Marj to Clipsal, Footy Stadium to railway?

We havent actually got the event to hold you know?

Holy shit batman. :rolleyes:

Really, who'da thunk that.

Of course i understand that, but tell me this. If Australia was to host the WC and Adelaide missed out on games, the shit wouldn't hit the fan across all industries?

If this upgrade of Adelaide Oval meets FIFA standards, you are correct and the door has been closed.

I can tell you right now, flat out no it will not.

For it to meet FIFA standards all of the standing room hills will need to be converted to all seating, and the capacity will need to be bumped to (by then) 50k - two things that will never happen at Adelaide Oval, therefore it will never meet FIFA standards for World Cup matches.

The 'final nail' in a CBD stadium coffin would be hammered either in the highly unlikely event that AAMI Stadium is so completely redeveloped as to become unrecognisable - because not a single square inch of the entire facility is up to FIFA standards - or if we do not win the rights to host the World Cup in 2018 or 2022.

I can tell you right now, flat out no it will not.

For it to meet FIFA standards all of the standing room hills will need to be converted to all seating, and the capacity will need to be bumped to (by then) 50k - two things that will never happen at Adelaide Oval, therefore it will never meet FIFA standards for World Cup matches.

The 'final nail' in a CBD stadium coffin would be hammered either in the highly unlikely event that AAMI Stadium is so completely redeveloped as to become unrecognisable - because not a single square inch of the entire facility is up to FIFA standards - or if we do not win the rights to host the World Cup in 2018 or 2022.

If you could be any further off the mark I reckon you would be talking about Renmark oval.

anyone see the new fly over in the rag? by computer won't let me play the whole thing but the bit I saw looks pretty schmick

If you could be any further off the mark I reckon you would be talking about Renmark oval.

Rubbish. The FIFA rules regarding terraces are quite clear cut - although terraces are considered legal within Germany for their domestic competitions, every single stadium in the 2006 World Cup had to be modified to either prevent access to, or convert terraced areas into seating, including the vaunted Allianz Arena. If Adelaide Oval was to be deemed acceptable, the grassed hills at either end would need to be converted into high grade grandstand seating, or completely fenced off from access, neither of which would give the ground the necessary capacity, because FIFA will flat out deny any ground below whatever their magic number is, currently somewhere around 46k.

As for AAMI Stadium, the crowd facilities are below standard, the media facilities are below standard, the surface is curved for drainage and therefore below standard, the grandstands have an unacceptably shallow rake given the distance from a potential association football pitch, making them also below standard. What could you possibly think that FIFA would like about Football Park as it stands right now?

I am dead set on the mark, and there is no two ways about it.

I've given up on the stadium. It would be foolish to spend money on a stadium in our climate at the moment. And I guess its lucky I wasnt in charge or we would have a big debt on our hands and a spanking stadium on North Terrace.

Still have an issue with the Location of the hospital, not the hospital itself.

as for the Adelaide Oval I think its fantastic the new upgrade. If people are going to whinge about a red tin roof stand being pulled down then I've heard it all... Luckily I havent heard anyone complain yet so i havent heard it all!

I quite like the upgrade too, especially widening the oval to remove the long since gone bicycle track straight on the members side of he ground, and replacing it with the curve it always needed.

As for the hospital, don't care where it goes, as long as it does get built.

I just don't want people to kid themselves into thinking that pre or post upgrade Adelaide Oval is going to be an acceptable international soccer ground, or for that matter that AAMI Stadium will be acceptable without anything short of demolishing and replacing every grandstand, and leveling the surface.

The only way we'll ever get World Cup games here in Adelaide is if we build a stadium we can't afford.

I quite like the upgrade too, especially widening the oval to remove the long since gone bicycle track straight on the members side of he ground, and replacing it with the curve it always needed.

As for the hospital, don't care where it goes, as long as it does get built.

I just don't want people to kid themselves into thinking that pre or post upgrade Adelaide Oval is going to be an acceptable international soccer ground, or for that matter that AAMI Stadium will be acceptable without anything short of demolishing and replacing every grandstand, and leveling the surface.

The only way we'll ever get World Cup games here in Adelaide is if we build a stadium we can't afford.

I think its abit arrogant of us to expect that we are even a chance to host a world cup when 1. we arent a soccer country 2. there are about 100 other countries that are soccer countries and 3. in the scheme of things Australia isnt that all important in terms of future growth for their game.

I dont think we are going to miss out on anything

mate I will not renew my membership with bigfooty and stop posting if you are correct

you are so wrong its not funny.

If we get the World Cup games will be played in SA

Sorry, but you are wrong. Flat out, unmistakably, undeniably wrong, and quite ill informed.

I didn't say they would not be played in SA, I said that we do not currently have a stadium that is capable of hosting them. Adelaide Oval will always be invalid, for the very blatant reasons I've already outlined twice. The current proposed AAMI upgrades are not enough, again for obvious reasons. Hindmarsh is also out, because it only holds 1/3 of the required minimum crowd.

