malteaser

Sep 9, 2006
Geelong, Victoria
Fulham, Man U, 49'ers
Headline from Herald Sun. Geez first game ever of AFL and the signs are good. I know there is a long way to go before he gets the required strength and endurance however, I reckon he will be the rookie player that gets promoted. Your thoughts.

In a way its a sad inditement on the others to think that a player who has not played a game before, is one of our best. Not sure what to make of our forwards, again it might be the midfield that lets us down. Again I am taking things too seriously being that it was a 15 a man game with a 13 man interchange bench. Wakes looks like he will be playing more games in the twos this year.

Also good reports on Harry, considering he had an injury in Jan, very good news.

We were missing Dutchy, Bucks, Fraser, Rocca, Clement and Lockyer to name a few.

Clarke should get a few games this year, should be promoted for Dawes.

Will be interesting to see how he goes.

BTW
our forwardline looks pretty good if you have

HF: Thomas Cloke Didak
F: Buckley Rocca Rusling

Not to mention Fraser occasionally down there, Swan can play HF, Lockyer can play HF, Pendles could play thir dor fourth tall, plus the inconsistent duo in Davis and Medhurst. We start to look dangerous.

I also heard that Ryan Cook also did some nice things.

I hope they play the same amount of youngsters next week. Would rather see this than playing all the older players. Mind you getting beaten doesn't help the morale. Like to think we could beat Nth with the team we had against Sydney and play Fremantle in Melb and play the older players to see where they are at.

north are likely to play their strongest team avaliable they need the cash and members

In all seriousness, we MUST win next weeks game against Roos.
The last thing I want to see is 22 Collingwood players hearing to WA for a game of footy, win lose or draw.

In all seriousness, we MUST win next weeks game against Roos.
The last thing I want to see is 22 Collingwood players hearing to WA for a game of footy, win lose or draw.

I want them to win also.
But I wouldn't mind them playing over here,so I can get look at some of our new kids.We don't get to see them very often in Perth.

That won't happen. For a start some of the senior players need too get some game time leading into the season proper. Secondly they dont have the luxury of 29 on the bench. If you rank the players from 1 to 42(including rookies) they basically played players ranked 13 to 43 last night. It was almost a williamstown side. The kids have plenty of time to develop, its more important that our key players get ready for the season.

We certainly don't want to get to carried away but its hard not to be a little excited about clarke.

Lets assume the draft was held tomorrow and clarke nominated, where would he go?? If you take into consideration the drafting of raw players like tom williams and even Pendles you would have to say even in a strong draft he could be worthy of a top 20 pick. When you consider he has only trained for 6 months and played 1 game he obivously has huge upside.

I am not expecting miracles this year but with 1 year in the system he should improve out of sight.

Impossible to say, I'm afraid. Clarke is a project player, yes, but a much riskier one as until now he'd never played football. Signs are promising though. :)

We certainly don't want to get to carried away but its hard not to be a little excited about clarke.

Lets assume the draft was held tomorrow and clarke nominated, where would he go?? If you take into consideration the drafting of raw players like tom williams and even Pendles you would have to say even in a strong draft he could be worthy of a top 20 pick. When you consider he has only trained for 6 months and played 1 game he obivously has huge upside.

I am not expecting miracles this year but with 1 year in the system he should improve out of sight.
Top 20 ? Steady on a bit mate .
Good effort by the kid and he does have a big upside but if he even becomes a regular player it's a bonus .

He's no Tadgh Kennelly just yet .

Top 20 ? Steady on a bit mate .
Good effort by the kid and he does have a big upside but if he even becomes a regular player it's a bonus .

He's no Tadgh Kennelly just yet .

Tom williams had not played a full season of aussie rules football. Had more training and played in a fare lower standard of football than clarke played last night. He went number 6.

The fact that clarke has played only one game and yet has shown so much(Basing this on reports-have not seen him so hard to form and accurate opinion) I believe strengthens the argument that he would go quite high in a draft. Far more to work with and alot of upside. Add to this the fact that the success rate for young irishmen to come out here and pick up our game seems to be higher than the success rate of young aussie rules footballers getting drafted. Stynes, White, Kennelly even a the raw young lad begley got a game for brisbane and he was considered a real long shot. Not many come out and try but the ones who have, have made it.
Stynes has been known to say that this Kid is the most talented of the lot. Based on the history of what has gone before him I would say he is no more of a risk than most kids that get drafted from the 18s.
Rectruited select alot on upside and obvisously the kid has it in bucket loads.

Based on the above evidence whats to suggest that this kid is not worthy of a top 20 pick??

