Marc Murphy - Injury worse than first thought

• Thread starter Thread starter BlueBelle

I went and watched the Bullants today and had a chat to Libba and apparently Murph's injury is worse than they first thought.

Libba said that he is having scans but he believes he is going to struggle for the rest of the year :(

That sucks ... but it aids us in our quest for Priority Picks .... but this situation really sucks, he had the Rising Star in bag and was dominating ...flipping Copeland

C4[2]Yo`DooR said:
That sucks ... but it aids us in our quest for Priority Picks .... but this situation really sucks, he had the Rising Star in bag and was dominating ...flipping Copeland
really don't care much for the rising star award. we all know that murph is by far the best youngster in the afl. we just want to get his shoulder right.

C4[2]Yo`DooR said:

Yes Copeland is a real class act isnt he, but then again how often have brisbane done this over the last 4 or 5 years, typical of Matthews, thats the way he played.Dirty.

hope Robert Copeland gets sigted that dirty bastard should get what he deserves a few weeks holiday :)

Ease up. He tackled and slung. So what? Happens every game. What would you sight him on? Honestly?

I can understand being upset at injuries, hell, have you seen our injury list? But don't lose your head over it, try to maintain some common sense.

Homer Jnr said:
Ease up. He tackled and slung. So what? Happens every game. What would you sight him on? Honestly?

I can understand being upset at injuries, hell, have you seen our injury list? But don't lose your head over it, try to maintain some common sense.
C'mon mate Copeland is nothing but a useless sniper.

Was going to come on here and wish him all the best in his recovery. The injury happened right in front of me and he did not look good at all.

Just remember that footy is a contact sport, and that from where I was Murphy had the ball when he was tackled, and the tackle was not high.

Robbie Copeland is a good honest footballer who plays the game hard. You heard no sour grapes from him when he was knocked out against the Eagles and missed a few weeks himself.

Anyway, I do wish Marc Murphy a speedy recovery, he is a very talented player, the pick of the 2005 draft by far.

Chasing the Dream said:
Was going to come on here and wish him all the best in his recovery. The injury happened right in front of me and he did not look good at all.

Just remember that footy is a contact sport, and that from where I was Murphy had the ball when he was tackled, and the tackle was not high.

Robbie Copeland is a good honest footballer who plays the game hard. You heard no sour grapes from him when he was knocked out against the Eagles and missed a few weeks himself.

Anyway, I do wish Marc Murphy a speedy recovery, he is a very talented player, the pick of the 2005 draft by far.
good post buddy. can't blame copeland's actions on murph's injury. the fact that murph got up and laid a top tackle with a semi dislocated shoulder speaks volumes about the kid's ticker.

What Copeland did was fair dinkum, you can't have any complaints whatsoever about it.

He tackled him strongly, so what? I'd love it if any of our players showed that during a game, it was fair and you cannot put any blame on him.

I hope Marc gets well soon, I can't say anything that hasn't already been said about him, just a super young player.

Kooley said:
good post buddy. can't blame copeland's actions on murph's injury. the fact that murph got up and laid a top tackle with a semi dislocated shoulder speaks volumes about the kid's ticker.

Absolutely 100% spot on. I seriously was only 10m from him when he was laying on the ground and the look of pain in his face was incredible.

For such a young bloke to get up and try and shake it off was amazing. Courage like that is usually only attributed to the Archer's, Colbert's, Voss', Brown's etc.

Good luck to him, hope the injury may not be that bad, but at least whenever he comes back, it should be at full fitness.

stokesy said:
What did Copeland do wrong?

Just a normal tackle.
the only thing copeland did wrong last night was when he slipped over in the last quarter when nick steven's took that mark inside fifty. **** that was funny:D

Too many serious injuries are being caused by this habit of players, after tackling an opposition player, then violently slinging them to the ground. There have been a number of serious injuries sustained to players due to this unneccesary practice. IMO it should be looked at by the AFL at the end of the season, with a view of at least awarding a free kick to the player who has been slung, if not a reportable offence under the provisions of "rough play".

Im ASHAMED of the fact that NONE of our senior or bigger bodied players (aside from Andy C, who isnt big) did anything about this ?

Someone should have decked Copeland ... after all the Brisbane side were kids also ... were such pussies.

Lance said:
IMO it should be looked at by the AFL at the end of the season, with a view of at least awarding a free kick to the player who has been slung, if not a reportable offence under the provisions of "rough play".

If that was the case, I just don't know what I'd do.

C4[2]Yo`DooR said:
Im ASHAMED of the fact that NONE of our senior or bigger bodied players (aside from Andy C, who isnt big) did anything about this ?
Hey, it was a business-as-usual tackle. Rough, but fair, and he got his come-uppance within minutes, courtesy of a fending boot to his groin from big Barney.

It sucks that he popped his shoulder, but it's still football as we know it. Hopefully it's not as bad as the rumour says.

I am actually happy to see so many carlton supports saying it was a genuine tackle, becasue it was.

if it was a collingwood player omg i would hate to c the language from them, and malthouse would compain like hell.

Just shows how carlton is way better then collingwood :thumbsu:

it wasnt a great game and i really feel for marc. hope he gets better soon :)

C4[2]Yo`DooR said:
which is why i'd love to see him get the rising star over Heath Shaw or Danyl Pearce.

hey well mate it isnt gonna happen murphy is a weak little runt that had a little cry as well...heath shaw and danyle pearce are way out in front of him anyway

dalethomasno1 said:
hey well mate it isnt gonna happen murphy is a weak little runt that had a little cry as well...heath shaw and danyle pearce are way out in front of him anyway
Ooh, a little bitter about having your false pretensions unveiled for all by the Tiggers today?

I think yes.

However, it must be said that despite being weighed down with idiot supporters like yourself, Collingwood do have two good 'uns in Thomas and Shaw. Still, I can't imagine Thomas will ever lay a tackle like Murph did seconds after his injury, even if he plays 300 games.

AlecDuncan said:
Ooh, a little bitter about having your false pretensions unveiled for all by the Tiggers today?

I think yes.

However, it must be said that despite being weighed down with idiot supporters like yourself, Collingwood do have two good 'uns in Thomas and Shaw. Still, I can't imagine Thomas will ever lay a tackle like Murph did seconds after his injury, even if he plays 300 games.

i dont think sooo buddy i know we played **** and cause of coaching and just didn't turn up anyway...i hav seen thomas many times acting like a dog not affraid to go the man and get hurt goes in and doesnt care...doesnt take any **** murphy is a little weak runt that isnt big enough and you could say the same about thomas but thomas doesnt play on the ball

carlton should be careful they are running him raggedfor nothing maybe to get experience thats good but there gonna burn him out

cypher said:
Murphy got crunched and he still got up to lay a tackle, Thomas shat himself against the Swans when he saw an opponent coming straight at him and he over-ran the ball.

Simple just like this idiot. ;) :)

i dont think so mate do you know what they call him...THOMAS THE TANK ENGINE hahaha