Maryborough Castlemaine District FL

I don’t know why you are so upset about it Sherman. You won’t be playing in it, so don’t worry about it.:)

Time will tell mate....Well it doesnt just affect those playing on the day it affects everyone else that follows the league and attends. Even though you may not have a seniour football team playing you may have either your
- reserves
- juniors
- or netballers participating.

I like the idea that someone has already mentioned earlier of playing more friday night football games to increase crowds througout the year, sundays are just to close to the working week for my liking and it is unfair for those people are not truely able to enjoy the day...

Time will tell mate....Well it doesnt just affect those playing on the day it affects everyone else that follows the league and attends. Even though you may not have a seniour football team playing you may have either your
- reserves
- juniors
- or netballers participating.

I like the idea that someone has already mentioned earlier of playing more friday night football games to increase crowds througout the year, sundays are just to close to the working week for my liking and it is unfair for those people are not truely able to enjoy the day...
<DIV>
Just got this off the Avoca website, I'm with you Sherm. Not gonna make alot of difference thought by the look of it....

<SPAN style="FONT-FAMILY: Tahoma"><FONT size=3>At a meeting of league Delegates last night, the Maryborough Castlemaine DFNL has elected to trial a Sunday Grand Final for 2008.

IMO: No difference in playing a Granny on the Sunday than playing the elim final and the 1st semi as is what happens now.

I agree with "catch us if you can". A big fuss over nothing.:)

Give it a chance. If it doesn't work out. Go back to saturday's.

<DIV>
Just got this off the Avoca website, I'm with you Sherm. Not gonna make alot of difference thought by the look of it....

<SPAN style="FONT-FAMILY: Tahoma"><FONT size=3>At a meeting of league Delegates last night, the Maryborough Castlemaine DFNL has elected to trial a Sunday Grand Final for 2008.

a sunday grand final will be crap

Are our crowds on Grand Final day that bad??? I highly doubt many from the Bendigo or Ballarat leagues will make the journey but I could be proven wrong. There would want to be a substantial increase on the gate to make it worthwhile because I the majority of players and local league supporters would prefer it on the Saturday. The last game of the year is about everyone in the league. Lots like to get along and have a beer and enjoy the day. Plus players have to work the next day... plenty of people cant get the following day off due to job restrictions.

That's my whinge..... Agree we need to think outside the box but I dont see the sense in altering this. IMO crowd numbers wont rise much if at all.

As for old matey who said Sherman wont be playing in the GF. After last Saturday's result Talbot are just as much chance as anyone else to be there so time will tell.

Are our crowds on Grand Final day that bad??? I highly doubt many from the Bendigo or Ballarat leagues will make the journey but I could be proven wrong. There would want to be a substantial increase on the gate to make it worthwhile because I the majority of players and local league supporters would prefer it on the Saturday. The last game of the year is about everyone in the league. Lots like to get along and have a beer and enjoy the day. Plus players have to work the next day... plenty of people cant get the following day off due to job restrictions.

That's my whinge..... Agree we need to think outside the box but I dont see the sense in altering this. IMO crowd numbers wont rise much if at all.

As for old matey who said Sherman wont be playing in the GF. After last Saturday's result Talbot are just as much chance as anyone else to be there so time will tell.
Lets take the new idea on board and stop whinging. Most leagues who have trialed sunday grand finals have been wrapped with the success of the day and the increased profit. Move with the times

Well maybe we should play all games on sunday then to further increase profits, then we will really be moving with the times.

If it ain't broken dont fix it......

Could you imagine the fuss if you tried to move the ballarat or bendigo finals to a sunday!!!...

Maybe we are having too much of a whinge, but as Rich said too i doubt we will get that much more of a crowd anyway....

I do really like the idea of more Friday night games instead of a sunday GF to increase profits as a work around though.

Well maybe we should play all games on sunday then to further increase profits, then we will really be moving with the times.

If it ain't broken dont fix it......

