News Marley Williams charged with assault

He is not guilty until he has his day in court and is either found innocent or guilty and until such time he is presumed innocent.
Like Spooner I think these things take far to long to come to trial it is almost 15 mths since the incident and if people are like me I cannot remember what I was doing last week let alone 15 months ago.

Good luck to Marley anyway he has not been in any more trouble since the incident and has been doing his community service with the Salvation Army:thumbsu:.

On the other hand, I'm happy that matters are thoroughly investigated before we hang the bastards:)

The matters would have been thoroughly investigated before the charges were laid. And IIRC the charges were laid over a year ago.

Can anybody who knows more about this stuff explain why it needs to take any more than 48 hours for the evidence to be reviewed, the arguments heard and considered, and a judgement made?

The matters would have been thoroughly investigated before the charges were laid. And IIRC the charges were laid over a year ago.

Can anybody who knows more about this stuff explain why it needs to take any more than 48 hours for the evidence to be reviewed, the arguments heard and considered, and a judgement made?

The defence needs time to review the evidence, the relevant law and case history. They need to review witnesses statements formulate their argument and at $400 per hour or part there of, it takes time.

I'm all for letting the investigators lay the charges, prosecute and judge, but then I also like the idea of guillotining anyone who exceeds the speed limit. No tolerance, we have to reduce the road toll, so killing offenders will do that!

Usually it's because of the number of witnesses that will be called and examined by both sides.

Legal argument can take a long time too, particularly things like jurisdiction (not saying that is the case here)

The defence needs time to review the evidence, the relevant law and case history. They need to review witnesses statements formulate their argument and at $400 per hour or part there of, it takes time.

I'm all for letting the investigators lay the charges, prosecute and judge, but then I also like the idea of guillotining anyone who exceeds the speed limit. No tolerance, we have to reduce the road toll, so killing offenders will do that!
No argument with your first statements smoke mate but from the standpoint of a long standing (though just retired professional driver and transport operator) I take strenuous issue with even the current infantile private operator speed camera profit generating system.

A couple of kph's per hour leeway is ridiculous with many speedo's still incapable of delivering a reliable reading closer than 10% of indicated versus true speed. Secondly variable strong headwinds acting against blunt nosed commercial vehicles can create variarions of plus or minus 5% by themselves so a speed camera operator catching a commercial vehicle emerging into a wind vacuum will get a high reading whereas the driver simply hasn't had time to react to the changed wind conditions. Rare occurance you reckon? Not for professional drivers spending 12 and upwards hours on the road everyday it isn't.

Added to this is the time/distance/costs equations that every transport operator from the multi national freighters such as FedEx right down to the sole operator 1/2 tonne van sub-contractor run their businesses on. With customers always demanding the absolute minimum rate for their freight and constantly increasing running costs the drive to ensure vehicles travel on or as close to the stated maximum in ALL speed zones has never been as intense.

Stupidly overstringent application of an inherently illegal legislation has and will continue to play a part in driving many smaller independent operators to the wall.

I have no problem with coming down hard on reckless speeding motorists of any type, but this stupid system of punishing miniscule infringements provides huge stress for professional drivers who have to be on the limit at all times to make a buck and drives small businesses to the wall.

On a lighter note how would you like your FedEx or TNT parcel delivered by a headless courier? lol

Puts a whole new complexion on the headless horseman of sleepy hollow doesn't it ;)

N

On a lighter note how would you like your FedEx or TNT parcel delivered by a headless courier? lol

I'd just like Aus post to actually try and deliver a parcel, rather than just slipping a ticket into my letter box with the "we tried but you weren't home" box ticked - of course I was home you useless bastards, you would have known that if you did your bloody job!

Private couriers rock, they actually deliver to the door, they provide the service that I pay for:) (Unlike those Australia Post Couriers. what a joke, a big white van to drop off cards...) Next post will be a rant about Helstra and how 10 months after signing a contract they still haven't delivered my ADSL, but they still effing charge me for it! And then there's the fact they charge me for platinum Foxtel, but claim they can't upgrade me until I have ADSL. No wonder I'm on drugs:)

(Jonbe, the speeding thing was sarcastic, sorry if I hit a nerve)

I'd just like Aus post to actually try and deliver a parcel, rather than just slipping a ticket into my letter box with the "we tried but you weren't home" box ticked - of course I was home you useless bastards, you would have known that if you did your bloody job!

