• Thread starter Thread starter Silvagnis

Since everyone is starting threads with day old links or bumping threads... :D

Have a read of Mark Robinson's blog where he discusses how Carlton and other clubs will perform in 2010.

Herald Sun footy writer Mark Robinson's first live blog for the year today.
  1. Gibson is a straight out replacement for Croad at CHB. :o
  2. If Gumbleton stands up and Hurley improves, they could get them into September.
  3. Yet Carlton are in a no man's land because we have no Judd for three weeks, Waite is coming off a knee and Stevens is gone.

Plus Warnock and Henderson are inexperienced.

Yet Hendo has played more games than Hurley and Gumbleton...
  4. We deserved the vendetta from the Herald-RobinSun.
  5. What makes Essendon a possible top eight team and Carlton a 10-12 team this year?
    Because I think Essendon is a better team...
  6. Our list isn't outrageously young :rolleyes:

Jack Dyer: "An Essendon supporter is a Collingwood supporter who can read and write..."

Spot on Jack. :thumbsu:

Since everyone is starting threads with day old links or bumping threads... :D

Have a read of Mark Robinson's blog where he discusses how Carlton and other clubs will perform in 2010.

Jack Dyer: "An Essendon supporter is a Collingwood supporter who can read and write..."

Spot on Jack. :thumbsu:

He also has Essendon 6-8 and Carlton 10-12 finish this season and when asked about his rationale he answered, "because I think Essendon is a better team"..........Nuff said from a Nuffie. :rolleyes:

What he should have answered was "because I am yet another delusional Essendon supporter who passionately hates Carlton & I will not accept the reality that Essendon's playing list does not have as many quality players as the Carlton list."

That would be about a 10 game turn around. 5 extra wins to at least to Essendon and 5 extra losses to us. Where exactly does that come from?

Not to mention that last year we were closer to a top 4 finish than not making the finals. Where as I think Essendon are the first team since there were 16 teams to win less than 11 games and still make the finals.

So a club that fell into the 8 with a 10/12 win loss ratio, lost Lloyd, Lucas, McPhee and Lovett from last years list, and were spanked by Adelaide in their final are more likely to finish higher than Carlton, who won 13 games last year, probably should have beaten Brisbane up there without our two best defenders are a better team than us in 2010. Yes, we have lost Fev, but we can survive without him.

Good to see that Robbo isn't letting his bias get in the way of his opinion right there.

I also wonder how long it will take for the Essendon supporters to come rolling in?

Screw the media.

Remember when swans won the flag in 05 (i think?) and all the media had written them off for a spoon, remember the list they screened of people who wrote them off, im sure robinson would of been one of those duds.
All the more hate the better.

He thinks Essendon are a superior side b/c they comfortably beat Carlton last time & haven't beaten them since 2007.
The Dogs haven't beaten us in their last three attempts.

Up until round 17 of last year, the Pies hadn't beaten us in their last three attempts.

Until the finals, the Lions haven't beaten in their last three attempts.

Even though we finished below them, I guess that makes us a better team than the Dogs, the Pies and the Lions.

A bit like Essendon who won just ten games and didn't have one AA player.

You're as useful as Derek Hine and Luke Ball when it matters the most...

The Dogs haven't beaten us in their last three attempts.

Up until round 17 of last year, the Pies hadn't beaten us in their last three attempts.

The Dogs have made 2 PF's in those years. Essendon/Carlton are at about the same level, conversely, the WB are quite a number of rungs above Carlton.

Little seperates Essendon/Carlton & Robinson has only seen Essendon dominance over Carlton.

Hence why his opinion is way off the mark because in both of the last 2 seasons Carlton have finished above Essendon, including finishing 2 1/2 games ahead of Essendon in 2009 (if Carlton had won the 1 kick result in Round 3 it would have been 4 1/2 games).

FWIW, when Carlton won the '81 & '82 premierships Essendon beat us in all 4 home & away games over the 2 seasons, plus the '81 night GF & in practice matches between the 2 teams during that period.

Hence why his opinion is way off the mark because in both of the last 2 seasons Carlton have finished above Essendon, including finishing 2 1/2 games ahead of Essendon in 2009 (if Carlton had won the 1 kick result in Round 3 it would have been 4 1/2 games).

FWIW, when Carlton won the '81 & '82 premierships Essendon beat us in all 4 home & away games over the 2 seasons, plus the '81 night GF & in practice matches between the 2 teams during that period.

Which is unfortunately one of the reasons that our team of the late 70s early 80s which won 3 premierships in 4 years (79,81,82) is not recognized in the pantheon of great VFL/AFL teams (unfairly in my view) and also because we were victim of another Essendon biased flog of a journalist Tom Prior - chief football writer of The Sun as it was known at the time.

2.5 games isn't really a big distance. It's about at the same level.

So does that mean we're a 20%+ better team than them? That's what the difference in wins equates to.

Don't remember them accounting for themselves too well in their final either.

The Dogs have made 2 PF's in those years. Essendon/Carlton are at about the same level, conversely, the WB are quite a number of rungs above Carlton.

I wish we had as much upside as your Adelaide thread...

:o

You're a douche.

So you would have us believe that Collingwood are at the same level as Geelong because they were only 3 games behind them at the end of the home & away season? Were Richmond at the same level as Sydney in 2009 (2 1/2 game gap there)?

Do you reckon the 13% percentage gap between Carlton & Essendon tells a story at all?

BTW, given the 1 game gap between Carlton & Adelaide, Carlton must be at the same level as Adelaide based on your theory, yet we know that is not true & Carlton at the same level as Collingwood, given there was only a 2 game gap there.:eek:

That is such flawed logic on so many levels, it's not funny.
Amazing how Carlton lose 1 good forward, and we are bound to suffer, yet Essendon lose 2, and everyone thinks that they are going to improve on last year. Amazing!

:rolleyes:

So you would have us believe that Collingwood are at the same level as Geelong because they were only 3 games behind them at the end of the home & away season? Were

Geelong isn't really a great example on your part.

Onwards the Brisbane game they started to rest players, they didn't try to win every game as they had already secured a Top 2 / home final position.

Wheras Carlton / Essendon had to win as many games as they did as they hadn't secured their desired position at the end of the year.

Carlton must be at the same level as Adelaide

I've never rated Adelaide, they largely beat up on minnows. Again, not a great example.