ImperialPurple

Matthew Pavlich Medallist
May 26, 2003
South Freo
SFFC, Aussie Women's Cricket, HNK
Has apparently joined the club again, but this time as the Player Development Officer.

It was mentioned in passing on one of the news reports last night or the night before (maybe Ch10??), but there has been no official announcement - nothing on the website...

If this appointment is correct, I reckon it's a bloody good one. From all accounts Luke's an absolute top bloke, he's won a "Best Clubman" award, is very popular and respected enough to have been a part of the leadership group last year despite not playing any games at AFL level.

Well done Luke! Good to know he's still on board. :thumbsu:

Has apparently joined the club again, but this time as the Player Development Officer.

It was mentioned in passing on one of the news reports last night or the night before (maybe Ch10??), but there has been no official announcement - nothing on the website...

If this appointment is correct, I reckon it's a bloody good one. From all accounts Luke's an absolute top bloke, he's won a "Best Clubman" award, is very popular and respected enough to have been a part of the leadership group last year despite not playing any games at AFL level.

Well done Luke! Good to know he's still on board. :thumbsu:

Good news, I hope he's groomed for an assistant coaching role in future. If he still intends to play for the Royals it's probably not really practical to have him coaching at this stage, but one day. The way he played makes him the sort of bloke that I'd want to play under.

Great announcement. I've always been his number 1 fan with the way he played: Hard, tough and fair. Strewth even in a tutorial class a couple of years back on Sports Sociology we were asked to shout out our favourite sporting hero. Among lots of Michael Jordon's, Darren Lockyer's, Wally Lewis's, Michael Voss's (would've been nice to hear Roger Merret for everything he did in the development of Queensland footy) I just had to shout out mine: Luke Webster. The class fell silent and was asked by the tutor "Who?". I explained about his knee recos and willingness to keep coming back after all that and getting back in to the Freo side whilst being a great clubman and that he was the one role model I'd want to be like.

This bloke kept perservering after 3 knee recos and played in another finals campaign after coming back only to fall again to a knee reco and still made it back in to WAFL but had his career cut short. Great club man and I really hoped he would've made it back but strewth I'm very glad he's back involved with the club. I myself am very, very happy with this.

Good onya Luke :)

Luke Webster

Write your reply...