Private couriers rock, they actually deliver to the door, they provide the service that I pay for:) (Unlike those Australia Post Couriers. what a joke, a big white van to drop off cards...) Next post will be a rant about Helstra and how 10 months after signing a contract they still haven't delivered my ADSL, but they still effing charge me for it! And then there's the fact they charge me for platinum Foxtel, but claim they can't upgrade me until I have ADSL. No wonder I'm on drugs:)

I'd be on to the telephone ombudsman if I were you.

No probs Smokey its a sore point with many private couriers (of which I was numbered until very recently) I too have lost loved ones due to reckless morons and share your distaste of idiots who believe they are bullet proof and that it will never happen to them.

An illustrative case in point a couple of years ago. I was driving down the Monash Freeway in the left lane as I was in a 3 tonne Transit and needed the next but one exit and getting accross lanes in a van with limited visibility takes time. Some cretin in the outside of 3 driving lanes realizes the next exit (about 200 meters ahead) is his and just swerves violently accross 3 lanes without any indication in a mad lunge to make the exit. Of course a cacophany of violently depressed horns accompanies this lunacy, to which our hero answered by giving the bird looking back over his shoulder while exiting the freeway at 100kph without any discernable effort to ascertain the traffic conditions on the exit lane:eek: Such outrageous examples of stupidity are thankfully reasonably rare but lesser and almost as lethal examples are commonplace on our freeways.

If those assiduously trained freeway speeding cameras were used instead to track down erratic and arrogant drivers then you would see a far greater reduction in the road toll.

Worse though are the hopelessly alcohol addicted drivers who get endless chances from our decrepit court system until they finally kill themselves or innocents. I don't blame the drivers nearly so much as the magistrates who put them back on the road time after time after time.

As for the Aust Post drivers - I worked for Aust Post as a parcel delivery driver when I was first getting on my feet in the transport industry 35 odd years ago and they are an absolute and utter joke. The delivery times are ridiculous and driver loading is outrageous. Try 70 odd drops in the morning with another 50 plus in the afternoon. There is no excuse for not knocking or ringing but when you put subbies under that much time pressure the temptation will always be strong. :rolleyes:

OOPS! :oops: End rant :oops::oops:

Private couriers rock, they actually deliver to the door, they provide the service that I pay for:) (Unlike those Australia Post Couriers. what a joke, a big white van to drop off cards...)

Very true, for years I bought & sold footy cards on eBay, often requiring a parcel.
Twice out of the couple of hundred did they come to the door.
I worked nightshift, so I was bloody home!

I'm no legal eagle but expecting a 1-2 year good behavior bond taking into account the many hours of community service he has done since the incident.

I think being a high profile footballer with an expensive legal team will do wonders for his punishment.
Let's hope you are correct. We cannot afford to have Marley languishing in jail.

This is bloody taking so long, longer than it should.

I love Marley, he will be a gun for us but you do the crime you do the time. If he has been found guilty for what he is being charged of then as hard as it is for us to accept it, he will have to face his punishment.

I hope for his sake and for the sake of our club that he is not guilty of what he has been charged of and it was self defence but whatever he did it will come out soon. It's such a shame that this incident has occurred because Marley does seem like a really nice person, he always has the time to sign autographs to his fans and is never rude or arrogant.

He is not guilty until he has his day in court and is either found innocent or guilty and until such time he is presumed innocent.

ipswichpies,
I guess this would apply to Stephen Milne;)

Marley Williams wont have the luxury of being able to stonewall the case for nine years until the end of his career.

No probs Smokey its a sore point with many private couriers (of which I was numbered until very recently) I too have lost loved ones due to reckless morons and share your distaste of idiots who believe they are bullet proof and that it will never happen to them.