Could you imagine the fuss if you tried to move the ballarat or bendigo finals to a sunday!!!...

Maybe we are having too much of a whinge, but as Rich said too i doubt we will get that much more of a crowd anyway....

I do really like the idea of more Friday night games instead of a sunday GF to increase profits as a work around though.

Come on Shermy you should be happy that the league is being proactive. Just say someone hurt there usually weak collarbone in the prelim wouldn't an 8 day recovery be handy....

HAHA yeah yeah...U just worry about watching ya weight, How are the man boobs coming along anyway??..lol... How do u feel about the sunday GF then rojer cos there is a fair chance you will be playing it...!!

Well it is the players who make up the club, without them there is no club. The players are the ones putting on the show so let them have there say.... I would hate to see players and supporters unable to fully enjoy the grand final festivities because they are obligated to attend work on monday, not all people have the luxury of calling in sick.

Fair enough you can trial it but i doubt it will prove a massive difference.

Ive played in a few grand finals and are yet to see any player that played in a grand final miss out on the piss up on the monday.If in doubt and your confident of playing in a grand final book the time of now.Problem solved.Having asked around today it was very interesting to find out the vote for sunday football was unanimous ,which would include talbot sherman.If you feel so strongly about this dont turn up ,that will teach them.If you get to play in and win this years grand final i wonder what your thoughts on it would be then on the monday?About your thoughts on only letting top teams have a say, its been tried before by a feela called Adolf.

I highly doubt Talbot would have voted yes but I would need to check. I'd be 99% sure we would have been against it after speaking to our football delegates last weekend.

I'd struggle to get Monday off in my job at late notice to be honest. No one really presented any positives as to why we have to move except an assumption that crowds would go up. Did the hub present some figures from other leagues to back this up??? I agree with trialling things but a Saturday Grandfinal is as traditional as it gets and the AFL hasn't felt the need to move it yet. Anywayz lets on

Tips for this weekend:

Round 11 - Saturday 21st June
Carisbrook
v Dunolly - 80 points. Dunolly should have a couple of new recruits in and at full strength should be competitive.

Campbells Creek v Talbot - 100 points. Cant see Creek getting too close.

Maldon v Royal Park - 100 points

Rovers v Trentham - A must win for Trentham if they are to keep their faint finals chances alive. Will be devastating for Rovers if they lose this one. Trentham by 4 goals.

Avoca v Harcourt - Match of the round. Avoca by 4 goals.

Bye - Newstead

Well we were told by our officials that it was not unanimous, Talbot and Carisbrook were against it for starters.

It is not just some of the players that miss out, it is the committee members and supporters as well. My point was it is the players who make up the club so they should get more of a say on the matter.

Rich i think your tips were pretty good but i reckon Rovers will get up over Trentham.

I agree with trialling things but a Saturday Grandfinal is as traditional as it gets and the AFL hasn't felt the need to move it yet.

The AFL don’t give a rats about tradition, KR. If they did the night Grand Final issue wouldn’t be raising its head again. You never know, a Sunday AFL Grand Final may be next!

The key word I used was YET!

I'm prob barking up the wrong tree but AFL crowd figures show that more people attend Saturday afternoon games than any other fixtured time. Would this correlate to country footy?

Well we were told by our officials that it was not unanimous, Talbot and Carisbrook were against it for starters.

It is not just some of the players that miss out, it is the committee members and supporters as well. My point was it is the players who make up the club so they should get more of a say on the matter.

Rich i think your tips were pretty good but i reckon Rovers will get up over Trentham.

Having been a long time reader of this thread I thought I would finally make some posts.
Firstly I can see how many players may not like the sound of a Sunday GF, but the point is if you are good enough to get into the GF then you should'nt care what day it's on. Anyone who has not been fortunate to have played in a GF would tell you it doesn't matter what day it is as long as they got had that opportunity. "If you alway's do what you have alway's done, you'll always get what you have always got" What does this mean? If you don't look at change you will fall behind and never improve!!
If a Sunday GF is unsuccessful then I'm sure the Club delegates will vote for a change.
Secondly your comment highlighted above would grate the teeth of many hard working committee people, supporters and sponsors. No player or players makes a club, what makes up a club is every single person involved, whether it be a Auskick player, canteen lady, gate keeper or players. I would hope your club doesn't think like this Sherman!!

