Make or break year

The following players must show something this year to keep their careers going

Neitz - must get up for 10 games at least
Yze - has to show he still has it
Whelan - such a quality player but has to avoid injury, must play 10-15 games minimum
Holland - has to play regular footy to be worth keeping into the future
Miller - has a two year deal but surely is on his last chance
Jamar - we have 4 senior ruckman now and the Russian can't slip to 4th in the pecking order
Paul Johnson - see Jamar
Carroll - there is no-one better at the moment but if Frawley, Martin or even Miller or McNamara are able to stand up in the backline then there wouldn't be much point in keeping him
Chris Johnson - very close to being traded, must improve
Bode - has to prove his form from last year wasn't a fluke
Warnock - last year to prove he isn't a dud
Weetra - needs to play Sandy seniors to show hes up to it

I'd be tipping it will be the last year for Warnock and Holland, with Yze, Jamar or PJ, Neitz and Chris Johnson being the next in line. Who does everyone see as the likely delistings/retirements at the end of the season.

By the end of the year these players will either be delisted or retired. Jamar, Holland, Neitz, Yze, Warnock, Weetra, CJ.

And on my list for please stay injury free and find some form are: Sylvia, Whelan, Bartram, Rivers, Brock.

I feel if Sylvia has another injury-plagued year (Moloney as well) we should seriously look at trading them for something.
We should get rid of one of PJ/Jamar at the end of the year as well, obviously whichever one shows the least.

Sylvia and Moloney frustrate me but it'd be a hard call to trade them. They don't have much value because they're slightly unproven and injury-plagued so we might as well keep them but i do think they'll both have good years.

This is what I predict will happen, not what I wish to happen.

Retire

D. Neitz (getting on in age, and the body is starting to break down)
A. Yze (is no longer a vital member of the side, and may step aside)
B. Holland (only kept as a back-up player, with age and injuries against him)

Delisted

M. Jamar (hasn't proven himself after a few years, and is now fourth choice ruckman)
M. Warnock (can't even break in to a side with a poor backline)
C. Johnson (fifth season on the list, definately make or break)
I. Weetra (was only a late pick, and doesn't seem close to getting a game yet)

On Thin Ice

P. Wheatley (can he maintain consistency after a decent '07?)
B. Moloney (has the ability, but must overcome his injuries soon)
P. Johnson (due to a number of factors, hasn't taken the next step yet)
S. Buckley (hasn't yet established his spot in the team)

If PJ is given a chance this year (im talking about more then 6 mins a quarter) he could turn out to be one of the games best ruckmans. We all know he has the talent.

If this side doesnt play deep into september the axe has to be thrown here is the side that will take melbourne deep into finals

backs whelan carroll holland
halfbacks bell rivers bartram
centres green moloney bruce
h/forw bate miller mclean
forwads sylvia neitz robertson
rucks meeson jones davey
int white dunn mcdonald yze morton newton
johnson buckley bode. wonamirri

I named so many interchange as it depends on who we play but if we have this list to chose from for most of 2008.look out sides are gonna struggle to contain us......IT IS THE YEAR OF THE DEMON.

I'd rather see Frawley in the team ahead of Holland, even though Dutchy might be more ready for senior football than young Chip.

McLean at half forward - are you kidding? The guy is a natural midfielder, why would you take him away from the action.

Davey isn't a centre square player, probably never will be. Stick him on the half forward line where he can use his pace, pressure the opposition half backs, and kick some goals.

And I'd still have White starting ahead of Meeson in the ruck.

If this side doesnt play deep into september the axe has to be thrown here is the side that will take melbourne deep into finals

backs whelan carroll Frawley
halfbacks bell rivers Green
centres Davey Mcdonald bruce
h/forw Sylvia miller Bate
forwads Robertson neitz Maric
rucks White jones McLean
int Meesen Bartram Moloney Newton yze Morton
Holland Petterd bode. wonaeamirri Dunn

I named so many interchange as it depends on who we play but if we have this list to chose from for most of 2008.look out sides are gonna struggle to contain us......IT IS THE YEAR OF THE DEMON.

:eek::confused: I think it should look more like this:)

I think Maric will debut in RD1 with Davey expected to spend more time in the midfield(or on a fwd flank lurking around the midfield) Maric will slot in nicely(will probebly have to prove himself in the NAB cup) Appoligies to Dunn and Petterd(Should probebly swap one of them for Morton) And White is still one of the best rucks in the league would never start him on the bench. Also McLean is a pure midfielder and when fully fit is probebly our best. And Green will be played as a sweeper off half back

Changes in bold :thumbsu:

Our dual B and F player James McDonald on the bench :confused:
As i said mate the line up can change its really only a list of players who id want fit to play
yeh mclean is more suited in the pivot and davey on the flank as long as we have them out there playing..