An illustrative case in point a couple of years ago. I was driving down the Monash Freeway in the left lane as I was in a 3 tonne Transit and needed the next but one exit and getting accross lanes in a van with limited visibility takes time. Some cretin in the outside of 3 driving lanes realizes the next exit (about 200 meters ahead) is his and just swerves violently accross 3 lanes without any indication in a mad lunge to make the exit. Of course a cacophany of violently depressed horns accompanies this lunacy, to which our hero answered by giving the bird looking back over his shoulder while exiting the freeway at 100kph without any discernable effort to ascertain the traffic conditions on the exit lane:eek: Such outrageous examples of stupidity are thankfully reasonably rare but lesser and almost as lethal examples are commonplace on our freeways.

If those assiduously trained freeway speeding cameras were used instead to track down erratic and arrogant drivers then you would see a far greater reduction in the road toll.

Worse though are the hopelessly achahol addicted drivers who get endless chances from our decrepit court system until they finally kill themselves or innocents. I don't blame the drivers nearly so much as the magistrates who put them back on the road time after time after time.

As for the Aust Post drivers - I worked for Aust Post as a parcel delivery driver when I was first getting on my feet in the transport industry 35 odd years ago and they are an absolute and utter joke. The delivery times are ridiculous and driver loading is outrageous. Try 70 odd drops in the morning with another 50 plus in the afternoon. There is no excuse for not knocking or ringing but when you put subbies under that much time pressure the temptation will always be strong. :rolleyes:

OOPS! :oops: End rant :oops::oops:
You express yourself very eloquently for someone in the transport industry! ;) I have read recently that delivering parcels for Australia post is poorly rewarded.

I've been to a couple of trials and they went something like this:
- it takes a morning to empanel a jury.
-1/2 day or more for opening addresses
- witnesses take a fair while since it's not just people who say it but also includes experts witnesses like doctors or ballistics.
- there's also random arguing b/w lawyers at various parts which takes up a fair bit of time.
- Closing addresses take about a day.
- Judge gives directions to the jury as well which takes a long time.

The real issue is it taking 18months + to get the thing to trial. Imagine having something serious like this hanging over your head for that amount of time. In a way it's a bit of an endorsement for Marley's capacity to play under pressure.

You express yourself very eloquently for someone in the transport industry! ;) I have read recently that delivering parcels for Australia post is poorly rewarded.
Thanks MM oops - perhaps manic is better as the connotations of MM could be offensive to some ;)

Defintely true that the transport industry has traditionally attracted the less literate among us, this however is changing with the restructuring of the industry to more of a mixed corporate / sub - contractor profile. I got in on the ground floor of the change in the late '70's after a severe scorching from divorce lawyers had decimated my bank account and left me mentally and emotionally reeling, I decided I needed a complete change from my technical background and sedentary way of life so I chose the then rapidly changing transport industry.

It has become over the years an increasingly commonplace scenario with middle aged men and women retrenched from shrinking industries investing their large - ish payouts into vans and taking to the roads in search of profit and fun lol.

I eventually become what is termed a 'preferred contractor' with a number of bigger corporate transport companies and spent much of my time doing 'overflow' work for them.

The Ansett crisis came and though I had contracts with them that saw me dangerously exposed financially when Howard decided to do his fire sale I had enough outside contracts that I was able to restructure and eventually grow beyond that.

After decades in the business I'm now recently retired but still much in contact with many in the industry, which continues to operate on small margins unless you are a corporate.

AFL star's assault trial starts this week

February 16, 2014, 11:04 am

He is a rising star in the AFL, but Marley Williams' football career could be at risk when he goes on trial in Western Australia for assault.

The 20-year-old Collingwood footballer has pleaded not guilty to a charge of grievous bodily harm over a scuffle at a nightclub in his home town of Albany in December 2012.

Williams is accused of punching a 29-year-old man in the face and breaking his jaw outside the nightclub, Studio 146.

The five-day trial starts on Monday.

Having joined the Magpies as a rookie in 2012, Williams' football career took off in 2013 when he was named as the round 18 AFL Rising Star nominee for his performance against Greater Western Sydney.

If convicted of causing grievous bodily harm, Williams could face up to 10 years in jail.

News Marley Williams charged with assault