Maryborough Castlemaine District FL (Part 2)

Great work by Royal Park to secure Bazza Gorman if its official, well liked bloke in the district and astute football brain, will he have any success recruiting players to Bushy though??

From what i hear the Bazz news at Bushy is all go, he was in the pub friday night wearing a bushy shirt and was there with a few other bushy boys after meet the coach night, and i also hear they had a few new faces there on the night so good luck to the boys. Be good to see them just a little closer than what they have been the last few years.

Great work by Royal Park to secure Bazza Gorman if its official, well liked bloke in the district and astute football brain, will he have any success recruiting players to Bushy though??

yeh mate, all is official. we had a good night friday night and yes it did end up at the pub! there were some new faces at the rooms too, so should be a good start. ressies coaches are Darren Smith and Scott Bell. If our juniors get up and running again Justin Perry will be taking those duties.

2 more ex afl players on the eagles books. pickett and mcadam
which mcadam? surely not gilbert he would be in his forties by now and well past it one would think.
pickett will be a very very handy pick up but could be the size of derek kickett come footy season.
where has all the money come from ?
dunolly were nearly as bad as trentham not that long ago obviously some one has injected a few ammount of coin into the place

Shannon Motlop is far from a certainty to be staying at the Eagles. Have heard he is assessing his options for next year.

which mcadam? surely not gilbert he would be in his forties by now and well past it one would think.
pickett will be a very very handy pick up but could be the size of derek kickett come footy season.
where has all the money come from ?
dunolly were nearly as bad as trentham not that long ago obviously some one has injected a few ammount of coin into the place
yeah mate gilbert. yeah would be past it but provides experience and knowledge of the game to the young. guess its what you do with connections??? these boys are playing with motlop and co. very handy side very handy. Think they'd even touch up most bfl sides bar the 2 that played off in the granny:D

Word out there is that Motlop won't even be there next year... And as for the two ex AFL guys mentioned, McAdam is well past his use by date and Pickett could still play but is as big as a house!!!!

Are Sanders and McNamee coaching there again next season?

This would have to be one of the funniest things I have seen on here.
There isnt one side in the MCDFNL that would touch up a BFL side, and on last years performance Dunolly wouldnt get within 10 goals of any teams in the BFL. Neither would Newstead so with the addition of these 2 big names I recon that the 10 goals would blow out to 15 or 20.

Old saying in Footy "Experience is great to have but it cant kick"
Would have thought that the injection of a few young locals woul be more impoprtant now that the Eagles have given themselves a platform to work from rather than pushing locals away.That would only be a waste of the good work they did this year.

Word out there is that Motlop won't even be there next year... And as for the two ex AFL guys mentioned, McAdam is well past his use by date and Pickett could still play but is as big as a house!!!!

Heard a rumour that Saunders wasnt that happy at near the end of the year and may be looking elsewhere. As I say only a rumour but it is that time of year :D

Motlop is definately looking at other options as I mentioned earlier.

Not sure if it ever got mentioned but Gerard Kennedy is the new Talbot senior coach. Gerard has played at the club the last 2 seasons and is from Ballarat. A good appointment IMO.

This would have to be one of the funniest things I have seen on here.
There isnt one side in the MCDFNL that would touch up a BFL side, and on last years performance Dunolly wouldnt get within 10 goals of any teams in the BFL. Neither would Newstead so with the addition of these 2 big names I recon that the 10 goals would blow out to 15 or 20.

Old saying in Footy "Experience is great to have but it cant kick"
Would have thought that the injection of a few young locals woul be more impoprtant now that the Eagles have given themselves a platform to work from rather than pushing locals away.That would only be a waste of the good work they did this year.

It's a pointless argument as I couldn't care if we could have beaten Golden Square as we still lost to Newstead which is what counts to us. I'd be fairly certain major league teams should beat minor.

I've heard these names thrown but never by the people that actually do the recruiting or committee of the club so let's not get too hung up on Pickett and McAdam.

As our ear to the ground in London has mentioned twice. Shannon is getting offers nearly matching the size of Dunolly's payments for the whole club for the entire year from some of the rich major league teams. He is in his 30's and has a family so you can't blame him for exploring options. And if he goes, we're happy we got a year out of him and he certainly helped Dunolly with exposure, which lead to sponsorship and increased gate takings. Also what he did on the ground was awesome. We are grateful for this.

Any word on any of the teams in the MCDFL looking to get a jump on the rest of the comp and starting their training soon?? Would be interesting to see if these certain player movements, departures mentioned are taking any kind of shape prior to chrissy... It would give the people on the forum something to discuss if nothing else!!

I see Bushy park started training last friday and will be doing it once a week for the next few fridays then going to 2 could even be 3 times a week before xmas so good luck to them, just hope they can get fit as they did not seem to run out a game last year, going by the scores i seen in the papers they where always with the teams till half time then got run over, good to hear they had a couple of handy players doing pre season with them but have they signed any thats the big question.

Its only 6 or so weeks since the the Mighty Steaders took out the 2009 Premiership and already the forum has dried up...

Something to get the heads ticking and a bit of conversation (hopefully)!

If you could go to any club in the comp and take who you thought to be not only the best player in the league but who you thought would give you the best chance of winning the flag next season (some may need a ruckman, others a key forward / back / strong bodied midfielder) who would you take??

Its only 6 or so weeks since the the Mighty Steaders took out the 2009 Premiership and already the forum has dried up...

Something to get the heads ticking and a bit of conversation (hopefully)!

If you could go to any club in the comp and take who you thought to be not only the best player in the league but who you thought would give you the best chance of winning the flag next season (some may need a ruckman, others a key forward / back / strong bodied midfielder) who would you take??

Tough question. I think its easier to identify deficiencies in sides to be honest. The top 3 sides from this year arguably dont need anything extra to win the flag, as on their day they could have won the flag.

From Talbot's point of view, and I didnt see them this year but have a fair idea, they are lacking another key forward. A true, big CHF that can take a grab is desperately needed to take the heat of Matt Bond. They also need a couple of players with good foot skills as this is an area that lets them down. Not sure what their plans are for next year but I dont think they are miles away from challenging. This year was disappointing. If I could have my pick of players from around the league to chuck into Talbots side I would take McNamee, Ramsey or J.Field. There arent too many gun key forwards that stand out to be honest this year. Is it fair to say that the league as a whole is a bit short of real top quality forwards?