I liked the look of Sylvia when he first bursted onto the seen. Not much has changed since then unfortunately i think he will have a break through year :thumbsu:

rucks meeson jones davey

Ridiculous :thumbsd:

I think it's a make or break year for the whole club full stop. Your squad made the finals in 2006 playing some good football before being knocked out by Freo. That same squad in 2007 had 10+ players taken out of it due to injury and as such the season could be seen as an aberration, not to mention those injuries and bad luck cost Neale Daniher his job. If Melbourne fail to perform this year then I reckon it's time they take the Hawthorn route i.e couple of years at the bottom and accumulate some impressive youngsters and watch the club rise again.

I agree with a lot you say, but i also think Melbourne need to make their premiership move while Neitz is still in between the big sticks.
A tall large, agreesive, big bodied forward is essential in a Premiership side.
ie: Hall (syd), J Brown (bris), Lynch/Hansen (WC) and Cam Mooney(Geel).

I agree with a lot you say, but i also think Melbourne need to make their premiership move while Neitz is still in between the big sticks.
A tall large, agreesive, big bodied forward is essential in a Premiership side.
ie: Hall (syd), J Brown (bris), Lynch/Hansen (WC) and Cam Mooney(Geel).

Yeah I agree but my question is this: How much longer does Neitz have because to be honest I don't see him playing beyond this year so really this year is the big year

You obviously dont no much about our list if you think this side is rediculous.

rucks meeson jones davey

Ok Firstly Holland in the team, He is a ******* and is one of the reason we are down the bottom end of the ladder.
2. Meeson starting in the ruck ahead of White?? Have you personally witnessed Meeson play a game of AFL? I am tipping No. You have heard he is athletic and can run all day, that does not make him a good ruckman. He could not get a game at Adelaide when they had there two top ruckman out injured!
3. Mclean on a half forward flank I dont think he has ever played there in his life. Davey in the centre!! now this one was the pick of the bunch. Absolute Joke.
4. No Pettard and Frawley, these blokes are going to be stars and have showed more than any other young blokes we have had for sometime.
5. Jame McDonald Our B & F of the past two years and most consistant player by a long way on the bench.
6. You have picked 28 players! Gees the other 12 on our list were stiff to miss out on your team! (K. Cheney, C.Garland, J.Grimes, A. Maric, S.Martin, I. Weetra, M.Jamar, P.Johnson, M.Warnock.) Not that I overly rate him but Paul Wheatley was the only senior player you left out.

So that is why it was a Ridiculous Post.

Yeah I agree but my question is this: How much longer does Neitz have because to be honest I don't see him playing beyond this year so really this year is the big year

I hope he will be there till September 2009. If he is there till 2010 it would be a miracle.. but i cant see why he cant play as an Alastiar Lynch type role and not move from the goal square and just crash packs.

But i must say, if he has a injury riddelled in 2008... it will be his last year.

Ok Firstly Holland in the team, He is a ******* and is one of the reason we are down the bottom end of the ladder.
2. Meeson starting in the ruck ahead of White?? Have you personally witnessed Meeson play a game of AFL? I am tipping No. You have heard he is athletic and can run all day, that does not make him a good ruckman. He could not get a game at Adelaide when they had there two top ruckman out injured!
3. Mclean on a half forward flank I dont think he has ever played there in his life. Davey in the centre!! now this one was the pick of the bunch. Absolute Joke.
4. No Pettard and Frawley, these blokes are going to be stars and have showed more than any other young blokes we have had for sometime.
5. Jame McDonald Our B & F of the past two years and most consistant player by a long way on the bench.
6. You have picked 28 players! Gees the other 12 on our list were stiff to miss out on your team! (K. Cheney, C.Garland, J.Grimes, A. Maric, S.Martin, I. Weetra, M.Jamar, P.Johnson, M.Warnock.) Not that I overly rate him but Paul Wheatley was the only senior player you left out.

So that is why it was a Ridiculous Post.
Firstly I can see where you are coming from that 1st side i put in was just a draft team ,As for DUTCHY holland he is 1 of only 3 players who can nulafy opposing key forwards ie Rocca,Hall He is in our best 25.
2ndly Meeson has been trainig the house down and is worthy of starting in the ruck while Jeff can work his way into the LONG season jeffs 32 nearly and a bit of time on the pine wont hurt him....
3rdly Youll find that in a previous post i had mclean in the pivot and davey to the hf.Your other points arent really a pinch of salt pettard and frawley would not be (at the moment) be in our best 22.While they played when we had injuries galore and went ok they still need developing.