jonbe54

Now that the mods on main board have made the momentous and oh so surprising decision that this year there shouldn't be any thread bumping there are a some smart @rses on the main board sooking about 'trashy' new threads celebrating the new masters of the universe. First they trash us unmercifully all year, refusing to acknowledge achievements and persisting to post infantile OLD flog jokes, then when the mods muzzle us start whingeing about new threads. Wish they would get a clue and start thinking independently for a change.:rolleyes:

Twas always so, it just stands out more with the flood of attention.

They must pander to the minorities or there would only be one board left on BF, ours.

There a lots of hurt feelings out there and ego's need some stroking.

I'm really hoping a Back to Back salute can see some real hard-core "stick it up em'" action this time next year.:D

The main board for some reason :rolleyes:, seems to allow trolling of Collingwood almost in the manner of which Bay 13 is allowed for all clubs. Given this and the ammunition we'd have at our disposal by bumping threads on the Main Board, this was quite likely to happen.

You are wasting your time on the main board. If you want to talk about Collingwood, bring it here. If you want to have a dip at other clubs, take it to Bay 13.

The kingpin response to any insult laid on Collingwood:

"Yeah, but we won the flag."

:)

Agreed. Any positive thread about Collingwood on the main board is being deleted immediately.

They are very sad losers, I am afraid!

The kingpin response to any insult laid on Collingwood:

"Yeah, but we won the flag."

:)

Love it

Some of the mods are just messed up on the main board they are probally the people at work that get bullies by there boss and decide to get on BigFooty and feel better about themselves

New rule? It's been stickied up there for the best part of a year. And we let it go for a while but the incessant bumping of any old thread with the invariable inane comment like 'LOL' just started to grate after the first 1000 or so bumped threads.

One more thing: If you want to criticizs mods or moderation I suggest you contact us directly or admin.

Yeah don't feel any love there, the poor flogs simply don't understand about passion. In 5 decades supporting my pies I've been hearing the same tired old jokes trotted out year after year for about 4 of those decades. Honestly I don't think any of them have had an original thought about Collingwood in their entire families since the 1930's. Never mind it's always been us side by side against the rest that makes our passion stronger year by year. Maggies go you good things go!!

Guys, Grizzly is right. The rule already existed. One bumped thread here or there might have slipped through, but there were times where there were a large number of threads being bumped within minutes of each other which does nothing to help the main board. Also as Grizzly said, if you bump a thread with the intention just to laugh at posters rather than discuss the issue, it'll be more likely to be shut down.

There's nothing stopping anyone linking to these previous threads in a new thread and discussing them that way though, as far as I know.

There's no anti-Collingwood bias. This will be enforced for future bumps for any team.

Also, discussion of mods isn't on either. I'll leave this thread open to discuss main board threads and issues, but you have to steer clear of publically discussing the mods. Shoot off a pm to Fred, or to the mod you want to question if you have an issue.

Personally, I think there's too much sensitivity all around in these forums.

I've been banned twice in the last few months. The first time was when I went to the Hawthorn page and suggested that they might have difficulties in trading Tuck as they did with Jonathon Hay and Nathan Thompson. I thought it was a well known fact that the club traded those two because they were mentally unstable. Their moderator put a ban on me.

The other time was a similar trivial post to the supporters of another team. I cant even remember what I said. Another ban.

If supporters of other clubs cant take the heat, they should pull their heads in and start a knitting club. I think the problem is that they havent had to take the shit that Collingwood people have had to take over the years and they haven't developed spines that are structurally sound...

New rule? It's been stickied up there for the best part of a year. And we let it go for a while but the incessant bumping of any old thread with the invariable inane comment like 'LOL' just started to grate after the first 1000 or so bumped threads.

One more thing: If you want to criticizs mods or moderation I suggest you contact us directly or admin.

Then why not lock all threads more than a year old?

What is inane to you might be considered valid comment by a Collingwood supporter.

If I checked old threads from after the 2008 GF would I find that you have banned/locked the thread?

I have noticed that what is fair and reasonable moderation tends to mean different things; depending on who wins

Guys, Grizzly is right. The rule already existed. One bumped thread here or there might have slipped through, but there were times where there were a large number of threads being bumped within minutes of each other which does nothing to help the main board. Also as Grizzly said, if you bump a thread with the intention just to laugh at posters rather than discuss the issue, it'll be more likely to be shut down.