It's a complete demolition and rebuild of AAMI - essentially take those proposed high rake two tier stands, rake them a little higher again, and then put them all the way around the ground, not just on the wings - a brand new stadium, or no games at all, simple as that.

The FFA and FIFA are not going to shoehorn games into unacceptable stadia just because the people and state government wants them to, it really doesn't work like that. On the contrary, they're more likely to allow the use of a third qualified stadium in one city than put games into unacceptable ones just to keep the spread wide.

I think its abit arrogant of us to expect that we are even a chance to host a world cup when 1. we arent a soccer country 2. there are about 100 other countries that are soccer countries and 3. in the scheme of things Australia isnt that all important in terms of future growth for their game.

I dont think we are going to miss out on anything

If it were as simple as one name out of a hat, then yes. However, when you take into account the hosting rules, the no consecutive continents and the politics of the process, we have a much better chance.

As it stands right now, flat odds, we have a 1 in 12 chance of hosting 2018, because only about a dozen nations have put their hand up for it. When the other complications come in, it could go up and it could go down, you won't really know for sure how good a job the FFA and AFC are doing at quietly working the voters in the back rooms.

Sorry, but you are wrong. Flat out, unmistakably, undeniably wrong, and quite ill informed.

I didn't say they would not be played in SA, I said that we do not currently have a stadium that is capable of hosting them. Adelaide Oval will always be invalid, for the very blatant reasons I've already outlined twice. The current proposed AAMI upgrades are not enough, again for obvious reasons. Hindmarsh is also out, because it only holds 1/3 of the required minimum crowd.

It's a complete demolition and rebuild of AAMI - essentially take those proposed high rake two tier stands, rake them a little higher again, and then put them all the way around the ground, not just on the wings - a brand new stadium, or no games at all, simple as that.

The FFA and FIFA are not going to shoehorn games into unacceptable stadia just because the people and state government wants them to, it really doesn't work like that. On the contrary, they're more likely to allow the use of a third qualified stadium in one city than put games into unacceptable ones just to keep the spread wide.

ahh, sorry, 7 or 8 pints under my belt and I really didn't read that properly.

your correct our curent stadiums are not sufficient for a FIFA match :thumbsu:

Good to see nothing has changed in the last 7 months.

Same people crying that a new CBD stadium outweighs a new hospital.

Just reading the article from the RAH specialist who's last sentence says
"Can you imagine the folk in Minnesota bulldozing the Mayo Clinic and building the Michael Jordan Hospital 1km away?" he said. "They'd be a laughing stock.".

He looses credability with that statement. The Mayo clinic looks like a 6 star hotel compared to the RAH. It was built at the same time and constantly updated with 3 separate campuses.

Plus I would really like to know their political affiliations.

Good to see nothing has changed in the last 7 months.

Same people crying that a new CBD stadium outweighs a new hospital.

Just reading the article from the RAH specialist who's last sentence says
"Can you imagine the folk in Minnesota bulldozing the Mayo Clinic and building the Michael Jordan Hospital 1km away?" he said. "They'd be a laughing stock.".

He looses credability with that statement. The Mayo clinic looks like a 6 star hotel compared to the RAH. It was built at the same time and constantly updated with 3 separate campuses.

Plus I would really like to know their political affiliations.

I assume your back home sport, if so how long you here for?

Can't find it on the website yet, but the FFA has laid out an ultimatum to the State Government - they have one year to commit to building a new stadium, or Adelaide will be left out of the bid to FIFA so as not to weaken it.

The FFA has declared AAMI Stadium a complete writeoff that has nothing redeemable about it, and will never be acceptable to FIFA. They have decided Adelaide Oval could be brought up to spes, with the current upgrades a step in the right direction but not far enough - essentially means duplicating the new stands all the way around the ground, eliminating the grassed hills and quite possibly rebuilding the Bradman Stand.

Government still says no stadium, the opposition still says no hospital stadium instead. Sticking with the government, because we need the hospital, and the Liberals are lieing through their crooked teeth to win votes from the more simple folk.

Rubbish. The FIFA rules regarding terraces are quite clear cut - although terraces are considered legal within Germany for their domestic competitions, every single stadium in the 2006 World Cup had to be modified to either prevent access to, or convert terraced areas into seating, including the vaunted Allianz Arena. If Adelaide Oval was to be deemed acceptable, the grassed hills at either end would need to be converted into high grade grandstand seating, or completely fenced off from access, neither of which would give the ground the necessary capacity, because FIFA will flat out deny any ground below whatever their magic number is, currently somewhere around 46k.

As for AAMI Stadium, the crowd facilities are below standard, the media facilities are below standard, the surface is curved for drainage and therefore below standard, the grandstands have an unacceptably shallow rake given the distance from a potential association football pitch, making them also below standard. What could you possibly think that FIFA would like about Football Park as it stands right now?

I am dead set on the mark, and there is no two ways about it.

yeah he is right :thumbsu:

They have done it. I worded it wrong. I meant to say they should put more importance on the issue, as I believe just from the articles and amount of conversation it is the biggest issue of the up coming state election.

Marj to Clipsal, Footy Stadium to railway?