due to spray) High Contact and Low Impact, intent was similar to a few of Fletcher trips he has been reported for in the past.

There was no malice intended in the coathanger. Lovett took him on, Pettigrew stuck out the arm in an effort to grab Lovett, and caught him high. UNfortunate, but it does happen. Not sure where the spray came from, but I did notice earlier in the game, Travis Boak was having a go at Lovett too. Of course, he wasn't in his face as much, but he certainly did have a lot to say to him. There must be more to it in my opinion, but we may never know.

Part of the Pettigrew spray may have been to get Lovett to react, and thus reverse the free kick, but to Lovett's credit, he kept his cool, did not retaliate, and furthermore, went on and kicked the goal.