There's nothing stopping anyone linking to these previous threads in a new thread and discussing them that way though, as far as I know.

There's no anti-Collingwood bias. This will be enforced for future bumps for any team.

Also, discussion of mods isn't on either. I'll leave this thread open to discuss main board threads and issues, but you have to steer clear of publically discussing the mods. Shoot off a pm to Fred, or to the mod you want to question if you have an issue.

Fair enough smiddaz I'm on board, wasn't meant as criticism of mods but sloppy focus on my part makes it open to that interpretation. When I said that we had been muzzled by the mods I didn't mean that Collingwood posters in particular had been muzzled, merely that the new anti-bumping measure had denied us the opportunity Geelong and Hawthorn members had in previous years. Grizzly mate if you are monitoring I'd like to apologize for a sloppy post and come out publicly to express my complete confidence in you and your fellow mods impartiality and assure you I will watch my phraseology in future.

The main board is fairly hectic, and the main board mods obviously have lives outside the forum. Going and locking threads on page 100 of the board is something they wouldn't have the time to do.

As I said though, if an opposition fan bumps a thread unreasonably, report it and it will be closed.

Fair enough smiddaz I'm on board, wasn't meant as criticism of mods but sloppy focus on my part makes it open to that interpretation. When I said that we had been muzzled by the mods I didn't mean that Collingwood posters in particular had been muzzled, merely that the new anti-bumping measure had denied us the opportunity Geelong and Hawthorn members had in previous years.
You should be able to create a new thread and link to the threads you would've bumped in that thread, provided it is done properly (i.e more than just saying 'lulz, look at this idiot', as a few have).

I remember years ago I bumped a few threads on the main board where parrot was talking up Chris Bryan as the next Dean Cox :o. That was closed within minutes, so the closing on bumped threads isn't anything new, as I said.

Because people often add perfectly valid comment to them.

What is inane to you might be considered valid comment by a Collingwood supporter.

Probably, but irrelevant to what I posted. Bumping threads to rub it in are expressly prohibited. And often bumped threads are accompanied by an inane comment - be that from a Collingwood, Hawthorn or whatever supporter.

If I checked old threads from after the 2008 GF would I find that you have banned/locked the thread?

Why don't you go and have a look?

Make a comment about Collingwood = opinion
Collingwood supporters making a comment about another team = trolling

This is why threads attacking Collingwood (even after they win games eg. Geelong/Saints in H&A season, Prelim) will always be allowed to exist on the main board despite being an obvious troll in some cases.

I can only speak for myself but it has been the same for 4 years, won't change any time soon.

Personally, I find the main board to be a flame-fest. Most conversations just degenerate into rubbish. I reckon the club boards are a lot better.

I started a thread just yesterday on Bay 13 board titled "Superior Flags"

Sure the basis of the thread was to stir up some banter but generally harmless stuff. Late yesterday the thread title was changed to read as follows: "Superior Flags *Bandwagon Thread*

Who has the power to do this? Also , is allowed to happen? I posted it in the Bay due to it's content, it is exactly where it should be. Not happy about it I must say.:thumbsd:

Make a comment about Collingwood = opinion
Collingwood supporters making a comment about another team = trolling

This is why threads attacking Collingwood (even after they win games eg. Geelong/Saints in H&A season, Prelim) will always be allowed to exist on the main board despite being an obvious troll in some cases.

I can only speak for myself but it has been the same for 4 years, won't change any time soon.

This.

Personally, I find the main board to be a flame-fest. Most conversations just degenerate into rubbish. I reckon the club boards are a lot better.

Same. When I come on I do a quick check to see if there's any news/gossip and then I hit the Collingwood board for discussion.

Generally find the main board to be a Saints love in. I remember an obvious troll thread about Collingwood supporters was kept on there for ages, until we started bagging a known Collingwood troll. It was then heavily edited, but instead of being moved to Bay13 like it should of was moved to the "humour" section.

As the Grizzly man mentioned if you have an issue with the way a board is moderatored be it here, the main board or anyone else the best thing to do is to simply message one of the mods of that board.

This thread serves no purpose so it's gonna be shut down.