Anyway the season still has a long way to go with many teams still GF contenders. This is a positive for the league, plus the margins haven't blown out in some games like other years. Will be interesting for many reasons come September 21.

Yes they are suspended if they sign the team sheet and don't take the court as has been the case for many years now. Only the starting seven are to sign and bench players only sign when they take the court.

Having been a long time reader of this thread I thought I would finally make some posts.
Firstly I can see how many players may not like the sound of a Sunday GF, but the point is if you are good enough to get into the GF then you should'nt care what day it's on. Anyone who has not been fortunate to have played in a GF would tell you it doesn't matter what day it is as long as they got had that opportunity. "If you alway's do what you have alway's done, you'll always get what you have always got" What does this mean? If you don't look at change you will fall behind and never improve!!
If a Sunday GF is unsuccessful then I'm sure the Club delegates will vote for a change.
Secondly your comment highlighted above would grate the teeth of many hard working committee people, supporters and sponsors. No player or players makes a club, what makes up a club is every single person involved, whether it be a Auskick player, canteen lady, gate keeper or players. I would hope your club doesn't think like this Sherman!!

Anyway the season still has a long way to go with many teams still GF contenders. This is a positive for the league, plus the margins haven't blown out in some games like other years. Will be interesting for many reasons come September 21.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Fair enough mate, obviuosly we all have different opinions on the matter and society would be a boring place without different opinions. However i believe you have just picked out one line in my comments on this issue to debate. Obviously i am aware that it is not just players who make up the entire club but they make up a vast majority of it and deserve a say on this isue i believe. I think you will find that we are not only arguing for the teams that will play on that day we have been putting forward that notion of how it will affect the committee members and other supporters of the league that cannot enjoy the festivities of the day.

Being a long term reader of this thread i thought you would have noticed the other points some of us have raised.

I am fully aware of the work that the committee/staff does and respect there efforts no matter what club they come from they do a fantastic job for there respected clubs and should be applauded for there efforts, so saying that i do not respect them as part of the club is not true, as i have involved myself as part of one of the committee's this year and am aware of the work that must be done to organise an event.

Fair enough mate, obviuosly we all have different opinions on the matter and society would be a boring place without different opinions. However i believe you have just picked out one line in my comments on this issue to debate. Obviously i am aware that it is not just players who make up the entire club but they make up a vast majority of it and deserve a say on this isue i believe. I think you will find that we are not only arguing for the teams that will play on that day we have been putting forward that notion of how it will affect the committee members and other supporters of the league that cannot enjoy the festivities of the day.

Being a long term reader of this thread i thought you would have noticed the other points some of us have raised.

I am fully aware of the work that the committee/staff does and respect there efforts no matter what club they come from they do a fantastic job for there respected clubs and should be applauded for there efforts, so saying that i do not respect them as part of the club is not true, as i have involved myself as part of one of the committee's this year and am aware of the work that must be done to organise an event.

Sherman, That's good to hear of your involvement. I think all clubs are much better off when players have some involvement in the committee and general running of a club. It gives players a better understanding an appreciation for what happens behind the scenes: that is alot of hardwork done by volunteers, who in some instances don't even have family members involved in their club, they just do it for the enjoyment.
I'm not sure I agree with you comments regarding committee's, supports etc not being able to enjoy the day. I'm sure there will be plenty of atmosphere and festivities, perhaps even more than other years. Since when has football ever effected a good Sunday sessions!! This is only one day of the year!!

Great work Sherm, good to see you are taking your role as director of party pies and soft drink seriously....:D