Toast Mark Blicavs

I am sure money had a lot to do with it but his uncle told me, when I asked him what Mummy had said why he was leaving Catland - was the main reason was he was seriously pissed off at being ommitted for the finals games.

He shouldn't have played two stinkers against Sydney and the Dogs then. There was no way he was going to get picked ahead of Ottens, and his other competition won far more hitouts and got more of the ball than he did as well.

But facts have rarely intruded into this discussion and probably won't now either.

I wish i knew it was proboys avatar before i stole it. Will change it when i remember.

But i disagree. Managed is a more correct term than rested. And i hope the club uses this from now on. It is more professional and doesn't have the stigma of 'dropping' players.

Blitz hasn't "earnt a rest", his workload on his body is being scientifically managed. The two terms are worlds apart in the professionalism they present to the football world.

Our great club does well to revolutionise the game. This is just another small part of that.

You serious? You can't say a player is dropped anymore? Wish I was that precious.

Dropped infers disciplinary action or poor form.

Managed infers workload management. Sounds better than rested.

Its not about being precious its about accuracy.

He shouldn't have played two stinkers against Sydney and the Dogs then. There was no way he was going to get picked ahead of Ottens, and his other competition won far more hitouts and got more of the ball than he did as well.

But facts have rarely intruded into this discussion and probably won't now either.

To be fair Partridge, there are no facts on either side of the Mumford argument here - just hearsay and opinions. Including the one you replied to in the quoted post here.

True. The only facts we can go on are the stats of the competing ruckmen we had available at the time. And based on that the club made the right choice. Just as they did in 2007.

Players are now deemed to be "omitted" rather than "dropped" when it's down to form or better options being available.

It has a classier ring to it, although within the context of reflecting on my past love life, I think that it sounds almost hideously excruciating :confused: .

The difference between omitted/dropped and rested/managed is that in one case you play in the 2nds and in the other you don't; and in the latter case you come back to the 1sts, not via the 2nds.

Dropped infers disciplinary action or poor form.

Managed infers workload management. Sounds better than rested.

Its not about being precious its about accuracy.

If you can't say a player is dropped because of poor form - which applies to only 100% of young players - there's something wrong. It's not accuracy, it's PR and spin. Young players lose form. So do all players from time to time. There's no stigma about saying "you need to back to the VFL and regain touch then come back". It's also worked for 120 years, which might say something.

Stuff the GF Sprint I want the blitz to smash everyone in a GF Marathon! Then again we might need him for the actual match. But with his fitness levels he could probably do both.:cool:

Would not mind it at all if Blitz is staring in next years Grandfinal marathon. Add a little excitement to the TV on Grand Final morning before heading off the the big game.

I haven't scoured all of the posts in this thread, so I don't know if this has been mentioned. But I reckon there are parallels between the late great Jim Stynes and our Mark Blicavs. Both came from non-Australian Rules backgrounds. They are / were of similar height - Stynes 1.99 and Blicavs 1.98. Both are / were very athletic. If his career goes anything like Jim's it will be a long, outstanding one.

I know I have and others as well.

The one point I raised was Stynes' durability, and while only a snapshot, for Blitz to come in and play half a season, take all the knocks etc. with his body not used to the rigors of week-in week-out football bodes well IMO.

Was great viewing for every Cats fan last night.

And seeing Blitz bring his best application and commitment to a very tough task was a particularly sweet part of all that.

Wasn't brilliant with ball in hand. But that's never been his strongest suit.

What he did in blanketing 'Mr September' (apologies, Otto) was truly magnificent and sets him up for another huge role next week in nullifying the opposition's midfield drive. And a performance like that on the big stage can only enhance his confidence in what he can bring in the heat of finals footy in the future.

Onya, Blitz!:thumbsu:

Was great viewing for every Cats fan last night.

And seeing Blitz bring his best application and commitment to a very tough task was a particularly sweet part of all that.

Wasn't brilliant with ball in hand. But that's never been his strongest suit.

What he did in blanketing 'Mr September' (apologies, Otto) was truly magnificent and sets him up for another huge role next week in nullifying the opposition's midfield drive. And a performance like that on the big stage can only enhance his confidence in what he can bring in the heat of finals footy in the future.

Onya, Blitz!:thumbsu:
If he shuts out Sloane or one of the Crouch boys and we win, he will slowly take over the Orange Blanket gag we had going in 2007.

Players are now deemed to be "omitted" rather than "dropped" when it's down to form or better options being available.

It has a classier ring to it, although within the context of reflecting on my past love life, I think that it sounds almost hideously excruciating :confused: .

Hope your now and future life is better.

Thats been my experience - after being omitted!! But that for me, happened in the 70's dark ages (football and life). It was was all up and full steam ahead from there.

There is an interesting article in The Age today about the somewhat current trend in AFL of trying to transform athletes or those from other sporting backgrounds into AFL players, with the focus this time on former Saints rookie Blake McGrath. What I found interesting reading the article was how his teammates treated him when they found out how new he was to football, there was an element of hands-on from the Saints development coach, but also seemed that he was given training programs to do on his own without supervision or possible talking amongst the coaches. While reading it I was thinking about our situation with Blitz, the development we have seen from him, the support he seems to be getting from the coaches, from his teammates etc; so how much of his development can we attribute to the club environment in which he has found himself, would he have made this same steps over the past 9 months or so (thinking back to his VFL time last yr) if he was at another club?
Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/the-makeorbreak-experiment-20130606-2nt9l.html#ixzz2VUwXY18C

This reminds me of the first time I saw Blitz. You could sneak in to the GA section of SStadium a few years ago (back when i was living far from Footy central.).... and i did. i watched Blitz worked with a club "coach" or employee (probably very junior) on boundary throw ins. Just Blitz jumping and hitting. 5 on the right, 5 on the left, 5 on the right etc or something similar. He had to learn a lot but not completely on his own.

He is now a big plus from what I saw that day. I must admit that when I sat down at the G last night and looked up to see that Domsy was crook I thought thats our 3rd most important player down. So who takes Buddy on? -- Blicavs crossed my mind.
I wouldn't have imagined from what I saw that first day that Blicavs would be anywhere near his current position. And he has been used in so many difficult jobs.
I suspect looking at our list he will be played at CHB in a year or two and be grateful for having a settled role.

Was giant this game.

JPK getting 12 touches is killer for them. Prime mover lost.

2 more Blitz. .2 more.

Go Catters