If you have read any of my posts you will realise I am the last bloke on this site to get carried away about the kids we have. But to me his efforts to date seem quite remarkable.

Impossible to say, I'm afraid. Clarke is a project player, yes, but a much riskier one as until now he'd never played football. Signs are promising though. :)

Totally disagree he is much riskier. As stated in my previous post the success rate with irish kids coming out here and making it is very high. And if this kid was as good back in ireland as they say he was then it is not that much of a risk if you ask me. I am not saying he is a top 5 draftee which these days seems to be monty to be a good player. But if you look at most drafts players pick from 5 onwards probably have little more than a 50/50 chance of being a very good player. So not matter which way you look at it drafting is a risky business.

Sounds like it .

ant , you're focusing on Tom Williams a bit , don't use him as the rule . Maybe because he didn't deserve to go top 20 doesn't mean MC does .
He's an Irish kid who's doing pretty well at the moment it would seem . I don't think too many clubs would take him in the top 20 quite yet .

Did you see the game at all ?

Sounds like it .

ant , you're focusing on Tom Williams a bit , don't use him as the rule . Maybe because he didn't deserve to go top 20 doesn't mean MC does .
He's an Irish kid who's doing pretty well at the moment it would seem . I don't think too many clubs would take him in the top 20 quite yet .

Did you see the game at all ?

williams has hardly been on the park so its a bit early to tell if he deserved to go top 20. I think I have used a number of other quite strong points to back my argument.

what about renouf, goldstein(ok not top 20 but considering his experience very early) and pendlebury. These are all examples of kids who had limited experience and did not havr anywhere near the accolades of some of their teamates yet where picked very high because of their upside. There are a few precidents.

As I stated I did not see the game. I have not seen the kid so please do take my opinion as gospel. I am simply putting something on the table. But I think it is resonable to use a press article(in this case more than one) to back my argument. They all said he played well so its I think it is safe to say he did. The kid is obvisouly going ok.

I am not saying he would have gone top 20 , I am simply suggesting based on what he has done in a very short time and based on past history it is not out of the question that if the draft was held tomorrow a club may have been willing to use a top 20 pick for him. of course no one would have used this pick on him before they saw him play but he obvisouly has an ability to play the game and after seeing that clubs may have said WOW this kid has never played a game before and look what he can do. Imagine we get him in the system for a while. Why is this any riskier than a kid who has played for 10 years and gets drafted simply because he is 6f 4 and runs like the wind?I would have thought that the kid who had played 1 game has far greater scope for improvement, wouldn't you?

Also for what its worth I don't normally pay any attention to these games but under the circumstances I have made an exception.

I am not making the kid out to be a future star. He may not make it but the fact is there are plenty of top 20 draft picks(morrison,nixon, tuckey anyone?) who have done less in their careers than this kid has done in 1 meaningless practise match.

Originally posted by ant22
what about renouf, goldstein(ok not top 20 but considering his experience very early) and pendlebury. These are all examples of kids who had limited experience and did not havr anywhere near the accolades of some of their teamates yet where picked very high because of their upside.
There is a difference between not having played football at elite junior level, and never having played the game at all. You simply can't compare, say, Pendlebury to Clarke. Pendlebury may have gotten his AIS scholarship playing basketball, but he still grew up kicking a football in his backyard and on the school oval.

As for the success rate of Irish defectors, I don't have stats but I'd suggest you're overstating it. Quigley got homesick and left the Lions last year, I'd bet there are plenty of others in a similar mould.

Originally posted by ant22

There is a difference between not having played football at elite junior level, and never having played the game at all. You simply can't compare, say, Pendlebury to Clarke. Pendlebury may have gotten his AIS scholarship playing basketball, but he still grew up kicking a football in his backyard and on the school oval.

As for the success rate of Irish defectors, I don't have stats but I'd suggest you're overstating it. Quigley got homesick and left the Lions last year, I'd bet there are plenty of others in a similar mould.

Come on Royal, you seem to make a lot of sense in most of your recent posts. You should know better than to back your arguments with "I bet"

Quigly is the only one I know of that has failed, and even thats probably a bit harsh considering he went home on his own accord. At the It was the reported the lions where dissapointed he left because they though he had something. Of the one I know of most have succeeded.

I don't disagree that its hard to compare him to a kid who has grown up with a footy in his hand. Hence the hypothetical. I am simply psoing the question, that if the draft was tomorrow if and where would he go. I am not saying he would go top twenty I am simply saying based on the evidence I have its certainly not out of the question.

Marty Clarke makes stunning debut